All he does is talk about every subject like a street commentator.
Constructivist 11 years ago
Idiot! the man was talking about a backward practice. Journalists go hunting for news for their various media houses but not to get enticed to publish news. He who comes to equity must come with clean hands. Don't engage in corrupt acts and call yourselves an anti-corruption crusaders.
Campo are Blaise 11 years ago
Ghanaians are welcoming people not bigots like you
Adwoa Henewah 11 years ago
The man was speaking at IMANI's 10th anniversary about media folks taking 'Soli'. Isn't it ironic that his comments were at Franklin Cudjoe's event?? The poster child for collecting 'Soli'.
This sorry so-called think tank ... read full comment
The man was speaking at IMANI's 10th anniversary about media folks taking 'Soli'. Isn't it ironic that his comments were at Franklin Cudjoe's event?? The poster child for collecting 'Soli'.
This sorry so-called think tank Imani is built and operated on the premise of collecting money to skew public opinion. Mr High Commissioner, you are condemning arm robbery at the arm robbers' convention.
Very true 11 years ago
I belong to an association that was lobbying for removal of subsidies on petroleum products. We paid this guy and I mani 20,000 cedis for media campaign. Equally corrupt.
moyo 11 years ago
What has a tribe got to do with what the Ambassador said. The Jews have done a lot for Ghana and Africa in general. If you don't have anything to say just shut up and stop writing nonsense. What is the justification for journalist taking money?. It only happened in Ghana and it is a disgrace.
Tokugawah 11 years ago
Too many idiots on Ghanaweb make idiotic comments like insulting Jews in this particular case. Guggisberg was Jewish and he built Takoradi harbour, Achimota and KorleBu Bu so there. We are just fond of insults rather than addressing the particular point.
Kwame Rought 11 years ago
Yes, our journalists take soli. Corruption is everywhere in Ghana!
Ringo Star 11 years ago
See how out of touch you are. You are not a deep thinker and probably a backward person living in a primitive surroundings. What has being a Jew got to do with addressing issues of corruption? Maybe you are not aware of the trash we read daily from these so called journalist. Let me remind you Mr Ghanaman,for your education, Jews are one of the finest human beings on earth. The gentle man address an issue that would not be touched by the so called think tank that is not even fit to be called a preasure group let alone a think tank. l wonder what the commisioner was doing there, but what he said about soli as being bribe is spot on.
123 11 years ago
Jewsish, lwayers are the best too. They know law more than the judges.
123 11 years ago
Jewish lawyers are the best in the world.
Yeboa Papa 11 years ago
Your comment is foolish. Our country has a backward practice and you hate to be corrected. Do you want us to remain forever backward? Maybe we need more Jews, the chosen people of God, to help us crawl out of our pity pits.
ABOUBAKERR ABDULKHALEED 11 years ago
Unfortunately this nonsense of a High Commissioner cannot be tolerated in Nigeria, nonsensical interferance with internal politics of your host country belongs to pre independence era and this man should be called to order immediately. This country Ghana must show a bit of muscle where its rights are being trampled upon, no African country Embassy would ever be allowed such opportunity of commenting on British politics without sanction. Ghana must wake up to its rights and responsibilitiesbto stop this Tuareg looking British High Commisioner.
@Aboubakerr 11 years ago
Are you a Nigerian? Aren't you worried about the Boko Haram taking over your country? You see, it's the extension of lawlessness in your country. Whether or not he wouldn't be tolerated in Nigeria isn't the case here. WE here are already tired of the level of corruption and this man is just helping assuage the situation.
ABOUBAKERR ABDULKHALEED 11 years ago
It is the docility of Ghanaians that has brought the likes of a common High Commissioner to dabble in Ghanaian internal politics. How many times has your Ambassador Victor Smith been heared making comments regarding British governments or policies ever.? Nigeria will never allow that and you spineless Ghanaians know this for a fact. Regarding your Boko Haram comments, Boko Haram is a self inflicted muslim extremism perpetrated in the north eastern corridor of Nigeria where the three states themselves declared Shariah in the past which they couldn't observe or comply to. Boko Haram emerged out of a desire to enforce the doctrine of Shariah and thus has nothing to do with the rest of Niberia. Your ignorance of Nigeria is too revealing and I should not join issues with you on Nigerian issues. Simply take a trip to Aflao and do a headcount of buses loaded with numerous of your Ghanaian business men and women heading to Nigeria to purchase goods and do all sort of businesses. Ghana cannot do without Nigeria in all sphere of Ghanaian life and that tells why Ghanaian governments continues to look up to Nigeria even in Kuffuor era. So pls. Boko Haram is a sectarian thing and has nothing to do with Nigeran economic life in the south which still booms as ever. Lagos State the 5th largest economy in Africa (Bigger than Ghana's economy) remains the hub of business in the entire West Africa and beyond.
Patriot 11 years ago
You are hopeless Ghanaian
Patriot 11 years ago
That Jew may worth much more than your entire backward and corrupt country
Ogboh-Adjei Kojo, New-York 11 years ago
U guys go around about everything, yes, Gh people don't work yet fat salaries r demand. They govt alone shd go fight wife to extra marital sex, chase a drug Barron trafficker & sniffing/smoker like Akoffu Addo & co, corruption, diplomatic passport fraud, custom bribe, cocobod fruad, vvip/VIP airport check point etc & leave this blog headed idiot Ken Agapong/ Watumi, npp stupid Gus talk insanity in street. Pls if there is in Gh some them must substantiate their by real fact or thrown to jail & they would learn. LAN, kuffour, impiani, r the best of npp not Nima mana fucker with cocaine high usage, my Lord have sympathy for Gh. They choice is not a better one.
princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago
My boyfriend is such a cheat and a liar!" Sue shouted. "I’ve been going with the guy for nearly a year now and not once did he mention that he’s married."
"Oh, that’s terrible," her friend said.
"Yeah. What a hypocr ... read full comment
My boyfriend is such a cheat and a liar!" Sue shouted. "I’ve been going with the guy for nearly a year now and not once did he mention that he’s married."
"Yeah. What a hypocrite! I’d probably never have found out. I heard purely by chance when it was mentioned the other day by my husband."
Joe 11 years ago
Soli is bribery pure and simple
Booboo. 11 years ago
Thank you, British man. They are shameless people.
Anana 11 years ago
All those at IMNI are also corrupt. For journalist, CORRUPTION has turned SOLI. Let us use soli instead of corruption. Journalist who speak loudest about corruption are the worst offenders. They often generalize making a lot of noise without pointing to a particulars person.
mrk 11 years ago
thank you colonial master
Kingsley Quartey 11 years ago
I think what the UK High Commissioner meant to say is that The Ghanaian Journalist should refrain from accepting Material gifts at events that they are required to covered as accepting gifts can taint their views or influence the way cover a story... What is so complicated about this for people not to understand? ...
Che Andrew 11 years ago
A Policeman is paid to check vehicles but he take one Ghana cedi from each vehicle and allows them to go unchecked. GJA calls that corruption. Kuffour takes kickbacks at the castle and refuse to share with his party chairman. GJA calls that "corruption". SADA people are given huge sums of money to breed guinea fowls. They chop the money and 11 fowls flew into self exile in Burkina. GJA calls that corruption. GJA members line up for crumbs at each event and literally demand money before publishing the even. GJA calls that soli and not corruption. It has taken a Briton to open the eyes of almighty GJA to the semantics that soli and another word for bribery which is corruption.
Constructivist 11 years ago
An old boy built a mult-million staff room complex for Adisadel College, these your so-called journalists were there but because they were not given "solo" this good act of benevolence by an individual never got published.
I am ashamed for Ghana 11 years ago
Yes, tell the fools that 'soli' corruption. The GJA members know but they are covering it up.
I am ashamed for Ghana 11 years ago
No matter how you spin it, 'Soli' is corruption. The Ghana Journalists Association should be ashamed of trying to defend an unethical behavior. If it is not already there, then 'soli' should be included in the GJA code of ethics as unacceptable behavior. What a shameful behavior by so-called professionals.
hahaha 11 years ago
Soli is equal to corruption. No matter how you look at it. Are the journalists not being paid?
Kodjo 11 years ago
This envoy is making too much noise. Me thinks his day are numbered
The mask 11 years ago
We must review our association with British C'wealth (Not to be confused with the commonwealth of Independent States with which we have had fruitful discussions).
Some British Commonwealth countries do not need Visa to vis ... read full comment
We must review our association with British C'wealth (Not to be confused with the commonwealth of Independent States with which we have had fruitful discussions).
Some British Commonwealth countries do not need Visa to visit Britain. Americans do not need visa to visit Britain and British citizens also do not need visa to visit America. However the British high Commissioner is complaining of the high number of Visa applications. They not only refuse these visas but stamp the passports 'with visa refused'.
It is clear that we must continue charting a new path independent of Britain.
Kwame Rought 11 years ago
Duh!
Duh!
fire 11 years ago
this embassy is useless. our colonial master has than nothing to support us in any way.see the way u s a is helping Liberia. see how France is helping Mali.the embassy should have been closed by now.
faseb 11 years ago
Proper journalism is not about Soil is this what is being taught in GIJ . Intersting? They are encouraging a way of corruption in our society.Stop them before individual start targeting journalist. The police said they arer stopping so why don't proper journalist also stop the habit.
DB 11 years ago
the Ghana journalistic landscape has only a few good men and women. Many use thier journalistic license for self aggrandisement and extortion.
Y.B 11 years ago
Your new health product
CLEANSHIELD, new natural Alkaline supplement from US designed to clean inner Ossian, get rid of acidosis in the body, bacterials/viruses and help balance body PH.
Proper PH level enhance body SYSTE ... read full comment
Your new health product
CLEANSHIELD, new natural Alkaline supplement from US designed to clean inner Ossian, get rid of acidosis in the body, bacterials/viruses and help balance body PH.
Proper PH level enhance body SYSTERM to resist any chronic diseases such as.
HIV AIDS, Cancer in the breast, prostrate cancer, ulcer, diabetes, kidney, Liver, stroke, blood pressure, asthma, malaria, hepatics b, urinary infections, gonorrhoea, eye problem an many more without going through surgery,
Also Opportunity for pensioners / job seekers.
Management of African Health Solution at Madina new road (Accra) are seeking for partnership, few sales and marketing personnel.
Full tine /Part time available, minimum income from GH 400 a month guarantee
Full training and support giving.
Contact 0509384881
Abraham 11 years ago
A decorated monkey is still a monkey,when it a police officer,they name it bribe,a politician it is called corruption but when its journalist,its called "soli",no matter the name given to it,its bad let all stop this cancer.
Solo Pobee, Accra 11 years ago
I think it is about time this 'Soli" issue is stopped. After all, it the duty of journalists to report events. It is the journalists version of corruption.
mensah abrampa 11 years ago
Journalists who ask for any form of payment or compensation before they do their job as journalists are no different from corrupt state officials. Corruption is corruption no matter how you slice and dice it or whichever name you choose to call it. The Ghanaian social and political system has been compromised in such a way that corruption has become a way of life, the new norm. You must be out of your mind if you live and work in Ghana and would not succumb to illegitimate methods of adding to your income or earnings. There are more reasons why corruption has become Ghana's biggest employer(about 97 per cent of the population), poverty and greed making the list, but this should come as no surprise to a nation that imports almost all of its needs and creates no jobs for its growing population. Looking for a job in Ghana is like the futile search for a needle in a haystack. Those few who find a job don't earn a living wage.
The anti-corruption moral crusaders who wield the pen have already lost the fight if they engage in corruption themself. Corruption is already endemic in the Ghanaian society and it'd take tons of collective effort to root it out of the system.
ganyobi 11 years ago
Thanks and kudos! The truth is a bitter pill to swallow
BRAINS 11 years ago
Yes, common running can have different titles depending on who one runs with. When a man runs with a man, it is called RACE, but when a man runs with God, it is called GRACE. When the ashawo person says: It is normal, stone them at Daboya. It looks like head or tail of the same coin might not refer to the same coin. We see it all over the place, from the President, MPs, DCEs to business persons who give envelopes, etc, to our chiefs during a deal and the electorate who hang about party offices and receive hand-outs for the day have not the same tag, corrupting/corruption. Asem beba dabi!
Kanewu 11 years ago
When a policemancollectsis call bribe but when a journalist take it is call soli God bless our homeland Ghana.
Goliath 11 years ago
SOLI means the journalist will tell the story from the paymaster's perspective - no analysis, nothing - just saying what he has been paid to say! Are journalists not on salary when they go to these events?
Jew or Tuareg, t ... read full comment
SOLI means the journalist will tell the story from the paymaster's perspective - no analysis, nothing - just saying what he has been paid to say! Are journalists not on salary when they go to these events?
Jew or Tuareg, the HC is 100& right - hypocrisy at its most glorious!
BERNARD 11 years ago
Now, we have a foreign entity telling how useless our officials are.
We have similar systems as the UK but, silly black folks will rather destroy it in order to facillitate corrupt practices.
And where is the media comm ... read full comment
We have similar systems as the UK but, silly black folks will rather destroy it in order to facillitate corrupt practices.
And where is the media commission and Ghana Journalist Association? Idiots indeed.
William 11 years ago
He got it wrong! 'so;i' is 'item 13' thar is refreshment! In its flexibility, it can also be used to supplement transportation costs, etc.
Our journalists operate under very challenging circumstances of resource and logisti ... read full comment
He got it wrong! 'so;i' is 'item 13' thar is refreshment! In its flexibility, it can also be used to supplement transportation costs, etc.
Our journalists operate under very challenging circumstances of resource and logistic limitations. Infact, theirs, like teachers and doctors, is more of a vocation and not just a profession! Watch how they chase, struggle, jostle, sometimes get harassed, even assaulted, and in some countries imprisoned or get killed in their effort to get news. Watch our lady journalists carry those heavy gadgets, running around! Compare with others including pastors with resource collection and control!!Surely if you understand you can't equate 'soli' with corruption!!
Katanga 11 years ago
Soli is blatant corruption it's the same as a policeman asking for something small. Now if that's corruption what about a journalist asking for something small to cover expenses.?..come on!!! You don't have to de a magistrate to figure that out!!!!!
Odikr@ 11 years ago
"Only the truth will set us free,but first it'll piss us off".
Why are some so upset,when non diplomatic language is spoken?
Ugly Akufo Addo 11 years ago
His now less important to Ghanaians
Ashootings 11 years ago
If soli is not corruption, what is it? The High Commissioner is right to say what he said. We cannot live in society where we call right wrong and wrong right. You expect a tip for doing your work? This attitude to money breeds corruption. Its a wide spread problem in Ghana but that does not make it right!!
KWAME-BELGIUM 11 years ago
Yes, the Ambassador is very correct
STAFFORD 11 years ago
Britain is trying to protect and maintain the GOLD COAST IMAGE of Ghana
STAFFORD 11 years ago
A good friend is better than silver and gold. This is what this Man is made of and stand for. FEAR is gripping the Ghanaian people, and BRAVE and FAIR is the man who STAND BY US.....stafford.
Idiot! the man was talking about a backward practice. Journalists go hunting for news for their various media houses but not to get enticed to publish news. He who comes to equity must come with clean hands. Don't engage in ...
This sorry so-called think tank ...
What has a tribe got to do with what the Ambassador said. The Jews have done a lot for Ghana and Africa in general. If you don't have anything to say just shut up and stop writing nonsense. What is the justification for journ ...
Too many idiots on Ghanaweb make idiotic comments like insulting Jews in this particular case. Guggisberg was Jewish and he built Takoradi harbour, Achimota and KorleBu Bu so there. We are just fond of insults rather than add ...
See how out of touch you are. You are not a deep thinker and probably a backward person living in a primitive surroundings. What has being a Jew got to do with addressing issues of corruption? Maybe you are not aware of the t ...
Unfortunately this nonsense of a High Commissioner cannot be tolerated in Nigeria, nonsensical interferance with internal politics of your host country belongs to pre independence era and this man should be called to order im ...
Are you a Nigerian? Aren't you worried about the Boko Haram taking over your country? You see, it's the extension of lawlessness in your country. Whether or not he wouldn't be tolerated in Nigeria isn't the case here. WE here ...
It is the docility of Ghanaians that has brought the likes of a common High Commissioner to dabble in Ghanaian internal politics. How many times has your Ambassador Victor Smith been heared making comments regarding British g ...
U guys go around about everything, yes, Gh people don't work yet fat salaries r demand. They govt alone shd go fight wife to extra marital sex, chase a drug Barron trafficker & sniffing/smoker like Akoffu Addo & co, corruptio ...
"Yeah. What a hypocr ...
All those at IMNI are also corrupt. For journalist, CORRUPTION has turned SOLI. Let us use soli instead of corruption. Journalist who speak loudest about corruption are the worst offenders. They often generalize making a lot ...
I think what the UK High Commissioner meant to say is that The Ghanaian Journalist should refrain from accepting Material gifts at events that they are required to covered as accepting gifts can taint their views or influence ...
A Policeman is paid to check vehicles but he take one Ghana cedi from each vehicle and allows them to go unchecked. GJA calls that corruption. Kuffour takes kickbacks at the castle and refuse to share with his party chairman. ...
No matter how you spin it, 'Soli' is corruption. The Ghana Journalists Association should be ashamed of trying to defend an unethical behavior. If it is not already there, then 'soli' should be included in the GJA code of eth ...
Some British Commonwealth countries do not need Visa to vis ...
Duh!
Proper journalism is not about Soil is this what is being taught in GIJ . Intersting? They are encouraging a way of corruption in our society.Stop them before individual start targeting journalist. The police said they arer s ...
Your new health product
Proper PH level enhance body SYSTE ...
Journalists who ask for any form of payment or compensation before they do their job as journalists are no different from corrupt state officials. Corruption is corruption no matter how you slice and dice it or whichever name ...
Yes, common running can have different titles depending on who one runs with. When a man runs with a man, it is called RACE, but when a man runs with God, it is called GRACE. When the ashawo person says: It is normal, stone t ...
Jew or Tuareg, t ...
And where is the media comm ...
Our journalists operate under very challenging circumstances of resource and logisti ...
Soli is blatant corruption it's the same as a policeman asking for something small. Now if that's corruption what about a journalist asking for something small to cover expenses.?..come on!!! You don't have to de a magistrate ...
If soli is not corruption, what is it? The High Commissioner is right to say what he said. We cannot live in society where we call right wrong and wrong right. You expect a tip for doing your work? This attitude to money ...