You are here: HomeNews2015 01 20Article 343278

The West will never develop Africa - Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH SAID THIS OVER 50 YEARS AGO.

• Zuale 9 years ago

Let us stop Nkrumah this and that and think ahead. After all Nkrumah was a tyrant and will be remembered for one-party state and Preisdent for life without a Vice and life imprisonment for opponents

• ELINAM 9 years ago

You regurgitate what you heard from others without your own research.
    Yeah he might be all that you vomited here but can you explain why only six months into his overthrow, the state rubber plantation that was nursed in to ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS. BEING A PRESIDENT REQUIRES THE USE OF BRAIN NOT BRAWN. A PRESIDENT DOES NOT "THROW" PICK AXE!!! WHO CAN DO ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Our rush to sign oil agreement gave us nothing. We got a mere 13% and that could not save Ghana. 13% of 100,000 barrels per day is nothing that will change Ghana. So let's be realistic and put our energy into farming. Oil is ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

You want the help of westerners to develop Ghana so they can lose out on immigration to the west, import of unnecessary goods to africa, visa fees, brain drain etc. It's is simply morning theory interest to see youndevelop so ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

How long should "educated AFRICAN people cum politicians" figure out that Mr. BOBO (White man) was, and still is, DEEPLY involved in Africa just for himself—right from the partition of Africa, through colonialism and neocol ...

• The Israelites 9 years ago

ELINAM =And what did we used the 13% money for? The little oil money is being misapplied

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

AKUFO ADDO WILL LOOSE 2016

• WE'LL JUMP THE NEXT TIME? U.S.A. 9 years ago

AKASI MARTHA NZEMA, do not apply your foolishness here, to bring a curse unto yourself. Do not make fun of the Spirit Of God, if you don't know what you are doing, please stop. MATT 12:32 says, "HE WHO SIN AGAINST THE HOLY SP ...

• Kweku 9 years ago

I love you Elinam.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

HOW COULD THEY , AFRICANS HAVE GOLD, URANIUM, DIAMON, COCOA, COTTON, OIL AND FOREST, WHY SHOUD WE WAIT FOR THE WEST? BAD LEADERS LIKE MAHAMA IS OUR PROBLEM! BANKING ALL OUR GOLD ABROAD

• solomon 9 years ago

And yet akuffo addo is nicking his ideas abi?hypocrite

• STUPID ZUALE 9 years ago

Zuale, what's your point?

Nkrumah did say this over 50 years ago, and millions of Africans have always said this, and we all know it anyway, so why are our stomach journalists trying to portray Nana and Annan's comments as ...

• MENSAH 9 years ago

Africans are still borrowing from THE WEST,EAST,EVERYWHERE.

If NKRUMAH has said it,have our African leaders made any use of it?
    Of course not.
    Therefore,if MR.KOFI ANNAN AND NANA ADDO,are repeating the same sound of the ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

The UP/NPP crowd has made 180 degrees turn around for a realization Kwame Nkrumah toiled and died for.
    Houphoet Boigne of Cote d'ivoire fooled them with his mirage of development powered by the greedy French in return of loo ...

• Truthiness 9 years ago

You talk by heart. Who started the independence struggle first, before Nkrumah was invited to join?. U think the people who formed the UGCC to fight for independence and invited Kwame Nkrumah did not want independence?

• KOJO 9 years ago

go back and read, they didn't fight for independence, they fought for themselves, they wanted the British to use the to rule the people instead of the kings and queen the British used.

• Waw 9 years ago

What a wasted education

• KOJO 9 years ago

maybe you had the useless one, JSS and SSS

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah aka Uncle Ben. Atl 9 years ago

Ei ! What are we hearing ? From whom ? Preach on Nana : Nkrumah never dies.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

And instead of working with its political opponents to build Ghana, the Useless Party, out of ignorance, selfishness, and lack of vision, chose to abotage all efforts of the new government to build Ghana. When their acts of s ...

• joedonkor 9 years ago

realistic talks

• Aikins 9 years ago

NANA was only trying to tell mahama the 27billion dollars the taxes the oil revenue he should use it to develop ghana and stop stealing us left right centre. Iam sure mahama is now the richest president now in Africa just und ...

• Naaba kugri 9 years ago

You talk about oil revenue ? Your party in government took a whooping 87 percent to share with their cronies
    They left 13 percent for the whole nation. And you apologist have the guts to talk about oil
    God will surely pay s ...

• MAHAMA- DISGUISED THIEF 9 years ago

CHECK YOUR RECORDS, NPP ONLY CAME TO IMPLEMENT THE LAW AND MANAGED TO STRIKE OIL IN COMMERCIAL QUANTITIES BUT NDC HAS ONLY STOLEN THE MONEY

• Desmond 9 years ago

We black people must wake up and develop ourselves. We must stop waiting for the whiteman to tell us the best thing to do to develop our selves. Africa is riddled with deseases such as ebola, famine, poverty, conflicts and ig ...

• Torgbui (Chi-US) 9 years ago

One only needs _ things to develop Africa:
    1.Africans and other Blacks living outside of Africa. Translated: SERIOUS GLOBAL NETWORKING.

2. free internet access, like that found in US public libraries.

3. Humble people ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

The Blackman is capable of managing his own affairs,said by Kwame Nkrumah.Some politicians don't believe in that and will always go begging for help in the advanced countries.We can do it.

• Okoro 9 years ago

Paying lip-services is the cheapest form of action. Line up your former presidents and current president and see which one of them understands the world of finance and development. All of you and your leaders believe there is ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

The entitlement crowd is truly the bane of our problem. The free housing and the free automobile/fuel and garden boys and security men for govt officials has made us beyond lazy.No serious nation provide this even if they hav ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

You simply don't know what you are talking about.We are in 2015 and Nana Addo is telling us what Nkrumah and PanAfricanists have been saying over a century ago.As a matter of fact,Nana Addo has no message for his 2016 campaig ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Slow down pal, the guy's write up is more on what bedeviled us as a nation than his support for the redundancy Nana is regurgitating here.
    His attack on Nkrumah for allowing some or all entitlements for senior govt officials ...

• Aj 9 years ago

Mr boy Kofi,why do we Ghanaians pretend we love Nkrumah.knowing fully that we're the enemies to our own progress. one who plan the killing of Nkrumah...we name him the killer after our only international airport(kotoka).so te ...

• JoJo-(USA) 9 years ago

Great comment Mr. Okoro.
    I have additional reasons to add to your assertions but don't have the time. We need more people to think along this line and we will be on our way to a prosperous AFRICA.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

You must still be peddling the UP/PP/NPP misinformation that never seems to shame its peddlers. When one talks of ENTITLEMENT, the person that readily comes to mind is none other than Akufo-Addo, the NPP flagbearer. Nkrumah a ...

• darkwa 9 years ago

Kwame nkrumah saw that but ur fathers overthrew him .

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

An atheist professor was teaching a college class at Alabama and he told the class that he was going to prove that there is no God in Africa only Voodoo. He said, "God, if you are real, then I want you to knock me off this p ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

PRINCE, I LOVE IT. AN EXCELLENT JOKE INDEED!

• Jew 9 years ago

Nana has just plegiarised Kofi Annan who stated this a few days ago.

• Tet 9 years ago

It is a common refrain.... Has been said many times by many people over the years. It's not important who said it. Why does it have to be said over and over again? that is the issue.

• LAST DON 9 years ago

It is a fact that the Busia faction in the NPP has had their share of looting again through Kuffour and so the Dankwa faction must take their turn to have their share. That is the meaning of “all die be die” This is what ...

• John 9 years ago

I Think the last Don needs some lessons in the recent history of Ghana. One other thing, provide evidence to substantiate your claims-pinning Nana Addo down to corruption and others you claim. Least i forget, what happened to ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

DEAR H.E.DR.MR.PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA & H.E.PRESIDENT OF EUROPEAN UNION,

TO RESPECTFULLY AND HUMBLY REFER THE ABOVE GHANAWEB.COM PUBLICATION BY HON.PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE OF NEW PATRIOTIC PARTY (NPP), MAJOR OPPOSITION PART ...

• John 9 years ago

Did you read the full text to arrive at your conclusion Mr. International Lawyer?

• ELINAM 9 years ago

You always write in upper cases/ capital letters and for your information, they are hard to read. This is not your first time. Each time readers complain but it seems you think you are too important with your self proclaimed ...

• a Ghanaian 9 years ago

"Insanity is doing something over and over again and expecting different results" everything that is being adopted by Africa is asinine. here is the absolute truth "the west never cared about you, they don't care about you no ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Bravo!!

• ZABS BOY 9 years ago

thanks for your insight, but let me add something little. we need to change our lifestyle as well. we need to stop lying and be honest people, with honesty, God will love us and make us succeed. we also need to care for each ...

• Boboo 9 years ago

Please don't teach us how to suck eggs! we know that already!

• kiki 9 years ago

Please Nana We need Your Vision.Europeans just cant or will not help Us

• Masati 9 years ago

So will Nana Addo ever acknowledge Kutu's operation Feed Your Self and Self Reliance

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Tell your Nana to drop the European flag as well. They used to believing in kissing white ppl with the mind set that they'd help them to industrialize Ghana so they'd take the credit for it but now they have started waking up ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

GOOD REMARKS.

BUT WHY DID HIS FATHER AND THE SO CALLED DANQUAH-DOMBO-BUSIA DERAIL THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT THAT HAD TAKEN OFF UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF DR KWAME NKRUMAH IN 1957.

HE IS A DISAPPOINTED MAN FOR THE WAY AND MA ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THESE TWO FOLKS SHOULD HAVE LEARNED FROM THE PARABLE OF THE TALENT IN THE BIBLE.

WERE THESE TOW GUYS EDUCATED TO BE SPOON FED BY THE WEST.

HEAVEN HELPS THOSE WHO HELP THEMSELVES.

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

He has the brains,he has the passion,he has the pedigree,he has the panache,he has the diploma,he has the gravitas and now we know he has the energy and the commitment to make Ghana comparable to any European country

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Tunisians have shown the way by electing an octogenarian as their new president......over to you,Ghanaian voters

• profferlio 9 years ago

U are stupid look at chinavand russia. They are part of world super powers. They practice one party rule and it worked. Africa and middle east does not need democracy. The people over there in Africa and middle east are use t ...

• Agya koo. 9 years ago

Do you see it or just another gimmick,Nkrumah swath at years back yet you guys objected to his plans and now you are saying what you objected to,don't fool us but just think straight and talk to Dr Frimpong Boateng he is the ...

• Aryiku Nartey. 9 years ago

What is new, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo this is nothing new, we all know that. Ghanaians will have to build their own country. Building a Nation is not only about the economy. It involves people with good morals guidance and ...

• GHBoy 9 years ago

is not enough to know, how do we put this in practice to achieve the required results that we all needed.
    I tell you the truth that until Africa unite, we have no real hopes of continental development.

• AMOO OFEI. 9 years ago

YOUR FATHER, EDWARD AKUFO- ADDO, AFRIF AND CO AND YOU ALSO JOINED THE KRONFOR KUFUOR'S GANG OF THIEVES AND LOOTER OR COFFERS AND PLOTS OF LAND ETC. YOU EMPTIED OUR BANK BY TOUR CRAFTY AND DELIBERATE INTENTION AND REDENOMINATE ...

• ALI MAHAMA & 40 THIEVES 9 years ago

HAMA STEALS WITHOUT ANY DEVELOPMENT

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

NO COMMENT!!!!!.NO COMMENT!!!!!!.NO COMMENT!!!!!

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Nana Akufo-Addo must stop playing both sides to score points with Ghanaian voters. Nana Akufo-Addo is either an ungrateful human being or a Ghanaian who would like to help limit the desire by some Ghanaians to migrate to West ...

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

MY GOD

• Kwasi atta 9 years ago

Stupid fool Akufo addo, do think u can help African or Ghana problem ? Move ur dirty ugly face from here, Akim bush man.

• Brako Ohiapa 9 years ago

@ akwasi atta. bro. pls just respect the elderly. at least nana is old enough just like ur bush father who brought u up that bushy way of life.

• mottotru 9 years ago

akufo addo is just paraphrasing what mr. kofi annan, ghana's illustrous son said in nigeria recently. akufo addo should stop copying people.he should be original. he has now stated reading kwame nkrumah's books for ideas.

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

Nana, your idol the Killer JB Danquah wanted Britain to continue to rule Ghana. Tell people who don't know UP and NPP violent people. If every Ghanaian was like you dwarfs, Ghana would have been destroyed.

• VINCEY,NJ 9 years ago

Poor Akufo Addo, he's loosing it senility is setting in. Even kids of today know that the white man came to loot Africa and not to develop it.

• DEPORT FOREIGN CRIMINALS 9 years ago

NANA PLS , DON'T WASTE OUR TIME . WHY EXPECTING WHITE MAN TO ASSIST US IN EVERYTHING - DON'T WE HAS BRAIN ? EVERY GHANAIANS IS AWARE OF THAT - WHY SCHOOLING IF WE CAN ARCHIEVE NOTHING FROM IT ? GHANA MAN IS SATISFY AND PROUD ...

• DEPORT FOREIGN CRIMINALS 9 years ago

NANA PLS , DON'T WASTE OUR TIME . WHY EXPECTING WHITE MAN TO ASSIST US IN EVERYTHING - DON'T WE HAS BRAIN ? EVERY GHANAIANS IS AWARE OF THAT - WHY SCHOOLING IF WE CAN'T ARCHIEVE NOTHING FROM IT ? GHANA MAN IS SATISFY AND PRO ...

• WO HAW NE DEN? U.S.A. 9 years ago

SO SOME GHANAIANS HAVE BECOME SO INSANE AND MIND ROTTEN THAT THEY HAVE TO POUND ON ANY WISE PERSON SUCH AS NANA ADDO FOR ANY WISE STATEMENT MADE?

• WO HAW NE DEN? U.S.A. 9 years ago

FOOLISH MAN, YOU WANT TO COMPARE YOURSELF TO BRITISH NEIGHBORS? CAN YOU EVEN FEED YOURSELF? EVERYTHING YOU NEED COMES FROM SOMEWHERE, WHERE WILL THE AKAN TAKE US TO AND WHAT ACHIEVEMENT WILL IT BRING? IF YOU ARE ABLE TO INVEN ...

• solomon 9 years ago

Is this man real?just yesterday the same was calling on the America,UK to pressure EC to sort out voters register his party and ndc helped filled with underage and now look.we need cpp because he cannot be trusted either folk ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

his mother was a prostitute

• Wisdom 9 years ago

its high time our leaders know better n put what they get frm them into judicious use

• grace 9 years ago

So all the trips Kufour took when he was in power were for what? Stop wasting our ears with your fake english accent and your cheap pronouncements. An old man like you should be putting his feet up and enjoying his grandchild ...