You are here: HomeNews2014 12 01Article 337286

ECG to be sold; about 3,000 workers to be jobless...

Read Comments Comments (117)

• Kweku Ananse 9 years ago

Each government which comes to power in Ghana seeks to sell a strategic public utility such as ECG, Ghana Telecom for short term gains. Are our leaders visionary? What will our future generations live on? Why are gradually su ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Some state assets can just not be sold. I told you so. The Old guys will remember this story.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

DR. BAWUMIA:-----------
    “In the last six years, the NDC has borrowed US$27 billion. Before that, we, the NPP, borrowed a total of US$5.5 billion in eight years. Compare that to the NDC borrowing $27 billion in six years an ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

When we have corrupt, thieves, cocaine
    carriers, dishonest, deceit, loot and share NDC bunch of criminals in Government in place, incompetency and
    total hopelessness is what Ghanaian People will get.

The only priority we ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR:-BOLUS, MERCY ADEDE...

"The drug barons are currently targeting Ghana making us a vulnerable nation hence we must toughen our national security at all our Airports. If Ms Ametefeh has been allegedly doing such mano ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

ECG must be privatised because it has too many employees yet they fail to stop illegal connections and bills remain unpaid. Again, some of the workers are actually involved in the illegal connections and also collect bribes f ...

• Alex 9 years ago

MASSA, massa we need you guys please help push pen to fight the corruption too Mr.kofi Atta. Thanks for your contribution nice piece. Nice day in Cambridge any invitation for visit?

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK...
    Has Alhaji Daud been identified and arrested? Is Alhaji Daud the same as the Businessman mentioned in Hannah Tetteh's statement?

If the VVIP staff processed Ms Ametefeh and two other w ...

• Ekow 9 years ago

This is where our hypocritical attitude comes in full swing! We cry everyday of dumsor, electrical fires, and inefficient management of the sector but when a move is made to rectify these things, we cry the loudest!Talking ab ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Well said Kofi. This is the reason I continue to support President Kufuor's sale of Ghana Telecom. The sale of Ghana Telecom opened the market for private companies that have made telephone access easier and cost cheaper beca ...

• moyo 9 years ago

This is the day Ghana is seeing the light.

• peace 9 years ago

I am so happy most of the ecg officials are corrupt to the bone

• Mary 9 years ago

The problem here is power generation not distribution

• Dramani 9 years ago

ECG workers are all corrupt and thiefs. Sell the ECG to a more competent body. Bravoo NDC

• effua mansa 9 years ago

The reason is that in developed countries, government does not manage institutions, they are privatized, and only take taxes to build their countries. What Ghanaian worker
    Know is to strike for 3 months still expect and ge ...

• ##Osama 9 years ago

What do you expect? Greedy bastards NDC are just CHOPBAR FUFU POUNDERS ministers cabinet

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Nkrumah's Ghana has been ruined long ago because of selfish Ghanaians, top and below.

Now it is time to paid for everything. Either the nation learns to work together or individually paid for everything.

We can not co ...

• ZIGZAG 9 years ago

We have been waiting for this news for far too long! Great News.

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

For onhce Dumb Mahama deserves praise.We should give credit where is due.Electricity privitisation is long overdue.It will undoubtedly be Dumb Mahama lasting legacy long after he is gone.

• YES 9 years ago

To paid? Illiterate fool, shut up.

• kofi''' 9 years ago

this is a very good news ...ecg must work. they are lazy. most of them are employed without the requisite qualifications and most of them too got it through nepotism. no wonder they are scared of privatization...

• Kwaku Gloenawo 9 years ago

I am happy to hear this. From the Maintenance Engineers own statement, it means ECG has been carrying over 3,000 workers who are not needed on the payroll hence causing huge costs that are passed on to the consumer. If they a ...

• agosta 9 years ago

I agreed with man...ecg workers all fools. They should come and suffer like we are suffering...they were put there to perform but has chosen to chop chop and underperform. Now that they want to privatize it mr thinks is bad b ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Nothing is free. People need to learn to be productive and creative.

• mother'schild 9 years ago

We might as well privatize government. People do not understand when their assets (wealth) are given to foreigners or a few people. You would then lose your independence completely. Of course some Africans have been indoctrin ...

• cee 9 years ago

When, will we learn to be self confidence and competent to manage our own resources, is NDC doing the right thing, have we analysed the situation, why the white man show interest in our resources, will they come and prouge ba ...

• Edward 9 years ago

Over employment is a major problem when it comes to state owned enterprises. We have too many workers handling these establishments that is why they cannot even earn their own salaries not to talk of making any profit for th ...

Restructuring is very important instead of carrying on old legacies and practices which cannot change positively to correct drawbacks. Such moves properly managed in the long run help the nation leap forward. In the short-ter ...

• WASHISHI 9 years ago

PRIVATIZATION OF ENERGY DISTRIBUTION IS MUCH WELCOMED,TO AVOID SABOTAGE AND ENHANCE EFFICIENCY,MOST OF THIS IN ADVANCED COUNTRIES ARE PRIVATE OWNED AND THE SERVICES ARE GOOD.THERE SHALL BE COMPETITION IN THE ENERGY DISTRIBUTI ...

• bi 9 years ago

However a significant amount of the private companies will be foreign owned, which means any profit/gains will be sent abroad. Furthermore, these foreign companies will bring foreign expertise at the expense of our local prof ...

• ake 9 years ago

If u are educated and qualified it doesn't matter where you come from.
    It's about getting the best for the
    Job.

• WTF! 9 years ago

The criminals of the NDC government are about to do it again. What is the experience of the wholesale divestiture that NDC implemented in the 90's? Massive unemployment and nothing more. Not a single of the enterprises sold / ...

• KING MARCUS 9 years ago

I'm not sure unless the president declared this to the public

• DIASPORIAN 9 years ago

Ghanaians do not live in the real world.They will be surprised to hear how electricity and gas bills have been rising in countries in europe,not mentioning the ever increasing cost in transportation and rents.Ghanaians have b ...

• WTF! 9 years ago

You are being dishonest here. The European people themselves are fighting the austerity measures imposed by their banksta-controlled governments. The fiscal crisis in the developed world has largely been caused by the toxic i ...

• WASHISHI 9 years ago

PEOPLE LIVING IN LONDON AND OTHER ADVANCED COUNTRIES MUST COMMUNICATE UTILITIES BILLS AND RENTING HOUSE COST TO GHANAIANS SO THAT THEY WILL BE WELL INFORMED .TIME FOR FREE BEE ARE OVER ,EVERYDAY STRIKES AND DEMO NOT HELPING N ...

• Alhaji Tanko 9 years ago

Not in Colo Ghana.

• bi 9 years ago

I dont entirely agree with you on this one. The government subsidies power so that the majority of people can afford electricity. This is very necessary for a developing country like Ghana, where small scale industries and in ...

• bi 9 years ago

I dont entirely agree with you on this one. The government subsidies power so that the majority of people can afford electricity. This is very necessary for a developing country like Ghana, where small scale industries and in ...

• Landiz 9 years ago

Have you ask yourself of how much do theyearn as monthly and compare to that of Ghanaian. Pls. Be objective for once. When was the last time UK had low shedding? Did Hahana not tell Ghanaian that after 79% increment, low shed ...

• icebabe 9 years ago

I disagree with u. Have you checked Europeans GDP comparatively to ours. You can buy " bus pass " for a week or month to enable u board any bus or tram to and fro in Europe and is never done here. Pls stop using Europe rents ...

• KOJO, UK 9 years ago

MY BROTHER WHO TOLD U THAT U CAN BUY BUS PASS AND USE IT ON ANY BUS OR TRAM IN EUROPE, WHICH EUROPEAN COUNTRY ARE U LIVING IN ? PLEASE FOR GOD'S SAKE , WILL U SAY THE TRUTH AND STOP LIEING TO OUR BROTHERS HOME.

• PAUL KWAW 9 years ago

Why are some of us so callous? People losing their jobs and we are happy for that! A country with most people not working means the country should be ready to experience more criminals activities God save Ghana!

• Nii 9 years ago

MY FRIEND IF A COMPANY CAN LOOSE 3000 WORKERS AND SURVIVE THEN IS MEANS 3000 WORKERS ARE SITTING THERE DOING NOTHING AND GETTING PAID-IN ECONOMIC TERMS THIS IS NOT SUSTAINABLE. OVER EMPLOYMENT IN GHANA IS MASSIVE AND IS EVERY ...

• TRUTH 9 years ago

I hate privatisation of utilities but if the company is not performing there's need to rethink. 3000 workers and nothing to show for it. Add this to an unproductive Board. Paying people for no work done!

• Anthony 9 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah will be turning in his grave. We can,t seem to manage anything. May be thwe country will be auctioned to the highest bidder next.

• ZIGZAG 9 years ago

SELL THE COUNTRY TOO IF IT DOES NOT PERFORM!

• icebabe 9 years ago

I like the idea of privatising ECG. The Manager is scared to lose his gigantic corrupted money not the 3000 workers he proclaimed. Heads of companies in Ghana are sinking the country to the bottom. I don't think OneTouch wud ...

• Banawontuo Nangdem- Lawra 9 years ago

ECG staff are lazy and they go.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

Privatization will lead to higher electricity bills but with the ECG this is the best solution.It has a bloated workforce of about 3000,their workers help criminals to do illegal connections which lead to loss of huge revenue ...

• WTF! 9 years ago

DID WATER SHORTAGES AND SHUT-OFFS STOP WITH PRIVATIZATION OF THE MANAGEMENT OF THE WATER CORPORATION?

Has the foreign management of the Ghana Water Corporation brought an n end to water stoppages? No!!! I agree with you t ...

• Kofi Ghana 9 years ago

Excellent . Nothing like dumso again..

• Mensa Otabil 9 years ago

I weep for Ghana. All this report is based on the say so of a Maintenance manager and where he got his information from, nobody knows!! This is simply shameful.

• Karim 9 years ago

What actually needs to be sold are:
    1. Parliament
    2. Presidency
    3. Judiciary
    Until we sell these three things, the Ghanaians would never see happiness.

• WTF! 9 years ago

I agree totally with you. Let's begin with selling Mahama to any faraway country. Perhaps Somalia will be ideal - fairly close to Abu Dhabi where Mahama's real estate investments are.

• Alex 9 years ago

KARIM, you are 101percent right but who is to fight this? We all know our problems as a nation but because of corruption here and there no one wants to fix the problem because that is where the "chop chop" come from, can you ...

• PETER K DUAH 9 years ago

GOOD NEWS

• SONIA 9 years ago

Is this a good news to u??? Dead illiterates country

• ZIGZAG 9 years ago

ECG creates more job loses than anyone in Ghana. Time for them to be on the receiving end too

• JOE BOY 9 years ago

this is the best news ever, as Ghanaians,
    we can not manage even a chicken farm, talk about managing a country. It is about time we put pride aside and accept that we are useless. Corruption is rooted in our DNA, from bottom ...

• Sweden 9 years ago

Mr. Brekorang an illitrate is smarter than u are 3000 workers losing their jobbs.how Money do companies,stores,(domestics)food losses every one hour when is light off.calculate it.you idiot.I did pay 120,000new ghana cedis
    f ...

• D.K 9 years ago

that is gud provide ppl will get adequate services

• Nana 9 years ago

Do you people now understand why the ecg boss was fired and the employees are against it? Ghanaians are very foolish to have come on radio to applaud your visionless president.

• Sweden 9 years ago

instesd of we ghanaians aploading we will says fa ma onyami

• Sweden 9 years ago

Mr. Brekorang an illitrate is smarter than u are 3000 workers losing their jobbs.how much Money do companies,stores,(domestics)food losses every one hour when is light off.calculate it.you idiot.I did pay 120,000new ghana ced ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Stupid people

• Dan Buduh 9 years ago

Fine, if selling ECG is the way forward for this nation! But where did you get this figure of 3,000 from? Who gave it to you - IMF, MFEP, ECG, or the Maintenance Officer you talked to in Central Region? Please let us know you ...

• Solar System 9 years ago

Am very excited to d bone to hear dis. Look some ghanaian workers think they can sit down lazily doing nothing and taking fat monies at the end of the month as salaries. Look dis 3000needless, lazy workers who are burden to t ...

• AKwasi Mensah 9 years ago

Let Mr. Berekorang and the current ECG workers go and work in the private sector. Ghanaians are fed up with ECG. So far gov't has not been successful in managing any company, corporation, or business.

• Mahama is confuse. 9 years ago

Sell mahama first.

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 9 years ago

PRIVATISE ENERGY IN GHANA
    ========================================
    WWW.CUSTOMERMETRO.COM
    PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI(FOUNDER )

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

IF ECG IS SOLD AND WE GET BETTER SERVICES, THEN SO BE IT. THEY HAVE TOO MANY EMPLOYEES, MOST EMPLOYED THOUGH DUBIOUS MEANS WITH NO PUBLIC ADVERTS.

• Sheila 9 years ago

HURRAY HURRAH!!!!!

• The mask 9 years ago

The economy is hitting workers hard and many have run out of ideas.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, is help ...

• dondo 9 years ago

Please stop your frigging spamming!
    Dammitt! !

• kutsii. 9 years ago

WARNING, WAR NING , WARN ING..!!!!!!!!
    Sell it and let me see.

• buzzat 9 years ago

War to u and your family.idiot.bastad.fooooool

• John Allotei 9 years ago

If this news is true, then its the best policy taken by the Mahama govt. What is the point of paying for electricity which is not there, there after paying taxes to be used in subventing the same incompetent ECG with over blo ...

• Sena 9 years ago

SSNIT, WATER COMPANY, TOLL GATES ,GHANA RAILWAYS must all be privatized. Ghana will be the better for it.

• AAA 9 years ago

So Brekorang you know ECG is more than 3000 overstaffed and you want consumers to continue paying for these costs?

• monkey 9 years ago

if the good people of Ghana are saying the truth some people will be telling us story about things which are true but the the same people will say No is the true story .this ND government is a thief he remove the MD so they. ...

• Iwan 9 years ago

privatization is not closing down. So what type of jobloss are we talking about?

• oppong london 9 years ago

the best thing to save the country is privatise Ghana to usa and Europe or china because all Ghanaians are fools,our brains are awkward and dead,we don,t know our left from right,even the educated ones are more stupid tha ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

Apart from killings and women degrading there is nothing NDC's govt can manage

• impromptus 9 years ago

Good for Mahama and family

• kojo uk 9 years ago

Ghanaians should be careful and not stand for this to happen, the economy will suffer if this goes through. Govt should find alternative means.

• NPP 9 years ago

Long over due

• GUY CHINOOK 9 years ago

Sometimes the workers at ECG behave as if the company belongs to them. I should just be too happy if the selling would come about very quickly

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C., SPAIN 9 years ago

-NO PLAN,ONLY COME TO POWER TO SELL STATE PROPERTIES.DONT CREATE JOBS BUT RATHER SUFFUR THE POOR MAN ALWAYS.SELL,SELL AND SELL THE COUNTRY AS A WHOLE.NO PLANE TO RULE.ALL LIES.

• philip 9 years ago

dere will b efficiency n properly effectiveness if ECG is privatized but we will die cus d cost of hvin electricity in ur homes will b costy

• Soldiers 9 years ago

Nobody will sell ECG. We enjoin the eternal power of the MOST HIGH GOD to stop anything called a human being to sell out birth right for whatever reason.
    God did not create us inferior. May God fight all and leave none who ...

• AMA 9 years ago

If privatizing ECG will mean better services, then why not? I support the decision 100%. It is better to privatize it and get better services than leaving it the way it is and not getting the desired result.

• ghana paa nie. 9 years ago

Ghanaians are the most foolish people in the world they do just talking and politics.they sit there for these mahamas to rule them sack them all fools.now ecg does not know npp or ndc mmoa.

• SIBEKO HERMAS 9 years ago

To avoid such misinformation, we put out the party’s
    contribution to the generation of electricity during our
    administration.
    The following Plants were added or started during NPP’s
    two term in Office;
    1. VRA Plant- ...

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 9 years ago

Please sell now, privatization is the solution to ECG of Ghana. Once you sell the will be productivity and power will be regular. Good idea.

• Ezek 9 years ago

I am really happy abt dis news .it must be better be sold for better ghana .everybody in ecg is boss of its own andare

• Ezek 9 years ago

It must be better be sold for us to enjoy good service than this services we are enjoying good

• psy 9 years ago

what is the sense in sense in keeping 3000 workers when we cannot get 24/7 power. you are worried about losing your jobs but not concern about the power crisis.

• Jonathan K.Y Dormenyoh 9 years ago

SHAME! Leaders,been call presdo or mp do you think God chose a leader to distroy the people? If you can continue live it and step down, God have not chose Solomon to distroy what David has done and stop distroying Ghanains pr ...

• kretz 9 years ago

These are all some of the results from the IMF bailout

• Macline 9 years ago

This is very good the Telecoms sector is a good example.

• Samuel 9 years ago

it good investment for mother mother

• Samuel 9 years ago

it good investment for mother Ghana

• DE DISCOVERER 9 years ago

sorry to citizens who will become victims of such.Mahama is tooo WISE to be called a PREZ.The blackouted mother Ghana because of politics.They must be unemployed.

• emmanuel 9 years ago

ecg does not belong to any one individual in this country oooooo. we know very well that the whole energy sector is having some challenges that must be solved.
    pointing the wrong finger at ecg does not make sense because ec ...

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

24 million are suffering from inefficiency by 3000 workers and you have sympathy for them. You must be out of your mind. Privatization is long overdue bcos it brings efficiency which will result in better service. Don't look ...

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

water company too

• emmanuel 9 years ago

be wise and think deeply before making your comments.. does ecg generate power?

• Eric 9 years ago

Mr president why ECG ah ghana

• emmanuel 9 years ago

ecg is not like vodafone oooo.. our politicians create artificial problems within government institutions and provide artificial solutions..
    government should stop playing politics with our institutions and bring on board th ...

• samby emmanuel 9 years ago

ECG are corrupt, its best decision ever!! tanz pres.

• Komfo 9 years ago

Why not Ghana Railway Company?The railways is almost dead, so why not sell that one first?

• Alfred 9 years ago

eii so is that how our leaders will treat us?

• KK Nimo 9 years ago

Sell, sell, sell the motherF****ker now.

• Nii 9 years ago

IF A COMPANY CAN LOOSE 3000 WORKERS AND SURVIVE THEN IS MEANS 3000 WORKERS ARE SITTING THERE DOING NOTHING AND GETTING PAID-IN ECONOMIC TERMS THIS IS NOT SUSTAINABLE. OVER EMPLOYMENT IN GHANA IS MASSIVE AND IS EVERYWHERE IN T ...

• Hon Amoako.aka frenchman. Obuasi 9 years ago

If you sell ECG,let me caution you the current and the génération to come will never forgive you.A word to the wise.............

• BB 9 years ago

MAHAMA VERY ASHAMED OF YOU WHAT ABOUT THE DUMSOR PROBLEM FIRST MERCHANT BANK NOW ECG NEXT MAHAMA