You are here: HomeNews2015 01 26Article 344052

‘Dumsor’ Crisis: VRA worsening the problem

Read Comments Comments (46)

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• Adanko 9 years ago

NDC is a concert party Like Kohwe, Akua, Boahemaa, B, Kissi, group. They are irresponsible bunch of jokers. EXIT THEM.

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!!!!! 9 years ago

After Mahama promised never to promise again, he broke his promise by promising a fruitful 2015. He again promised all these Dumsor will end!! What does Mahama take us for??

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Our so-called experts in energy put more premium on their image as engineers and how people view them as big men than rolling up their sleeves and get dirty with brain power to solve the crises.
    They're lazy and consumed wit ...

• ankoma 9 years ago

ELINAM,PLEASE REPEAT THAT OVER AND OVER AGAIN.WHAT KIND OF ENERGY ENGINEERS DO WE HAVE IN GHANA AND NIGERIA?MY HEART LACERATES BECOS OF DUMSOR.DO WE HAVE ASSOCIATION OF SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS IN THE COUNTRY,HAVE THEY MADE A ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

So, Mahama is the cause of the TICO units to go out of service, huh?

• Joe Mens 9 years ago

Mahama*s action can put VRA on its toes . He should fire for non performance

• Komfo Anokye 9 years ago

The V.R.A is a dead institution,we must all demonstrate against them,because they are wasting taxpayer,s money

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Changing constantly! The time for converting some of the plants has long passed,and see hw cleverly this guy is trying his utmost to rope in the GGC as well. We know Kwabena Donkor,the expert and pointman, brought in to bring ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

They should be stripped of their "authority" status which gives them a certain autonomy. VRA has been under performing for yrs yet they arrogantly resent public scrutiny

• RPG 9 years ago

Has the John Mahama administration made available funds to defray the debt it owes ECG to settle the cost of generated power by the VRA?
    Where is the money owed ECG and VRA by the John Mahama NDC administration?

• Kow Ansah 9 years ago

I thougt the VRA officials were in constant dialogue with the Ghana gas Company and they knew of all the timelines so what is this stupid arguments with the plants of VRA not being ready to recieve the gas. At first it was ir ...

• APOSTLE ELIJAR 9 years ago

Turn off their lights for a week or more and I guarantee you that they will not like it.

• click1 9 years ago

This Sam Flect should leave. VERY INCOMPETENT! Talks as if VRA belongs to him, and does and says anything he likes. VRA knew about this arrangement along time ago!!!!!!!

• Kweku PA 9 years ago

We are not bless with wisdom as a nation. Our top heads cannot even match the nation problem with better solution.. Education is our biggest problem, people!

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

All this people take home big pay but what do they do to alleviate the suffering of Ghanaians nothing

• Tango & Cash 9 years ago

a private eye should explore this angle. Some one has possibly hedged crude way above the $50 per barrel and it may be financially prudent NOT to generate power at all so we ordinary folk bear the brunt of someone's incompet ...

• GoodMan 9 years ago

Cursing John Mahama over Dumsor is a waste of time when it is very clear that our engineers are not and not capable of handling matters of this nature.Let us bring the whitemen to manage all our facilities.We are sick and tir ...

• koo 9 years ago

Don't go too far for the white men, bring NPP and you will be saved

• Mahama water in Kyebi 9 years ago

Tweaa apuu NPP I will go ana bring Akua Donkor and mami Dokonu

Please where's your national pride & confidence?

• Peter 9 years ago

Who is this stupid guy holding brief for those useless people managing Ghana institutions?

If you read my earlier comment you'll realise I'm not holding brief for those useless people but I believe strongly that there are capable Ghanaians. Cronyism is the problem. Fool

• KING BRIGHT (USA) 9 years ago

These people would blame everything and everyone but themselves and their bad luck president. Since when did Mahama do anything good?

• VIT 9 years ago

So you let idiots like Sam Fletcher spit out clueless fibbles on air. How will VRA survive when you have people like him talking from their a**.Shut down VRA period and put the taxpayers to good use rather than paying incompe ...

• Africinemax 9 years ago

africinemax.com

• eaintsiful@gmail.com 9 years ago

In whos wisdom did we put gas powered thermal plants under the control of a hydro power generatorS. whats VRA DOING AT ABOADZE. WHY ON EARTH DO WE ALWAYS GET IT WRONG.

You can bet it was done to benefit some individuals personally

• NMA BOY 9 years ago

Where are the Generators that K4 order when he is on power, there was a generator that cost Ghana 120 million usd which has been import in ghana some years Ago , it can help alot of Indutry , this Generator could be given to ...

• bob 9 years ago

So what thus this energy saga means to, in broad terms African leaders.what is wrong with our leaders minds.Can't say thing more.

• Jimmy 9 years ago

If this is not a sabotage what else is it? Why can't the president sack these useless people? Are they the only ones who can work there?

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

So called lazy workers who think they should earn as much as expats can't fix the plant. Ha, or is it that Management is yet to line their own pockets with money.

• Janet - Tema 9 years ago

VRA is sabotaging the government effort. Mr Fletcher is always annoyed with himself. Is he on NPP ticket? Mr President pls find out to stop further blunders.

• Boss 9 years ago

I am sick and tired of all these stupid excuses. Mahama please sit up and let us know the truth.

• Sanam 9 years ago

Talk all you want with kinds of hollow promises and fabricated excuses which we all heard before but we have and will not get anywhere if we continue to depend on government as the supplier of utilities.Akwesi Botwey knows be ...

• Peter 9 years ago

This clearly shows a Blackman's lack of mental capacity to manage things, Ahhba what kind of human beings are?
    Countries are going to the moon and we can't manage a smal power station.

Fool the blackman's mental capacity is not deficient. The problem is as a citizenry we do not hold people to account

Re your earlier comment I'm not holding brief for those useless people as my previous comments clearly show. But I don't accept that all black people are stupid or useless. You must be a white man. Unless you're dumb enough t ...

• Maamle 9 years ago

Why can't Ghanaians speak English fluent, they always mix English with their African language.

The power crisis very bad when will it stop happening Mr President Mahama ?

• keita New York 9 years ago

Blackman is still not yet capable of ruling themselves. We still need the whiteman to take control of our nation

I resent that. There are capable Black people but unfortunately the wrong ones are in those positions

• keita New York 9 years ago

I still wonder why Ghanaians vote base on tribe and religion. They vote people who are incompetent. Thus people are assigned to positions they don't qualify.that's why all these national problems not to mention the economy.

Yes the wrong people are in power and not that black people are inherently stupid or bad. Electorates do make wrong choices sometimes eg George Bush

• John 9 years ago

Resident at odorkor official town we are dieing of this donso donso, our business are collapsing, we beg please follow the schedule we beg, we beg our business are collapsing. For the past one week, we've not gotten light mor ...

• koliko 9 years ago

This fool called Fletcher should stop disturbing our ears with his tired and worn-out excuses!

He only adds insult to injury by trying to shift blame on GNGC. The blunt truth is that GNGC have completed the Western Corrido ...

• yaw 9 years ago

Oh Dr Nkuruma's Ghana.