You are here: HomeNews2014 12 04Article 337725

‘Otumfuo is overlord of Ashanti Kingdom’

Read Comments Comments (65)

• DAMN COWARDS? SPACE CITY, USA 9 years ago

GHANA WILL NEVER MOVE FORWARD WITH ALL THESE FRACTIOUS CHEIFTAINCY DISPUTES!! IT CONTINUOUS TO FOSTER TRIBALISM AND NEEDS TO BE ABOLISHED! A REFRENDUM NEEDS TO BE DONE THROUGH OUT THIS UN-GHANAIAN PRACTICE! THERE IS NO SUCH ...

• DAMN COWARDS? SPACE CITY, USA 9 years ago

IT CONTINUES TO....TO THROW OUT..

• BAD MOUTH 9 years ago

And then what? These people can't even do anything for themselves other than fight for stools. I am beginning to like the EWES better now. Poor Ashantis!

• YAW MANCHESTER 9 years ago

Know ye that chieftency was established by God and nobody can abolish it . LONG LIVE OTUMFUOR GOD BLESS ASHANTI KINGDOM

• ##Osama 9 years ago

That guy is just young girls chasers, votes2012 SC JUDGES BRIBBER & COKE DEALER! Period!

This is guy no real ashantis respect him

Kenedy Agyapong was right that this man has lost respect from his people.

This king of ...

• Opoku Frefre kumasi 9 years ago

We should abolish chieftainsI? Right,during scrambling for lands where dey for ur Mother fucker Collin Dauda a full blooded Bokinabe is now a cabinet minister in Ghana, shame to Ghanaians

• Eric Jackson 9 years ago

Osama u call ur self? no wonder. and is that how best u can speak and write english? another bad one ther. go back to school pls, learn and come with something useful for us, kwasia like u. do u hv a king in ur family? go and ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

You can abolished your stupid tribe, not Ashanti Kingdom. Try it and I turn Ghana upside down. If not democracy were will you people be. MORONS.

• BlindMan 9 years ago

What a Joke; not a chance!

• koffi parker 9 years ago

tribal jokers; ashanti kingdom

• Kwame Rought 9 years ago

Typical Ghanaian scholar!

• Obedii 9 years ago

Oh what a great history lesson. We have thrown away our rich heritage and adopted a foreign one. How do we grow as a people if neglect our rich heritage?

• ##Osama 9 years ago

ITS NOT ARTICLE! IT'S ABOUT CORRUPTION AT THE MANHYIA PALACE!

• Yeboa Papa 9 years ago

Good for history teachers but let it be that. Ghana must move forward. We can't really move forward with lessons of human sacrifices and idol worship.

• Kantinka 9 years ago

Ghana is moving to nowhere if we continue to worship with these bogus corrupt pastors with their fake churches, ruing the lives of people into poverty and making these fuckin' asshole preachers' rich. I don't think this is th ...

• Brother Kwame Appiagyei ( Loria ,Ital 9 years ago

You call that Obroni pete James a historian? If you want the most person who knows musch of Kumawu history, then try to find one Nana Agyenim Boateng formally of Shepherd Radio-Italy,and Amansan Fm UK.

• Oman Ba Pa 9 years ago

Did this "New Kumawuhene" swear to his people before going to swear to the Asantehene?!!!
    Nana Kwame Afram you seem shallow in your understanding of Asante culture.

• adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

READ YOU IDIOTS. YOU WILL FIND TRUTH IN THIS ARTICLE.

• TWUM AMPOFO 9 years ago

THIS PICTURE LOOKS LIKE FEMALE TO ME AND AM NOT SURE THIS IS ASANTEHENE LETS LOOK CAREFULLY TO THE PICTURE HE DON'T LOOK NORMAL

• adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

Yes, you are right. But, lets not insult the king. HAHA

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

Twum Ampofo! I am not surprised you see a female in there! That is why you have to listen to your Doctor's advice to take your medication ALL the time!
    How can you see the Asantehene in the picture when you have not taken yo ...

• TWUM AMPOFO 9 years ago

THIS PICTURE OF ASANTEHENE ISN'T LOOK LIKE HIM OKAY PERIOD. WHY PEOPLE CAN'T STAND THE TRUTH AT ALL? OKAY LETS ACCESS IT. LOOK AT HIS FACE , LOOKS SOMEONE WHO IS NOT HAPPY SAD DEPRESSED. I KNOW MY ASANTEHENE OKAY YOU PROBABLY ...

• Nero 9 years ago

Has Kumawu heard of DNA? With all the point, counterpoint about who is a real descendant of the Barima Tweneboa Kodua, let all vying parties submit to DNA analysis to determine who is illegitimate. Science will trounce all an ...

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT THIS LONG WINDED HISTORY. WHAT HAVE THEY DONE FOR THE YOUTH OF ASHANTI LATELY. NOTHING. UNEMPLOYMENT, LWALESSNESS AND BAD ROADS.

• Vincent Antwi 9 years ago

It is up to the government to provide such things for Asantes. Come on, cheifs cannot do everything. We are all Ghanaians and we need to hold our government accountable.
    Simply the truth.

• Koo Dwomo 9 years ago

It is wrong for the Kumawu white man, Nana London to claim that Otumfuor Osei Tutu, the Asantehene's power is unilateral. It is possible that the Kumawu white man may not have logical, legal, and political knowledge about con ...

• Vincent Antwi 9 years ago

Look, the case was finalized in the Asanteman council. Asantehene is the supreme court judge of the Asante. The other omanehenes are judges of Asanteman. All the omanehenes agreed that the queen mother did the right thing exc ...

• OMANBAPA KD 9 years ago

Still crying over spilled milk? Should I say I told you so? Why assume Koo Dwomoo now? Still watching you.

• Dc Akowua 9 years ago

Wow Mr Koo Dwomo, well said my Brother
    Please get in touch. Adegyan@aol.com

• Yaw (Canada) 9 years ago

Could anybody please help me with the explanation as why the newly installed Kumawuhene be called Tweneboa Kodua simply? Is he to be called Tweneboa Kodua 1 or Tweneboa Kodua 11?

• Dc Akowua 9 years ago

Good question

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Seems a good history lesson!

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Confusing n backward... Human sacrifice n all. Want no part of it.

• Oman Ba 9 years ago

Please note that CHIEFTAINCY CANNOT AND WILL NOT BE ABOLISHED IN GHANA.

Those idiots must know that CHIEFTAINCY is the rich embodiment of Ghanaian Culture.

It is only a FOOL in a day dream will think CHIEFTAINCY IS abol ...

• Ohenese Boakye Yiadom 9 years ago

The days, when a KING in Ghana can order executioners (ABRAFUO) to bring the head of a disloyal or disgruntled sub-King, are gone.

In these days the sub-Kings need to be pampered or coursed to remain loyal subjects.

Tra ...

note worthy

• Kwame Rought 9 years ago

Asantehene is first among equals!

• Kwesi Ninsin 9 years ago

Idiot, How does your comment add to this discussion?

• kk 9 years ago

Why is this ashante Hene causing confusion among his people, look society is dyinamic, he needs to find a way to stire his sub kings up than to destole them and cause confusion and hatred.

• tUGA 9 years ago

Look here the Asantehene is not like mahama who pampers his corrupt and non-performing subordinates. He is duty bound to take you down. We Ashantes love our custom, you must be serious with your subjects!!!

• aki-ola,jamasi 9 years ago

overlord so what.lets think about. our dumsor n the high cost of living.he can be overlord in the whole world.am even ashamed to be ashanti

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

You are ashamed of being an Asante AKI-OLA-Jamasi? The last time I checked, Ukraine is looking for people to fill up the space left by the separatists. You could try there! They WILL accept you without question. Good Luck.

in the face o blatant corruption festering even into our Preserved Culture and traditions why not being ashamed of this robber call asnatehene

• shady 9 years ago

Ghana, all the mp are poorlyand the president

• Nunyalafu 9 years ago

why can't Ashanti people be quiet a while, their behaviour is becoming too much in the country, they are too proud,"if i may be right ;there is a saying that proud goes before a fall,they will always enjoy the chieftancy not ...

• kwabena mahuwo 9 years ago

is this not the OBRONI P3T3 James London who is preaching us today? i am even ashamed to come from kumawu, He sees himself as the only wise man in kumawu, did he know he is called KWAKU ANANSE! go to hell you and your disres ...

• Oman Ba Pa 9 years ago

History on its head!

• Bread and kokonte 9 years ago

Those disobedience destool chief shall regret forever and ever. Amen,

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

All this chieftaincy nonsense. From the north to the south, nothing to show for, except fighting, human sacrifice n the like to make themselves necessary, but they are already irrelevant.

• Kumawu Awerewaso Ba 9 years ago

It is sad to hear KUMAWU on matter of chieftaincy after the death of Barima Otuo Acheampong. NONE of the so called royals were no where to be seen nor heard,taking the weakness of Ankaase caused by dissgreement within themse ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Through that stupid MP called KENNEDY AGYARPONG

• The Man 9 years ago

Ashantis are very rich,no doubt. What have these chiefs and their king done at all for the young ones in their kingdom? The road network are visibly very,very poor,especially the stretch leading to Antoa and Bonwire.There wil ...

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

In the era of modern Ghana, chieftaincy has caused us more grief than we ever dreamed of.

These chiefs/kings are mostly a band of crooks who turn around to ruin their people and the country as a whole. Ghana is a mess now ...

• YAW MANCHESTER 9 years ago

GO AND ABOLISH YOUR CHIEF FOR ASHANTIS WE ARE VERY PROUD OF OUR KINGDOM LONG LIFE OTUMFUO

• kk 9 years ago

tweaaaa

• kumawu royal 9 years ago

Who is Ayoo? A slave from Ejisu market.If a slave from Ejisu market descendants can be enstood as a paramont chief in Kumawu how much more Royals from Tweneboa Kodua family.

• pay joe 9 years ago

Guys, I think you should be happy that you have got somebody taking you as far back as 1774/ 1944.There's a saying (anyone who does not know the road to his/ her hometown is a sl- - -.)Think about what the road to your hom ...

• pay joe 9 years ago

Sorry. Correction!!!
    Adapter Kingdom should be
    ASANTE KINGDOM. Thanks

• Kwesi Ninsin 9 years ago

Primitive fools

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

oyumfuo has no right to reach into the "domesic" politics of members of the confederacy.

• usa 9 years ago

That stupid chief thinks ashanti kingdom for him.

• Dc Akowua 9 years ago

We have all seen the video, and the Queen mother did not state that she had customarily presented the kingmakers with their drink money.
    The Queen-mother stated that the Kingmakers demanded money(Bribe)before they would cons ...

• kwame osei 9 years ago

otumfuo wo nka nokware

• kwame osei 9 years ago

otumfuo wo nokware

• kwame osei 9 years ago

sika die nana