You are here: HomeNews2014 12 29Article 340818

Chiefs kick against the disbandment of Ofoase ‘boko haram’ group

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Sylvester 9 years ago

We have too many problems in Africa and we must not add any more self- inflicted wounds. We need to progress in peace and stop these religious conflicts

• Akua 9 years ago

Why will a group that purports to be a positive one name itself Boko Haram? Do the Chiefs know what Boko Haram means?

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Joe...
    Thank you, Mr. Greenstreet, you spoke what is in the heart of Ghanaians. Everyone in this world knows NDC hates the truth and would like to hear lies because they are liers. If NDC is really truthful to thems ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Get those idiots work and disband the group. We have seen the handy of PDC in the early 80s, we don't want a photocopy of that. They may also be used by bad politicians during election time for their dirty job if they remain ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

THIS GHANA CHIEF 'BLAKKER' LIKE CHARCOAL PAA.

• Kofi Ghana 9 years ago

This cannot happen in the Ashanti region

• KWASI 9 years ago

STOP THE NONSENSE ARREST ANYONE THAT HURTS WOMEN MAN OR KIDS OR CALL HIMSELF BOKO HARAM

• gretchy 9 years ago

i agree my friend.Stop it NOW before it gets too infectious those stupid Chiefs on thier high damn stool's have no imaginations.New Zealand in some district has an organisation which they call Blue Light's that run's day act ...

• AGGRIEVED EWE 9 years ago

What is the police waiting for, in chain of command, who is above who, the police service or the chiefs? So it is true that, all-die-be-die, has under disguise, and with corroborations of the chiefs of Akyem Ofoase commisione ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

Disband the group 'sofort', for, that is how the boko haram in Nigeria was formed. No, do not listen to the so called chiefs. THey were jubilating when the women were being whipped. Some chiefs indeed.

• KWAME 9 years ago

IF THEY HAVE GOOD INTENTIONS, WHY CHOOSE THAT NOTORIOUS NAME? OF ALL THE NAMES IN THE WORLD, EG. WATCH GROUP ETC, WHY BOKO HARAM? HMMM NANA'S FREE SHS WOULD HAVE SOLVED THIS.

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

Don't forget that Pepeni's lawless equilibrium could be traced way back to JAKPA the lawless worrior. But I hope they would understand not the laws from Gonja, but the laws of the land Ama Ghana. Zongo Chiefs and Zongo Boys, ...

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

This is not a religious conflict. It is a bunch of misdirected idiots who cannot define their perspective in a civilized environment!!But, the overwhelming discerning masses will show them their position as related to the la ...

• OGYA 9 years ago

YOUTH READY FOR 2016WAR

In 2012, we respected Nana Addo statement after the supreme court verdict. But this time round 2016, it will be a different story if those OTUMFUO AND NDC DARES

• Asempa 9 years ago

If something is bad you get rid of it. Everybody or group is under the police at all times so what new supervision is needed? The group is bad, so you admit it and get rid of it.

• Seko 9 years ago

Do we really have the head to learn. How does these things starts our part of the world, it's always from the positive before it gets nasty. Just sit down there and rationalise, it will consume you first.

• Elijah 9 years ago

Under no circumstances must a vigilante group be allowed to exist in any community. Ghana is not a failed state and there are perfectly legitimate institutions that can be mandated with the tasks of getting children to school ...

Yes! Those uneducated illiterates must face the legal music as a welcome paramecia for wolves from the wild.They are a lawless bunch of idiots.Any man or religion who/which subjugates women is/are masturbating idiot/s!!

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Elijah, well said. I hope Mahama and all those running Ghana read your comment

• Kwame Berchie 9 years ago

Get rid of them as quickly as possible. More Police Stations should be opened in the area before we are consumed.

• jimmy 9 years ago

Ghana police is at its compromise best again chieftaincy has outlived its usefulness in Ghana and therefore anti progress let's do away with it Don't listen to this chief go ahead Ghana police and ban this group

• makmamakama 9 years ago

are these hausa bastards members of the GHANA HOUSE OF CHIEFS?.....they can call themselves that but the fact is they are not ROYAL CHIEFS....FOR WHO ENSTOOLED THEM AS CHIEFS ON AKAN lands?

• mallam tunde 9 years ago

stupid akan and malian bastard. go and make noise in mali not in ghana

• PORKUS 9 years ago

ONLY IN OKYEMAN

• mahama john 9 years ago

POLICE PLEASE WE ARE WATCHING YOUR REACTION TO THIS ISSUE. HMMM

• Asem 9 years ago

Destool the chief. Get rid of this idiot of a chief. Remove him asap

• archie davidson u . s a. 9 years ago

This is terrorism in disguise.such groups shouldn't have a breeding ground in Ghana..period.. Its starts like this little groups...and later elect leaders..who will turn up to be "Ghana's. Osama bin laden" the government of G ...

• DESTROYERS PARTY N D C 9 years ago

BURN THEM ALIVE BEFORE THEY CAUSE ANY HARM TO THE SOCIETY.PERIOD

• El fuego 9 years ago

Am shocked! nothing good will come out of group s like this.I think idiots like those chiefs supporting this group sud be hanged! GH police Aaaaaaahhh ,so useless

Who are you? Read the report again and see if there have been arrests!!

• Kwacool 9 years ago

It starts with flogging Muslims for patronizing Christian businesses and then it escalates to something much bigger than that. Destool the Chief, I wish we could arrest his mind for stupidity.

these vagabond zongo "kaakaamotoku" chiefs are not legitimate to start with. They live on someones's land and claim right of a chief>>>>tweaaaaaaaaa...... who made them chiefs?

• Oteng 9 years ago

Anything big start small,ja to wontumi ny3 fii , we must do something this chief no nothing about boko haram you must explain to him before he come out and disgrace himself.like this again

• Asiedu Nketia 9 years ago

Listen to a STUPID CHIEF! support the group rather than disband it. Sometimes i wonder whether this chieftacy thing is really relevant to the modern age. Somebody's forefather leads a village war several hundreds of years ago ...

• koku 9 years ago

These people may be proving a point to us. I think they are teaching us that since the security system in ghana is ineffective, they can do their part to help fill the loopholes. In no country with effective ...

• atta nkpa nettey 9 years ago

George Zimmerman look alike.idiots who want to act like "wanna be neighborhood vigilante"...he ended up killing trayvon martins.in the u s.a. And claimed self defense....he is still walking the streets..do we live in a socie ...

• Asembebadabi 9 years ago

we cannot have a terrorist organization policing our neighborhoods. Trial by instant punishment violates the rule of law and public order. Who tries the supposed culprits. What are the legal code of conduct?
    Is the chief a ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

Even the police should not allow the formation of any vigilante group in that community again---they have a hidden bad intention, I can smell that....

• Josiah 9 years ago

The chief is not above the law and he must be taken in for questioning about the flogging. Such vigilantism should not be encouraged in our young democracy. Citizens must be encourage to use the police.

• Ghanaianpolitician 9 years ago

Whether this group has any ties with the Nigerian menace or not this name should be banned in Ghana. Circa a decade and half ago a similar vigilante group started harassing villagers in the north eastern part of Nigeria. Tha ...

• Mr T 9 years ago

The decision of the Chief to allow the said group to operate is the right decision. They must be allowed to register as an NGO or any acceptable organ so that they can be watched with an eagle eye. Banding them will push them ...

the fools masquerading as chiefs on AKAN LANDS can be stripped of their "" permission"" to stay. What da 4k they want to make rules that affects us all. THE AKAN CHIEFS ON WHOSE LANDS THE "AHOHUO ZONGO"" inhabitants dw ...

look these Nigerians and some from Niamey,niger and all other places live in the zongos--ON AKAN LANDS so whom do they swear allegiance to???Next we gonna have Chinese installing CHIEF in china town....Are they part of the ...

• Busumbru 9 years ago

They acan only do that nonsense in Akan land in Ghana. Look at the way the fulanis have been misbehaving in Agogo and the Chinese killing the Asantes in their own land.Now some idiots calling themselves chiefs have allowed Bo ...

my brother this is very sad,,but we must also blame our chiefs particularly the present Asantehene who dances with those helping the Chinese to colonise our lands and kill us......

• mymotherland 9 years ago

The group must be disband. small small the muddy pool become river. I believed the earlier the group is disband the better it will save us from problems. Muslim are not to be trusted in this kind of issues, pls don't listen t ...

• Uncle Sam,U.S.A 9 years ago

Gud,the earlie the BETTER.Ghana Police THE BEST.Superintendent JAMES SAFO PEPRAY m tomps up 4 u.Pls,don't give them any chance.Ghana will continue 2 b The most PEACEFULL Country in Africa & The World.A little drop of water,ma ...

• Kofi Ghana 9 years ago

This cannot happen in the Ashanti region under the nose the Commander One

• NOBODY 9 years ago

This neighborhood watch group does not need to waste the police's time with supervision. All this group needs to know is that it has a right to operate as a watch group, but it also is obligated to respect the laws of the lan ...

• Musa Daminama 9 years ago

Simple and easy to understand English please, Ghanaweb

• kk 9 years ago

Please desolve the group I beg, we can't afford to have such people in our Ghanaian communities. Please desolve the Group before they get out of hand

• Akos 9 years ago

Question the stupid Chiefs

• Amensco 0244523451 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at AMENSCO TECHNO SERVICES at Abeka-Fadama.
    We also sell and repair Canon and HP Printers and Copiers.
    Call 0244523451

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN 9 years ago

""As for the name Boko Haram, it was given to them by a few people in the community” the chief remarked>""

Who are the few people who gave the name of such a criminal group to a well intended youth group in their village ...

• PENNY WISE. 9 years ago

Are the chiefs Muslims? What ever it is, Ghana is not a failed state for vigilante groups to be encouraged; that would be synonymous with the establishment of the much dreaded Sharia law system. All the Muslims need is a fail ...

• A STITCH IN TIME. 9 years ago

Are the chiefs Muslims themselves? What ever it is, Ghana is not a failed state for vigilante groups to be encouraged; that would be synonymous with the establishment of the much dreaded Sharia law system. All the Muslims nee ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Every security oriented group or organization must collaborate and work under the supervision of the local police. But who watches the watchman, the police?They are known to break the law and do sometimes take the law into th ...

• Holy 9 years ago

Well spoken commander!may u live long to continue your good works.

• Holy 9 years ago

Well spoken commander!may u live long to continue your good works.

• BabaUS 9 years ago

Some of these Chiefs are the idiots. We in Ghana appear to copy any foolishness that comes out of Nigeria. Keep encouraging these idiots. You will regret it one day

• agyei 9 years ago

Book haram at ofoasi hahaha

• aja 9 years ago

those fools should b arrested along with the chiefs that are supporting it period.

• Afua 9 years ago

I hope the government will take serious action and uproot this group out fast before it is too late. this is how the Nigeria one started slowly and became a nuisance. A stitch in time saves nine

• Atule 9 years ago

Notorious chiefs

• Kyaawule Valentine 9 years ago

This group should be diabanded since it can grow and finally turn into such a notorious group in Nigeria.

• pHrEdDiE 9 years ago

This is how it starts. First as a vigilante group then they metamorphose into a group of armed religious fanatics. Ghana is a secular state where the rule of law prevails. Our security forces should be firm and decisive and u ...

• True patriot 9 years ago

Did u say de chiefs are furious dat dey desbanded a group dat takes de law into dia own hands? What sort of chiefs....well i rest my case

• Apiis 9 years ago

Village chief. He does not understand or know anything, tweaaaa !