The letter added that "however, management has given due consideration of the fact that you have shown remorse for your conduct and rendered an apology and has, therefore, decided to apply a lesser penalty.What's up?
eas 11 years ago
IF I WERE THIS MAN I WILL GO AND FARM FOR ONE YEAR THEN COME BACK AND SUE GGCL FOR WRONGFUL DISMISSAL
John 11 years ago
Can a BBC journalist go behind his employer and settle a case on his own out of court with a terrorist who had wanted to kill that journalist whilst on duty?Can a labour law expect help me?
Annorwuo 11 years ago
And your phantom BBC reporter,will still win their wrongful dismissal lawsuits hands down!
Let me re-frame your question in a more dramatic way: Can the graphic Corp, or the BBC tell their reporters not to make love to their ... read full comment
And your phantom BBC reporter,will still win their wrongful dismissal lawsuits hands down!
Let me re-frame your question in a more dramatic way: Can the graphic Corp, or the BBC tell their reporters not to make love to their spouses on any grounds?
I would have wished the state-owned media organization used the funds it is going to expend to defend this needless litigation,on re-training many of their 'useless' reporters,who cannot string two or three sentences together which make sense!
Shabi 11 years ago
Is it because STARRfmonline are also bad journalists like this Kenu guy for throwing an incomplete article at us?
What does, "The letter added that "however, management has given due consideration of the fact that you have ... read full comment
Is it because STARRfmonline are also bad journalists like this Kenu guy for throwing an incomplete article at us?
What does, "The letter added that "however, management has given due consideration of the fact that you have shown remorse for your conduct and rendered an apology and has, therefore, decided to apply a lesser penalty", mean?
Could it be that the Kenu guy was not really sacked afterall, but STARRFM desperately wanted to put a dramatic headline to the story to mislead the reading public?
me love ghana 11 years ago
he should sue the daily graphic because they dont have reasonable reason to fire him. his personal decision should not have anything to do with anything.
John 11 years ago
Be careful Kenu's action can be classified as a misconduct under labour law especially with his profession.He was attacked on duty,his employers owe it a duty to protect him.Kenu's action has prevented them from protecting him.
tatale 11 years ago
HHHAAA U SEE OOh!Small money Kenu go collect MD and co vex.WHY,WHY,WHY,MD YOU DEY CHOP PLENTY MONEY NOBODY COMPLAIN U WAIT, WE GO EXPOSE U SOON.
CAPE COAST BOY 11 years ago
OH MY GOD ,GHANA
Gerald 11 years ago
It serves him right. Gbebi!
AdwenKwame 11 years ago
...there's no legal basis for sacking the guy. but in ghana where folly reigns, people will do anything to get away...
olu 11 years ago
I can't lough. those who seek equity should come with clean hands. Because the MD took personal interest in the case, Kanu naturally lost his wright to decide for himself. interesting indeed. Ghana for you.
kojo poku 11 years ago
This is wrong move by graphic, you cannot fire somebody on the basis of taking personal stand, did Kenneth indeed collected money from somebody to peruse personal agenda? did kanus withdraw put sand in their gari? GJA what are you doing? Communication Workers Union should defend the poor guy.
there are more questions for graphic MD to answer, the truth will come out soon, GJA and Kenneth prepare for the exposure on this issue
Africanus 11 years ago
What personal stand? It is a well known fact that the Gyan family paid him $15,000 to drop the case, plus another 10,000 Cedis for his medical bills. Is that not an insult to the journalism profession and to his employers?
Annorwuo 11 years ago
Taking Care of Business;and I bet the stone-faced MD would have done the same thing! These hypocrites should leave that 'poor' guy alone to recover from the 'whipping' he suffered at the hands of that Gyan family posse.
Tuobodom News 11 years ago
You took the little money and ran.
Idiot,when it gets finished asamoah will employ you in Qatar.
KWAMI 11 years ago
The Gyan family should help him to get a job
Dr. Ezanator Rawlings 11 years ago
my father beat a lot of people himself and some with the help of his body guards but the BNI never arrested him.
Kwame Kumi 11 years ago
So what would the full penalty be? Life imprisonment? Nonsense!
bigblackwolf 11 years ago
so he was not dismissed but a lesser penalty was applied, ?, why not quote the part that explicitly states he has been sacked or advised to resign.
stick to your rumor that he has been sacked, but going on to quote and con ... read full comment
so he was not dismissed but a lesser penalty was applied, ?, why not quote the part that explicitly states he has been sacked or advised to resign.
stick to your rumor that he has been sacked, but going on to quote and contradict the story or at least lead readers to doubt your own rumors is not smart.
KWAME-BELGIUM 11 years ago
I find this very good on the part of the management of Daily Graphic.
FOYOOSIS 11 years ago
Since bribe taking is rampant in Ghana, i suspect he, Kenu, might have been probed and found guilty of having accepted money from the Gyans' to drop the case from court!!??
If yes, management hasn't erred to have thrown ... read full comment
Since bribe taking is rampant in Ghana, i suspect he, Kenu, might have been probed and found guilty of having accepted money from the Gyans' to drop the case from court!!??
If yes, management hasn't erred to have thrown him out.
Concerned 11 years ago
Was the case graphic v djan or kenu v djan. Sometimes you go to work and your boss feel they own you. They are not professional enough to separate private life and professional life. Even if djan paid/compensated him to Pacify him enough to want to withdraw the case from court, that's his perogative. We suffer as a nation because we allow so called big men or the elderly to get away with stupidity. I know I will never let them get away with it. What the bosses have done is worse than what djan did. Djan was at least provoked.
FOYOOSIS 11 years ago
Why deviate from a fact and themed my view "primitive thinking"? Tell me if bribe taking which has become a canker in everyday life has helped the nation Ghana developed in anyway?
I am not out to accuse Kenu neither do i ... read full comment
Why deviate from a fact and themed my view "primitive thinking"? Tell me if bribe taking which has become a canker in everyday life has helped the nation Ghana developed in anyway?
I am not out to accuse Kenu neither do i care if he had accepted money from the Gyans, all i'm concerned about is if such an act will not bring dispute to the journalistic profession and discredit to himself.
Do not be a representative in disguise of moral decadence, which nevertheless has gripped our Ghanaian society today.
eben nartmens 11 years ago
What interest does daily graphic have in the kenuu case.afterall is it the cheek that he slapped or if kenu had impregnated someone in the course of his duty,will daily help him take care of the baby ?
kwaku 11 years ago
Daniel the entire nation wanted to know the outcome of this case. Why did u withdraw it? This was a clear case to test the law. U broke my heart when I heard of ur withdrawal. I think Graphic is right
GJA harsh posture encouraged MD Graph 11 years ago
The clause in the bargaining agreement which the Graphic board relying on is illegal and against public policy. A citizen can not be compelled to prosecute a lawsuit. Withdwaing a lawsuit without prior notice cannot constitute gross misconduct or disloyalty The term disloyalty itself should have no place as basis for dismissal what is disloyal should be clearly defined. A person cannot lose his job for exercising his right to sue or discontinue a legal action in court. If the court cannot force an individual tio prosecute a cse who is the MD to feel a offended. This is more about egos of some senior officials of Graphic.
The suspicion that the journalsit has benn quietly conmpensated is not an offence either. OUT OF COURT SETTLEMENT is encouraged and permissible and the parties are not duty bound to disclose such settlement to third parties even if the third party is once empoyers.
If somnebody feels peeved that he had to travle all the way to Kumasi before learning that Kenu has withdrwan the case yes that person may have been tajken by surprise but that should no overaction. The disciplinary committee was unduly influenced by extraneous factors such as the overreaction of GJA President to impose the dismissal instead of termination. He should be reinstated period
Sasabonsam 11 years ago
SUE THESE BASTARDS!
Sasabonsam 11 years ago
BOYCOTT THE DAILY GRAPHIC!
DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 11 years ago
YOU ARE RICH WITH THE BRIBE OF 1000 GHANA CEDIS SO KENU WHAT DO YOU LOOSE?
Adenta 11 years ago
He was assaulted whilst on the job not on his own personal errand, so his employer had every right in the case to make sure justice was served in his favour to serve as a deterrent to others in future against such acts, and also for him to have confidence in his employer that they care about their employees safety and well being whilst doing their jobs. Kenu had the opportunity to correct the wrongs done to some of his colleagues who suffer such things on a daily basis whilst performing their jobs without evidence against the people who assaulted them, he let all of his colleagues down and his employer who stood behind him right from the get go. The judge also erred when he dismissed the case based on the letter Kenu wrote to him, even if Kenu had no desire to continue with the case, the state could have still pursued the case against Baffour Gyan, it was a criminal case and the state had every right to prosecute the case to its fullest. People like Kenu are moles and cannot be trusted, his actions or inactions are going to have an effect on his colleagues because he did not let the case travel its full course which is an obstraction of justice in a way. It is better for his employers to let him go than to keep him, he is a liability his conscience can be corrupted at anytime and they dont know what to expect of him in future he is unpredictable. Employers also need to have their employees sign contracts when they are hired spelling out clearly their expectations of them and the legal ramifications that is binding if any that they can be fired with cause or without cause at anytime by their employement. And there should also be a clause in the contract that employees can also quit or resign at anytime during their employment. Most of our judiciary are corrupt so much so that most cases just die a natural death in the courts after so many years of "ko bra ko bra" or posponements. In Ghana most employees dont have rights anyway it is normal over there smh. Goodluck Kenu next time don't do that ok, you can get a political appointment with JDM just ask him or some top brass that you know you will get it.
Maa Wise 11 years ago
I totally disagree with u on all grounds. Kenu is an individual & can decided on wht to do with himslf. For him to discontinue the case does not in anyway stop anyone else with the same issue frm pursuing any case to its full length if they so desire. I do not see the beef of Graphic. If indeed Graphic cares, why did they not pay his hospital bills? Did they even hire a lawyer for him being his employer? Graphic did not do anything to help him in any anyway than to come and shout on TV in solidarity. Transport in & out of court was not born by Graphic, the so-called caring organization. So if the man looks at his financial strength & family issues & decide to discontinue, wht wrong has he done to warrant a dismissal. This is all politics, and is not good for Ghana. This is a free country.This issue is purely personal.
Adenta 11 years ago
I understand the point you are trying to make, but as a journalist Kenu is the voice of alot of people who usually out of fear and intimidation are not able to expose or bring concerns or issues that is going on in our society to light so they confinde in him to draw attention to their plights. I did not shy away from bashing the judiciary in my earlier post, i am sure there were pressures from outside to his boss because some of his colleague journalists felt betrayed by his actions . I sympathise with his situation about medical bills and all that, but i am sure if he had continued the case he would have won a huge monetary settlement to offset his medical costs because that would have been part of the lawsuit i would think his lawyer would have advised him on all the things he could gave sued for. He sued for the law to correct and punish Baffour Gyan for all the wrongs he did to him and more. Obviously his employer didn't think he was irreplacable that is why they let him go, because if they cherished him that much they would not let him go. You know in Ghana your job depends not only on how hard you work but also if your boss likes you well enough to keep you around for alongtime. So if Kenu feels he lost his job because his boss took the case too personal, he can go back to court and ask the court to force his employer to reinstate him for wrongful termination, he can either sue his boss or move on with his life. I hope if he did settle for money with Baffour Gyan, the money would be enough to support him and his family for at least a year whilst he actively searches a new job if not he should go back to Baffour Gyan to seek for help since he is the cause of his unemployment. There is no job security in Ghana unless you are a politician.
Gasco 11 years ago
Thank you,you said it all. In the U.S, is the state or company who will take the uneducated Gyan to court not Kenu, period.
Wahala dey 11 years ago
This serves him right, go and get a job from the Gyan family. The small money they gave you this is the consequence.
Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago
Serves the idiot right. You were personally assaulted but your association stood behind you to seek redress for you. Why must you now go behind the association to withdraw the matter from court? You are a turncoat. You deserve the sack.
TRUTH 11 years ago
Bravo Daily Graphic. Disloyalty must not be condoned
Kwame Kumasi 11 years ago
KENU WILL STILL LIVE BY THE GRACE OF GOD
Fofo 11 years ago
Well done Graphic Corporation. There is too much indiscipline in the country. How can you do that? Graphic Corporation you are absolutely right. He cannot go to any court. Mahama has bred too much indiscipline.
Annorwuo 11 years ago
Looming on the horizon against the Graphic Corporation,and I hope the plaintiff,Kenu, sues the MD of the corp,in his personal capacity as well!
The pertinent question to ask is whether or not this beleaguered journalist,has ... read full comment
Looming on the horizon against the Graphic Corporation,and I hope the plaintiff,Kenu, sues the MD of the corp,in his personal capacity as well!
The pertinent question to ask is whether or not this beleaguered journalist,has a life of his own,or lives for the Graphic Corp? I predict Kenu will win hands down,and top up the 'settlement package'["mpata sika"],he may have received from the Gyan Brothers. This guy may not be a professional pugilist,but he appears to have made nonsense of the careers of pro-fighters like Bukom Banku and Ayittey Powers. The dude is definitely set for life!
nokofio 11 years ago
i can't stop laughing at your post. you've made my day! dem it!
JUST SAYING 11 years ago
So Kenu made sure Ashigbey did not get some of the money so he sacked him...lol. If Ashigbey felt so strongly about chopping some money from the slaps, nothing prevents him from taking his broad cheeks to be mangled, so he can have total authority and access to any monetary settlement resulting from te mangling of his broad cheeks.
Next time Ashigbey, the Chrife man who has about 3 women travelling with him to old school anniversaries should take his cheeks for the slap, because he's also got some, and not seek to profit from somebody's slap.
OBIBINIII 11 years ago
Asamoah gyans family has paid him enough . good luck and invest that money given to u.....
prof Dorleagbenu 11 years ago
are we safe in this country at all,if l send matter to court and latter withdraw the case then l should be sacked? oooh what. a country?
aggie 11 years ago
MD Ken Ashigbe himself a criminal should be sacked for taking unilateral decision. I hear Graphic Board is not aware of this unilateral decision by the MD. Shame Ashigbe, Your time will come. U got this post through the backdoor and u will go through the back door.
mozko 11 years ago
If kenu didnt inform his bosses den he deserf it for i was also disapointed in him
Kwame Yeboah 11 years ago
This Asihigbe man always wants attention. His picture can always be found in the Graphic. He will very soon land on his own sword. What he has done to this gentleman is worse than what Barfour Gyan did. Efie nipa ka wo ....
Baba Timay 11 years ago
Is long overdue. He should go and feed on de money he took from de assailants.
Baba Timay 11 years ago
Is long overdue. He should go and feed on de money he collected from de assailants. He sold his dignity so cheap.Bravooooo GCG.
Let me re-frame your question in a more dramatic way: Can the graphic Corp, or the BBC tell their reporters not to make love to their ...
What does, "The letter added that "however, management has given due consideration of the fact that you have ...
Be careful Kenu's action can be classified as a misconduct under labour law especially with his profession.He was attacked on duty,his employers owe it a duty to protect him.Kenu's action has prevented them from protecting hi ...
OH MY GOD ,GHANA
This is wrong move by graphic, you cannot fire somebody on the basis of taking personal stand, did Kenneth indeed collected money from somebody to peruse personal agenda? did kanus withdraw put sand in their gari? GJA what ar ...
stick to your rumor that he has been sacked, but going on to quote and con ...
If yes, management hasn't erred to have thrown ...
Was the case graphic v djan or kenu v djan. Sometimes you go to work and your boss feel they own you. They are not professional enough to separate private life and professional life. Even if djan paid/compensated him to Pacif ...
I am not out to accuse Kenu neither do i ...
The clause in the bargaining agreement which the Graphic board relying on is illegal and against public policy. A citizen can not be compelled to prosecute a lawsuit. Withdwaing a lawsuit without prior notice cannot constitut ...
SUE THESE BASTARDS!
He was assaulted whilst on the job not on his own personal errand, so his employer had every right in the case to make sure justice was served in his favour to serve as a deterrent to others in future against such acts, and a ...
I totally disagree with u on all grounds. Kenu is an individual & can decided on wht to do with himslf. For him to discontinue the case does not in anyway stop anyone else with the same issue frm pursuing any case to its full ...
I understand the point you are trying to make, but as a journalist Kenu is the voice of alot of people who usually out of fear and intimidation are not able to expose or bring concerns or issues that is going on in our soci ...
Serves the idiot right. You were personally assaulted but your association stood behind you to seek redress for you. Why must you now go behind the association to withdraw the matter from court? You are a turncoat. You deserv ...
The pertinent question to ask is whether or not this beleaguered journalist,has ...
So Kenu made sure Ashigbey did not get some of the money so he sacked him...lol. If Ashigbey felt so strongly about chopping some money from the slaps, nothing prevents him from taking his broad cheeks to be mangled, so he ca ...
MD Ken Ashigbe himself a criminal should be sacked for taking unilateral decision. I hear Graphic Board is not aware of this unilateral decision by the MD. Shame Ashigbe, Your time will come. U got this post through the backd ...