You are here: HomeNews2014 12 29Article 340808

Minister orders VRA to end 'dumsor'

Read Comments Comments (53)

• cha 9 years ago

The real issue is lack of money. NDC dont have the money to buy gas in nigeria and is in debt with alot of oil distributors. NDC must go

• GH 9 years ago

ALTIMATUM

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Those required to provide us with power are using government procured diesel Generators in their bungalows whilst they RECKLESSLY AND FREQUENTLY switch off power to the poor consumers ?

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-GURUNDA...
    Ghanaians must desist from "worshipping" presidents and begin to hold presidents and leaders accountable. Bravo Greenstreet for showing Ghanaians the right way. Why bow to presidents when they are stealin ...

• Abdulai Waaheed 9 years ago

Mr. Minister the problem is simple and the solution has been with government for 5 years. The 2000MW Ketu Power Project does not need any funding from Government,just make sure ECG pays for the power they purchase that is all ...

• JIMMY 9 years ago

WE WILL SEE FIRE THIS YEAR

• KWAA 9 years ago

This man is just blowing his horn,by behaving as if he is talking tough.In three months he will not even remember that he said something like this.Does he think the VRA is making the "dumso"on purpose?In 1984 Ghana was doing ...

• Nii Lante Okunka. 9 years ago

When did this Doctor Donkor come to grips with the plight of Ghanaians regards to power supply.Hasn't he been in parliament all these years until his duplicitous appointment as Minister Of Power? What did he do to arrest this ...

• Abdulai Waaheed 9 years ago

Mr. Minister the problem is simple and the solution has been with government for 5 years. The 2000MW Ketu Power Project does not need any funding from Government,just make sure ECG pays for the power they purchase that is all ...

• Kaakaa Motobi 9 years ago

Ayigbe Waaheed, you were unwelcome during K4 time. This is your time and you have the solution. So why this public announcement when togbe is very at FLAGSTAFF house/

• aza 9 years ago

is this minister being realistic? how do you end a crisis without addressing the cause of the crisis?? cheap talk from another useless minister.

• Remove Indemnity Clause 9 years ago

Do you get electricity free from the air? Blame your corrupt President who is giving free vehicles to chiefs instead of using the money to solve the power plants .

• ema anyon 9 years ago

HE IS NEW MINISTER AND HE FLEX HIS POWER TO REPRESENT THE PEOPLE FELLING LET SALUT THIS BRAVE MAN AND THANK HIM FOR HIS WISE WORDS AND COURAGE

• Kwasi London 9 years ago

Please we are fed up with empty talks. How long have you been in Parliament? Dis you ever questioned or suggested this your ultimatium to the then minister? Mother fucker!!!!!

• United Ghana 9 years ago

How does switching of generators of VRA staff help with power supply? If threats are the answer why now? Would it be lawful anyway?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

ema anyon, what do you with your points? How is a great man? VRA or whatever company does not make rainfalls nor produce water. When the water level is low, VRA would have problems so is the situation.

• Patapaa 9 years ago

Too little too late

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

VRA to end what with what? Should they use urine or what? Talkatives in government!

• KK 9 years ago

What are the minister's plans?. What has he got or put in place to stop this menace?. Just meer words cannot generate more electricity. I hope he is still at his post after the six months.

• GH 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS AWAKE

• APOSTLE ELIJAR 9 years ago

Smart move

• Till Zion 9 years ago

This is hilarious.
    It is like God saying "let there be light", and there was light.

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Ha ha ha haaaa. You've made my day

• k.boateng london 9 years ago

well done

• J0eY L0dOn 9 years ago

That's what he promised.

• Jojo 9 years ago

We like too much talking and less working in this country. If it was only a matter of ordering VRA to end the Dumsor, the President would have done so a long time ago. Just sit down, understand the problems better and draw sh ...

• Abeiku Nkrumah 9 years ago

Oh Ghana, why have you giving ur food to your neighbours n now ur children r hungry,why have u giving all ur cloth to people n now all ur children are naked... am very sad!!! oh me man Ghana,I hardly see a light out since i a ...

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

Why cant we have constructive comments without insults?

• RO 9 years ago

Aah! Does the nation needs a PhD holder just to say this? Just instruct and mandate people because he has also been mandated. We need strategic thinkers not talkers.Too cheap.Bring ideas

• jt 9 years ago

Mr Adjei, this minister is not Pzs. type he is not going to accept your briefings better get the job done or urself organize to go. This is a highway man no time hearing briefings.

• frimpon kyei 9 years ago

so he has no other plans except to bark orders. who confirmed this man to be a minister without asking for concrete plans? what country is this?

• Dominic Adusei 9 years ago

How feasible will dis be? A vain talk to show he's up to the task.

• John Say 9 years ago

we have heard the president saying the dumsor will end by April. so why is the minister even given longer period. They are not sure which is which.

• lion 9 years ago

see that fool too where is the fuel to run the turbine. has everybody paid his or he bills in full . these small boys talk any how .

• S.A 9 years ago

OMG SERIOUSLY, SIX MONTH??? IS THAT YOUR BEST?? DUMPED LEADERS!!!!

• yawcomla 9 years ago

Ghanaians are easily to forget hence politicians always know how to play with them This NDC government know how to play their game Wake Up ghanaians

• ama 9 years ago

They like dumsor too much..saltpond ecg we ar still in xmas season.pls go to ghanaweb nd read news der.

• Asare 9 years ago

Subsidized rooftop solar

• macavity 9 years ago

Next sorry please

• AbraBo ye HARD. 9 years ago

WHERE IS HE COMING FROM? was he NOT in the PARLIAMENT ALL these yrs before his NEW appiontment? why fool Ghanaians NOW? WHY IN 6mths and NOT NOW to punish them in the X'mas? Was Mr.Greenstreet WRONG Telling THEM they DO NOT ...

• Akasuma 9 years ago

The power minister doesn't seem to know anything concerning power generation and distribution. If he does, he would have known that power demand in ghana far outstrips power supply. Does he even know the water level of Akosom ...

• Onipa Nua 9 years ago

Dear Mr. Minister, by this instruction I can only say that you don't even understand the energy situation in Ghana. What is the power deficit in Ghana? What is the water level at Akosombo now? The level is all time low and no ...

• agyeman 9 years ago

Even JJ after stealing our mandate and with the soldiers was a total failure.See this small fly. As for Mahama, he can choose some kind od of ministers o - o/ Your president is even tired and look at this fresh appointee. Woa ...

• Kofi Ghana 9 years ago

The Honourable Minister is a PHD holder and therefore must know has to apply strategic thinking to solving problems.He has been challenged by the President to solve the problem of power shortage presumably by using his intell ...

• C Awuyah 9 years ago

"Dr. Donkor, indicated that he would authorize all power generators at the various VRA bungalows and chief executive officers’ residences to be disconnected if the crisis continued after the six-month period." Indeed! Comin ...

• Amensco 0244523451 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at AMENSCO TECHNO SERVICES at Abeka-Fadama.
    We also sell and repair Canon and HP Printers and Copiers.
    Call 0244523451

• James Naru 9 years ago

The Minister is not serious. The issue is that Ghana electricity demand is about 6000MW and we can only supply at best 2000MW. 4000MW cannot be found from anywhere within 6 months

• scaro 9 years ago

This minister is becoming very funny. As if VRA is hoarding power and doesn't want to distribute it. Come out with better plan and stop this threat. It will not work.

• Santrofi 9 years ago

WHAT IS THE MAIN CAUSE &REASON FOR "DUMSO" ANYWAYS PER THOSE POWER COMPANIES???????

• Omanba 9 years ago

WHO ARE YOU KIDDING? This ultimatum takes effect from RAINNY SEASON in June in GHANA. It can only be appreciated by the IGNORANT.

In June of every year, Ghana never experiences DUM SOR. This is rainny season. It rains a ...

• Omanba 9 years ago

YOU, THE TECHNOCRATS, MUST BE UP FRONT WITH THE MINISTER THAT "YOU GUYS ARE AT THE MERCY OF GOD."

WHEN IT RAINS, WE ARE OKAY WITH OUR CUSTOMERS. YOU MUST NOT PRETEND TO HAVE A MAGIC WAND TO CHANGE MOTHER NATURE.

• Kaakaa Motobi 9 years ago

The minister should stop their generators NOW. The thing has been going on for a longtime so if he thinks the stoppage is of any value then he must do it no.

But knowing Ghanaman there will be another reason for the non- ...

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

You`ve told us you use a generator, haven`t you? Get to work and kick some butt, in a far more serious way,because the people you are dealing with need it!