You are here: HomeNews2014 11 18Article 335477

Accept bad roads; we're a Third World country – Urban Roads dept

Read Comments Comments (101)

• d.d 9 years ago

oh my god ,so we still have this stupid People in govt. Office ,thus his wife use t3ma insteard of pad

• N. Kofi 9 years ago

The most stupid statement ever made by any public official. This idiot should be sacked immediately!

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

Reduce his salary by 35percent. Afterall, we are a third worldmcojntry and you don't deserve too much money kwasia! Lack of planning and management, corruption is the cause

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

Accept a stupid fool like Benjamin Adomah, he is a primitive person.

• Gonzaga 9 years ago

Where this this director go to school, obtain his certificates and who appointed him. This is the most absurd statement I have heard from a public official since I was born. Haba! Haba! Oh Ghana 80% educated fools in power. T ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Being in power for six years with high commodity prices including the newly found oil, and after recklessly borrowing more than 60% of the GDP or $27bn in six years for dubious contracts and useless "oil curse" expenses, forc ...

• WIAFE 9 years ago

OUR PRESIDENT LEADING A LIFESTYLE OF THE RICH AND FAMOUS.
    WINING AND DINING ABROAD.

• KJ 9 years ago

we are not as rich as the developed countries but can afford to pay out judgement debts to the rawlings and the woyome etc because ghanains dont deserve good roads

• Pelicles 9 years ago

This is purely rubbish and it is only a pig that loves to wade in mud to make such a foolish and reckless statement.

What is "we are a third world country and we are not as rich...". Who said that Ghana is poor? If we hav ...

• Big Komla 9 years ago

This is absolute rubbish, this shows that he has no plan.
    Ghanaians want to see results and we are tired of foolish statements.

• daladam 9 years ago

NO PLAN BY MAHAMA GOVT THEY SURRENDER TO FAILURES AND THEY WANT TO BE RE-ELECTED

• AKORA OTENG 9 years ago

I agree completely with you that ,that man is both ignorant and stupid. These are the problems we have in Ghana at the moment where we appoint square pegs to fit in round holes. Some people manage to bribe themselves to certa ...

• Mawunyegah 9 years ago

For dismissing us a third world country with your rotten mouth, Adomah. God will punish you & your family! You will rot and stink in your room before you die! Amadioha is ready to strike your family with a terrible disease!

• RAYMOND NASH, LONDON 9 years ago

NONSENSE !!!!!

• Ama London 9 years ago

When did Ghana became a poor country, don't make me laugh. Look at the cars, houses our parliamentarins are using, look at the corruption going on Ghana is not poor at all, we are very rich but unfortunately we have poor and ...

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

With this mentality and the corruption raging in the country, we will remain third world for ever. Amen.

• Master Kwaku 9 years ago

I say, AMEN, Brother. But sack this non-performing IDIOT!

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Has this idiot ever stopped to think why we can not fill potholes, but our politicians and bribe-taking officials in every department have their big houses, sometimes with never-used swimming pools, the latest cars, even if t ...

• KAKAPEAKA K K, LONDON 9 years ago

YOU ARE NOT FIT FOR THE OFFICE YOU ARE OCCUPING. PLEASE RESIGN IMMEDIATELY.

• Oman ba papa 9 years ago

Look at what he is saying

• k kwakye 9 years ago

MY GOD............

• RichardBoansi, uk 9 years ago

Antoa will strive that man in a broad day light. Is Accra the only place that needs good roads?. Where does his stupid family get the food they eat each day? No wonder such bustard , good 4 nothing entities, and dump people ...

• CATAPULT 9 years ago

This response that the acting regional Director of Urban roads gave, shows clearly that he took a cue from the answer given by the Minister of Roads & Highways, Inusah Fuseini who when he was asked about the whereabouts of th ...

• Kwaku Gloenawo 9 years ago

I think Adomah's point has been missed. All he is trying to say is that we have to accept that as a third world country, we do not generate enough resources to give us the kind of roads we expect. I bet you that 80% of our po ...

• Me 9 years ago

We can do much more with what we have if we minimize or eliminate corruption. Anyone rich enough to own a car must be levied and the proceeds, hopefully, can be applied to road construction (not into the pockets of some minis ...

• Joe Mens 9 years ago

Go to thier office and see the cars they are using. The mansions and the multiple partners they have.They use all the money to construct one road so they can have their large cut. Ghana we are doom.

• Joe Mens 9 years ago

They don't care because they can afford 4x4 cars.Instead of fixing the roads they pocket the money.

• Gov 9 years ago

Why don't you tell that to your President and his government to live beyond their means because we are not like developed countries NONSENSE

• DEWORKS 9 years ago

Wow is this the Mahama "Better Ghana"?
    The NDC really came to loot and share.
    Today they tell us to accept us to be a third world country. What I see here we do not even qualify to be a third world country, but rather a fiv ...

• Great 9 years ago

A very Foolish Talking.

• Abeiku Brew - South Africa 9 years ago

If he really said so then the government to stop collecting taxes from the citizens

• Kofi Osei 9 years ago

You claim that we are a third world country,
    why does your president fly in a Jet?
    why do you drive a car from the developed world?
    why do you have air conditioning in your house and office?
    2014 and a member of governm ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

yes we are third world..where millions are embezzled everyday without recourse to the law

• Maame 9 years ago

It has been a challenge to understand why educated Africans continue to have such an unfortunate inferiority co

• Angie 9 years ago

So this guy already put in his mind that Ghanaians are incompetent and cannot trust that they're good enough to do anything because we're Africans & a third world country. It's sad how such incompetent people who think being ...

• GUY CHINOOK 9 years ago

I can believe that such a stupid person is still in employment of the Government. How can we use tax payers' money to pay such an idiot?

• Blaze, California 9 years ago

This is sad to read that Ghana is a third world from this idiot. I read through all the comments and all Ghanians feel hurt by this comment. What an asshole for him to say we are a third world..How did the so called first wor ...

• js addo 9 years ago

this man is saying the truth. Ghana economy is less than that of Mercedes benz Company. we dont have Money .we borrow to do virtually everything
    donor countries contribute to our Budget
    but that is the Problem we dont ratio ...

• NANA ARABA 9 years ago

GHANA HAS GOLD,DIAMOND,TIMBER, COCOA BEING USED FOR CHOCOLATES IN EUROPE & ALL OVER THE WORD. WE HAVE FRESH PRODUCE FOR IMPORT TOO. OIL!! GGOVT HAS TO THINK " GHANA'S RESOURCES BELONG TO ALL GHANAIANS" NOT FORNTHE GOVT OR CO ...

• Made in Ghana 9 years ago

stupid talk

• BB 9 years ago

That is bullshit, you can't tell Ghanaians to accept sub-standard living in the mist of plain view corruption, he must first tell state officials including himself to stop stealing from the state and then come again

• Dombo 9 years ago

Only a black Ghanaian "efuom" fool will talk such shit.

The sad thing is Ghana has over the years been governed by bush people who sees nothing good about 21st century development.

Dubai, where "President" Mahama loves ...

• FiifiKofi 9 years ago

show appreciation for mediocrity, nice!

• Kofi J 9 years ago

Ghanaians love criticism. The officer is not saying Ghana is a poor county but rather a third world country which is understandable. Roads in Ghana can never never be compared to roads in Advanced Nations. That's all the offi ...

• MENSA 9 years ago

THEY SAY DONT COMPALIN WE ACCEPT FAILURE AND MAKE SURE WE GET RE-ELECTED TO POWER

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

How long does Ghana after 57 years have to remain among the backward so called third world countries?

Thanks to Kotoka/Afrifa and some local CIA baboon agents, Ghana would have been far-far better a place like any European ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

What is the difference between this cynicism and that of Nelson Abudu Baani's unfortunate view on adulterous Ghanaian women?

Both Adoma's and Baani's perspectives on some Ghanaian realities are devoid of pragmatism. Both v ...

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Descending into 4th World status, because we are waiting for the government to do something for us.

• AKWADAAPAH 9 years ago

Pragmatically, we can do it:
    Recruit all the youth and create PWD to fix every road in the country; pay the workers well and on time.

• Akua AU 9 years ago

Kwasea!!!!!!

• Kojo Small 9 years ago

This person is not fit to hold his position. His crude mentality is unacceptable in the civilized world.

• lion king 9 years ago

I don't respect them

• Kojo Small 9 years ago

Not acceptable in a civilized society

• Kojo Small 9 years ago

Not acceptable in a civilized society

• Sam Nyarko 9 years ago

What a shame to make such a statement Ghana of all respected world-wide. If priorities are set right and stealing from the citizens will stop this would be an undebatable issue. Leaders in Ghana do not know and appreciate the ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

This is one of the most stupid comments coming from a public official, who is paid by the taxpayer. For what do we continue to pay tax?

• lion king 9 years ago

Hang dis idiot to death

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

So sad!! in other words we should keep quiet and suffer whilst MPs and govt appointees drive in 4x4's

• okofo 9 years ago

There we go again:This attitude is a clear indication of our damaged mindset in Africa. There's no such thing as "Third World" but inferiority complex mindset world.

• Ebo 9 years ago

Stop squandering government funds and there will be enough money to fix your third world roads.

• Kpeblo 9 years ago

This is very unacceptable ! Our prez and parliamentarians are definitely not living like a poor country. If our leaders in Africa will manage natural resources given by God to us well and not fill their pockets with state cas ...

• Martin 9 years ago

Such a defeatist attitude by this official will not get the country anywhere. Ghana may not be on the level with developed countries when it comes to road constructions, that doesn't mean the country should settle for sub-sta ...

• Ben 9 years ago

I know Ben Adomah he is NDC man for long time , that is why he is talking this way .

• OKOE 9 years ago

IF THIS IS THE MINDSET OF THE ENGINEERS IN THAT DEPARTMENT, THEN ONE CAN UNDERSTAND WHY THE ROADS IN THE CAPITAL ARE WHAT THEY ARE IN THE FIRST PLACE. OFFICIALS CAN SAY STUPID THINGS AND GET AWAY WITH IT.OFFICIALS WHO ARE IN ...

• abu 9 years ago

you are a fool to say we should accept bad roads because we arr third class country.
    we need to change for the better without any excuses.
    then stop using ur fone because u are in a third class country.

• NDC VODOO 9 years ago

This is the first son of the bigest pjg in Africa.God save Ghana. Amen amen amen.

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE HIM WITH THIS KIND OF ATTITUDE SHOULD NOT BE WORKING FOR THE GOVT. THESE ARE THE TYPE OF PEOPLE WHEN THEY FGO TO WORK DO NOTHING BUT SIT AND CHAT BECASUE IN HIS SMALL MIND WE ARE A THIRD WORLD COUNTRY. IF HE WAS W ...

• DaDa K 9 years ago

So you are telling Ghanaians that Developing Countries don't deserve better roads and must always wait for centuries till Politicians finish contracting loans and after they've finish using them to construct their own mansion ...

• No Gurantee 9 years ago

When such bloody suckers occupied positions with clueless govt in power,such statements make sense.They have no vision for the country,
    Ask officials at highway authority or urban roads,"what is the name of the road linking ...

• PK 9 years ago

How did we end up with people like this in leadership positions? Every Ghanaian need to sit down and ask him/her self this question. How exactly did we end up this way? We do not have leaders. We have politicians and that in ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

For the past few months, Ghanaians have seen and heard many statements made by John Mahama and his NDC gov't about how they understand politics and their own kind of development. These "no hopers" won't allow real men with wi ...

• GLOBAL CITIZEN III (3RD) 9 years ago

Now I can understand why things are in such unacceptable and deplorable state now. The established mind-set of the Govt is that "We are a third world country, so BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION MUST GO ON UNABATED; WE MUST BE LIED TO ...

• BAFFOUR -- YAW 9 years ago

We as nation to accept the fact that Ghana will continue to see road problem in the years to come,asphalt roads through out the country can be completing by 2062 due to Ghana GDP rating.

We are a third world country that is why we don't even need a dept of urban roads!

• PATAPAA OBTT 9 years ago

INFARCT WE REALLY HAVE SOME STUPID PEOPLE IN THE REALM OF AFFAIRS. AND IF THEY DON'T HAVE ANY SENSIBLE THING TO SAY, WHY CAN'T THEY JUST KEEP THEIR STUPID MOUTHS SHUT FOR CHRIST SAKE. SENSELESS, BRAINLESS, HOPELESS BUT STILL ...

• JOSEPH ATTAH-MENSAH CAESAR. 9 years ago

IF GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS WOULD STOP THE CHOP, CHOP, THERE WOULD BE AMPLE MONEY AVAILABLE TO UPGRADE OUR ROADS.

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

BUSH TALK.
    ANOTHER BUSHMAN.
    YET WE HAVE MONEY TO THROW DOWN THE DRAIN (USELESS JUDGEMENT DEBTS).
    GHANA IS NOT A THIRD WORLD COUNTRY.
    MAHAMA & HIS NDC HAS MADE GHANA A THIRD WORLD COUNTRY.

• kwame 9 years ago

This is unacceptable. I do not think this man rides in a car. Incredible! He does not need to occupy his office.

• Kobina Ebo 9 years ago

What a fool....stop chopping our money and fix the road...Go to other countries in Africa see their roads for yourself. .. Are they not third world countries?

• joe navajo 9 years ago

These are the fools that run Ghana. Sack him.

• truth 9 years ago

ideas & sick thinking.

• Kwaku Ampofo 9 years ago

The poor state of Ghana roads is not because Ghana is a Third World state. I just left Philippines and with all their problems as a Third World country, they have roads comparable to what US have. C'mon, Mr Adomah, are you a ...

• abrantie 9 years ago

God will punish the minister for not telling the trueth.NDC the thief's they put all the money in .their pocket and buying houses out side the country for their girlfriends.

• Spider 9 years ago

This is a horrible statement made by a horrible man in office.He should be quickly dismissed to pave way for a sensible man.He is a wasteful human on the land of mother Ghana.

• Kwame Adjei 9 years ago

Yes,Ghana is a thirld world country.The President,his cabinet ministers and all MPs don't need SUV's.Give them bicycles.The millions of dollars politicians have stolen can improve our roads.Who is this stupid Benjamin Adomah ...

• FAKE PASTORS - NO SCIENTIST 9 years ago

OUR EDUCATION SYSTERM ONLY PRODUCE DUMB . I DON'T BLAME HIM - I DO BLAME OUR EDUCATION SYSTERM THAT'S VERY BAD AND IT DOESN'T HELP US IN DOING ANYTHING BETTER - GHANA HAS MANY PEOPLE THAT THINKS THE SAME SO THIS IS NOT SOM ...

• truth 9 years ago

Stupid statement. Don't we pay for road taxes when we buy fuel? Don't we pay for road toll at some points? What are the taxes used for? It is our right to have good roads. Shody roads always constructed by local contraxtors a ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

All the guy is saying is "shut up everybody; bad roads so what? just watch us empty the coffers" WOW, that is stunning !

• PONCHO 9 years ago

we are 3rd world country, SO stop the create , looth & share by de gov't cronies.

• Exposure 9 years ago

This explanation is not satisfactory at all

• Kak 9 years ago

When it comes to creating ,looting and sharing,I think we are a first world country,,,surpassing even the United States,but when it comes to development projects,,suddenly there are no funds ..such a sick country,,we the yout ...

• Joseph tetteh 9 years ago

That is stupid

• warankoko 9 years ago

idiot talk how can such person be ahead of a department or whatever. Considering yourself as a third world is a big shame. How many so called first and second have what we have in Ghana .Please stop this cheap utteranc ...

• Kofi Marfo 9 years ago

Am very sad, we're a Third World what ? we have it all,you name it. so why why. stop stealing our money,and used it as plan.

• k kwakye 9 years ago

MY GOD............

• Daavi 9 years ago

WAGES OF CORRUPTION

• apuuu 9 years ago

Are you that stupid uncaring what ever your name is you go to school you travel abroad learn something now you get a job in the government I and you didn't not have experience but they give you the job any way now you telli ...

• kofi 9 years ago

Mr minister or direct if u don't no listen the advance countries were third world before n they all move forward so when are we going to move forward

• k kwakye 9 years ago

MY GOD............

• Aandy 9 years ago

This man is a stupid and very stupid.NDC has failed ghanaian.if u have man as an mp in ur area,What development will take place.

• Francis 9 years ago

Adoma you are a disgrace to your qualification