Ghana needs 2nd Chamber, must lean towards parly system - Griffiths

Read Comments Comments (28)

• cha 10 years ago

Cut the pariliament MP's in half and then we can talk about second chamber. The country is only 24million ppl- we do not need that manyofficials representing the ppl

• Mr T 10 years ago

The presidential system is a loop hole to do nothing and still get away with it because the so called power is in the hands of a group of do nothing officials. the second chamber is long time overdue. We are copying the UK in ...

• CORNEY 10 years ago

Yes,I think we need that but he is wrong to say having the second house or chamber will reduce the stranglehold of the two parties.
    Ghana is an officially two party state like the US and no matter how the other mushroom part ...

• Dr Jay 10 years ago

Agreed and this is not a new concept. Also check the US system of the House and the Senate. Yes this is overdue and saying we do not have the money is no-brainer. Look at the level of corruption and tell us if this is not m ...

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

Why African leaders always want to be called presidents and not prime ministers? With the exception of the French speaking countries, whose systems have a president with a chosen prime minister to run the day to day affairs o ...

• Andrew Naija 10 years ago

Then capital relocated from Accra. My Accra will still be the most important city and all regional capitals will develop rapidly!

• Akwaaba 10 years ago

IDEG present JOY has stated this several times in his book. Talk to him. JOY2012 For 2016

• Bright 10 years ago

At last it came out of the mouth of a professional in the political field. It is good thinking and deserves thought.

• Kwabena Yeboah 10 years ago

I totally agree with Prof. Griffiths that the Executive system of government is detrimental to our democracy - our political system is not mature enough to practice the Executive system of government. We all were witnesses o ...

• eugene 10 years ago

and make like USA 1 house is Represents and other is Senate..together like next year the Republicans (opposition) can stop President Obama's Upcoming bills and Cabinet appointments and try to repeal his earlier laws

• eugene 10 years ago

and will burn in hell for eternity!

• Paul 10 years ago

However I sometimes wonder how well the second chamber has served the United Kingdom as it remains unelected and deeply partisan to a large extent with Whips!

We must also not go the Turkish way where the Prime minister h ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

IT IS THE QUESTION OF INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT, ROADS, ENERGY, COMMUNICATION, TRANSPORTATION(RAILWAYS)
    SHELTER, WATER, SANITATION AND WASTE MANAGEMENT THAT MATTERS FIRST TO A COUNTRY THAN SECOND CHAMBER.

WHERE HAS THE S ...

• Nii Adjei Blebo 10 years ago

Sir, I agree with you to some extent but it is not a question of funds that we have to think about. We have to think about restructuring the present representation in Parliament to fit in with the 2nd Chamber. The present s ...

• Chief amankwa 10 years ago

Small country why do we need a presidential system of government .

The entire British system will be much better

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Anyone who would entertain taking heed from so-called experts from other nations on a system of governance to adopt that is ideal for our country is to tacitly admit there are no wise men and women left in Ghana anymore. The ...

• WillsGO 10 years ago

Nothing else shall work in Ghana. Everyone in that country is somehow corrupt.. We can even try the federal system and that won't work either. Unless we change our minds from corruption and improve our enforcement methods.

• VOICE OF REASON 10 years ago

That parliamentary system is what Ghana needs.Minority leader in parliament,Osei Kyei Mensah,has also expressed similar sentiments.It is the only system to hold the executive accountable and to put an end to politics of impun ...

• VOICE OF REASON 10 years ago

It is only a parliamentary system that can stop dumb leaders like Mahama from running $5billion budget deficit and get away with it.MPs must also be barred from taking ministerial appointment

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

The two chamber system would bury the present rubbish system; where

- a dim bloke like NPP Akyem Akufo Ado who is not even an elected MP, and therefore not an opposition member in Parliament, yet goes about saying and doin ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Even the 1st and only chamber we have, what has been their value to the fourth republic apart from being a rubber-stamp for the executive and murderously rewarding themselves Ex-gratia at the end of every four years

• Nii Adjei Blebo 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana's need for 2nd Chamber is long overdue because since the introduction in 1957 of a unitary form of Govt. under Executive President no way has been found to carry the country forward and improve the life of Ghanaian ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Independence from what? Nothing in our "bogus" copy and paste constitution reflects the true ideals of the real people of Ghana.It is of value or "sacred" only to those who copied it from somewhere and the "VENAL" lawyers who ...

• K.Duah 10 years ago

We have to give room for an open ideals period

• Manchester 10 years ago

I believe that a second chamber would be an excellent idea and a most welcome one.

• eugene 10 years ago

1 or 2 for each region!

• SABEE 10 years ago

WHAT IS THE WORK OF THE COUNCIL OF STATE WHICH SHOULD DO THE WORK OF THE SECOND CHAMBER-FOOD FOR THOUGHT

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

Abolish presidential system. Wasteful. A prime minister is enough. Government can be dissolved whenever there is a vote of no confidence.
    Coumcil of State can be upper chamber.
    Invest more in District Assemblies for develo ...