You are here: HomeNews2014 12 18Article 339513

TV License reintroduced in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

What is there on TV that you can't watch on your computer.

• KB,London. 9 years ago

This NDC thieves will rob Ghanaians dry. The people are already suffering from excessive taxes and companies are folded up. So has NDC govt got no ideas as to how to generate new sources of revenue than keep taxing the poor p ...

• J J IS HUMAN, FORGIVE HIM 9 years ago

you guys are just throwing anything on the wall to see if it'll stick, what is TV in 2015?

• J J IS HUMAN, FORGIVE HIM 9 years ago

NDC is a foolish party

• 123 9 years ago

DSTV viewers already pay TV licence. GTV, TV3, nad Metro take fees from DSTV.

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Mr. Mahama is exactly one of the visionless African leaders that have always been accused of misplacing their priorities. Does the NDC government think, despite the massive corruption, they can borrow recklessly and spend the ...

• pkirks 9 years ago

You are talking as if you don't pay such bills in the UK.

• QTP 9 years ago

Are you comparing Ghana to the UK?....smh

• KB,London. 9 years ago

Thanks QTP,very sad NDC is ruling Ghana. pkirks comparison is infantile. Comparing Ghana with UK? Do you know the average income per household in the UK?

• mensa 9 years ago

they will soon tax us to breath the air

• DALADAM 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS EVIL GOVT IS HITTING US FOR MONEY AGAIN YOU GHANA PEOPLE STOP SLEEPING AND TAKE TO THE STREET BY THE MILLION TO PROTEST OR EAT THE SHIT

• Onyansani 9 years ago

I guess the amount accrued from this obnoxious tax will be used to support the newly created Ministry of Power. Haba, Mahama, have you thought levying a tax on serial calling? Why not consider a tax on the number of children ...

• prince maiga 9 years ago

even niger or chaid they don't pay for tv lincnse what can of disgreace is that sheem to ghana

• JB Mann 9 years ago

My friend, every devie that uses modem (modulator-demodulator) is a telecommunication device and is liable for Radio & TV licence.

In Germany, even if you have no TV, but has a radio in your car, you'll pay. If you hace an ...

• moshie 9 years ago

ei asem beba dabi.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

NPP, and the TUC are going to work on this new law. For them, everything NDC is not good.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I'm one of the founding members of NDC in one of the districts in Ghana but do you think paying a license fee for a TV make any sense,do you pay TV license fee in your Belgium?

That TV license fee was introduced by the PND ...

• pkirks 9 years ago

Corney, don't talk as if you are suffering from breathing. In ivory coast, even if you don't have tv, you pay tv license when you pay your electricity bills. Its already added and you can't complain. In south Africa, you can ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I my comment,did you see Ivory Coast,South Africa and China?

Even if we have to compare those countries to Ghana,they have better services for their citizens than Ghana.
    Next time read carefully before you make your comme ...

• U.S man 9 years ago

Corner , please check facts before posting .U can't watch TV on any channel here without a cable .I was that at first but now not .Thanks

• Asempa 9 years ago

Go to Ghana and see how bad life is for people. And all this mahama NDC government does is waste and tax and more waste and more taxes. Only fools like you don't see and feel what is happening.

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

Good intention but another opportunity to get people to line their pockets. Look these things never work in Ghana so please scrap it. Let TV be privatized and people buy the box and pay for the cost to those who are deliverin ...

• ABIS 9 years ago

Where is the light to watch the TV talk alone License. Ah Ghana, trying all avenues to collect money from the people.
    God help us

• JAMES Y 9 years ago

Is it a levy on TV sales? If it is, then it is a one-off payment when a new television is purchased from a retailer. If it is, on other hand, a TV licence, then it should be renewed yearly by paying a requisite fee as approve ...

• JM 9 years ago

POLITICS WITHOUT PRINCIPLES, WEALTH WITHOUT WORK AND STILL DOING EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO ROB THE POOR GHANAIANS MORE

• Boat new york usa 9 years ago

What ever kwame of Belgium says is out of contents in this forum.if you know how people are suffering back home you would have pity them.when we are discussion something important just forget about ndc ,npp and say something ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Let the crappy GBC compete and survive or collapse. With all the thievery that has gone on - and probably still going on - who says GBC needs money from the public. Who need the GBC in the first place?

• Samuel Ansah,New York 9 years ago

This is long overdue. Even in developed countries like US without cable you cannot watch Television. Once you had gone to purchase TV set the next thing to call a cable company and book appointment with them. Once the appoint ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Samuel Ansah New York,how ignorant can you be, which part of New York are you living and don't know that in the US you can watch at least ten channels for free without cable,did you just enter the US?
    Let me tell you that ma ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Leave some people alone before they annoy you with their lies. Even people now watch many programs from their computers. I don't know which part of New York that guy is hanging around.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Can you imagine that,Frank,in New York where a lot don't have cable?

Ignorance is a contagious disease.

• Samuel Ansah,New York 9 years ago

Corney,do you really live in the States? I'm a citizen and so do all my family of five and I really want my country to move forward and I always contribute positively to issues. I don't belong to any party and therefore non-p ...

• Rogue Lawyer 9 years ago

why should i pay TV license for corrupt journalims in Ghana?

• Kojo 9 years ago

Good idea but hmmm one man will chop this money

• hasan yakubu 9 years ago

Ohh my world, some of us in Ghana and abroad talk and contribute to this forum as if we lost our brains.. Even TV licence was paid during nkrumahs government and successive governments collected TV license. What's that go ...

• fiction 9 years ago

infact this curse govern does nt even care abt de difficulties ghanaians are going thro due to de imcompetency dey v exhibited so far to worsen de plight of ghanaians yet dey kept on introducing more taxises everywhere I for ...

• Kofi - Houston, Texas. 9 years ago

I live in Houston, Tx. and have Tv but do not have cable as someone was saying one has to have cable. I only watch numerous local stations like channel 2, 8, 11, 13 etc. If one does not have cable, that person can watch tv ...

• Michael K. Tettevi 9 years ago

When we pay tv licence fees all receptions must be clear and sound.

• 123 9 years ago

Buy digital tv

• benbelo 9 years ago

you live in ghana and you claim you are living american life. you want fredom of this and fredom of that forgeting that capitalism and democracy comes with a lot of sacrifice. you guys want everything for free. come to north ...

• ghana boy 9 years ago

useless government useless polices

• King, Uk 9 years ago

The payment is not the headaches of Ghanaian but how the fees will be utilized. Is like sending your child to school and he ending up to be a thief, drunkard and arm robber.... Let's pay it to the NDC political robberies.... ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Proper accounts please

• Concern 9 years ago

It not work...wait and see

• okess 9 years ago

backward and intiquated.

• nii 9 years ago

Ghanaians do not mind paying, but the chop chop is too much and no doubt some people will get rich out of this.Dear mother Ghana,my heart bleeds for you.people get worried when a new policy is introduced due to the rampant co ...

• Elikem 9 years ago

we cant even get proper reception and all they know is to tax us. first of all fix the reception problem!! Also pple should stop comparing ghana to the USA.

• Kofi Wayo Teye BaakaJnr 9 years ago

My tele is a mobile one. Come and tell me how to pay license. Think of better ways to maganage funds. Foolish

• JB Mann 9 years ago

What is GHC 2 ( about EUR 0.5 or 50 Euro Cent) for a life-long TV licence? It is the stupidiest law I have ever heard of!

In Germany, we pay exactly EUR 17.98 per month, making about EUR 216 (about GHC 496 ) per annum an ...

• agyeman 9 years ago

I think Ghana has run out of thinkers. In this modern age of IT you want to collect TV license when Television transmission can be viewed on mobile phone. Antiquated thinkers how can Ghana grow. Instead of cutting Mahama's ma ...

• Ayaba karim 9 years ago

Another platform has been created for another group of people to embasel public funds. This people call politicians will always creat means of taking money from the poor to live luxirios lives. God is watching.