Read Comments Comments (53)

• Soothsayer 9 years ago

Do we have 26 million houses in Ghana?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

SONE SHEEPS ON STREET WHILE NDC THIEVES OWN 4 5 6 MANSIONS IN JUST 6 YRS

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

THE MAIN PROBLEM IS THE SYSTEM OF LAND
    DISTRIBUTION. HOW ON EARTH DO WE ALLOW ONE MAN CALLED "KING" TO DOMINATE ALL THE LANDS AND DO WHAT HE PLEASES WITH IT?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

DR. BAWUMIA:-----------
    “In the last six years, the NDC has borrowed US$27 billion. Before that, we, the NPP, borrowed a total of US$5.5 billion in eight years. Compare that to the NDC borrowing $27 billion in six years an ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

I do not subscribe the assertion that distribution of land is the hindrance to Real estate ownership. My back ground is Building Architecture, Real Estate Development and Land Acquisition and Distribution.
    We have never ha ...

THAT IS NOT THE POINT. I AM SAYING THAT IN US, CANADA, UK ETC. THEY PROTECT THEIR LAND AND CAN EVEN SACRIFICE THEIR LIFE. IN GHANA FOREIGNERS ARE MINING GOLD, THEY JUST HAVE TO FIND ONE GREEDY PERSON TO LEAD THEM TO THE KING. ...

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

It's time for the government of Ghana to invest in affordable housing complexes in every region in Ghana. Shelter is the number 1 priority of every individual and it's an eyesore, a disgrace to Ghanaian govt to purposely negl ...

• Francis 9 years ago

My friend come out with a better argument.
    Those resources that the state has managed for years, what better has come of them?

• Alex 9 years ago

You said it all,I stable on this news in the afternoon and wanted to be the first to comment in a possible way I can but it was very difficult for to download, sir regardless of your background you've earn my respect though t ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Ruby Mahama has been caught at Heathrow Airport carrying consignment from Jon Mahama's brother. They wanted to pay back all the workers' Tier Two Pention Pay stolen by NDC to purchase private jets but this time, they are cau ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

they took all the money for themselves

• www.owafk-africa.com 9 years ago

14,000 free scholarships for Africans

• www.owafk-africa.com 9 years ago

Get 2015 free scholarships for Africans

• Soothsayer 9 years ago

Do we need 26 million houses in Ghana?

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

You don't have to OWN a house BUT if we had INTELLIGENT,CARING and CIVILISED govts since the overthrow of KN,many MORE people could AFFORD SOCIAL Flats to accomodate them!!
    ALL our GREEDY and VISIONLESS STUPID GOVTS care ON ...

• truth 9 years ago

How can we own homes when our corrupt governments over tax us

• DALADAM 9 years ago

THE MINISTERS HAVE HOMES AND MAHAMA GOT 5 HOMES SO WHY SHULD THEY CARE ABOUT FOOL GHANA PEOPLE THAT WILL RE-ELECT THEM ANYWAY

• Minta 9 years ago

It is global. One out of ten owns a house in Ghana?....we are lucky.

• daladam 9 years ago

it is the evil govt policys that keep us in the gutter and could not care less,let stop the denial and the lies this govt have no plan for affordable homes for anyone ,they do have shamfull 30% intrest rates to stop anyone ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I guess Ghana started with Mahama and his government.
    Anytime some idiots in Ghana come out with some bogus statistics then fools like you follow blindly to talk trash?
    How did they get those figures to fool the likes of yo ...

• Ajit Babu 9 years ago

The report failed to explain that most rentals are shacks not fit for a dog or cat in civilized countries.

What sort of houses are you talking about? Has any Ghanaian Govt ever built houses for the vast majority of people living outside our so called filthy cities? Bogus statistics! Even your 13% is riddled with politicians and co ...

• kofi yaro 9 years ago

% Seems low to me. Is it a % of Ghanaian population?
    You have use an age group that typically will own a house like % of Ghanaian workers.

Exclude children ,school kids and college kids Does this number include ownershi ...

• Agonaba 9 years ago

When will Africa be able to provide affordable housing, shelters,rehabs and food for the homeless?Oh Kwame Nkrumah Ghana,Hmmmm.

• AKWELE 9 years ago

Thanks to bad government.

• justice 9 years ago

renting a home under a car is the most popular.

• Nana 9 years ago

The system in Ghana SUCKS. A young graduate comes out of school, gets a job that pays 600cedis, and is expected to pay a two(2) year rent advance for a room that coat 200cedis a month that comes to 4800, this graduate will ei ...

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

This is a very stupid regulation. The should be a rent control board and even rental courts in every regional capital in ghana. 2yr rental advance? That's dumd indeed. What happened to paying first and last months rent? Like ...

• eugene 9 years ago

if fail to pay all others court will be looking for you! or your in court filing bankruptcy papers!

THESE REAL ESTATE BUSINESS PEOPLE ARE COMING IN TO COLLABORATE WITH YOUR KINGS AND BUY ALL THE AVAILABLE LANDS, SOON NO ONE WOULD BE ABLE TO PURCHASE A PIECE OF LAND FOR HIMSELF. THEY ARE THE REAL THIEVES AND AGAIN YOUR KINGS ...

• KWASI 9 years ago

AND YOU STILL WANT MAHAMA?

• Mensah 9 years ago

no wonder

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

Yes I agreed with you. This girl in the picture is one of the kayayoes from the north who always vote for the NDC yet the same government does not care a hoot for their livelihoods. Look at the millions of monies meant for pr ...

• Edward 9 years ago

the real estate developers only focus on those who want to own houses to the neglect of the majority who want to rent. Developers has failed to construct standard houses for renting to the great majority and choose to concent ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Ghana is a nation that lost its potential in 1966.Since then our leaders, both political and educated elite class, tend to ingratiate themselves and or take credit for worthless events in Ghana that only politicians and educa ...

• Andrew Naija 9 years ago

The figure needs a lot of explanation. The truth however is that Ghanaians are lazy and expect too much from the govt. Its only in Ghana that someone will build a house with a kitchen, sitting room and bedrooms and expect the ...

I meant TWI channels

• ABU 9 years ago

In Your proud Nigeria public place of convenience is totally non-existen and deficating is done in the open . for my 6 years sejourn in Nigeria not a single public toilet was sported neither a household toilet facility s ...

I'm Ghanaian as well as Nigerian and I've stayed in different parts of GH and Naija. I might have been excessively passionate when typing yesterday, but what I said remains true.

• yesu anti 9 years ago

How much of 1 bag of cement how much 1 tonne of rod. land is not a problem even europe the building materials are very cheap it's difficult to buy land in europe oh Ghana hmmm mahama administration is very very very very poo ...

• palmer, Gremany 9 years ago

It is sad to read that for the first time in news about house shortage in Ghana ,although it is well know to every one in the country.NDC calls herself a democratic party,what do they understand from democracy?,also they say ...

• Y B 9 years ago

Your new health product

CLEANSHIELD, new natural Alkaline supplement from US designed to clean inner Ossian, get rid of acidosis in the body, bacterials/viruses and help balance body PH.
    Proper PH level enhance body SYSTE ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Shame on JOn Mahama and his brother. They have been in drugs for a very long time. They own two private jets all to transport stolen gold from Ghana, purchase cocaine from Brazil and use young women like Ruby Mahama for traff ...

• zz 9 years ago

Then dat means some Ghanaians own houses but do not live in them. Yes, from d statistics, I think it means landlords n ladies also rent. God bless Ghana.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

A survey and report on housing and affordability ought to have some information on cost/price!

GNA could have been presented this report in just one paragraph!

Haba, GNA!

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

How come GNA itself cannot conduct a survey of "Real Estate in the Emerging (Ghana) Market"?

• Osei 9 years ago

Your figure of 13% is misleading. Ghanaian society is extended family based. Some people live in the cities others in rural area. Which ever way they may have family house. It may be in Ho, Kumasi, Cape Coast Adankwaame, Kuma ...

• GhanaBA 9 years ago

The Bitter truth; its a pity and extremely sad. Ghana has fine laws but doesn't work bcos no one is ready to enforce them which makes the Americas, UK and Europe a much better place to live and enjoy life. simply put in Ghana ...

• Plain Talk 9 years ago

I have a house but nobody asked me this question. So how do they get 13%?

• Nuff Said-AfrAmer USA 9 years ago

do you want to meet an Afr Amer man, whom was homeless with a wife and 3 kids sleeping in a car 5 yrs ago? Today, because of investing in real estate education in the US, he receives over 400 rental checks a month from his US ...

• eugene 9 years ago

considering the labour price is very low, land cheap..Ghana homes are too expensive..They should be no more than $500,000 for huge one and 2 bedroom,bath kitchen should be $30,000 dollars...Homes in USA don't cost 1 million d ...

• OBINNA 9 years ago

GOVT SHOULD TAKE THE LEAD IN CREATING THE ENABLING ENVIRONMENT FOR HOUSING IN GHANA

• Asiwome 9 years ago

Was this before or after the government destroyed their homes?