You are here: HomeNews2015 01 17Article 342955

Kofi Annan: The West can’t solve Africa's problems

Read Comments Comments (59)

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

THEY NEED A REAL LECTURE FROM YOU , TELL THEM SIR!!!

• KB,LONDON 9 years ago

AFRICAN POLITICIANS ARE MOSTLY THIEVES. IMAGINE THESE PEOPLE PAY THEMSELVES HUGE SUMS OF MONEY, THEN DO NOTHING BUT TAKE LOANS AND STEAL THE MONEY. THE WEST IS FULLY AWARE OF THESE THIEVES;YOU CAN'T FOOL THEM ALL THE TIME. UN ...

• Jackie 9 years ago

Be objective pls. What has this point of ndc npp got to do with ideas as to how to combat boko haram got to do with Ghana political parties? Instead of you bringing ideas on board...is that all you got to say? please grow up.

• Kwami - US 9 years ago

ghanaians no more make sense in their very poor comments and analyses. Is Prez Mahama the Nigerian President?

• Aikins 9 years ago

So long as mahama remains the chairman of ecowas ghana and West Africa will continue to suffer.

• ELINAM 9 years ago

All the African leaders who had attended the French rally but did not say a word on similar mass killing in Nigeria has shown to the world how stupid and uncaring they are including that Badluck Jonathan.

• SIMON 9 years ago

PLUG THE HOLES AND USE TECHNOLOGY TO ERADICATE WASTE, LEAKING BASKETS THAT HOW GOOD LEADERS DO THIKING OUTSIDE THE BOX NOT TALK TALK IT BEEN GOING ON FOR 50YRS. JUST LIKE EBOLA, AIDS, MALARIA, CHOLERA AND OTHER DISEASES HAVE ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

Kofi, the West even compounded our problems by imposing their alien culture on us during their years of colonizing Africa.They never even practised democracy,they demonized our culture and imposed theirs on us. Now they want ...

• MARCUS 9 years ago

LIKE THEIR RELIGION [CHRISTIANITY]THANKS KWABENA OHEMENG

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Ohemeng sadly not many Africans realise that

• Contemporary Youth 9 years ago

Exactly,the west have their own unique problems.The fact of the matter is,they would do better, if positions and zones are swapped with Africa, please don't ask me why.

• Aikins 9 years ago

And you're proudly writing from their capital? Whats wrong with you come back home.

• Nii 9 years ago

Aikins, you made my day. Why is Kwabena Ohemeng enjoying and writing from London? He is obviously enjoying the good life, democracy and the culture of London. He is not even ashamed of that. He boldly exhibits it and at the ...

• MENSAH 9 years ago

How many DIASPORANS want to stay in Ghana?
    NON OF US OUTSIDE GHANA IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE PROBLEMS GHANAIANS HAVE CREATED FOR THEMSELVES.
    Your own Politicians and Government Officials and their cronies,with unpatriotic citi ...

• kwabema ohemeng,london. 9 years ago

Yes, i am extremely proud to be writing from London.What stops me from doing so? Osagyefo and others took their inspiration from living outside of Ghana .My stay in Europe has removed the 'scales' from my eyes.You may be one ...

• BRITISH PRIME MINISTER 9 years ago

Now that the scales have been removed from your eyes, go back home and practise your culture. Nkrumah took inspiration from living outside Ghana but once he got the inspiration, he went home. There is real plantain in Ghana ...

• PREKESE-RUSSIA 9 years ago

HAHAHAHA,WHAT A FUNNY GUY?.YOU HAVE THE RIGHT ANSWER FOR KWABENA.NANA SEMOLINA IS NOT COMING HOME NOW TILL HE IS 80YEARS.NOW THERE ARE LOT OF PLANTAINS IN LONDON THAN GHANA.SO HE FEELS HE IS AT HOME.GO AND SEE HIS STOMACH AND ...

• OWEN,NEW YORK. 9 years ago

WHEN YOU COLLECT COCOA DRINK, PIECE OF BREAD AND A QUATER MEASURE OF AKPETESHIE FROM ASIEDU NKETIAH AND VOTE FOR CORRUPT LEADERS AND JOHN MAHAMA,WHY SHOULD PEOPLE WITH BRAINS LIKE OHEMENG AND OWEN STAY IN GHANA TO SUFFER IN D ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

Owen no one is faulting Kwabena for staying outside ghana, my worry was the way he commented about those people over there and still feel comfortable living with them. How long a we Africans going to blame the white people. I ...

• MR GHANA 9 years ago

My Dear Thank You.Why didn't Kofi Annan stay in Ghana and worked as a pigeon hole supervisor at Tech than worked for the so called West.HYPOCRITES

• Nana Frimpong 9 years ago

"They demonized our culture and imposed theirs on us; a nation's culture is its engine for development." Which culture are you talking about? The one that puts too much power in one person hand; the culture that says the elde ...

• Jackie 9 years ago

Good job ????

• Jackie 9 years ago

Good job ????

• Jackie 9 years ago

Good job ????

• MINISTER RESPONSIBLE FOR IMMIGRATION, 9 years ago

Kwabena Ohemeng, I agree with you. Leave London, go back home and practise your culture and your values which is the engine of your growth. I will be happy to pay for your one-way ticket (first class) to Accra from my pocke ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

It's so sad when everybody especially the pastors who lament on the rampant indiscipline in society today but could not wake up to see that they as the gate keepers of European values are the main culprit why our society is ...

Kwabena Ohemeng, I agree with you. Leave London, go back home and practise your culture and your values which is the engine of your growth. I will be happy to pay for your one-way ticket (first class) to Accra from my pocket.

• kwabema ohemeng,london. 9 years ago

Proud to be a Ghanaian and I will die in Ghana and be buried in Ghana.Anyway i am still a holder of Ghana passport.

I heard you say you will die in Ghana and be buried in Ghana. I did not hear you say you will live in Ghana. Ghana doesn't want your dead body. Just enjoy your semolina in London and stop giving lectures condemning Europea ...

• Tet 9 years ago

How can he not be in Ghana if he dies there?

• kwabena ohemeng,london. 9 years ago

British Prime Minister Ghana is no more your colony and i am still a holder of Ghana passport. At the appropriate time I will leave your country.I am proud to be a Ghanaian and British citizens live in Ghana.

• Abongo 9 years ago

I agree with you but ironically, the great Nigeria as the claim to be with their big mouth were not able to contain Boko Haram. What a shame. If it were to be money there to loot they will all rush there. Even Nigeria soldier ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

IS IT NOW THAT, KOFI ANNAN IS AWAKE FROM HIS SLEEP????????? HE HAS BEEN SLEEPING SINCE HE GOT HIS FIRST UN JOB AND SINCE HIS RETIREMENT. GOOD HE IS GETTING AWAKE FROM HIS LONG SLEEP. AFRICA WILL BE DEVELOPED BY AFRICAN, THAT ...

• obibini 9 years ago

Kuffuor did nothing to decolonise the economy.He left the nation still tied to the apron strings of the West.He almost gave our oil away with the nation getting only 10% revenue.To cap it all he left empty state coffers to th ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

SO THE NDC TAKING MORE THAN US$26 BILLIONS IN LOANS AND BEGGING FOR IMF BAIL OUT ON TOP OF ALL THE MESS CAUSED, IN JUST SIX YEARS, HAS FREED GHANA FROM THE WEST???????

• Abaji 9 years ago

Was it discovered by your mother?bitch

• Agyenim Boateng 9 years ago

Mr. Anna please l do support 100% because it is high time for Africa to reason for ourselves rather than always relying on others. Why? the mind they poses is it not the same mind we are having? Instead of revealing truth Afr ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

A Union of West African States will protect territorial integrity of the sub-region.

• KT 9 years ago

Thank you sir, that's why I fully supported Perez Mahama when he said Africans do not need handouts but partnership but it seems African leaders cannot think for themselves and help each others also. The West have problems on ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Ghana - and Africa - can never get any problem solved by itself or any region when you have people like Jerry Rawlings, who makes sure that countries like Ghana never sees the fruits or the seeds the country sows. See the bun ...

• Abubakari Shaibu 9 years ago

All Africans need to solve they are owned problems ,I Think all western may help us,Everyone needs help before get everything ok.

• Fiction 9 years ago

Gives us a break u v no benefit to ur own country have u ever visited even de northern part of ghana jst to see wat is happening over there as a prominent figure in africa all wat u does is wanting de international commun ...

• MR GHANA 9 years ago

Thru out his tenure in office at the UN what benefit and impact did it have on Ghana and Africa as a whole.Let him tell us.

• ADJEI 9 years ago

They cannot solve it, period! What we need to do as African is to find out how these western rich nations make it. Western countries make money by ensuring adequate circulation of resources. The cycle of money. Western countr ...

• Andrew 9 years ago

Look at this stupid man Kofi Annan, are you not West Agent. You are one of the most corrupt people in the world. Oil for food programme awarding the contract to your own son, Do you think we don't know. Is people like you tha ...

• Asembebadabi 9 years ago

If I were you I will listen to him, He know more than you do. He has interacted with the world. Wise people will listen to the fish that has learnt to live with the alligators and Crocodiles.

Money making is an opportuni ...

• Asembebadabi 9 years ago

Kofi you have hit the nail on its head and the Centriodal axis to African problems; but there is more to it. The West should stop dictating to African leaders what they should do. We must all go back and study US history aft ...

• Yaw Asiedu 9 years ago

Why don't you run for president

• MENSAH 9 years ago

An accountant might be very perfect,being placed in the bank,or control the accounting system of a certain firm,but not necessarily,a managing director of a company.
    HE MIGHT BLOW IT BIG TIME.
    A carpenter can't be a tailor, ...

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

They can't and won't even if they can they should not. Corrupt leaders must be forced to learn.

• Yebopower 9 years ago

Mahama himself is a member of book harem.Corruption will sap all the energy from Africa.The biggest problem facing Ghana is corrupt politicians.They create tension during elections to steal more money.

• MENSAH 9 years ago

MAN'S LOVE SHALL FAIL.

You can't always rely on someone.
    We have to learn how to motivate ourselves.
    We will never outgrow warfare,we better learn how to fight.
    The borrower will always be a slave to the lender.
    We hav ...

• SIMON 9 years ago

STOP THE LOOT AND FOCUS ON BETTER LEADERSHIP, GOOD RESEARCH, DEVELOPEMNT LABS TO PRODUCE VACCINES, AFRICA UNION, ECOWAS, NOTH, SOUTH AFRICA COME TOGETHER SOUTH SUDAN, ALL THE WAR FACTIONS BUILD CONCESIOUS EFFORT TO MAKE THING ...

• Awaaba 9 years ago

The West can help solve Africa's problems...Help us with the concept of best practices and nationalism. A corrupt has to change from within...Strict enforcement of laws not bribery to get out crimes

• liv 9 years ago

• Awaaba 9 years ago

We know how to amass wealth in a "BIG" way but have no clue how to solve problems. No medicine, no water, no electricity, no chalk in schools for teachers...the problems are humongous and seem unsolvable..A country with envia ...

• Gyatabi nuu 9 years ago

Oh Asiedu Nketia, wu ye kwasia ba paa. You and your band of NDC thieves asked and begged us Ghanaians to vote you into power to help us better our lives. But you have proved to be the most stupid educated person in Ghana. Wha ...

• Loway 9 years ago

The west give Africa problems

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, PLC, DPA, CPA, BA (HONS) {GHANA}, MASTER OF LAWS (LLM) {NEW YORK, USA} PENDING, MEMBER, INTERNATIONAL (WORLD/GLOBAL) BAR ASSOCIATION, MEMBER, COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, ASSO ...