You are here: HomeNews2014 12 23Article 340250

Refusal of bail to Kwaw Kese is so wrong – Kwame Akuffo

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Look, if he didn't, he should send his people to do so. That is justice in Ghana

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

You could be right but the judge is also right within the confines of the law. What I see is that the judge wants to pump a little sense into the head of ABODAM. The little prison remand is reforming him, according to what I ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

How much did they pay? Is this about respect or the equality before the law?

• BUKARI DRAMANI 9 years ago

ABODAM WAS CAUGHT SMOKING WEED. YES EVEN THOSE DEALING IN COCAINE HAVE BEEN GRANTED BAIL. IS IT BECAUSE THEY ARE SUPPOSEDLY CONNECTED TO THE HIGHEST OFFICE OF THE LAND.

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Kwaw should send his people to see the judge. This is GHana.

• adjen kotoku 9 years ago

yes this really tells you Ghana is sick country suspects aiding some one to smuggle cocaine to heathrow has been granted bail.what about him

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

It is true that Kwaw Kese deliberately broke the laws of the land but refusing him bail whilst those involved in the Ayelegate (cocaine)case were granted bail today is unbelievable. Kwame Boafo Akufo is right that the judge ...

• Susuka 9 years ago

The law in Ghana is so whimsical, prejudicial and malleable that it would not make any difference if it were not there at all. The application of bigoted western law has failed in Ghana. It seems as if it is very often used a ...

• obaa 9 years ago

Yes I think it is for abodam's own good. when he eventually come out he will see how refreshing it is to be given an opportunity for meditation and reformation especially during this time of the year when we all expect love ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

If our judges were forthright like this magistrate, Ghana would progress well.

Kwaw Kesse is very popular and a leading role model for the youth. If he is seen smoking wee the youth will take it to a higher level. in every ...

• wakiki. sek. 9 years ago

u are right my brother

• kiki 9 years ago

People connected with Cocaine hat Bail.Schamful system

• CHIEF KUFFOUR 9 years ago

Akuffo Addo: No Certificate, acting like (Abu) in the thief of Baghdad movie; an old man filled with a lot of foolishness, WEE smoker, Cocaine Peddler, Drug President for Drug Barons, Ugly Dwarf litigant, Nation Wrecker sitti ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

is because akufo addo smoke thats why kwame is fighting for his uncle akufo addo

• Okumanin 9 years ago

I think we are own enemies. An American rapper came to Ghana and smoked wee on stage. What happened to him? A judge is refusing bail to a Ghanaian for smoking wee in public, wonders will never end. Are we continuing to make o ...

• kobuu 9 years ago

You are purely educated full and a disgrace to the legal fratenity. Do you want to say that you don.t know conditions in narcotic drug offences?

• Naaba kugri 9 years ago

Hold your breath my brother. That's their double standard. They are for it when it suits them. It's their party in government that pass the law on narcotic. With their own joe ghartey as attorney general.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

The GHS600,000 Nana Addo used to bribe delegates was contributed by drug barons.

And with Nana as a leading marijuana smoker, drug taking is seen as a human right in NPP.

• abortsi 9 years ago

Anane fiadzoe is a kwasia panin

• Good news 9 years ago

They refused to bail a wee smoker but accepted to bail cocain deallers.it is a shame to ghanaian judges.Freedom in Ghana without justice.God is watching.

• kofi 9 years ago

Ghrist Brown in GHANA

• Hassan 9 years ago

I thought these ppl claim cases bothered on drugs do not attract bail and that's the basis for which Kwaw is being denied bail. How come them ppl accused of aiding the Nayele drug trafficker were granted bail? A man smoked a ...

Don't be silly. Those people are just suspected to aid the woman. Kaw Kese was arrested red handed smoking wee in public. That's disrespect to rule of law.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Yes, Kwaw broke the law by smoking in public. But who said disrespect for the law should mean a denial of bail for the crime that he's charged with? Granting the man bail does not exonerate his conduct, not will that keep him ...

• rasta 9 years ago

SAY IT AGAIN, BIG TIME DEALERS GO SCOTT FREE!!! GHANANONO

• Ben 9 years ago

Do you know how many people are languishing in jail because of wee smoking?

• kofi 9 years ago

SO SOON what about the case of Ghrist Brown

• Kwame 9 years ago

God go punish Ghana police and all the leader and that stupid judge...kwasiafua cocaine people are always been given bail....Abua like u

• MOHAMMED MADANI ABDULLAH. 9 years ago

Eight Ghana. hmm we live to see._

• john 9 years ago

Ghana we have a problem the judge have think inside the not outside the box they should free him now and stop that

• J.B. Rockson Washington D.C. 9 years ago

Only in GH

Kwame akuffo. But it's npp government that pass the law of no bail in narcotic related casses. Why a lawyer like you turning round now to say something different. What's this double standard. Enemies of progress. You are for ...

• J.B. Rockson Washington D.C. 9 years ago

That's why we have MAHAMA as President

• Baba Wanzam 9 years ago

Kwami you seem to know everything but you know nothing Do you know the offences that bail can be refused? If counsel of accuse feels his client is not bring treated fairly he has the right to go to a superior court and apply ...

• ASA 9 years ago

NANA IS NUMBER ONE

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

KWAW KESE IS BROBABLY SUFFERING THE EFFECTS OF WEE SMOKING. IS THIS SILLY LAWYER ADVOCATING THAT A CHILD WHO KILLS HIS PARENTS AND IS ON TRIAL FOR THEIR MURDER BE GRANTED BAIL ON THE GROUNDS THAT HE IS AN ORPHAN? HE IS REDI ...

• kiki 9 years ago

How do we underatand the system?When the same system use it to cure lliness in Europe

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Is coke trafficking better than smoking one joint?.A court in Accra has granted coke mafia syndicate bail but Kumasi Police and Court are making sure Kwaw Kese dies in jail just because of a joint.The Ashanti Regional Police ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

I wonder if this lawyer is criminal one if he can't get bail for Kwaw Kese then something is wrong with him or the system

• ghanaman 9 years ago

kwaw kese is from a poor family but arrogant and proud you are only a musician by chance just lay low and smoke under ground how much he got to in his accounts to pay for penalty .this is crazy abodam

• Ama 9 years ago

It's so wrong what's being done to Kwaw Kese!!!

• yawhima krakye 9 years ago

This is Africa at its best. Jail the common thief, and promote the bigger thieves into higher offices.

• Derrick Benson 9 years ago

Is Kwame Akuffo a Lawyer ? Over to you GBA

• michel donkoh 9 years ago

Is it magistrate who is holding us to ransom. No doubt I was wondering
    which kind of judge could this be. Not knowing a magistrate. How can U leave the prescious life of a star like kersi in the hand of an illiterate. Magis ...

• odeneho 9 years ago

How can you denied bail to a misdemeanor case? I don't support this drug business but this one involves someone smoking a banned substance in public not carrying more with the intention to distribute or sell, come on this jud ...

• Gyimah 9 years ago

My layman's thinking tells me the judge is trying be a disciplinarian and not what he's supposed to do as a judge.
    His fatherly responsibility and behaviour is getting in the way of his judicial duties.

• Alex 9 years ago

Kwaw Kesse is more better than Obinim who want to the prägnant woman,Mr Juge what ur going to do with Obinim?

• tettey 9 years ago

i feel sorry for this kwaw kesse

• Timothy 9 years ago

Cris Brown what did he smoke when he csme to ghana or its lalipop. Free Kwaw Kese and stop that 'shameful act' as Bafour Akofu said

• TAHIR HAMONY 9 years ago

THE LAW IS NO RESPECTER OF PERSONS. THIS TYPE OF NPP HYPOCRISY IS ABSURD.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

Ghana needs to line up many Judges in the system to be slaughtered like animals. If you are a cocaine smuggler you can have a bailout but if you smoke a weed you cannot have bailout that is Ghana for fools. What a law?

• Cash 9 years ago

If an Accra Circuit Court has granted bail to businessman Alhaji Dawood and five others suspected to have aided Nayele Ametefeh to transport 12kg of cocaine to the UK, then one sees no reason why Kwaw Kesse should not be gran ...

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Regardless of how badly folks in Ghana feel about smoking weed in public, the offense should not keep Kwaw in jail without bail while folks who are charged with very serious offenses such as drug dealing and political embezzl ...

• A kruase Lawyer 9 years ago

Why must Kese be granted bail when other defendants arrested for similar offenses are denied. The law must be applicable to all Ghanaians on equal bases.If Mr.Kese is legible for bail then all defendants accused of similar cr ...

• Cash 9 years ago

I surely agreed with you that Kwaw Kesse should be allowed on bail. He has not stolen the money of the government. He was not found selling the drugs. He was not involved in the case of the lady arrested in London. And if an ...

• Blow. 9 years ago

Wow.This is interesting. So where is the human rights and the administration of justice.I think this is one case they have to look into what.
    His passport can be held by the authorities so a bail can be granted when they fee ...

• joe 9 years ago

That's crazy lil wee and the drug lords are walking free on the street of Ghana with their big cars that's crazy again.

• donkobby 9 years ago

the law is an ASS

• 60 pounds from Madina 9 years ago

if other drug heads are on bail then why not kwaw kese.he has already been through a lot this year

• Ogboh Kofi-Adjei Kojo/ New York 9 years ago

I'm a legal analyst, ur lawyer Akuffo Kwame will rot u in jail & later be sentence to a very big jail time trust me. When l was in remand @ Ho central prisons in 1989-1991, my post @ the cell was chief inspector, he should d ...

• citizin 9 years ago

societal injustices, NONSENSE.

• ray 9 years ago

Shame to Ghanaian Judges how can you refuse bail for some one who smoke marijuana and granted bail for a cocaine dealer.shame to you Kris Brown was in Ghana and on the stage he did smoke we nothing happen and we gave millions ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Hmmmmm! Ghanaian leaders

• yaw 9 years ago

I wonder why leaders are not arrested by steeling our national had eurn money but rather arrested someone who used his own had eurn money to buy wee, judiciary should enforce the law on the seller's as it is enterprating in t ...