You are here: HomeNews2014 12 03Article 337565

Varsity graduates half-baked – Nii Moi Thompson

Read Comments Comments (92)

• ABIAM 9 years ago

Why is this idiot talking like an opposition leader. You are an advisor to the president for cryiong out loud! You are in a better position to get the guy to make the needed changes than the rest of us but this idiot is sou ...

• Half bake is even better!! 9 years ago

UST,Legon,UCC have been there since Nkrumah yet none of these schools can carve out solutions to dumsor, water shortage, cities filth, harp hazard construction of roads and residential homes, public toilets, killer hospitals, ...

• Nana Appiah 9 years ago

Legon, Ust, Ucc all rank 3,500 and below on the worlds stage of best universities.. You wonder why all those graduates from any of those schools cannot solve a simple problem facing their nation Ghana let alone suggest a tang ...

• Tekonline.org 9 years ago

University education should be all about making students love solving problems creatively and passionately.

Take the case of a recent feature article on Ghanaweb by one Bernice Owusuwaa ("
    Increasing Tertiary Graduations: ...

• Susuka 9 years ago

Much as I agree with the view of Nii Moi Thompson, it seems to me that he, unaware of the fact, is also a victim of bad education.

If, as I understand it, he is the Presidents Special Advisor on Economics or something like ...

• Republican 9 years ago

what happened to the stringent entry requirements of the past? meantime the university libraries lack vital manuscripts, books, ....resources vital for academic edification.look into that

• Ghanaba, USA 9 years ago

The usefulness of these bogus and selfish lecturers or instructors is very debatable. They recycle old notes by making photocopies of 10-year old notes and selling them to students. They don’t deserve any book and research ...

• Liars! 9 years ago

You could have made your point without insulting UTAG members! Most of the students you describe as 'illiterate' are more intelligent than you are, you heartless wench!! You may consider returning home to assist, instead of w ...

• abortsi 9 years ago

Okudzeto ABLAKWA IS ONE OF THEM

• Nii Ayi 9 years ago

This is a no brainer. Every graduate is half-baked everywhere in the world. Companies and organisations train them to fit.
    To use an analogy Universities are not furniture stores but sawmills; graduates are sawn lumber. Comp ...

• Ghanaba, USA 9 years ago

"Every Graduate". What universities did you attend? In US there colleges like the ones in Ghana and there are many colleges which impart relevant knowledge and skills such as analytical, communication, problem-solving, etsc. ...

• Liars! 9 years ago

Stop ridiculing yourself with your mediocre level of reasoning. Just read what you've written and ask yourself whether it makes any sense. You certainly appear to me as one of those cretins who think they become wiser once th ...

• Senior citizen Bs Germany. 9 years ago

Ghana Education was better than Nigeria on International ratings back in the 1980s and early 90s but something happened,which retrogressed the quality of Education when the PNDC Government led by a half backed leader JJ Rawli ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

Dr. Thompson is damn right about the quality of some of our graduates coming out of tertiary institutions in Ghana. YES, I STILL BELIEVE IN THE GOOD OLD "O & A" LEVEL SYSTEM. Though rigid, yet valuable indeed!!

But, alas, ...

• candido 9 years ago

Thanks for your write up.I have once said that our educated Ghanians are very funny. I live in the. States and l know what l am talking about. .I want to tell my fellow. Ghanaians, oration in the english language is not. smar ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

Are you also fixing the economy ? Or are you doing wha you are paid for to do for mother Ghana ? Mr Thomson ndc in the last 32 years has ruled Ghana for 25 years so whom are we blaming Dr Kwame Nkrumah or J A Kufour ?

• JKD 9 years ago

WHERE ARE THE JOBS?

• Derrick 9 years ago

Ask Kuffour, with all the free monies, supposedly to create jobs & alleviate poverty. Why are we complaining of poverty & joblessness only 6 years after leaving office!!.

• Osofo 9 years ago

What a piece of shit. Aren't you the doctors teaching them?

• John 9 years ago

Please Dr Thompson hits the nail on the head about the poor and archaic curriculum that obtains in our universities. That in the 21 century lecturers should still walk into classes and start giving notes to the students to co ...

• Corrupt Justice 9 years ago

Blame the poor state of the Ghanaian economy and bad govt policies and lack of vision for the mounting unemployment situation in the country, and not the educational system. Does it not mimic the educational systems of the UK ...

• Agbey 9 years ago

Dr. Thomson, please, you are rightly placed to address this issued but not to condemn University graduates which you are also one of them. Dr. Thomson, is it students or government who plan the educational curriculum and stru ...

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

"I de go ade come"is the stupid way Ghanaian students adulterate the English language which is the logical medium of instruction and sound intellectual discourse!!

• JH New York 9 years ago

The market is saturated. Jobs are simply not available due to IMF-Divestiture programme by Rawlings gov't.Which turned out to grounded almost all the Factories in the Country,
    is the plan Truth.
    It's not the truth that Univ ...

• Panin- 9 years ago

Revoke the licenses of all the mushrooming universities and adopt a more rigorous entrance requirements..what happened to bad ass 'A' LEVELS?

• Iofina Guy 9 years ago

You are right my brother. The Government should stop all these proliferation of Universities in the Country. Change the SHS to 4 years, and only have 4 recognize University in the country. Most Ghanaian Graduate are Useless. ...

• Campo are Blaise 9 years ago

Stop making excuses and get to work fixing the economy then the jobs will come. But first change SHS to 4 years to get better prepared students into universities.

• nigerian graduate 9 years ago

half baked is over estimation,GHANA vasity graduates are empty-headed unemployed azonto dancers!

• Brainy Guy. 9 years ago

Ghana should concentrate on science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) education instead of liberal arts and law etc. which contributes nothing to physical development of this country. that's more than fifty years afte ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

A group of us chose to call it "STEMIC".
    Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Innovations, and Communications.

You need all these six subjects to survive and sustainably develop in the 21st century.

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

Thanks Marcus,you have been saying this for sometime now.Dr Thompson should know this,and so should Mr Mahamma and,why they are sitting on their hands,I dont know!

The "Innovations" part is often missing. And some students carry the wrong mindset as well.

Take the case of a recent feature article on Ghanaweb by one Bernice Owusuwaa ("
    Increasing Tertiary Graduations: Is it necessar ...

"PATRIOTISM".

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

I love your post.Now we are talking,many thanks

We definitely need to change our education system to include STEMIC, BUT as Ray Blitzer famously said, "the only one who likes change is a wet baby."

• Lopez 9 years ago

Sometimes this Nii Moi Thompson talks as if he lives in another planet. Whose government brought this calamity onto us-NDC.I think you're an advisor to Mahama's government so who are you complaining to. If it's broken fix it. ...

• mr amin 9 years ago

honestly the job is not there to be employed. u cant no a weak currency like the cedi and expect the employment sector to strive. where is the purchasing power to buy the end product a falling currency courses huge unemployme ...

• TIMMY 9 years ago

IT IS EASY GOING ON RADIO GOLD ON SATURDAY AND CHURN RUBBISH. THIS NII MOI NOW FACED WITH THE REALITY. HE CAN NOT SEE ANYTHING LIKE THE PRESIDENT.

• Nyamedea 9 years ago

Timmy, Have you ever heard any President or Minister's children failing at the University? They are just passed through the system and given higher positions where they cannot deliver. Ghana is them so let them enjoy. Those o ...

• Yaw Obawaleshie 9 years ago

You should have provided the evidence instead of your speculative statement. You are doing exactly what intellectual laziness is about.That is just making wild and wide, empty and unsubstantiated comments just to spice. Have ...

• Kyikyidoodoo 9 years ago

A lot has been said on the skills gap and the poor quality of education in Ghana. What are you people and the Government doing about it? Action and not words is what we need.

• summy addo 9 years ago

ILLEGAL SCALE ADJUSTMENT IS KILLING THE INTEREST OF THE YOUTH IN COCOA FARMING. LBCs TO BLAME. THEY ARE USING PURCHASING CLERKS AS A TOOL TO CHEAT FARMERS

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

The original mission & vision of sustainable Ghana is STEMIC Education or perish guys =D

• Bernard B Bortey 9 years ago

If there are existing job opportunities to engage graduates skills acquired from the various universities in Ghana,I don't think they will be seen as half- baked

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

I don't know how I am going to employ a librarian and the political science graduate in my steel fabrication factory!We need innovation and creativity in Ghana,that wont happen with the current education regime.

• Anokwale 9 years ago

The real issue, in any part of the world, is teaching students to work hard in the work place. Sometimes students who get good grades think that they do not need to work hard in the work place.

• Conventional Youth 9 years ago

And what does chew pore and excel in imperial examining grading system, got to do with sustainable development in the 21st century?

• Abeka 9 years ago

The so-called teachers themselves know nothing. They need some upgrade themselves. A blind man leading a group of blind men!.What do you expect?-RUBBISH!!

• kwaku rawlings 9 years ago

Who is this idiot complaining to, did the weasle Okujetoe Ablakwa not say Ghana's education system is one of the best in the world? NDC idiots.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Wasn't the current educational system designed to produce more carpenters, masons, butchers and hairdressers that would help the speedy development of the PNDC revolutionary economy. It was a time every real educated person w ...

• Y.B 9 years ago

Your new health product from USA with job opportunity

CLEANSHIELD, natural Alkaline supplement designed to clean inner Ossian, get rid of unwonted substances in the body, like acidosis, bad bacterials, viruses and help b ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

I get so furious when people who have the opportunity to make things better for all of us, turn around to make such statements as been make by no less person than the Chairman of our National Development Agenda and STAFFER of ...

• Sakawa Churches 9 years ago

When I graduated from university relatively recently, Ghana had 3 universities and 2 half universities! Now thanks to the Ghanaian sakawa lifestyle, there are tens of sakawa "universities"! Ghana is sick! Ghana has changed!

Dr. Nii Moi Thompson, you perfectly correct, however, I am afraid as a nation we don't have the will to engage in a truly roots and branch reform of our obsolete educational system.

We are bent right now on providing free ...

• Toffey 9 years ago

...and what positive contribution of note has the full-baked Nii Moi Thompson made to the country's development? The 'pete pete' economic ideas he is providing whose effect every Ghanaian is a witness to now. It's so sad that ...

• Prof. Pros. 9 years ago

Where from this man? Who gave him this plat form to make this unfortunate talk? Moi and the likes are not to be given such plat forms. We are talking about embargo on employment and what are you about. Hey man, if don't know ...

• Teacher 9 years ago

The population is growing faster then the economy can support. WE need to think outside the box. Government policies, although ell intentioned contributes to this. Free maternity care. Free education. Free uniforms. Free ...

• FACT 9 years ago

And your NDC gov't talked off quality and access, with quality addressing this identified problem, I believe.
    So with your gov't fighting with UTAG, POTAG and NAGRAT over their research allowances, book allowances and whatno ...

• Dzidzor 9 years ago

And you have employed the most foolish of the half baked unemployed graduates as a minister and it makes sense to mahatma, NDC and yourself. You guys at the helm must be quarter based graduates and lecturers then

• Joe 9 years ago

Should we listen to this opportunist??. This guy criticized Kufuor as if he has something meaningful to offer.After grabbing Mahama's offer he has succeeded in making him incompetent. Loud mouth "DR"!!!!

• Yaw 9 years ago

Is Dr saying JDM, Haruna Iddrisu, Felix Fosu Kwakye, Dr Omane Boamah, Veep, Majority leader etc are all half-baked?

• Hajia 9 years ago

They are either half baked or have low Intelligence Quotient (IQ)

• OKP 9 years ago

We are living in a country where people undermind others potentials and intelligence, whereas we still want them to do something notwithstanding the plot and the strict process one graduate would go through before even gettin ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

An American businessman was at the pier of a small coastal Mexican village when a small boat with just one fisherman docked. Inside the small boat were several large yellow fin tuna. The American complimented the Mexican on t ...

• nana 9 years ago

first of all,what this thompson is saying is nonsence,there are no jobs out there.the economy is not creating any jobs.with this energy situation how do you expect job creation? and secondly,our leaders are not not running th ...

• Edy 9 years ago

This man is so stupid and must be remove from his,post immediately, as some one in charge Of national planning commission What has,he planned so far,how can a fresh graduate start a business in Ghana ,when land lord are deman ...

• Edy 9 years ago

They are just in position,not dressing the challenge confronting the country,no proper identificaron system, how do people file their tax return,you go to forex no proper documentation,so how they generate revenue to develop ...

• PATRIOT 9 years ago

Revive the Workers Brigade for graduates to produce food for the nation.What are the so many graduates being churned by the so many poor universities established in the country doing?.Revive the Workers Brigades to offer jobs ...

• ghanaman 9 years ago

Dr. Nii Moi Thompson has made a very important statement, even if it is one known to several keen observers of the scene. What is striking is that this problem has been discussed on the global agenda. Leading think tanks have ...

• EDEN 9 years ago

THIS MAN CLAIMS TO BE A DOCTOR. I HAVE LISTEN TO MANY OF HIS ANALYSIS. I HAVE COME TO CONCLUDE THAT HE IS A HALF-BAKED DOCTOR. HE DOES NOT OFFER ANY CONSTRUCTIVE CRITIQUE THAT IS DESERVING OF A PHD HOLDER. IF CURRENT GRADUATE ...

• DIASPORIAN 9 years ago

This situation has been worsened by the establishment of so many rubbish universities in the country.A small country like Ghana has over 60 private universities producing crap graduates and with many of them awarding so many ...

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Thanks Diasporian,i hold the same views you have expressed.Ghana is littered with so many crap universities churning out conveyor belt graduates who are awarded top class degrees just for the sake of helping them get jobs.Wha ...

• gabriel 9 years ago

Please never mind this failed Dr. This 'wiseman' came to government after his loud mouth as economic advisor, and Ghana experienced the worst economic downturn ever. after his removal, the economy sharply improved. well I don ...

• Paolo 9 years ago

Economic Adviser to the President, what is the impact of your advice so far? You failed. failed failed. and we are going back to HIPC. You must be out of your mind.

• Nii Moi Thompson 9 years ago

For those interested, the following is the retraction on the front page of today's Chronicle.

"Yesterday, we carried a front page story with the headline, Varsity Graduates Half Baked and attributed it to Dr Nii Moi Thom ...

See? Some government officials do actually read what is written on Ghanaweb and might even go through the comments.

Therefore, this internet medium should rather be used for making good suggestions, presenting new ideas, ...

I surely will like to hear from Dr. Nii Moi Thompson, especially his view on the state of our educational system.

We are anxiously waiting Doc.

• Nana Effah 9 years ago

The pre 1950 standard seven graduate was and is mentally and morally more educated than today's university graduate. The fact that one rattles the English language like a parrot does not make one educated, mind you.

• Asiwome 9 years ago

'“So although fertility reduction is not sufficient for poverty reduction it is a necessary condition,” Dr. Kyei added.

She explained that reduction in child birth always have direct impact and benefit for the family, ...

• Asiwome 9 years ago

But 2 children to 2 parents?

• HAWA 9 years ago

But Nii Moi himself is half baked

• Nii 9 years ago

Ghana trained graduates and artisans and built the job 600, built Dansoman estate, built the Apenkwa Interchange, Dawenya Irrigation Dam because the leader at that time think of Ghana 1st but not family and friends like the ...

• James Omaboe 9 years ago

Their lecturers are mediocre, the teaching is substandard as claimed by the teaching Union during their strikes. Some of the students gained entrance through the 'back door' and declaration of fake and false examination grade ...

• Titikaka 9 years ago

we need to be realistic in discussion of graduate unemployment. we talk as if the jobs are there begging but due to poor quality of education, graduates are unable to get jobs when they leave school. come again!!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Ahow us the country's development agenda and I will show you why our graduates do not perform.

• kb 9 years ago

One thing i have noticed in ghana is,people like being call university graduate for graduate sake,not too much concern about the knowledge and the advance skill he or she need to impact on the economy
    How can you graduate ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

OPAYIN ''''ECONOMIST'''NII MOI THOMPSON.

PLEASE, YOU HAVE BEEN THERE IN GHANA FOR SO MANY YEARS AS AN ECONOMIST,HAVING SERVED ON MANY NATIONAL PLANNING BOARD OF GOVERNMENTS AND EVEN TO BECOME ILO REPRESENTATIVE IN GHANA.

• OYIWA 9 years ago

Heeerrrrhhhh...half-baked is calling others half-baked. Is this not the character who said the US dollar was appreciating against the cedi under their watch at the MoF, at the time the cedi was falling like a ton of bricks. I ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

PARDON ME:

IT IS AT THE PRIVATE SECTOR AND NOT PUBLIC SECTORTHAT A TRUE MARKET SYSTEM WORKS.

INPUT-OUTPUT.

• DENTE 9 years ago

tTHAT'S THE PLAIN TRUTH. I RECEIVE LETTERS FROM UNIVERSITY GRADUATESFROM
    GHANA AND I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY ACTUALLY WROTE THEM. OUR UNIVERSITIES
    CURRICULUM NEED REFORMS

• daigreenon fui thackley 9 years ago

well said dr. l've always wondered how on earth could a student graduates from school from say a business program without been taught such critical stuff like preparation of business plan & proposals, financial & marketing pl ...

• Godfried 9 years ago

It is worth noting that even if the University graduates were competent, they are too small in number to address the 21st Century socio-economic issues that Ghana faces. Rather it is the duty of every Ghanaian to be innovativ ...