You are here: HomeNews2015 01 20Article 343288

Gov’t pegs minimum wage at Ghc7

Read Comments Comments (56)

• Financial Freedom 9 years ago

When will waste be eliminated to improve minimum wage. Ghost names, inflated invoices, etc

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: KOFI-----
    THIS WICKED AND THIEVING NDC GOVT EVEN BUDGETED FOR JUDGEMENT DEBTS PAYMENTS WHEN THEY CAME TO POWER...GHANAIANS SAW THIER THIEVERY AND BAD IDEAS ABOUT GHANA SO THEY QUICKLY REMOVED IT FROM SUBSEQUENT BUDGE ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

Gh/Sen
    Just Boycott GBSTARS
    Look at those useless jerseys again! Puma Afcon..so can't we get quality jerseys like the south Africans have? Every nation played thus far with the exception of cape verde and South Africa, hav ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

PRINCE KWASI, what is your problem here? our problem is that the NDC government had increased salaries in Ghana and not the NPP. Well, you are speaking like you are an angel. We all know what the NPP did during the 8 years in ...

• Naaba kugri 9 years ago

Ba Who Corse Judgement Debt. Kuffour and Cronies Give Dubious Contract To Woyome. Check Your Facts Npp supporters Yabere Mu

• leslie 9 years ago

Mr financial freedom.
    Good comment.
    Let's suggest how we can solve this problem of ghost names.
    The ndc and npp comments will not help us

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

As deplorable as the minimum wage may sound, it has to be regarded as a reference point for any employer to pay an employee. In essence, you cannot pay anyone les than 7 Ghana Cedis per day no matter what job re hire them to ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This is pathetic. Who can live on 140 Ghana cedis a month? The daily wage should at least be ten cedis a day.

• Norsaid 9 years ago

Better than none even though it did not meet my expectations.
    I think this will save jobs in the private sector.
    Good, faster decision.

• peaceful citizen 9 years ago

So the govt has increased salary and this is part of better Ghana agenda .Apuuuuuuu to. Compare the prices in the market to the increament and you will see that it is a drop in the ocean. NDC beware you toying with our lives ...

• AAA 9 years ago

Is it 7 cedis per hour or a day?.

• Emmanuel 9 years ago

AAA, there is nothing like an hour in Ghana. If you want the hours, then it is 8 hours because you work from 8am to 3pm to earn the daily wage.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Per day my friend, per day. Even that will not be enough to ride trotro and lunch a day. Really pathetic.

• Ekanson 9 years ago

at least now I only have to work 1.8 days to buy a gallon of petrol. God bless you papa gov't. Edey beee k3k3

• Nii Tsokor 9 years ago

I am asking this question to determine how much effect this new wage has on buying power.

• Black Pot 9 years ago

So NPP went public to deceive us that IMF warned govt not to increase minimum wage above 15%.

• Abigi 9 years ago

What is the meaning of average?

• HAZOR 9 years ago

A gallon of patrol is expensive that our minimum wage

• Boateng 9 years ago

Don't patronize the poor. How many folks that make minimum wage have cars anyway?

• Kweku 9 years ago

Nominal value of the cedi speaks of nothing more than piece of toilet paper in real value terms. The govt needs to firstly tell people what their wages worth and even if it does worth anything how much local production contri ...

• Stoway 9 years ago

Ignorant comparison. You buy etrol if you decide to. Transport fares to work is not more than minimum wage so good job! You have trotro andd taxis all over and you choose to drive. If you earn more fine. If not why drive to m ...

• JB 9 years ago

They should have cleaned up the payroll saga first before embarking on this,"massive" increase.

• Abigi 9 years ago

How is the government going to fulfil the agenda with the IMF in charge of finance? We have been made to believe that IMF is EVIL(Kwasi Pratt & co), Trade Union Congress and JJ Rawlings. So how do we implement the I CARE for ...

• Ato Asare 9 years ago

I guess Govt is trying to say they are improving wages of ordinary Ghanaians with the announcement of such minimum wage increment. But take a close look and you will notice that the ordinary Ghanaian is rather worse off with ...

• from BUSH 9 years ago

This is not enough and this n.d.c will increase the minimum wage from gh 6.00 to gh 9.00
    increament my foot.

• Gomoa Dahom 9 years ago

That is not baaad.

• pump action!! 9 years ago

I hope and pray that after this, there will b no more politically motivated strikes which engulfed the nation last year..... We shall b watching Kofi Asamoah and his bunch of hopeless square pegs from afar....

• kotoua selira 9 years ago

Increasing minimum wage leads to economic disaster.The governement should have done it silently to avoid high price inflation and other economic disasters in the country.16.7% minimum wage increase seems a lot but the economy ...

• sam 9 years ago

THIS MAHAMA GOVT IS TAKING US FOR FULL WANTS US TO REMIAN AS POOR AS POSIBLE WHAT IS THIS NONSENSE 7 CEDE IS $2an houer the lawest rate now paid any worker in this entire world

• kotoua selira 9 years ago

The lower the minimum wage the lower the prices of goods and services.When minimum wage is increased it means all prices in the whole country will be increase.Workers will take big money home but the big money will be used to ...

• Egghead 9 years ago

It's not $2.00 an hour; it's $2.00 a DAY!

• CHICKEN LEG 9 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU SAYING,$2 A DAY?,THEN GHANAIANS ARE MAGICIANS AND THAT IS WHY CORRUPTION,INSULTS AND LIES ARE THEIR DAIRLY BREAD.

• The mask 9 years ago

Many families are saying that the most helpful family finance software they have ever come across is Boachsoft Finance 2012.

For more information visit:

blog.boachsoft.com

• osei kofi 9 years ago

well done

• Okoro 9 years ago

Mention ghost and NDC is lost. Better Ghana will run to IMF if you mention ghost to Mahama or NDC. Whatever the situation do not mention GHoooo s. There is ghost in the payroll; run run run Mahama to IMF.

• kwame 9 years ago

Just about 2 dollars a day - SHAME

• kumnipah jnr 9 years ago

not enough at all

• Dessy 9 years ago

7cedis/hr?

• ANKOBEA-HENE 9 years ago

Give them a medium size wage. $2.00 a day?

• JJ 9 years ago

7 Cedis, about 2 dollars a day. Big fucking deal.

• ddk 9 years ago

Not big deal for Ghanaians.

• bantama kwesi boakye 9 years ago

Useless comments from the narcotic people's party. Think big as baumia. Which of those ashanti greedy bastards can speak english like baumia or paul afoko? All they know is cocaine, smuggling, armed robbery, stowaying, funera ...

• bantama kwesi boakye 9 years ago

I am a pure ashanti boy from nkronsa thus after pekyi. Yet i see some of colleaques as useless, baseless, colloquial, premitive and totally naive in politics. As mahama is scoring points in votes, we are still glued to our o ...

• Aboagye Noel Samuel 9 years ago

I think is an insault to all workers, how much is fuel, electricity bill, water bill and the rest

• alale 9 years ago

Oh ,but not too bad

• Philipo 9 years ago

Oh God open the eyes of our leaders to see our problems.

• gabi 9 years ago

is cola no more?

• Luther Asare 9 years ago

Haba is insulting considering the high cost of living,how much do these ministers spend on their dogs a day?

• O j Oklahoma City 9 years ago

Oh Ghana two dollars a day? Lord thank you for giving me chance to live in the United States where labor is rewarded fairly and you do not have to steal to live a decent life. Thank you jesus

• Tweneboa Isaac (United States) 9 years ago

So that means if you work for 8 hours . You will earn 7×8=56 gh cedis that is very good. We need to comeback home and make good money.

• Asamoah Forson 9 years ago

7Ghc is paid in hours or daily. If so how much fuel cost. Then every body most live the country. 7Ghc for what.

• wailer 9 years ago

inflation at 17%, minimum wage increased by 16.7%,how will workers survive a living? in every country with rational leaders,minimum wage is increased with a percentage above inflation rate

• Fiction 9 years ago

Government of vampires dey only came to soaked workers bloods to enrich themeslfs ghanaians shld rise up n force dis stupid called president out of power

• lordson 9 years ago

human being can never be satisfied so you better focus and move on with your work oo, Mahammah

• ag 9 years ago

well done government.

• bebe 9 years ago

i want to know if the government have ever enquire about how the private security increase the pay of their guards when there is a new minimum wages .please i want the government to something about how they treat their guard ...