You are here: HomeNews2014 12 09Article 338470

Benjilo: We lived with corpses in jail, saw rampant sodomy

Read Comments Comments (59)

• NERO 9 years ago

hmmmm…. this is bad.. i was at nsawam on a visit and i cried. No one should do something to get der.. its bad… sodomising .. wowow… this is evil

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

THIS NDC GOVT IS MORE THAN ARMED ROBBERS SO THEIR PLACE IS NSAWAM PRISONS INSHAH ALLAH

• ekow esuon mensah 9 years ago

wise up wai

• Whaattt? 9 years ago

Man, it is an open fact that the Nsawam Prison is a 'hotel among Ghana prisons'.

Visit James Fort, Koforidua and other prisons and you'll understand what I'm saying

And you rightly nailed it that ' no one should do some ...

• Gyasi 9 years ago

So let us all behave well in the society so that nobody goes there! Period!

• Truthiness 9 years ago

Why do you have to comment if u really don't need to? Do u know a lot of people end up in prison for political reasons?

• the truth 9 years ago

the prison is part of society!

• SHOE SHINE 9 years ago

IT IS NOT ONLY THE GUILTY ONES WHO ARE THERE BUT WE ALSO HAVE INNOCENT ONES THERE TOO.CONSIDER YOURSELF BEING CAUGHT IN A POLICE RAID AND BEING PLACED BEHIND BARS FOR INVESTIGATIONS.THERE ARE A LOT OF SUCH PEOPLE IN PRISON.

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Africa, which way next??

• Frank 9 years ago

We must all try to avoid prison. Christians must preach and lead godly lives to avoid going to prison

• OBINNA 9 years ago

CHRISTIANS ARE THE WORSE OFFENDERS. LYING TO THEMSELVES AND USING CHRISTIANITY TO COVER THEIR NEFARIOUS ACTIVITIES

• ekow esuon mensah 9 years ago

u are right obinna

• kwakuvi 9 years ago

Muslims are worse they claim they don't drink ogogoro but they smoke wee cocaine and fuck anus more than any religious body

• the truth 9 years ago

All human beings must, not only Christians.....

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Rev.Adu-Bonsu served his time in jail for a wrong and he is now doing God's work after learning his lessons the hard way. Some of the things he is talking about are untruths. He was never in a condemned cell so what is he tal ...

• Whaattt? 9 years ago

Have you been a condemned cell before so that we can believe you?

• kofi 9 years ago

Hello kwadwo ... There are places u have not been to but have knowledge of it. He has been to nsawam before and he knows what he is saying... I don't say the place should be a four star hotel but some of the things have to be ...

• PAM 9 years ago

Only hardened criminals should be put in prison. Mild offenders should be made to do community service instead of sending them there . This can decongest our prisons, offer the needed corrections and better facilities for pr ...

• Lalata 9 years ago

This guy is a lier you weren't a condemned how do you know that corpses are placed among condemned prisoners. There is a mortuary in the condemned prison.

• The Mentor 9 years ago

no there isn't. This article speaks the truth. The prisons are over crowded, not enough food, dirty.

• Nana 9 years ago

You wanted to get rich quickly and that serves you right Benjilo. Hope you are a changed man. As for Ghana prison this is a sad thing to hear.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Sending people to prison or jail for a specified period only to bring them back to civil society more hardened than have ever been before incarceration is disingenuous and a crime against decent society. It defeats the purpos ...

• the truth 9 years ago

The society itself must look in the mirror - it is as rotten as the prison itself; indeed, the prison is a microcosm of the society!!

• aduanaba 9 years ago

What did you expect a five star hotel you moron

• Kim Woode 9 years ago

It is a prison not a hotel. Aboa

• SHOW BOY 9 years ago

MY FRIEND BENJILO IS OUT AND REPENTED BUT WHAT HE IS PREACHING IS WHAT WE CALL AWARENESS.REMEMBER ONE DON'T HAVE TO COMMIT A CRIME BEFORE ONE END UP IN PRISON,ONE CAN BE A MERE SUSPECT AND THERE ARE A LOT OF SUCH INNOCENT PE ...

• Sammy 9 years ago

Please mr.president take good care for prisoners because some innocent people are suffering over there,expand the prison for the inmate to have space to sleep, they are human. Our prison need deconjuction

• larripee 9 years ago

benjilo u changed a pastor!? eii wonders shall never end! u all are just pretending. attention seekers!

• Naana 9 years ago

Reverend Benjilo said the prisons are supposed to be correctional hubs, but inmates end up being hardened criminals by the time they are released and reintegrated into society.Is he now a hardened criminal or a pastor? So l g ...

• OBINNA 9 years ago

THE POPULATION OF GHANA IS INCREASING RAPIDLY. GOVT MUST PLAN SUCH FACILITIES IN TANDEM. YOU CANNOT HAVE A SYSTEM THAT WAS BUILT FOR THE SIXTIES TO TAKE CARE OF EVENTS IN THESE DAYS. GHANA NEEDS ADDITIONAL PRISONS. CRIME IS O ...

• TUNDE 9 years ago

NOTHING ABOUT GHANA PEOPLE SURPRISE ME ANYMORE..THE MEN ARE ALL HOMOSEXUALS AND THE WOMEN ARE PROSTITUTES AND SO EASY.
    I HEAR THEIR UGLY VICE PRESIDENT SEF NAH GAY BOY.
    GHANA PEOPLE ARE A DISGRACE TO MAMA AFRICA.
    POVERTY N ...

• me 9 years ago

Tunde ur country is worse than Ghana,if not what are u doing in Ghana moron ?? Ur president yara dua was even a gay. Check it right

• Oh, Obia ne ntampe wo ho ? 9 years ago

Oh, Obia ne ntampe wo ho ?

• Eli 9 years ago

Tunde I hope u were raised and not bred like an animal. U have no respect all to insult Ghanaians. Where are u from actually? Pls let us know. I'm eager to know.

• Agonaba 9 years ago

Krikri is ten times worse

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

I can take all critical comments but when it comes from a Nigerian [I hope Tunde is one], I lose my cool! Is this the same Nigeria that is in the news every minute that Tunde is talking about? Some of us know Nigeria and Nige ...

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

tunde u are very foolish and a hardened criminal What aredoing in ghana go to nigerial where you come from visit the prisons and see people eating dead people. foolish man.

• Heritage 9 years ago

You guys are insulting Nigerians or if a May say you hate Nigerians for no reason , someone can make a comment pretending to be from a different country but maybe he is a Ghanaian as I know that tunde is a frafra name for so ...

• Corporate Professionals in the USA 9 years ago

So when these "criminals" are released from jail, where will they go and what are they going to do? Were they rehabilitated; skill trained(mechanic, carpentry, electrician, plumber, etc)or hardened to commit more heinous crim ...

• konte 9 years ago

Benji, were u sodomized? If not shut up.It is a matter of choice. If u were forcely sodomized then I will cry for u.

• GOLD 9 years ago

Kokonte, choice to do what: to go to jail or to be sodomized?

Someone has to speak for the ever-ignored prisoners, and he did, so whether he himself was a victim or not is irrelevant. You don't have to suffer yourself in o ...

• kb 9 years ago

There is sense in what he is trying to put to the public,some are convicted innocently because they are poor or did not get an advocate to defend them.
    Some are jailed because they are just suspects ,these people can not ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Benjilo, at least one person got rehabilitated; and that is you---- BENJILO... from a Criminal to a PASTOR! Wow!what an achievement! The prison system must be good to some individuals like you then!

• Black Pot 9 years ago

Benjilo is not truthful from his narration. The same system kept his body and soul together until he served his sentence and made him encounter Jesus to become a Pastor.

• Abdul 9 years ago

If I were to be Benjilo or Pastor Adu for that matter,my ministry will serve the prisoners more instead. I know you wouldn't make much money in doing so but at least you serve God and humanity.

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

Abdul, thanks for your comment. I hope Benjilo is reading these comments especially yours.He must not move from an ex-drug dealer to an extortionist Pastor! You can cheat humanity sometimes but if you misuse the Name of God, ...

• truth 9 years ago

PASTORS across the country enough of prosperity preaching. Enough of been university vc. Christ and others prophets in the bible are not chasing worldly fleets.

• Smoking Joe 9 years ago

Ruby needs some jail time in Ghana, In fact she needs to serve her time here first before being shipped out

• the lone crudader 9 years ago

Poor ghana weep not mama as every thing seems to stench for you becos of these so called socialist sharks preying every where possible . Thank you afrc /pndc/ ndc

• luca 9 years ago

But we have 100 thousans dollars to pay rich soccer players every four or two years.ghana is broke not cos we dnt ve money..its cos the leaders are selfish

• Concerned prison officer 9 years ago

Rev. Benjilo should know that he now professes to be a man of God. He served in both Nsawam and Ho prisons but none of these happened. Our prisons are overcrowded, I agree but we have not yet reached the point where corpses a ...

• nana kofi 9 years ago

what else is more horrible than your son, daughter or a family member getting hooked on drugs? who did you thaught were going to use the drugs you were caught for? i guess you wont have been happy to have seen your kids using ...

• nii arday ankrah 9 years ago

Only the poorest and the needy are kept there for long there it the riches who cheated from the poor are are not kewpt there for long in the mane of lawyers and gauges

• Cash 9 years ago

I wish the concern people involved look into this serious issue raised in this article. By this piece, if this is true then it is another form of degrading human being. Prisons are supposed to be a place where normal correcti ...

• ASH 9 years ago

Na Part of your punishment oga. You you go sell drugs and they catch you Abi.

• freddie 9 years ago

And if live your life like wreckless npp guru wontumi it's possible you could find yourself there. And i want wontumi to experience exactly that if he keeps braking the law.

• Sly, U.K 9 years ago

Now that is what i call change. It looks like Benjilo has had time to reflect on the meaning of life and realises that it was never about wealth after all. If someone is listening, they will do with help from people like Benj ...

• PERSCO BA 9 years ago

This is not the KWAME NKRUMAH GHANA we grew in. This is the results of Togolese rawlinbgs and his idiots doings. The fools run the country down advocating truancy, mayhem, disobedience of authority and LAZINESS. get rich b ...

• sansan 9 years ago

Shut-up, prison was buit for people like u and Amoahteng who need not be sympathize with. I wish u guys rust in jail