Terkper replies Bawumia: US$1b Eurobond proceeds “intact”

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

They did the same with cedi and IMF

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 11 years ago

DR. BAWUMIA:-----------
    “In the last six years, the NDC has borrowed US$27 billion. Before that, we, the NPP, borrowed a total of US$5.5 billion in eight years. Compare that to the NDC borrowing $27 billion in six years an ...

• ALEX 11 years ago

This is the type of money Nana Ado is looking for to loot.

• Abbey 11 years ago

Ask greedy Kuffour where he kept the $250M HPIC money he received annually for 8 good years,I repeat, $250M,multiply by 8.
    The useless media in this country swept that under carpet.Let's just pray nothing bad happens in Ghan ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 11 years ago

I SEARCHED AND SEARCHED AND SEARCHED THE DICTIONARY, THE STRANGE THING, IS THAT , I COULD NOT FIND ANY ADJECTIVE THAT COULD FIT OR, BETTER STILL, QUALIFY PEOPLE LIKE YOU!!!

• mensah abrampa 11 years ago

What prevents the NDC Administration from probing the Kuffuor NPP Administration if they have any evidence of financial misappropriations/improprieties? Who and what is holding Mahama and NDC back? If you can't prove anything ...

• Kanawu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

TERKPER is deceiving himself and not me. His response has no substance.

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

This explanation by Mr Tekper is like pullin wool over the eyes of Ghanaians. What does he and his party takes us for? Really Mr Tekper!! Do you, yourself understand what you were saying? Does it really make any sense to you? ...

• ENTWI 11 years ago

Oh,so Bawumia also is a lieyer?oh why NPP people are lieying like this?Ken A and Vice B are lieying.

• OBAA YAA 11 years ago

The question from Bawumia was simple “What projects did the Minister of Finance have in mind before they secure the US$1b Eurobond?” Therefore, money being intact at New York Bank is a silly reply from the minister. One d ...

• Exposure 11 years ago

Will Dr. Bawumia comment on the explanation offered by Mr.Terkper. We need to kow if the explanation is satisfactory or not, please

• til-shiloh, nakpanduri 11 years ago

u paa! what explanation has he given that u seem to be happy? the guy says publish it and don't, only to come with flimsy explanations and u are also happy. be innovative. has he publish it?

• Iinsight to the bone 11 years ago

you can please your balls and your dad's ball wo maame twe aboa

• mugu1 11 years ago

Dr. Bawumia is doing any thing just for attension Bawumia is a big time liar disturbing Ghanaians with liar

• KWASI 11 years ago

the fact is that terkpter just supported the facts that the money bawumia talks about is safe telling us that bawumia was talking truth all along stop pretending mugu1

• agya 11 years ago

Did you even know about a billion dollar bond issue before Bawumia discussed it? i dont think so. You little people should be grateful to this man...sing praises to him each day

• Joe 11 years ago

Bawumia did not say the money is missing, what he said was that the money had been misapplied. It has been used for something else other than what it was meant for.

• Kojo 11 years ago

If you do then read the damn new report. illiterate with a computer

• HUMANISM 11 years ago

Mr. Finance Minister, we are not kids. You have to put your life on the line by publishing hoe every single dollar has been used, hence publish the list right now. You must do that now. In future, if it's determined you lied ...

• Kojo 11 years ago

Your response does show that while you may be old in years, you are a kid in comprehension and reasoning.

HUMANISM WO YE ABOA PAAA TUTUUNI BA WO MAAME TWEBA ODWAN BA

LOOK AT THE WAY ANOTHER FOOLISH MAN TALKS RIGHT NOW THAT ASHANTI PRIMITIVE WAY OF TALKING KRAMAN BA

• KT 11 years ago

See how the minister is panicking and not really answering the question. No one has said the money is missing.

• Daniella 11 years ago

I KNOW RIGHT? KNOW ONCE HAS MADE MENTIONED OF MISSING MONEY. WHAT QUESTION IS THE FINANCE MINISTER MENTIONING OR WHAT IS HE EXPLAINING???

• Kwame 11 years ago

Dr. Bawumia did not say the money was missing; he said it was not available, it has been used to cushion BoG. Mr Tekper's response should be direct to make all of us understand the fate of that money. He should come again!

• Ganja Planter 11 years ago

So what's wrong with it of ti's been used used to cushion BoG. in the meantime? I don't necessarily like the minister but lets try to be a little objective it out critique.

• kasakawa 11 years ago

if the money is there, why was it not in the budget. its a major revenue source for government for the 2015 budget so why was it not in the budget? simple

• Ghana 11 years ago

Mr Bawumia you can't align yourself with larikin party called NPP.
    They will soon start to insult you.

Lately if you heard them insulting President Mahama as Pepeni then, get prepared because yours will be worse!!!

The ...

• KELE WELE 11 years ago

Pepeni is not an insult. It is an Akan word for upright person, given to NORTHERNERS by AKANS for their truthful and strict nature.

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 11 years ago

This gentleman challenged you. All you need do is to publish it to the public. Why are you running around If you are not scared?

• cha 11 years ago

When did Bawumia say the money was missing? He said the money was misapplied and what is govt money doing in a new york account?

DON'T MIND BAWUMIA PEPENI JOINING PEPEFOU PARTY THE NPP NORTHERN PEOPLES PARTY

• Corrupt Justice 11 years ago

Pepefuo party is divinely superior and in performance to a Narcotics Dealers Congress (party) owned by a certificateless killer bastard supported by people who are inately wicked and evil.

• paapsy 11 years ago

Please don't allow yourselves to be pushed into this kind of scheme of the NPP.

• Criminal mahama. 11 years ago

Terkper is useless.

• kanawu 11 years ago

Mr. Finance minister the numbers don't add up. Please come again.

• DE Spinola 11 years ago

Tepker I think do not understand the content of Mr Bawumia's enquiries. He is moron to be heading such an important portfolio period.

• UK 11 years ago

Bond, which is debt, is used to pay debt. This he called capital project. In turn, the move eases the pressure on the cedi, which results in temporary stabilization of the currency. Implicitly, after the Christmas period th ...

• VICTOR,LONDON 11 years ago

So if the bonds were intact, what was the deputy finance minister telling us at first? Or she was put in the dark about the sharing of the money among themeselves or was she lying through her teeth? A WOMAN LYING WITHOUT SHAM ...

• AKWADAA SWISS. 11 years ago

Dr.Bawumia MUST always take ON Mr.Tekper This is his rightful JOB as OPPOSITION to move the coutry forward in sound economy-rihgt.NDC HAS BEEN WAISTING THE NATIONS RESOURCES,KEEP BORROWING & COVERING UP,ALL BCOS OF THEIR(NPPs ...

• TUKLA 11 years ago

BAWUMIA COME AGAIN. NOBODY IS CHASING YOU.

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 11 years ago

This is ridiculous of an explanation. Why do we allow needed money to sit in a bank far away America when the country and the people crying for ordinary basic social needs?

If Ghana have a billion doing nothing, why are we ...

Nii LARTEY NARTEY GO FOR IR ARM ROBBER ONYE GBOMI

• GhanaBA 11 years ago

well, let me start by asking this simple question about some missing money at the bank of Ghana. captain smart of Adom FM said several times on radio that there were some missing $600 Million at the central bank in the seque ...

• the man 11 years ago

my friend it is safer in new york than bank of ghana.

• VVIP JDM SNIFFER COCAINE 11 years ago

FOOOOOOOLS,COCAINE SNIFFERS,DILLERS IN POWER,GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL,PERIOD

• paa 11 years ago

The same institution that u shall be working with if ever there should be a change of Govt is what u are undermining.

• Kojo Ghana 11 years ago

Mahamudu Bawumia if you don't know what to say just shut up. Stop the lies. Help build ghana.

• Photosy. 11 years ago

Let Bawumia tell us the detail to the nitty gritty of it how NPP when he was Governor the ff:

1) HOW THE EUROBOND BY KUFFOUR WAS USED

2) HOW THE MONITIZATION OF THE CEDI WAS CARRIED OUT WITHOUT MISSING THE VERY DETAILS. ...

• CYBERGHANA 11 years ago

Going in front of UK-based professionals to allege that " ..We are reliably informed that the $1 billion raised from the sovereign bond has been used...are not available anymore for the purpose for which it was raised".

T ...

• ANKOBEA-HENE 11 years ago

Dr. Bawumia is working for NDC.

• KWASI 11 years ago

SO WHY WAS NDC SO SILENT UNTILL NOW TRYING TO PAINT BAWUMIA AS MAN TELLING LIES TERKPTER REPLY THE MONEY IS "INTACT"IS NOT TELLING US WHERE THE MONEY IS NOW THE MAHAMA GOVT IS PLAYING WITH WORDS THINKING WE GHANA FALKS ARE S ...

• OBINNA 11 years ago

DOES PARLIAMENT KNOW THIS? THIS METHOD OF RUNNING THE FINANCIAL AFFAIRS OF THE COUNTRY IS WRONG. TOO MUCH SECRECY ON THE PART OF THE EXECUTIVE ALWAYS LANDS THIS COUNTRY IN A FINANCIAL MESS - MISMANAGEMENT. THE CONSITITUTION M ...

• kan 11 years ago

This is what Terkpe said
    "According to him, “the 250 million for the Ghana infrastructure fund is in a New York account; it’s sitting there.”

“We have disbursed about 114 million out of the 200 million for capital ...

• Otwenua 11 years ago

My brother, I'm equally confused with the explanation. The numbers just don't add up. Maybe he wanted to say $114 million of the bond money has been spent so far leaving a balance of about $886 million in a bank or banks in N ...

• Togbe Gyasi 11 years ago

My simple question is: Why did Tekper keep it in a bank in New York and not the Bank of Ghana. Does is suggest that we went for the money when we did not have an immediate need for it?

• Paa Kwasi Thomas 11 years ago

Hmmm!!; $250 million dollars sitting in New York (NY)? So, why can't they use part of that money to help the electricity problems in the country. The electricity crisis has created so many problems. People are laid off, busi ...

• Asare-Adu Joseph 11 years ago

Seth; no one expects you to tell the world that the funds aren't intact. What Bawumia is requesting is that you make the proceeds of the Bond public. It's as simple as that. I find it difficult to understand Ghanaian public o ...

• Abbot 11 years ago

Bawumia thinks telling these king of lies will pave the way for his vice president dream.Behind close doors, he has no idea what Ashanti NPP people think about him.

• the man 11 years ago

All i think of is Tepker is scared of his own party thieves. Why in New York?

• Efo Kwaku Canada 11 years ago

What's different between Dr Bawumia discovery and explanation this useless minister's gave , did you use the money for what is meant to? Big NO , so why are you bickering here for ? One NDC lady has even call Dr Bawumia a li ...

• YAKUBU 11 years ago

“In the prospectus that sought to convince investors,” Bawumia explained, “the Minister of Finance indicated that a substantial portion of the amount borrowed would be used for infrastructure development and critical pr ...

• Cabo 11 years ago

Bawumia said he will kill Akufo Addo

• periscopio 11 years ago

just publish it for all to see and stop the bragging.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

If it's intact then show it. Dr. Bawumia has already asked you to show it. Didn't he ask that question in his public speech? Please come clean and show it because if it's intact, we didn't see any mention or use of it in the ...

• Kojo Dziwornu, Toronto Canada 11 years ago

Well the finance minister's statement vindicates Bawumia. Bawumia did not say the $1bn is missing. What he said was that the Gov't has misapplied the funds.
    What the minister said is what eaxtcly Bawumia is saying pay short ...

• BRAINS 11 years ago

WHEN ARE WE GOING TO BLOW THE REMAINING? PLEASE, DON'T FORGET ME; AFTER ALL, IT IS YENKYENII TIME.

• jagadu 11 years ago

WHAT BANK IN new York. please name the bank and the account number so it can be cross checked. We should not let this matter die unless NDC comes clean.

• JH New York 11 years ago

Well,personally I have confidence in Terkper for trying to introduce integrated/consolidated financial systems to have total control of govt expenditure and revenue control. He has made his mark,at least,though. ...

• Frederick Kofi Tawiah 11 years ago

you are lie.you behave like your master. bosheba

• TWEAA 11 years ago

AH! THERE YOU ARE....WHENEVER DR BAWUMIA OPENS HIS MOUTH, SOME PEOPLE BECOME HOT...MY BROTHER VERY HOT INDEED.

• DALADAM 11 years ago

LOOK AT THIS TERKPTER GOING ON THE DEFENSE NOW

• Ugly Akufo Addo 11 years ago

He is very stupid n a fool like his masa Akufo Addo

Your penchant for denigrating people who are BETTER than you shows how the nation, Ghana is unfortunate to have useless people like you and the god-father of your party, the certificate-less Scotish bastard J.J. Rawlings in h ...

• New Sheriff in Town 11 years ago

“We have disbursed about 114 million out o“We have disbursed about 114 million out of the 200 million for capital projects including the re-financing, and another one for the refinancing of bonds that were maturing. f the ...

What a contradictory statement! At one breadth, it is 250 million dollars sitting in a New York's account. At another breadth it is 800 million dollars sitting in a New York account. Now, which is which. This man is dishonest ...

• Kweku 11 years ago

If the money is intact and save why was not captured in the budget.

• assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 11 years ago

ENTWI,go back to classroom.Never come here to disturb us with your poor grammar spellings.The money is in bank of new york and is intact.We are tired of your lies.Fooooooooooooooooooooooooooools ndc

• OWEN.NEW YORK.. 11 years ago

It's good , checks and balances is at play. The government can now have some one to pull it tail if losing guide. This is how any nation with corrupt ministers should be monitored. I doff my hat for the learned Economist.

• b.a 11 years ago

Bw should give us a break