You are here: HomeNews2014 12 24Article 340382

OFFICIAL: Avram Grant releases provisional AFCON squad

Read Comments Comments (132)

• The mask 9 years ago

The Ghana Broadcasting Corporation has no shortwave station or globally accessible satellite channel. Ghanaians abroad and in remote locations on earth are unable to keep up with local events. This lack of foresight is mindbo ...

• SISI, MAMPONG 9 years ago

THE FLOODGATES ARE NOW OPENED FOR THE LIKES OF GHFUO TO CRITICIZE AND INSULT AVRAM AS WELL AS EVEN READERS WHO DO NOT SEE EYE TO EYE WITH THEM!! CAN'T WE HAVE A CIVILIZED CONVERSATION DEVOID OF INSULTS ON THIS?

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

IT IS ANNOYING TO SEE ALL THE AFRICAN TEAMS AT WC AND AFCON WITH WHITE COACHES. IT IS ANNOYING TO SEE ALL THE GHANA OFFICIALS IN SUITS INSTEAD OF KENTE OR BATAKARI. "KENTE" IS THE PRIDE OF ALL BLACK PEOPLE, IT TESTIFIES THAT ...

• Etwe-kutu Twe-bribom 9 years ago

What kind of efuom village were you raised ? You sound like you don't have any education. your kotebotor father has wasted his pusa bayere into wo maame twemu for nothing to give birth to a goat like you

• STUPID MUNTARI 9 years ago

YOU WILL NEVER WEAR THE BLACKSTAR JERSEY EVER AGAIN.THE SAME GOES FOR KPB AND OLDMAN ESSIEN. YOUR TIME HAS COME AND GONE.YOU WILL ALWAYS BE REMEMBERED AS A BUNCH OF STUPID SPOILED BRATS WHO DISGRACED A NATION.

• ANABA 9 years ago

WELL SAID MY BROTHER!THOSE BRATS ARE GONE FOR GOOD.IDIOTS

• Dele-ghost 9 years ago

Some of us wished that Asiedu Attobrah, Augustine Okra, Abeiku Ainooson, Michael Helegbe, Clifford Aboagye, Assifuah, and Richmond Boakye Yiadom were included in the squad.

• Solomon Dormenyo Quist 9 years ago

Even the Bible said,PRIDE COMES BEFORE FALL. It is unfortunate this coach has succumbed to threats from the word, GO and has taken his first misstep and will end up tumbling unto his face. Those with very very big egos who ca ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

First of all Ghana is bigger and more important than anyone person so if are going to be happy about Ghana's failure because of one or two people then you are not a patriot.The word around town is that Grant recognized that t ...

• Tony S. 9 years ago

Where did you get this news from? And why is the media mute on what you have just shared?

• Dele-Ghost 9 years ago

So Ghana is scheduled to play on the following dates:

Sunday, January 19, 2015
    Ghana Vrs Senegal

Thursday, January 23, 2015
    Ghana Vrs Algeria

Monday, January 27, 2015
    Ghana Vrs South Africa

Now, which pla ...

• Kofikyini 9 years ago

Grant is playing it very safe here guys. He chose to invite almost every player who has been invited before as well as satisfy the curiosity of fans about the capabilities of certain players. He is going to settle on his own ...

• Dr Jay 9 years ago

Grant passed the litmus test of weeding-out indiscipline from our team. Good start. Great Job.

• mensa 9 years ago

HE SHULD OF TELL THEM ALL TO F....K OFF

• Ghfuo: Be Bad &hang nyantakyi, NOW! 9 years ago

Amputee bstars sef can do better. Konadu picked the players, not grant. This is purely a bribery selected squad. If the stupid fa weren't prepared to go for the afcon trophy. Why not stay home and save money? Let another afri ...

• O U 9 years ago

This is embarasing

• ¶¶¶µ¶ 9 years ago

YOU ARE AN IDIOT.GO BACK TO YOUR VILLIAGE,THEY ARE MISSING THEIR IDIOT.

• issa 9 years ago

fRANCIS KUMI WAS PLAYING FOR AGONA SWEDRU FANKOBAA, A SECOND DIVISION TEAM BUT HE WAS THE BEST PLAYER PLAYING FOR BLACK STARS.

• NANA YAW BAWUAH 9 years ago

Issa you are intelligent and it seems you have followed Ghana soccer for a while , am trying to support you argument, in 1982 Ben Kayode was a 2nd division( AROURAS ) player but was on the team THAT WON THE CUP OF NATIONS .

• Sarskoberta 9 years ago

Like you have said, quite a number of the squad members are in just for the numbers. They will sort themselves out.

In the meantime, the final 23 would be a post-Maxwell corruptible tit-bits/handout.

In this connectio ...

You are 100% right

• CHARLES 9 years ago

I am afraid of your mouth.
    Eh you can insult. hmmmmmmm.

• AMA KWABENA 9 years ago

ABENA, ENOUGH OF THE "LOCAL CLOTHES" NONSENSE!
    THE WORLD HAS SEEN ENOUGH OF POOR- QUALITY AFRICAN CRAP.

BATAKARI IS SHIT.
    KENTE IS A PROFESSIONAL MISFIT.
    SELECT THE RIGHT CLOTHES FOR THE RIGHT OCCASIONS.

SUITS ARE WH ...

• Heritage 9 years ago

It's funny to see all Africans still depend on white man cars,planes,smartphons , the Internet , the English language ,soccer,plasma tv , name them , if you are talking about been jealous of the white man then think about it ...

It's called evolution. Do you know the contributions of blacks and Asians to science and technology? Did it occur to you to do your history on how western national economies developed off of free human labor, natural resource ...

• Osono 9 years ago

Abena kwabena,so u want the Ghana coach n the team officials to put on Kente Clothes at the tournament? U r not serious. U must be living in ancient times

• GLADMAN 9 years ago

I'm glad you're back after qualifying the team for WC, doing an excellent job against Germany and Portugal (except that split-second mistake against Portugal for Ronaldo's goal).

Fatau, you're the best that we have now.
    Y ...

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

when ghana played germany and portugal? ahhh dumso affected you. we lost and drew becus of Dauda

• john akpa ( nickname ) 9 years ago

He must not be the number 1 goalkeeper or we are finished !

• anokwale 9 years ago

I think we pretty much know the starting line up.
    In the back: Afful, Awal, Mensah, Rahman
    In the middle: Wakaso, Rabiu, Badu, Dede
    In front: Gyan and Jordan

I think that the new names really have to do something rea ...

• Hp 9 years ago

Many questions.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

I think somebody invited those 6 new players for Grant,and I had expected him to scrutinize the list before accepting it.For example, a player like Inkoom has virtually been inactive,so what is the basis for inviting him?.He ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 9 years ago

YOI CHOPPING WAKYE AND GARI TOO MUCH,, ,,,I M BLAMING YOU RASHEED FOR ALL MY DOWNFALLS IN 2014,,,,,ANYWAY,,,,MERRY X'MAS TO YOU,,,,,,,,,,,,,,OOPS

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Don't worry my brother,I promise you you will SMILE in 2015.Merry Christmas and a prosperous new year.

• Mr.N 9 years ago

SMILE about what in 2015? Smile because Black Stars would be out earlier in the Ebola 2015 Afcon? I am praying on the side that Ghana Black Star would fail so we can take the failure to force Kwesi Nyantakyi out to make you t ...

• Jordan 9 years ago

U got the midfield wrong. Senegal is big, tough and has speed. Kofi Adu, championship league baller, Duncan and Acqualifying with the Ayew on the wings and Gyan in attack will do it, Ghana 3 Senegal 1

• STOP SHITTING ON ACCRA BEACHES 9 years ago

Another coach came and virtually picked a duplicate lineup Appiah fielded? The players must have paid bribe to Grant,Dauda is Grant's illegitimate son, Grant has fielded only Ashanti players so he must be an Ashanti..... Wher ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

See, the problem is that I would feel comfortable if these players had played in qualifiers. I think that Grant should have opted to camp in Ghana and invite a number of African sides who are not in the tournament for frien ...

• asamoah gyan 9 years ago

i think the midfield is too ordinary,its just too plane,it has no creativity,there isnt a proper offensive midfeilder in the midfieldits packed with just deffensive inclined players

• Ato Kakraba 9 years ago

I do not know what type of football Gideon Baah has to play before the technical team sees him. I have been watching European football consistently and dare say he is over and above some of the defenders selected as far as ca ...

• Agboloo 9 years ago

First of I am responding to your comment not because I totally agree with you but because of your disposition.You are right Gideon is playing some good football and deserve a shot but unfortunately not all good players get th ...

If you want to select baah who plays in Finland. Then select annan,.otoo and some Scandinavian based players. Kwasia! Since when did Scandinavian soccer be one the standard for emulation? Infsct, some people are.too stupid!

• SMalldevil 9 years ago

They play in uefa abd its beta than south africa league. Or is it bcos your mumu kotoko players play in south africa and have been invited so u are satisfied? Fool.

• ¶¶¶µ¶ 9 years ago

Which Kotoko players are you talking about? All the players with the exception of the goalkeepers play at clubs outside Ghana.Are you referring to "ex" as in "former"Kotoko players? Your hatred is only exceeded by your stupid ...

Is uefa league a.club? Afcon is an entirely different tournament. You can't even prepare.for afcon the same.way you prepare.for.afcon..likewise, u need to pick players who can play against african opposition..we have seen tim ...

• KWABENA OWUSU, TEXAS U.S.A 9 years ago

guys this is GFA hand work. how many times does Inkoom have to prove himself. they called him to save his carrier. very unfortunate Gideon Baah was overlooked i will pick him over most of our right or left back defenders o ...

• BA 9 years ago

Yes, I'm glad for our young debutants into our team. I believe Frank Acheampong, Daniel Amartey and Alfred Duncan are the same caliber of players that Paul Pogba. And if Pogba can do it for Juventus and France, why can't our ...

• BA 9 years ago

I'm thankful to Coach Kwesi Appiah for bringing youth and depth into our team. I give him all the respect and wish him a success, where ever he goes.

God Bless You All.

• Chris 9 years ago

Great and youthful squad.I believe they'll do well

• NANA FORDJEI 9 years ago

WHY DID GRANT LEAVE EMMANUEL FRIMPONG FROM HIS SQUAD ? IS HE NOT AS GOOD AS SOME OF THE PLAYERS HE CALLED ? I WILL ADVICE THE EXPATRIATE PLAYERS NEVER TO RETURN TO GHANA TO PLAY FOR THE VARIOUS NATIONAL TEAMS.

• Son of Man 9 years ago

Emmanuel Frimpong? Has anybody seen him play in Ufa, Russia

• NTAWA MOSHI 9 years ago

Thank you.At over 50yrs,I think I still have enough in my tank to play better than this boy or man?

• DD 9 years ago

Nothing to write home about. The squad will not qualify from the first round.

• Kobby 9 years ago

So 31 players are all useless I guess? You must have very low self esteem.. smh

• Worla 9 years ago

Great! Avram Grant

• Mawuli 9 years ago

It is good

• An Ewe is a goat 9 years ago

Wishing bad for Ghana because your favorite player wasn't called is something I expect from your kind.Do you think this is Hearts of Oak where you can field an Ewe striker who hasn't scored a goal in years?

• ONIPA NUA,TORONTO 9 years ago

Discipline is the key for the success of every group or invidual.Talent can take you so far.Please Avram keep your feet down and make discipline the hallmark !!

• Andrew Naija 9 years ago

Hmm

• lLover boy 9 years ago

Grant congrat good job u will make for Ghana

• Kojo Quayson- VOH-Dynamite Fm Tarkwa 9 years ago

I THINK AVRAM GRANT HAS OPEN THE DOORS FOR COMPETITON AND COMITMENT WELL DONE COACH.
    THE IS CHIPSAH, DONSAH, KENNY TETE, AND START DRAFTING IN EBENEZER ASSIFUAH AND CLIFFORD ABOAGYE. THEY ARE THE DREAM TEAM

• sedemdotse@tellthem.ho.voltarian 9 years ago

he has been chasing rat in the bush. lol oky bro. go to Google search type his name n read his profile then u will know what he has been doing so far.

• Plain Truth, USA 9 years ago

I just can't believe Akwasi Appiah and Grant could waste Assifuah, the U20 Goal King. Where is Assifuah and what has he been doing since his sterling U20 world cup performance? I need some answers.

• anokwale 9 years ago

I am puzzled by the selection of this Kwesi Appiah guy from the fourth tier in England. I hope they have some great highlights to show us.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Do not be puzzled my brother ,because the selection was not done Grant.I am sure Grant does not know the Kwesi Appiah guy ,and has not even seen his video clip.WHAT IS THE BASIS FOR INVITING INKOOM,WHO HAS BEEN WARMING THE B ...

• ALIMI YAO 9 years ago

I am a Cambridge United fan. Kwesi Apai-ah's(as the locals pronounce 'Appiah') current stint with the Us is his second. He's been banging in the goals and can be an excellent striker to have on the Stars' bench.

• kofi 9 years ago

he's not doing well.. he is a benchwarmer in switzerland..

• REEE 9 years ago

Nobody is wasting anybody and playing at the blatckstars level should only happen when a player reaches the zenith of his career or skills.Assifuah is currently struggling to build up his football career in Switzerland.We nee ...

• Daniel Tome Lissmecor 9 years ago

You are good but kelvin boateng

• bulwark mosaic 9 years ago

inkoom solom Asante adomah all rubbish

• ebbah 9 years ago

I dont understand why this three players are doing in the squad inkoom,adomah,asante

• Rasheed 9 years ago

You really understand soccer and this shows that,the corruption is still going on in GFA.Those vampires will never stop sucking our blood.Let us start with Inkoom.He was very active in AFCON 2010 and the world cup,since then ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Those guys are useless players.Inkoom is a bench warmer in US.please go to www.soccernet.com/MLS/DC united,and see how many matches he has played.

• joseph asmah 9 years ago

avram grant made a mistake for not calling essien, mutali and boateng , that alone will cost ghana to loose the cup

• Asem Asem 9 years ago

Including the trio cost us at the WC. What are you saying? Did we win previous AFCON with the trio?

• Kwame Sekyere 9 years ago

Grant mostly has mediocre material to work with. Let's Facebook facts: the majority of this selection isn't Black Star Material!!! We tend to overhype our players. There is not a single player at this squad that deserves to b ...

I meant: face! Sorry

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

Still no striker to help Asamoagyan

There is a Ghanaian striker in Sweden call Kwame Karikari

• SMalldevil 9 years ago

U arw ryte

• NANA K 9 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH GHANAIANS?WHY AVRAM OF ALL COACHES? THIS MAN DESTROYED CHELSEA COMPLETELY. HE COULDNT PERFORM ONE BIT. WHO RECOMMENDED HIM? BLACK STARS WILL NEVER GET ANYWHERE WITH AVRAM AS A COACH. FIRST AND FOREMOST HE'S ...

Brother, please stop this nonsense. Why all these anti-jewish sentiments? Don't make a fool of yourself. You're certainly better than that. Show some brains for you're a GHANAIAN.

• Amoah 9 years ago

This idiot calling himself Nana condemns himself every time he opens his mouth.A fool is a fool is a fool no matter what he calls himself.It is enough that people know that we will not allow anyone to harass Grant in our coun ...

• Kobby 9 years ago

It is said that naivete in grownups is often charming; but when coupled with vanity it is indistinguishable from stupidity.

• FUFUO DADESEN 9 years ago

get a dictionary and look for the definition of a racist. while you at it give some evidence to back up your bigotry

• Asempa 9 years ago

Grant didn't destroy Chelsea. He was the coach for one year and he took the team to the Champions League final. Yes, he had some problems when he started but he got over them. He failed at Portsmouth and West Ham but was succ ...

• ANABA 9 years ago

IGNORANT FOOL.WHAT HAS RACISM GOT TO DO WITH BEING A JEW?

• Kwabena Mensah 9 years ago

Striker: Kwesi Appiah ?

• A concerned citizen 9 years ago

Kwasi Appiah[half British} is one of the best strikers Ghana can produce

AVRAM GRANT MUST SCOUT IN HOLLAND, BELGIUM, PORTUGAL, GERMANY; A LOTS OF GHANAIAN PLAYERS PLAYING AND SOMETIMES ON BENCHES OF THOSE ELITE DIVISIONS THAT HE COULD DEVOLOP THEM IF HE SAY HE IS A GOOD COACH AND STOP LISTENING TO ...

• IRS 9 years ago

Boakye yiadom, muntari, essien, prince boating, etc

• Truff 9 years ago

Boakye Yiadom didn't make it because of his inconsistency with the Blackstars,Muntari is still banned from the Blackstars for assaulting an official.The last time we heard he had assaulted a journalist for parodying him in ca ...

Ykadlm didn't make it becos of hks inconsistencies with bstars? What do you mean by inconsistency? U mean, hks bribe wasn't consistent? Accam, warris, appiah have nothing on yiadom, antwi and mensah of.portugal.

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 9 years ago

KPB is injured. Muntari still hasn't apologised. Kwaraey is at odds with the trainer. I get that. But its already been established that Essien did nothing wrong. And how did Kwesi Appiah barely scrapping by in the second-tier ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

Essien is a secret "bad boy". Instead of being a veteran leader he was busy turning his back to the field during the Netherlands friendly and joking with Klinsmann during the USA game. He really did not show much leadership ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

K3 3f3 yuweimo anokwale fioo.

• anokwale 9 years ago

Ha ha ha...I always speak the truth. Please search for an interview of Kwesi Appiah before the selection prior to the Egypt qualifier. He discussed the loyalty of Essien having tried to play at 2010 AFCON in spite of the su ...

• kkp 9 years ago

Thank You for keeping OTani Muntari out

• Asempa 9 years ago

Please, don't use demeaning words like that. Be sensitive. I have a loud mouth but not such insensitivity. If I think somebody is a fool or a motherfucker I say so. You mean to insult Mutari but then you offend all Notherners ...

• TALATA, KUMASI 9 years ago

ANOTHER CLEAR EXAMPLE OF BRAIN DEFICIENCY SYNDROME (BDS) PATIENT. IDIOTS LIKE KKP SHAME GOD.

• Yaw 9 years ago

What happend to Kwadwo Asamoah ? Not part of the squad

• Destiny 9 years ago

Injured. Recovering from surgery.

• nicman@atl 9 years ago

watch scooby doo
    instead

• SMalldevil 9 years ago

This same old one way invitation, its all abt former kotoko players been hyped on radio by kotoko panelists. The moment he lives the shores of ghana he becomes a BS player. Grant will also fail just as A.A failed until invita ...

• Dave 9 years ago

It is said that naivete in grownups is often charming; but when coupled with vanity it is indistinguishable from stupidity.

• kofi 9 years ago

where is Muntari and Michael Essien in the squard?Look here ghana woke up. our judgement is not in line and this fool will mess us up.

• berima 9 years ago

We r going no where with this squard

• kofi 9 years ago

he's warming the bench in switzerland..

• samuel tetteh from banjul the gambia 9 years ago

ghana will go true fm the group

• CHRIST IS OUR CORNESTONE 9 years ago

GHANA WILL WIN. EVEN IF WE DO NOT WIN WE HAVE A JEW AS COACH. AND GOD BLESSES THOSE WHO BLESS ISRAEL. ISRAEL ALL THE WAY.

• mensa 9 years ago

AND GOD BLESS GHANA O

• isaac 9 years ago

very bad

• John Wright 9 years ago

You guys don't follow soccer all around the world. It will be stupid for me to waste my time to argue with stupid people like you on this site. Why do you have to mention Kwadjo Asamoah name here while this guy is being inju ...

• loosing bonus 9 years ago

we live 2 see dats Ghana 4 u ooooo.

• excoba 9 years ago

I edge Ghanian without indulgence of our senior players on suspension we can't pick the cup.Because their performance and names shake opponent players and they perform too.Let all tell the truth.to tell the truth and been evi ...

• Best Squad 9 years ago

Adams Stephen
    Harrison Afful,Jonathan Mensah,Jeffery Schlupp, John Boye

Andre Ayew,Frank Acheampong,Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu,Solomon Asante

Jordan Ayew,Asamoah Gyan

• Egya 9 years ago

With KP, Essien and Muntari left our of the squad, some of us have already 'won the AFCON'. Give the young and disciplined ones the chance. After all, only one nation will emerge winner eventually but the image and reputation ...

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

Where is Boakye YIADOM

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

what i have seen in african football its speed , strong and hight sometimes ,look at ghana v bukina faso game, thier defenders are very strong and weaked for gyan to enter so coach should do something abo ...

• Me 9 years ago

where is Jerry Akaminko

• Boy from the desert 9 years ago

Where are the locals? This does not bode well for soccer development in Ghana

• ASSUAH 9 years ago

YAWA SQUAD APUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUTOOOOOOOOO

• Sanapiatana 9 years ago

so finally Avram Grant wz not able to be on his feet to invite Muntari,Essien n k.p.Boating,oh Ghana we r not serious for e afcon plz let withdraw frm e game.

• sir isaac newton 9 years ago

Mahatma osmanu otto what has he done to the management committee? They seem to be deliberately excluding the boy.

• Nana 9 years ago

Mr. Grant is a seasoned coach.Must be permitted to choose from a field of talented and youthful future world champions, glory goes to God and mother Ghana please!

• Suya 9 years ago

the decision to exclude Muntari,KPB, and Essien was most definitely not a decision that was made by Grant.

• malata 9 years ago

Say it Again!!

• HOT KAY - JUASO ASANTE AKYEM SOUTH 9 years ago

NOT BAD SQUARD

• Tweeea 9 years ago

What happened to Assiafua, Aboagye, and Asshitey?

• Bawa Benjamin aka fireman 9 years ago

Ples no insurt, this is best out of players that we have so les give them needed surport, with this players we can win the Trophy

• Samuel narh oberdi 9 years ago

My name is Samuel Oberdi seaman leave in cameroon Douala important advice for black star .when they would play match in training ground they should always going the first before their
    Opponent do that and you be great thank ...

• Nagumsi A 9 years ago

For me there is no much quality in the team that we should put any hopes on. The defense is the same bunch of players without much focus, the midfield is without any game changer and the forward is just average with the prese ...