You are here: HomeNews2014 12 29Article 340820

Don’t feel good if your wealth is via corrupt means – Okyehene

Read Comments Comments (106)

• cha 9 years ago

Yes the chief is right. Ghanaian politicians are now not ashame of themselves for stealing from the massses- NDC must go

• facts 9 years ago

To enter into politics in Ghana today is to look for a way to enter into the create, loot and share business.But these politicians way of living is attracting people like Sam George to quickly insult anybody to make a headway ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Joe...
    Thank you, Mr. Greenstreet, you spoke what is in the heart of Ghanaians. Everyone in this world knows NDC hates the truth and would like to hear lies because they are liers. If NDC is really truthful to thems ...

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

NDC ARMED ROBBERS WILL ALWAYS BE REMEMBERED FOR THEIR WICKED ROBBING, WITHIN 5 YRS ALL OF THEM ARE MILLIONEERS, DONT FORGET VICKI HAMMER SECRET INTENTIONS

• RJ 9 years ago

Okyehene, talk is cheap. practise what you preach

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

NDC so-called political party and their so-called politicians must be eradicated
    completely from our national society.

In doing so we can get our nation back
    on track for progress. Nana we thank you.

• Derrick 9 years ago

I never met nor heard this great man but his utterances are inspirational. Does any honest politician grant him audience? This is what royalty is about. I hope there is some honest pilitician somewhere inspired to car the vis ...

• KANTINKA 9 years ago

I wish all the NDC thieve will read this speech. They have stolen everything in Ghana but they can not enjoy it. We know that their wealth were acquired through stealing and looting from State treasury.

That traitor called ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

THIS IS A KING WHO THINKs ABOUT HIS PEOPLE, UNLIKE SO MANY OF THOSE STOMACH KING WHO DANCE TO "YENTIE OBIAA" AND SOME PROMISING VOTE WHEN WE ARE 2 YEARS AHEAD, GHANA WILL BURN LIKE HELL FIRE AND WE WILL SEE WHERE THEY WILL B ...

• larryfast 9 years ago

since when did this guy/king think about you,if yentie obiaa will help develop ashanti kingdom thats the best a king has to do,look at your small town i bet you its stillthe same ,no improvement since i left ghana a decade ag ...

• kofi 9 years ago

so nana ur cocaine deals is not worth being proud of

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

Politicians are more guilty of this menace, but they are not the only corrupt ones. Everyone who expects money before rendering a service is equally guilty, the hospital registry clerk who expects the old lady to put weight o ...

• DOGON YARO 9 years ago

I respect this chief than Asante HENE

• Kingsley osei, lagos 9 years ago

YOU ARE KIDDING dogonnyaro.What did you write that for ?.I dont blame you dogonyaro PEPENI,you doesnt sound like an enlightened ghanaian.God bless ghana.

• Oteng 9 years ago

I know Nana long time ago why now and not before,sometimes some people come with the truth when the see that dear pocket is full.by the way truth is truth.

• jesse 9 years ago

Has kennedy agyepong heard this message?
    dont feel good and proud of their wealth or attainments if it was not obtained through hard work, but through corrupt means.

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

Kennedy Ageing is a hard working Ghanaian he is not like you people who want to be rich when you dont have riches so you turn to create, loot and share.Sensible people are here to comment on a sensible advise concerning the f ...

• MAAME 9 years ago

Facts please never get worried over these ndc thieves, and please the youth of Ghana never envy a corrupt official for being wealthy for everything that has a beginning has an end and what goes around , comes around their jud ...

• Atoapoma Abransamadu 9 years ago

Sam George will soon be promoted by Mahamah and his cohorts for his (Sam) disrespect to the physically challenged!

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

I have learnt a lot from your speech. Though this is not the first time to hear this. But it has come at the right time and my player is that may the Lord God rewards you richly in Jesus's name. Amen!!

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Npp Motorbikes and bungalows thieves must blame themselves for presenting the same rotten tomatoes Nana Akanfo binaddo. 

• aza 9 years ago

this chief is very wise.

AUTHOR:-BOLUS, MERCY ADEDE...
    "The drug barons are currently targeting Ghana making us a vulnerable nation hence we must toughen our national security at all our Airports. If Ms Ametefeh has been allegedly doing such manoeuv ...

• shaggy 9 years ago

this galamsy chief ........bcos his nephew is not in power to make okyehene great than ashanti kingdom ..so he can make noise

• NIMA BOY 9 years ago

Some times i think there is good sense in old people till the day when i know Pharaoh is insane that is why his Grand Son aged killed him . Age is just a number i never think old men could have power to say this when they inv ...

Author:-GURUNDA...
    Ghanaians must desist from "worshipping" presidents and begin to hold presidents and leaders accountable. Bravo Greenstreet for showing Ghanaians the right way. Why bow to presidents when they are stealin ...

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

Yes! This is typical of Akyem. We pride ourselves with good name in poverty than wealth through corruption!!

• LAST DON 9 years ago

The corruption everyone is talking about started from ADAM inherited and revisited by Kuffour. It is a fact that the Busia faction in the NPP has had their share of looting again through Kuffour and so the Dankwa faction must ...

• kyebi 9 years ago

God bless u, but u should have brought his empty achievement in kyebi, they are corrupt themselves.

• AN NDC THIEF AT SADA, GYEEDA, 9 years ago

look at this fool, ask nana konadu who is stealing

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 9 years ago

WOW!! LAST DON, WHAT PLANET ARE YOU ON? I WONDER WHY YOUR INK DIDN'T FINISH EARLY. I CAN'T WAIT FOR 2016 ELECTIONS AFTER THIS UNPRECEDENTED GROUP OF ALI BABA AND THE 40 THIEVES GOVERNMENT. I HAVE ALWAYS MAINTAINED THAT ILLIT ...

• GoodMan 9 years ago

Good to hear this.But Okyehene should have made this statement long time ago.Corruption is everywhere.It is happening in our schools,at the hospitals,Radio stations,GFA,the civil servants and even some of the Pastors are wors ...

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 9 years ago

Is never too late to say it but we need is action. Action that will take on these rogues. It's sad that on that day when someone will come out with accountability he/she will be accused of political vindictiveness.

• Efo 9 years ago

You spoken, is the truth, integrity game of golf. I feel sorry for the greedy people who try to indulge in the game of honesty. Nana you spoken the guilty once should bow their head in shame.

• ema anyon 9 years ago

IF YOU MR OKYEHENE ALLEGE WE GAHANA FALKS MAKE OUR MONEY DISHONEST

• oppong london 9 years ago

ndc and john mahama are too corrupt that make Ghanaians in suffering.these useless leaders don,t copy anything from Europe after their studies here,they still behave in primitive African way,useless Ghanaian ndc politicians.m ...

• Asem 9 years ago

Totally agree with you, well said. We have semi gods in Ghana who are nothing but criminals who go road boasting about how successful they are, the reality is, they have not worked a day for their wealth. In Ghana we adore a ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

What about if my corrupt parents left me wealth which I now inherent? Say like Akuffo Addo's father Edward Akuffo Addo left him wealth which Edward Akuffo Addo got through corrupt means.

It is only President Nkrumah did n ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

President Attah Mills was not corrupt and he also left nothing. The same cannot be said of Ex-President Kuffour, Ex-President Rawlings' wife. Apart from Kwame Nkrumah and JEA Mills can any Ghanaian say that he or she is n ...

• 1982 9 years ago

Nkrumah, Mills and Dr. Hilla Limann are the non corrupt rulers. Limann never stole. He was not corrupt. Yet Akatapore and Rawlings removed him from power.

• Kojo 9 years ago

Limitation on corruption,Nana should be forced to give the money back ,including the drill ship money.

• Nii Lante 9 years ago

You need lessons in History. Read the Apalloo Commission which investigated Nkrumah's assets. Nkrumah has a mansion at an elite suburb in Cairo. It was built with funds from government by the Ghana Embassy in Egypt. That ...

• GOODLUCK 9 years ago

that is passed and gone, Nkrumah is dead long time ago, but Nana is still alive. he should bring back the drill ship money.

• senior Citizens 9 years ago

This Man is known as insurance fraud pundits while leaving in USA early days. Most of his friends who live with him in Connecticut, Massachusetts New York knew about this insurance fraud he was involved in before becoming the ...

• Kwabena Owusu-Aduomi, Asante Bekwai 9 years ago

Thank you Nana Amoatia for your boldness to say the truth. Unlike some of your counterparts especially in my own region Ashanti, who do not care about the suffering of their people only to be in bed with corrupt leaders who h ...

• Leo R. Sam 9 years ago

Congratulations Nana for this GREAT STATEMENT.
    I wish all our politicians (Past, Present and Future ) can make a similar statement and truly lead their lives according to the statement.
    I wish at least 51% of ordinary Ghana ...

• Nana Kwame Atta iii 9 years ago

Come to kibi u will see the most curropt and useless chief in Ghana the Galamsey chief Okyehene

• kyebi 9 years ago

hahahahahahahaha ooooh man say it again.

• DOGON YARO 9 years ago

Most educated chief in Ghana

• TKN 9 years ago

KWASEA, LIAR. GOD WILL PUNISH YOU FOR CONTINUING LYING TO GHANAIANS, WHO DON'T KNOW YOU.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

I have never admired a king more than Osagyefo Okyehene. His words are candid and have African American ascent. This gives me the impression of a man of wisdom where a frustrated African individual can seek consolation. He l ...

• makmamakama 9 years ago

I hope these covered heads have heard what the Chief said

• Gary NDC Supporter 9 years ago

You have spoken the truth and I hope our politicians amassing wealth here and there would tick.

• kwasi Belgium 9 years ago

Nana okyeman youths need a football team

• KB 9 years ago

God bless you,Okyehene! God bless you immensely!!THIS KING IS A REAL GEM INDEED,NOT ONLY IN GHANA,BUT THE WHOLE AFRICAN CONTINENT,IN FACT THE WHOLE WORLD!!MAY GOD BLESS YOU IMMENSELY!!

• KB 9 years ago

I wish someone could make a huge banner bearing this statement and placing it at the entrance of evry Convention held by the various political parties in Ghana!!!Hear woeds of great wisdom, all you stupid,cluesless Ghanaian P ...

• KB 9 years ago

I wish someone would make a huge banner bearing this statement and place it at the entrance to every convention held by the various political parties in Ghana!!Listen to words of great wisdom,all you stupid,clueless Ghanaian ...

• kenneth v.kunfaa 9 years ago

Well spoken,my king

• sonia 9 years ago

well said, not only politicians are corrupt

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Wise chief like you is what Ashanti need not those dancing with the tune of ( yen ntie obia) who see corruption as game of politics , who can use presidential jet to fly to U.K. without open investigation by our police servic ...

• Paapa Owusu-Ansah 9 years ago

Hypocrites, all of us are hypocrites, and Nana is number one here, I thinks most of our leaders are fighting with their conscience now, guilty conscience. The evil that men do live after them in other words those Jehovah cap ...

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

OH RIVER BIRIM

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

GALAMSEY KING

• Commander 9 years ago

“It takes courage and character to live in honest poverty while you watch your friends get rich by fraud,”
    OKYEHEHE.

• ASSINMAN BA, ASSIN SABASS 9 years ago

GENERAL MOSQUITO THE THIEF MUST LISTEN.

• yaw darko 9 years ago

well said my king

• Nana BARNIE 9 years ago

I have yoü many times, but this öne is the true and the real for the thincable ones to take.

• Ewe nation. 9 years ago

He must be talking about these greedy,fraud-loving and inherently corrupt ashantis.You see a wealthy ashanti it all must have been acquired thru corruption,theft or fraud.Ugly ashantis are just like evil Nigerians who are the ...

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

Look at this stupid idiot of an ewe saying ? The poorest region in Ghana is your eweland, envious people when did you get a state ? Or you think you just get up and confer on yourself a state ? Do you know what constitutes a ...

• kwabena kankam 9 years ago

U dawn shot u are not sensible the man did not mention any tribe why are you so full of hatred for one particular tribe because u are jealous of them look they work hard to get their money they are business minded people so t ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Why stupid JJ was trying to let Ewes be like Ashanti ? 1 because our sense of development is far from wisdom 2 we have low self-esteem mentality , my father is a carpenter in Ejisu I was born there raised there before moving ...

• Agyeman 9 years ago

Shut up you filthy trokosi .What wealth you talking about when you fools can't even manage volta resources you all just migrate to Akanland for domestic work?

• major 9 years ago

Great and honest speech. Sir

• Adroba 9 years ago

No Ghanaian is going to Heaven because we are all corrupt. Number one corrupt nation in the world. Any idiot dare challenge me.

• Adroba 9 years ago

The most corrupt nation in the world. We are all going to hell.

• Koo Larbi 9 years ago

The chief is right but should not forget that the Brime river pollution lies at his entrance

• ASH-TOWN ABRANTIE , MMROM KSI 9 years ago

THANK YOU NANA FOR YOU ELDERLY ADVISE.WE THE PEOPLE KNOW WHO A LEADER IS WHEN WE HEAR HIM SPEAK, AND WHO A RULER IS WHEN WE HEAR THEM SPEAK AS WELL.A LEADER LEADS HIS PEOPLE TO A DESTINATION. NKRUMAH WAS A LEADER, BUT A RULER ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

The most stupid corrupt idiot is Atuguba who was bribed by the foolish president, Jon Ndewura Mahama the rapist. The entire NdC is a corrupt party. They have stolen everything NPP acquired for the nation and now we have to sl ...

• Gaana 9 years ago

I hope one day the greedy ass, sycophant Asantehene Kwaku Dua will learn to speak sensibly like this from you.

• max 9 years ago

bollocks

• James Owusu 9 years ago

I must applaud Okyenhene for his bold contribution to the discussions on corruption in Ghana. For the past weeks, we have read many such contributions from different corners of the society, notably the church and the politici ...

• BAAFOUR 9 years ago

PEOPLE THE OKYENHENE IS NOT AMOATIA OFORI PANIN {I} FIRST NOR THE {II} SECOND. THE RIGHTFUL NAME IS WITHOUT FIRST OR SECOND THANK YOU

• SEIDU 9 years ago

IS A SHAME TO SEE HOW THE NDC GOVT IS STEALING THE GHANAIAN TAX PAYER'S MONEY AND KEEP ON INCREASING SCHOOL FEES AND FUEL PRICES

• Douglas Abu 9 years ago

May you live longer in your throne for us to receive a blessing message. Stand firm , this very message will set you into temptation.

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

And the Pastors and the Spiritual leaders must back it with prayers before the year ends
    1983 was another difficult year for Ghana
    We prayed and God listened to our prayers
    If God did it for us in 1983 he will do it for us ...

• fidelity 9 years ago

Ofori Penin God bless you,truly Ghanna is blessed but today look at where human devils have taken the country to. What the nation have come up with, they share it and then go for a loan.

• KOFI ASANTE 9 years ago

I AGREE WITH THE CHIEF. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT IN GHANA THERE IS TOO MUCH TALK AND TOO MUCH PREACHING. WE ALL KNOW WHEN YOU DO BAD THINGS YOU GO TO HELL--THATS IN THE NEXT WORLD.
    IN THIS WORLD WE HAVE TO ENFORCE LAWS AND P ...

• ADUANABA YAW - NEW YORK 9 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU GRAT KING FOR SAYING WHAT IS TRUE.I WISH KENNEDY AGYAPONG SHOULD READ THIS ARTICLE.

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

Very well said. GOD bless you.

• hahaha 9 years ago

Interesting this guy is talking about corruption. Is he not the same guy who is supervising galamsey in Kyebi and cutting of trees in unaccounted for Timber concessions ? He is the Okyenhene and he thinks he cannot be destool ...

• Paapa Owusu-Ansah 9 years ago

They call it guilty conscience, it's very sad I have gone through most of the comments and it seems folks are showing this man with a lot of praise which he deserve none. I can guarantee you this man children are not even sch ...

• Nii nii 9 years ago

WELL SAID I THINK IN GHANA ABOUT 99.8 % ARE CORRUPT. ALMOST EVER BODY IS CORRUPT IN GHANA. HOW CAN ONE EARN A MAXIMUM OF 2000 CEDIS AND BE ABLE TO BUILD A HOUSE AND RIDE IN A PORCH CAR. GO TO CUSTOMS IMMIGRATION ETC AND SEE T ...

• WONTUMI THE BEST 9 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU OOOOO,GHANIANS SALUTE YOU,YOU SAID IT ALL PERIOD

• Ataa 9 years ago

Nana well said. This finger pointing of corruption must stop. Govt cannot do it alone. Chiefs, churches, mosques and other religious bodies should set 1 Sunday in a month aside to talk about corruption in indiscipline. The co ...

• OK 9 years ago

define corruption n u will be among them

• JB 9 years ago

you are more than currupt

Sam George will soon be promoted by Mahamah for his disrespect to the physically challenged!

• kwakuvi375 9 years ago

May God Almighty grants u enough wisdom so u can be a great help to people from all walks of life. God richly bless u.

• COMMON SENSE 9 years ago

WHICH TRIBE IN GHANA IS CORRUPT MORE THAN AKYEM PEOPLE,SAKAWA FROM AKYEM PEOPLE,LAZNESS AKYEM PEOPLE,AZAA AKYEM PEOPLE,GOING OUT WITH SOME PEOPLES WIFE,JEALOUSY,THE MOST WICKED PEOPLE IN GHANA,SO NANA GO AND ADVICE YOUR PEOPL ...

• Ahmed (TM) 9 years ago

“Needless” tensions during elections must stop

What is wrong with the conscience of these rogues who have pledge to sell everything in Ghana to foreigners with the aim of receiving just dividends for their children’s ...

• kwadwo yehwe 9 years ago

I am in complete agreement with the Chief on this.However, the most corrupt of all institutions in Ghana, is the chieftaincy. These are mostly men (the most corrupt)who ascend these thrones not through hard work, intelligence ...

There should be a campaign against people who got rich through robbery, drug dealings, killing of business partners, fraud and not only through corruption.

• Kingsley osei, lagos 9 years ago

Nana's advice is like the Jen commandmends of God which people abhore and ignore.People wont adhere to it.why ? fonication in the society still prevail,(through which many make wealth) hommosexuality,cocaine buissness or hard ...