What do you expect when kortibotors are stealing cables?
kabokabo 10 years ago
They should and see by themselves if what is in the papers is what is on the ground.
yaw Paul 10 years ago
You know, the NPP hates these kinds of news items concerning Ghana. Have you heard them making claims that the cede is the most hopeless currency in the world, that Ghana is the lost dangerous place to live and I can cite examples ad infinitum. You know the Good Lord is watching and so Dr. Bawumia's politically laden statement that the President should be prayed for cannot be said to be sincere. Ghana's true picture is not the case of hopelessness at all, at least from the perspective of very unbiased watchers
NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 10 years ago
NIGERIA IS AFRICA'S NO 1 ECONOMY.
Max 10 years ago
RIDICULOUS
RIDICULOUS
NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 10 years ago
WE NIGERIANS LOVE AND ADORE ONLY CRIMINALS.GOD BLESS OUR COUNTRY.
ROMANO 10 years ago
10 Girls Raped In Ghana Daily
Source:The Finder
February 6, 2013
Hardly a day goes by without a report on a child defilement case in the media, and according to child rights groups working on the issue, at least 10 girl ... read full comment
February 6, 2013
Hardly a day goes by without a report on a child defilement case in the media, and according to child rights groups working on the issue, at least 10 girls under the age 16 are defiled every day in the country.
They say that even though the cases reported in themselves are alarming, they constitute only about 10% of such abuses, as the overwhelming majority of the cases are hushed.
The penalty for defilement was increased in the 1998 amendment to the Criminal Code (ACT 29) to a minimum of seven and a maximum of 25 years without an option of a fine. Yet recent studies show that sexual abuse of children in Ghana is still alarming high.
Figures from the then Ministry for Women and Children Affairs (MOWAC) put the annual case of reported defilement cases at around 800 a year, but according to one of the groups working to stop the practice, Light For Children Ghana, this is only a small portion of an alarming national catastrophe.
For this year alone, Ghana News Agency bulletins have been recording an average of about three defilement case a day.
The majority of the defilement cases are hushed, according to child psychologists, because in some case the victims do not understand what has happened to them or are afraid of being shamed or accused of being bad girls.
Some guardians also prefer to keep such incidence to themselves.
This is especially the case where the abusers happen to be family members. There have also been cases of neighbors, teachers, pastors and all sorts of people abusing girls some as young as two years.
There are also instances where guardians go to the police, but later stop following the case and give up because they find the processes cumbersome, studies indicate.
Making the situation worse, according to Mrs Juliana Azumah, the last Minister for MOWAC, was that the over 50,000 children living and working on the country’s streets were often taken advantage of by sexual predators or run to commercial sex as way of making a living.
Also in certain parts of the country such as in parts of the Upper West Region, for instance, Action Aid Ghana, reports that an average of 50 young girls below the ages of 15 and 17 are abducted for marriage every year in the Jirapa, Lambussie/Karni and Sissala East districts.
Figures at the Domestic Violence and Victim Support Unit (DOVVSU) National Secretariat indicate that boys are also sometimes abused sexually, but the vast majority of the victims are girls.
ROMANO 10 years ago
COWARD U AIN'T SEE SHIT YET , I'M GOING TO TAUNT AND KEEP BASHING UR ALATA ASS TILL U DIE OUT OFF UR EBOLA CUM HIV INFECTIONS. NIGERIANS ARE A CURSED TO MODERN CIVILIZATION.... IDIOTA KEEP TAKING UR MEDICATIONS COS U ARE ON A DEATH ROW.
GBEWAA 10 years ago
DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR IS WHAT CHARACTERIZES SUCH BASELESS RANKINGS BY SUCH CLUELESS "THINK TANKS" WHICH HAVE COMPLETELY LOST TOUCH WITH THE TRUE REALITIES OF HOPELESSNESS IN GHANA.
THIS BOGUS "THINK TANK" SHOULD REMEMBER T ... read full comment
DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR IS WHAT CHARACTERIZES SUCH BASELESS RANKINGS BY SUCH CLUELESS "THINK TANKS" WHICH HAVE COMPLETELY LOST TOUCH WITH THE TRUE REALITIES OF HOPELESSNESS IN GHANA.
THIS BOGUS "THINK TANK" SHOULD REMEMBER THAT THE VAST MAJORITY OF FINE EXPENSIVE CARS AND HOUSES THEY SEE OR SAW IN GHANA BELONGS TO THE MILLIONS OF GHANAIANS MAKING A LIVING OUTSIDE OF GHANA, MOSTLY IN PROSPEROUS COUNTRIES OVERSEAS.
THERE ARE MILLIONS OF GHANAIAN DIASPORAN PROFESSIONALS AND OTHERS INVESTING IN ALL THOSE FINE PROPERTIES/HOUSES IN GHANA FROM THEIR HARD-EARNED INCOMES OPVERSEAS.
IN ADDITION TO THIS GROUP OF GHANAIAN DIASPORAN INVESTORS IN GHANA, THE REST BELONGS TO CORRUPT POLITICIANS AND DRUG PEDDLERS LIKE AMOATENG, ETC.
THE ORDINARY GHANAIAN WORKER CANNOT AFFORD A DECENT MEAL A DAY, LET ALONE OWN THE NICE CARS AND BUILDINGS PEOPLE SEE IN GHANA.
SUCH "THINK TANKS" HIGH RANKING OF GHANA LIVING STANDARDS MUST BE TREATED WITH THE RIDICULE IT DESERVES.
Ghfuo: Be Bad &hang nyantakyi, NOW! 10 years ago
This picture is not even from Ghana. Muahahahaha
jj 10 years ago
nkwaseasem
nkwaseasem
DOBOO 10 years ago
HAPPY HOLIDAYS Mr. President of Ghana. Please RELEASE ALL THE MARIJUANA SMOKERS IN GHANA in the spirit of Christmas. WEE IS JUST AN INNOCENT PLANT. IT'S HERE ON PLANET PLANET EARTH AND OUR PEOPLE ARE SMOKING ALL THE TIME. BE GRACIOUS. THE SMOKERS ARE OUR PEOPS. SET MY PEOPLE FREE. THEY WILL EDUCATE OUR KIDS. SET KAW KESE FREE. MARIJUANA IS AN INNOCENT PLANT INDICTED, INCARCERATED, SOLD around the world for people to get high. Its not the wee but the alcohol needs more control. Akpeteshi must be controled but legalize weeeeeeeeeeeee.The akpeteshi is the problem not the weeeeeeee. Im gonna smoke and drink right now cos I can.
Nemesis no food for you 10 years ago
THEY HAVE 1 BILLION BARREL OF OIL A DAY YET NEMESIS RADAR lias ROMANO HAS RUN TO FIND FOOD IN GHANA HAHAHA, HIS OTHER COMPANIES ARE DOING PROSTITUTION IN ANTWERP BELGIUM, NAPOLI IN ITALIAN AND ZARAGOZA IN SPAIN HAHAHAHA
ROMANO 10 years ago
HEHEHEHEHEEEEEEEYYY..... NOW EVERYBODY KNOWS NEMESIS IS HIDING IN GHANA NOT UK....HAHAHAHAHAAAA
NOBODY 10 years ago
yes you're right. Nigeria is Africa's No.1 economy when it comes to scams crimes. Afterall, isn't Nigeria the land of 200 million crooks?
Koo Nimo 10 years ago
Yaw Paul the currency is Cedi not cede
yanks 10 years ago
good come from these barbaric arabs?
SAMI 10 years ago
THERE IS NO PROSPERITY IN A COUNTRY THAT CANT PROVIDE CLEAN SAFE WATER AND ELECTRICITY,THERE IS NO PROSPERITY WHEN WE PAY THE HIGEST PRICE FOR PETRO IN THE ENTIRE WORLD AND THERE IS NO PROSPERITY WITH HUGH CRIME RATE ,ABUSE OF WOMEN IN PLACES OF WORK, AND NO HEALTH CARE SYSTEM AND WITH HIGH UN-EMPLOYMENT RATE AND FALKS CANT FEED THEIR FAMILY. PEOPLE WAKE UP THIS ARAB LIES ARE NOT TO BE BELIVED THIS PROPOGANDA WAS PROBEBLY PAID BY MAHAMA AND NDC TO COME OUT WITH THIS NONSENSE REALITY IS WE ARE 3RD WORLD ON THE WAY TO 5TH WORLD IT IS ALL LIES
MENSA 10 years ago
THIS IS THE BIGGEST ARAB LIES SINCE THE FALL OF THE IRAQI KILLER SADDAM HOUSAIN
WHILE THE US ARMY WAS IN BAGDAD AND SADAM HOSIAN MINISTER OF INFORMATION WAS CLAIMING THEY WERE KILLING SO MANY USA SOLDERS AND THE US SOLDERS WERE"RUNING AWAY"PLEASE DONT MIND THIS ARAB THE ALWAS LIE
Jah Ras Bo @ lon 10 years ago
7th? With all these oil, Gold, cocoa, timber, diamond, manganese? Oh Mahama, so without all these we would may be ranked 1000 hahaha
Nana Appiah 10 years ago
Ghana ranks 17th in Africa.. Not 7th..
It all depends on the Barometer or Matrix used in that Measurement. Ghana Owes so much right now, there is no way it could rank 7th in Africa.. Its going to even get worse with this current oil price which will invariably eat away Ghana's stake in oil production
DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago
Have it your way, Matemeho Koryor.
DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago
Lol, are all the kortibotors out there stealing cables now? Oh boy, God help us ooo! heheheheheehe.
george 10 years ago
eeeeey this report will make nnp people sick wooo.
Jamaica 10 years ago
Wosoa rule out politics out of this survey
The 10 years ago
Kortibotors fuck your mother good, you smelly trokosi incestuous stinking fool.
jOEy lOndOn 10 years ago
Your soul belongs to your god but your arse belongs to belmarsh idiotiical twerp....
DOBOO 10 years ago
Let's go SOLAR. Every house and building in Ghana can install SOLAR PANELS on their roofs. We'll have lights every night in Ghana. Teach the children how to build and solar panels in every middle, high school and University in GHANA. Should be like science fair projects. The Ghana Parliament must focus on providing SOLAR power to all houses and building in Ghana and stop beating about the bush. Get serious guys and gals in Ghana parliament.
MR TRUELY TRUELY 10 years ago
CORRUPTION PROSPEROUS IS THE TRUTH IN GHANA
DOBOO 10 years ago
get solar power its free
BIAFRA 10 years ago
7th?
You fools always say you are No. 1 in Africa in everything.
7th?
Same level as Somalia.
7th?
7th?
Same level as Somalia.
DARK CONTINENT 10 years ago
"a chief concern for many governments is how to ensure that the fruits of growth benefit a majority of the population and contribute to true long term prosperity."
There's a government in Africa that's concerned about the ... read full comment
"a chief concern for many governments is how to ensure that the fruits of growth benefit a majority of the population and contribute to true long term prosperity."
There's a government in Africa that's concerned about the people?
O, yeah?
Which governments?
jj most corrupt 10 years ago
We all know it.Ghana most blessed nation but poor leadership
Kwame C.Dankwah 10 years ago
GRAND PAA IN CRITICAL BUT STABLE CONDITION
Kofi 10 years ago
Africa must be the hell the Bible talks about then!
Nii Lante 10 years ago
Africa is the least developed and the poorest part of the world, anyway.
Kofi 10 years ago
Africa is not the poorest. Africa is endowed with the most natural resources. Maybe Africa is the poorest in terms of thinking!
TIJANI 10 years ago
Akuffo Addo: No Certificate, acting like (Abu) in the thief of Baghdad movie; an old man filled with a lot of foolishness, WEE smoker, Cocaine Peddler, Drug President for Drug Barons, Ugly Dwarf litigant, Nation Wrecker sitting on 3million oil rig thievery, his father (Edward Akuffo Addo) traitor and money launder
Obetsebi Lamptey: No certificates, state bungalow thief, occult grand master, stadium disaster donation thief, his father TRAITOR and Bomb Thrower
Dr Bawumia: Economic serial liar, thief of Baghdad in the redenomination exercise, economic sycophant with no shame, who will steal from his fathers and share with his friends for no benefits. A disgraced son suffering under the scourges of his fathers ghost.
Wuntumi: The lunatic Galamsey drug addict
Akomea: liability with no pedigree, Adult Pampas user, Chronic Gay with uncontrolled dirty pronouncements.
Agyekum Kuffour and Addo Kuffour : Crime brothers typical MATREKO family with no conscience: international womanisers, Kick Back professionals
Sir John: A Villager who has had his first experience in the use of WC, Fridge, TV, tad road and wearing of proper sandals (Tuabodom Boy)
Kennedy Agyapong: Essikafo ammbetem a human replica of his house dogs. He will always eat shit even if cake is offered to him for free. A classic Junky
Minority Leader (Mensa Kyei Bonsu) Peadophile (aweengah,) Kobolo, wee smoker stealing food from the school pantry. Serial liar after Kwamina Bartels
Dr. Osei Akoto Copy and Paste degree holder. He has no common sense.
KT Hammond mummy’s boy full of idiotic he needs to grow His body is 50yrs older than his brains.
Ken Dappah: A church mouse who has seen a Cat.
Gabby Otchere Darko: Akyem walking stick growing mould. A chirping owl in Dodowa forest
Mustapha Hammed: A Loyal Donkey
Mahama is a thief 10 years ago
You are the most stupid, jerk, idiot, foolish, son of a bitch, silly pig, nonentity animal on earth.Curse be onto the womb that brought you swine on to this world and told you that you are a Ghanaian. I pity you and your useless family, bugs infested stinking people.
Oprege. 10 years ago
Bro;
U are too funny!
Bro;
U are too funny!
@@@@@@@@ 10 years ago
Fools will try and hunt with fat sheep. KURO A AKRAMAN NNI MU NO NKWASEAFOR DE ODWAN SAYE NA EKOR AHA. MMOA MMA.
ROYAL SIKAMAN 10 years ago
There is no hell than Africa if ghana is ranked as prosperous in the continent. AFRICA IS A JOKE AMONG THE CONTINENTS.
yaw Paul 10 years ago
In America, there are persons who are still homeless even though it goes as the leading economy in the world. Let people be told that it is individuals who make themselves and not governments who make individuals. There could be prosperity,but if you are lazy in taking opportunities or you area palpable fool, you will continue to famish. I can say for a fact that even where Ghana's resources are equally shared among Ghanaians, some will dissipate theirs within seconds and go to borrow from others.
@JP 10 years ago
Your IQ level just dimished, the mere fact you compare Ghana and U.S.There is homelessness in every part of the world. The low class in America knows that at the end of the day, they will get FOOD ASSISTANCE from the GOVERNMENT. While the low class in Ghana does not get no help. The low class in America can have a job and get a car loan, and pay it off. The low class in Ghana can not ever get a loan to buy a bicycle.
Efo Kosi Korvet 10 years ago
You see it is some of these untruths which do not help our less fortunate folks. They are made to think that there is always a certain Father Christmas who will freely provide them with their needs. There is no such thing anywhere. As for my IQ I leave to the readers. The one who says the truth and the one who deceives with all these sweet sweet words which are just chimera
Norsaid 10 years ago
While it's reasonable to be a bit suspicious of leaders all over the world, our kind of suspicion is an illness. It's only a mentally derailed person who isn't happy to hear that he's at least not the worst among his peers.
... read full comment
While it's reasonable to be a bit suspicious of leaders all over the world, our kind of suspicion is an illness. It's only a mentally derailed person who isn't happy to hear that he's at least not the worst among his peers.
We need to train more Psychiatrists cos we have a National negativity disaster at hand.This of cos confirms Dr. Osei's estimation that at 40% of Ghanaians have mental problems.
mensah abrampa 10 years ago
Good governments create opportunities for its citizens. Where are the opportunities in Ghana? The US has not hadits bad times like the Great Depression but visionary leaders provided the infrastructural development in highways/roads network, education, agriculture/food security, electricity, clean water, healthcare, business,etc. etc for the economy to take off. I don't even understand why you're making comparisons with the US. Yes there are homeless and poor people in the US but what's your point? The amount of food that's thrown away in the dumpsters is enough to feed the whole of hungry Africa. We have a long way to go, bro. because the poverty levels are way too high in Africa and we're doing next to nothing in alleviating poverty. Don't be too content with your 7th most prosperous nation in Africa ranking. I know someone who was last in his city elementary school class but came top of his class when he moved to the village.
african 10 years ago
Bastardo,tell me,what is Americans population and what is Ghana population,tell me,how many resources ghana have? And tell me how many resources europeans have,vacuum dont support the idiot leaders.right?
Matoza wash D.C 10 years ago
Oh my broda talk n talk ooo come n see D.C e capital of U.S n see how homeless black n white are sitting in front of shelters for food n place to sleep at nite.gud Samaritans come around with hot meals for e homeless everyday n at nite they lay camp under bridges n all open spaces to sleep in e cold but ppl say America is e richest country,if u don't work anywhere u will be poor everywhere so tnx my broda
KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago
What do you expect Africa to be when as a continent it was forcefully taken over by the imperialists, its resources pillaged and its human power used as slaves to power the development of the rich nations in the world.Mistakes have been made by some of our leaders but africans must be left alone to rule themselves without being subverted from outside.That most of the fastest developing nations in the world are in Africa speaks volumes.Africa is changing and changing for the better.Time will tell and africans who always predict doom for Africa stand to be ashamed.
Matoza wash D.C 10 years ago
Tank u kwabena ohemeng
K BOATENG 10 years ago
good news
good news
KK 10 years ago
This is the worse continent on Earth. However some countries are worst. We are bad. This is what the ranking is about. Of all the horrible countries on earth, Ghana is bad but better than other bad countries. What are we celebrating?
RUBY MAHAMA 10 years ago
I think you are kortiboto yourself, how can you talk like that in this 21st century if you don't come from a primitive part of the world.Does this article talk about what you are saying ? You lived in your bugs infested room somewhere in the dirtiest part of Accra and talk shit, and you call yourself Joey London ? People living in the United Kingdom are civilized and talk mild and gentle.Kuraseni. Why can't this survey come from Dubai ? This your president has invested heavily with gold and diamond in that side of the world so who in that part wouldn't say Ghana is the 7th prosperous nation in Africa ? You idiots, I don't even know if you are a Togolese or a Burkinabee,bcos no man born of a real Ghanaian will hate our nation like you do, every real Ghanaian from east, west, Ashanti, North, central , BA will ever talk the way you anti-Ghana do you wait if the landlord doesn't leave the tenants will.
kkp 10 years ago
keep on dreaming
Say the TRUTH 10 years ago
YES A PROSPEROUS NATION IN TERMS OF RESOURCES BUT IN REALITY GHANA IS IN A VERY BIG MESS AND WALLOWING IN POVERTY AND EXTENSIVE CORRUPTION (STEALING OF ALL RESOURCES BY THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT AND STATE OFFICIALS)!!!!
GHANA ... read full comment
YES A PROSPEROUS NATION IN TERMS OF RESOURCES BUT IN REALITY GHANA IS IN A VERY BIG MESS AND WALLOWING IN POVERTY AND EXTENSIVE CORRUPTION (STEALING OF ALL RESOURCES BY THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT AND STATE OFFICIALS)!!!!
GHANA IS AMONG ONE OF AFRICA'S DISGRACE INCLUDING NIGERIA!!!!
IT IS AN EYE-SORE TO WITNESS THE SYSTEMIC FAILURE GOING ON IN GHANA AND OTHER PARTS OF AFRICA NOT ABLE TO PROVIDE THE BASIC NECESSITIES OF LIFE TO ITS CITIZENS WITH ALL THE RESOURCES AVAILABLE!!!
GHANA IS A FAILED STATE WITH NO SIGN OF PROGRESS BUT RETROGRESSION!!!!!
A PITY TO THE NATION GHANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Naaba kugri 10 years ago
You always happy of a negative news. But bitter when it's good news. God won't ask your opinion on anything like it or hate it it's a good news for some of us positive thinking Ghanaians. God bless our homeland Ghana
jack 10 years ago
I agreed with u, say the true! As long as i am good that is all the matter. And this how i look at it as a stand point for ruling government in Ghana.(quit been so selfish because GOD does not like ugly)
Criminal mahama. 10 years ago
What is good about this if the people can't fill the so call prosperous nation.
Akwasi 10 years ago
First in independence and 7th prosperous nation in Africa. What a shame.
OKOROMANSA 10 years ago
BUT MAHAMA HAS DESTROYED GHANA AND ALL OF ITS PROSPECTS. OTHERWISE GHANA COULD BE FIRST IN SO MANY OTHER THINGS. RAWLINGS HAS BROUGHT THIS CANKER OF A PARTY CALLED NDC TO BEAR ON GHANAIANS.
Geshon Yao Adadivoh 10 years ago
THIS CANNOT BE TRUE!!!
Adjei 10 years ago
What is the position of Nigeria?
Aggie 10 years ago
Ghana will continue to prosper, despite enemies of progress in the country who only wish doom.
Joe Turkey 10 years ago
Jerry Rawlings brought violence to Ghana. Before him, it was all jaw, jaw. There were not even noticeable police presence at any party congresses. He introduced murder as a punishment for perceived crimes. Ghana would have been a better place without this drug addict.
DOBOO 10 years ago
Wishing Prosperity and Happiness to all Ghanaians these holidays season. Keep the peace and protect the poor. Take care of our elderly folks and our children. Ghana is a beautiful Nation. support our leaders to make Ghana a better country so that Ghana can be the best place to live for all, HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Dessy 10 years ago
Ghana government should table legislature banning"End Revenge Porn" (consensual images),child pornography and girls under age on Social media;Facebook,whatsapp,viber ..etc.
Augustine 10 years ago
Could be True but corruption is eroding all benefits to the people.
KANAWU KASABA 10 years ago
AFRICA IS REALLY REALLY SICK THEN AND VERY VERY WORSE THAN IMAGINED
ISSA ABONGO 10 years ago
IF GHANA IS AFRICA'S SEVENTH BEST NATION, WITH ALL THE FILTH AND GHETTOS, CHOLERA ETC. THEN AFRICA IS REALLY DOWN IN THE GUTTER.
Chambass Saeed Abdallah 10 years ago
that's great but it should be reflect in our pocket God bless mother Ghana
OBINNA 10 years ago
GHANA NEEDS GOOD GOVERNANCE. GOOD GOVERNANCE AND TRANSPARENCY ON THE EXECUTIVE'S PART CAN HELP IMPROVE THE ECONOMIC LOT OF GHANAIANS AND IMPROVE OUR STANDINGS. WE SHOULD BE,AT LEAST, #3 OR 4. NOT #7.
jungle 10 years ago
This is complete bullshit and only a demented person will believe that. Africa is a failed continent period.
EZEKIEL 10 years ago
AND some STUPID Ghanaians will believe this and be rejoicing!!!!!! Free- Range Toilets, Dumsor2,Filth everywhere and Scarcely Pipeborne water......and we are Nr. 7th?????
kretz 10 years ago
Really! Then I feel sorry for Africa if Ghana is the 7th most prosperous nation in Africa. Is what we are seeing or feeling Ghana today is considered prosperous? Is that Africa's standard of prosperity? Wow, then we have a long way to go.
Foolish blackman 10 years ago
Why do blacks always relax for fucking whites to fool them? Blacks are fools
Pipo 10 years ago
My friend whites nobody can fuck them your hole country is belong to whites, you are fucking peanuts 20 Ghc, 50Ghc, if you call that fucking, whites fuck your Cocoa,your oil,your gold. What left for you penuts.
Ghanaians can ... read full comment
My friend whites nobody can fuck them your hole country is belong to whites, you are fucking peanuts 20 Ghc, 50Ghc, if you call that fucking, whites fuck your Cocoa,your oil,your gold. What left for you penuts.
Ghanaians can only eat fufu and banku , liars,sleepers,corrupt. 3 words in Ghana.
1- Sorry
2- i beg you
3- i was thinking, Ghanaians should never think because they have headache.
jimmy 10 years ago
The most stupid president of our generation Mugabe and his indecent country Zimbabwe with stupid citizens carrying HIV couldn't be found on the top 20. However such an idiotic president with a rat smell mouth could speak about Ghanaian issues.
Yaw Manu 10 years ago
Oh Yeah, with all the Dumso, Dumso, Dumso.
truth 10 years ago
Now NDC you folks sit your butts down and work.
K47 10 years ago
Go. Go Ghana.we will definitely make it..no shaky.shame onto NPP.they don't want to hear anything good about Ghana
perscoba 10 years ago
by the Legatum institute..yes another arab council who eats shit come to tell us that dumsor and children sitting under trees for school and all that is wrong with Ghana POSITIONS Ghana THAT HIGH? oH YES IT ELECTION TIME AND WE THESE BOGUS NDC ALLIES( indirectly affecting the elections)
Curteous. 10 years ago
Great! by next year Godwilling we will be 3rd.
jon dhramany marhhamha 10 years ago
Ghana could have been the first under a better leader
Emeka 10 years ago
hw can dis be true when yr soon called mahama has peddled all se cedis in Ghana. fools u can't try did in naija
GBEWAA 10 years ago
DELUSION OF GRANDEUR IS WHAT CHARACTERIZES SUCH BASELESS REPORTS BY SUCH CLUELESS "THINK TANKS" WHICH HAVE COMPLETELY LOST TOUCH WITH THE TRUE REALITIES OF HOPELESSNESS IN GHANA.
THIS THINK TANK SHOULD REMEMBER THAT THE VA ... read full comment
DELUSION OF GRANDEUR IS WHAT CHARACTERIZES SUCH BASELESS REPORTS BY SUCH CLUELESS "THINK TANKS" WHICH HAVE COMPLETELY LOST TOUCH WITH THE TRUE REALITIES OF HOPELESSNESS IN GHANA.
THIS THINK TANK SHOULD REMEMBER THAT THE VAST MAJORITY OF FINE EXPENSIVE CARS AND HOUSES THEY SEE OR SAW IN GHANA BELONG TO GHANAIANS MAKING A LIVING OUTSIDE OF GHANA.
THERE ARE MILLIONS OF GHANAIAN DIASPORAN PROFESSIONALS INVESTING IN ALL THOSE PROPERTIES IN GHANA FROM THEIR HARD-EARNED INCOMES.
IN ADDITION TO THIS GROUP OF GHANAIAN DIASPORAN INVESTORS IN GHANA, THE REST BELONG TO CORRUPT POLITICIANS AND DRUG PEDDLERS LIKE AMOATENG, ETC.
THE ORDINARY GHANAIAN WORKER CANNOT AFFORD A DECENT MEAL A DAY, LET ALONE OWN THE NICE CARS AND BUILDINGS PEOPLE SEE IN GHANA.
SUCH "THINK TANK" OF GHANA LIVING STANDARDS MUST BE TREATED WITH THE RIDICULE IT DESERVES.
jimmy 10 years ago
Did you see bosh cars and houses as one of their yardsticks or criteria of rating the countries?
Captein 10 years ago
Kenya is uniquely in crisis and no wonder the country fell through the cracks of below 10 th ranking.
The recent surge of Al -Shabaab alone could even send her into a free fall.
Besides, Westgate Mall example which showed a ... read full comment
Kenya is uniquely in crisis and no wonder the country fell through the cracks of below 10 th ranking.
Besides, Westgate Mall example which showed a bit of a time lag or deficit in the report.
Recent attacks on long distance buses and the decapitating of 38 or so heads of able bodied youth is very traumatic. Hence, the signing of a bill to curtail press freedom and more powers of the State certainly not good for democracy.
One would like to know how Nigeria faired in all of this with upsurge of Boko Haram and the govt's seeming impotence.
Kudos though to Botswana and Namibia and even Ruwanda.
By the way what is the loud Museveni doing for Uganda. He may turn into Mugabe soon. How about Egypt and Arab spring, there is work to be done, many believe.
Thanks to the think tank in Dubai, very independent, objective and certainly gaining good reputation for itself.
My worry is there are if I am not mistaking there may be 54 African countries plus one which is "my own Islets", and about a 3rd have been left out. What are the reasons for this? It needs to be addressed in future. Was it language barrier or what? Angola, Mozambique may be Portuguese, there is French speaking, of course English and Arabic could these have limited the scope of the research? Readers will want to know next time because Africa is one continent. And Africa without Madagascar is like "soup without salt" as it's said in Ghana.
NA 10 years ago
Good topic but poorly written.
Kafui Dagasu 10 years ago
Here is another joke for the weekend. How can a country which relies on raw materials for export and has chronic corruption as its flagship be a prosperous country? This is to please John Mahama who is alleged to have bought a hotel in Dubai. These Arabs are idiots.
FRANK SHERIFF+ BIG SHERIFF+ 10 years ago
ON ON WE SHALL REACH THE TOP
Paul 10 years ago
"Rwanda was the best improver, gaining five ranking places to end up as the eighth most prosperous country in Africa. The country was found to have the sixth highest ranking in regulation and government effectiveness, the eighth highest score in rule of law and the lowest perceptions of corruption in Africa."
I rest my case.
DotseSedem@speakurmind.HO 10 years ago
this is a big fat lie. best n most prosperous lie to be told in 2014. Ghana for where tweeea kaeee
WAWINDO 10 years ago
OH Ghana,This one too you pay them to publish good news about crisis Ghana.Expensive fuel, No light,No water,Corruption is everywhere.Apuuuu tweaaaaa.
Bolga STRONGMAN 10 years ago
...against are boiling over this positive news about Ghana under the able leadership of MAHAMA...
abu DHABI 10 years ago
AYEKOOOOOO J.M.MAHAMA,more votes for you in 2016.
jj 10 years ago
nkwaseasem
nkwaseasem
Kwame Rought 10 years ago
Africans are willing to allow themselves to be categorized by anyone but African!
Jamaica 10 years ago
Rule out politics
Ghana ba 10 years ago
What was Ghana's previous ranking?
paps 10 years ago
wow!i wonder how the other countries Ghana overtook look like LORD HAVE MERCY.
AB atonsu 10 years ago
Yes yes because Ghana is the only. Country that you'll sell sachet water (insu) and get 200% profit
kutsii. 10 years ago
Oyiwa oooo Oyiwa !!!. NPP and the old evil grandpa dwarf from the Akyem forest shd read that and repent from his damn mother fuker criticisms of a failed state. As for the toothless old dwarf grandpa I will leave him to the youth to make fun of his two BALLS.
excoba 10 years ago
wrong decision.as they became leaders now they are doing youthful things, doing their feelings with the big money they now seen, as we vote for them instead developing the country they make us poor and misuse our money.
dogbe 10 years ago
if ghana ranked 7 then africa has a big problem
STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago
No wonder this cooked nonsense is coming from Dubai where Mahama has been enjoying himself anytime he get the chance to do so. A country with unemployment hovering around 50%; average monthly use of electricity for homes and business less than 300 hours out of the monthly 720 hours; not talking about scarce water where most parliamentarians go to business without taking shower. What cretiria and numbers did this bogus organization used to put Ghana at 7th position in terms of prosperity? This nonsense will only come from an Arab state who do not care about the well being of any black man.
KWASI 10 years ago
NOTHING ARABS SAY IS TRUTH DONT MIND THE ARABS PLEASE
mensa 10 years ago
they are liying here also
Ndewura 10 years ago
Npp people remove the wooden glasses from your face and see the Better Ghana. Npp is anti development.
Country lover 10 years ago
If this is true then you have to feel sorry for the continent as a whole. WTF . UNLESS THIS IS A PRANK
NK 10 years ago
If the 7th most prosperous nation in Africa has its residents living without electricity,portable drinking water,good health care,I can't imagine what the least most prosperous nation 's residents be living with....probably still living in stone age era!
Rust 10 years ago
Stop disturbing us with all bullcrap about ranking. What we need is electricity, water, health, security, jobs and job security, education, sanitation, good governance and less corruption.
Constructivist 10 years ago
Africa is really a backward continent indeed. This retrogressing country of ours is seventh. My God!
Norsaid 10 years ago
You just need to travel outside Ghana to believe that we are in an African heaven where nobody goes to bed with a heavy load on his chest and not having the opportunity to express it.
Elsewhere, all the insults here would hv ... read full comment
You just need to travel outside Ghana to believe that we are in an African heaven where nobody goes to bed with a heavy load on his chest and not having the opportunity to express it.
Elsewhere, all the insults here would hv been traced to their authors and the rest would be history.
Our educ. is still good worldwide, and one of the best in Africa.
Electricity penetration is almost 80%. Even with dumso, our power flow is better than that of other countries including Nigeria.
Our women are highly entrepreneural and well respected.
Do you know that up till date hunger deaths are a daily occurence in India?
Our blessings are numerous. Let's believe in ourselvevs and stop the negativity.
STAFFORD 10 years ago
Ghanaians living outside the country deserve some applause for their contribution and support of socio-economic developments.
NYAME BA LEE 10 years ago
A hhhaaaahhaa, who did this corrupt study?that so called organization should go to Ghana and see what is happening on De ground before they make dis silly and unscrupulous ranking which is not doing any good to De Country. Kwaseakwa study with dum sor dumsor and no water?:
Jj rawlings. 10 years ago
The issue of which country is first or at the bottom is the lack of leadership and mismanagement of the country's resources . corruption is the main culprits among most African countries . Visionary leaders are needed through ballots access to vote and fair elections for the right candidate and not tribal division will bring the right leader.
loge isaac 10 years ago
I believe per natural resources of Ghana she deserve a ranking
@@@@@@@@ 10 years ago
ONLY WITCHES AND WITCH CRAFTS WILL BELIEVE THIS NONSENSE.WHAT SIN HAVE WE COMMITTED OR ANY CRIME? DEAR LORD! THAT THESE ANIMALS WILL BARK INTO INTO OUR EARS.GOD DAMN THE BASTARD.
Agbami 10 years ago
And where is nigeria's name in the list,the self acclaim giant of Africa.
Agyeman 10 years ago
And the self titled giant of Africa is nowhere at the top.Goes to show that you can't do internet fraud,prostitute your citizens abroad or have many drug pushers across borders to make it to top.Nigeria is one hell of a mess,home of thieves and 200m beggars with giant slums.Thank God I'm not a Nigerian and thank God Ghana is doing much,much better than those arrogant Nigerian retards.
@@@@@@@@ 10 years ago
Prosperous without light and water
You know, the NPP hates these kinds of news items concerning Ghana. Have you heard them making claims that the cede is the most hopeless currency in the world, that Ghana is the lost dangerous place to live and I can cite exa ...
RIDICULOUS
February 6, 2013
Hardly a day goes by without a report on a child defilement case in the media, and according to child rights groups working on the issue, at least 10 girl ...
COWARD U AIN'T SEE SHIT YET , I'M GOING TO TAUNT AND KEEP BASHING UR ALATA ASS TILL U DIE OUT OFF UR EBOLA CUM HIV INFECTIONS. NIGERIANS ARE A CURSED TO MODERN CIVILIZATION.... IDIOTA KEEP TAKING UR MEDICATIONS COS U ARE ON A ...
THIS BOGUS "THINK TANK" SHOULD REMEMBER T ...
nkwaseasem
HAPPY HOLIDAYS Mr. President of Ghana. Please RELEASE ALL THE MARIJUANA SMOKERS IN GHANA in the spirit of Christmas. WEE IS JUST AN INNOCENT PLANT. IT'S HERE ON PLANET PLANET EARTH AND OUR PEOPLE ARE SMOKING ALL THE TIME. BE ...
THERE IS NO PROSPERITY IN A COUNTRY THAT CANT PROVIDE CLEAN SAFE WATER AND ELECTRICITY,THERE IS NO PROSPERITY WHEN WE PAY THE HIGEST PRICE FOR PETRO IN THE ENTIRE WORLD AND THERE IS NO PROSPERITY WITH HUGH CRIME RATE ,ABUSE ...
WHILE THE US ARMY WAS IN BAGDAD AND SADAM HOSIAN MINISTER OF INFORMATION WAS CLAIMING THEY WERE KILLING SO MANY USA SOLDERS AND THE US SOLDE ...
It all depends on the Barometer or Matrix used in that Measurement. Ghana Owes so much right now, there is no way it could rank 7th in Africa.. Its going to even get worse with this cur ...
Let's go SOLAR. Every house and building in Ghana can install SOLAR PANELS on their roofs. We'll have lights every night in Ghana. Teach the children how to build and solar panels in every middle, high school and University i ...
get solar power its free
7th?
7th?
Same level as Somalia.
There's a government in Africa that's concerned about the ...
Akuffo Addo: No Certificate, acting like (Abu) in the thief of Baghdad movie; an old man filled with a lot of foolishness, WEE smoker, Cocaine Peddler, Drug President for Drug Barons, Ugly Dwarf litigant, Nation Wrecker sitti ...
You are the most stupid, jerk, idiot, foolish, son of a bitch, silly pig, nonentity animal on earth.Curse be onto the womb that brought you swine on to this world and told you that you are a Ghanaian. I pity you and your usel ...
Bro;
U are too funny!
In America, there are persons who are still homeless even though it goes as the leading economy in the world. Let people be told that it is individuals who make themselves and not governments who make individuals. There could ...
Your IQ level just dimished, the mere fact you compare Ghana and U.S.There is homelessness in every part of the world. The low class in America knows that at the end of the day, they will get FOOD ASSISTANCE from the GOVERNME ...
You see it is some of these untruths which do not help our less fortunate folks. They are made to think that there is always a certain Father Christmas who will freely provide them with their needs. There is no such thing any ...
Good governments create opportunities for its citizens. Where are the opportunities in Ghana? The US has not hadits bad times like the Great Depression but visionary leaders provided the infrastructural development in highway ...
Oh my broda talk n talk ooo come n see D.C e capital of U.S n see how homeless black n white are sitting in front of shelters for food n place to sleep at nite.gud Samaritans come around with hot meals for e homeless everyday ...
What do you expect Africa to be when as a continent it was forcefully taken over by the imperialists, its resources pillaged and its human power used as slaves to power the development of the rich nations in the world.Mistake ...
Tank u kwabena ohemeng
good news
This is the worse continent on Earth. However some countries are worst. We are bad. This is what the ranking is about. Of all the horrible countries on earth, Ghana is bad but better than other bad countries. What are we cele ...
I think you are kortiboto yourself, how can you talk like that in this 21st century if you don't come from a primitive part of the world.Does this article talk about what you are saying ? You lived in your bugs infested room ...
keep on dreaming
GHANA ...
THIS CANNOT BE TRUE!!!
Jerry Rawlings brought violence to Ghana. Before him, it was all jaw, jaw. There were not even noticeable police presence at any party congresses. He introduced murder as a punishment for perceived crimes. Ghana would have be ...
Wishing Prosperity and Happiness to all Ghanaians these holidays season. Keep the peace and protect the poor. Take care of our elderly folks and our children. Ghana is a beautiful Nation. support our leaders to make Ghana a b ...
Really! Then I feel sorry for Africa if Ghana is the 7th most prosperous nation in Africa. Is what we are seeing or feeling Ghana today is considered prosperous? Is that Africa's standard of prosperity? Wow, then we have a lo ...
Ghanaians can ...
The most stupid president of our generation Mugabe and his indecent country Zimbabwe with stupid citizens carrying HIV couldn't be found on the top 20. However such an idiotic president with a rat smell mouth could speak abou ...
by the Legatum institute..yes another arab council who eats shit come to tell us that dumsor and children sitting under trees for school and all that is wrong with Ghana POSITIONS Ghana THAT HIGH? oH YES IT ELECTION TIME ...
THIS THINK TANK SHOULD REMEMBER THAT THE VA ...
Besides, Westgate Mall example which showed a ...
Here is another joke for the weekend. How can a country which relies on raw materials for export and has chronic corruption as its flagship be a prosperous country? This is to please John Mahama who is alleged to have bought ...
"Rwanda was the best improver, gaining five ranking places to end up as the eighth most prosperous country in Africa. The country was found to have the sixth highest ranking in regulation and government effectiveness, the eig ...
nkwaseasem
Rule out politics
Oyiwa oooo Oyiwa !!!. NPP and the old evil grandpa dwarf from the Akyem forest shd read that and repent from his damn mother fuker criticisms of a failed state. As for the toothless old dwarf grandpa I will leave him to the ...
No wonder this cooked nonsense is coming from Dubai where Mahama has been enjoying himself anytime he get the chance to do so. A country with unemployment hovering around 50%; average monthly use of electricity for homes and ...
If the 7th most prosperous nation in Africa has its residents living without electricity,portable drinking water,good health care,I can't imagine what the least most prosperous nation 's residents be living with....probably s ...
Elsewhere, all the insults here would hv ...
A hhhaaaahhaa, who did this corrupt study?that so called organization should go to Ghana and see what is happening on De ground before they make dis silly and unscrupulous ranking which is not doing any good to De Country. Kw ...
The issue of which country is first or at the bottom is the lack of leadership and mismanagement of the country's resources . corruption is the main culprits among most African countries . Visionary leaders are needed throug ...
And the self titled giant of Africa is nowhere at the top.Goes to show that you can't do internet fraud,prostitute your citizens abroad or have many drug pushers across borders to make it to top.Nigeria is one hell of a mess, ...