12-kg coke haul dents Ghana’s image – Aning

Read Comments Comments (72)

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

This stupid oldman is sick

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

THink!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• fred 9 years ago

Hiding under a name? Why don't you come out and say who you are? What has this story got to do with Akuffo Addo and the insults?
    You and the ndc's hatred of Akuffo Addo is unfounded. You are simply scared when he comes to p ...

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

Pls, marry these 2 fraudsters so they can produce fraud babies. Ametefeh will make apkl3 and keta school boys for kweku Donboli!

• True Talk 9 years ago

Get 12kilos of unconcealed powder onto an aircraft?? The security on duty at the BA gate or perhaps VIP are definitely complicit in this. 200 plus passengers could have been killed had it been a bomb!!

• kelly 9 years ago

Stupid fool, can u you insult your father who is maybe equally old as Akufo Addo. May God forgive u. Kwasia u shall not live to see the day God gave u.

• GODSPLANN JUDE 9 years ago

Ghanaians blame Nigeria for all of their problems and pretend Ghana is a land of saints. Power outage is blamed on Gas from Nigeria, Ghanaian armed robbers are said to learn their trade or trained by Nigerian armed robbers, G ...

• Vital 9 years ago

And who mention anyt

• Vital 9 years ago

Kwasea, who said anything about nigeria? Idio!

• Santaclausian, Croydon 9 years ago

Only a short sighted person uses an isolated incident as a proper prognosis. Yes, this particular individual may be Ghanaian and had done something deplorable. But then judicial notice ( don't know of you understand this term ...

• NDC 9 years ago

Then let's us start it from KIA,How it got into the plane unnoticed,it was a well plan work which have been going on but this time it didn't work.The case is long dead

• Angie 9 years ago

It appears most officials in Ghana are either fraudulent or incompetent. How was she able to board the plane with this much cocaine, escaping the notice of custom officials? She either bribed them from checking her luggage o ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

They took her money for the deal to go through KIA then turned around and call London for her arrest guys

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

I'm sure amatefeh paid bribe or used sex to clear vvip at kotoka. I was once fingered by nacob for trafficking drugs. The dumb nacob officer at kotoka told me to give him a sample of my urine.for testing. I told him to fuck o ...

• RR 9 years ago

With the X-ray scanners, it would have been impossible to get past KIA without assistance from KIA officers including those behind the scanners.

• lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

There is no difference between what Amoateng did nearly ten years ago.The woman bribe her way at KIA simple as A.B.C.Those on duty that day a&re involved BNI should arrest all of them without fear or favor shalom.

• Yaw Apap 9 years ago

Amoateng stuff went unaccompanied and as cargo.This is serious please assuming it was a bomb. Post the 911 Ghana.

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

so amoateng erected Ghana image. stupid ass mother fuckers

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

1. "...according to NACOB, was made through a collaborative effort between the Board and its British partners."
    2. "Investigations are still ongoing,” NACOB explained."
    Things do not add up.
    Collaborative effort, lady ar ...

• Acheampong Rogers 9 years ago

What happened to the cocaine that turned into 'konkonte' and later turned into salt? That's what happens if you arrest 'some' people in Ghana. Please they know what they are doing, allow them '

• @Pumpuni 9 years ago

Exactly, I was thinking about the same thing. There was not collaboration; the Brits where just smart.
    I think she must have done this before. This lady may be fake, I mean, her true identity. We need to know where the shame ...

• Real kebecois 9 years ago

I read some where that , Ghanaian officials weren't tip off b'cos of her affiliations in the government . So how come nacob was collaborating with the British police?

• Kojo Barima 9 years ago

Ghana can win the war against drugs by collaborating with other countries: The British, Americans, Israel, and EU. Convicted drug lords or dealers should receive the heavy penalties to serve as a warning to others. All wealth ...

• Maame 9 years ago

Eeii ghana, a nation with no leader & no direction. This is not the first incident of someone smuggling drugs out of KIA & getting arrested abroad. If I can recall, the same incident happened a year ago where they were able t ...

• @Kojo 9 years ago

No, unless we start jailing people by the numbers, greedy Ghanaians will never stop. On the other hand, foreign authorities will in the future be searching anyone that comes from Ghana to any country in the Western world.

• KAKABO 9 years ago

This Nacob should not spew gabbage to. If they knew this woman was carrying drugs why did they allow her to successfully pass through Kotoka without any arrest.They now want to share the glory with the Britich Authority. We d ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

The British were selling Opium to China for decades. America was built on stolen land and slavery. Whats the big deal if an African want to sell 12kg of heroin to make some money. Lets stop sucking up to the west and look out ...

• Wayo 9 years ago

Yaw, you are cheap. You are a drug user and smuggler. Two wrongs? Don't steal.... steal but don't be caught. Ghana will not be built on drugs. Feed your family on and with drugs daily and reap the benefits. Addict

• Kokonsa 9 years ago

I am with you on this drug issue. But the Africans don't understand how the world works.

• chief vandal 9 years ago

YAW I AM WITH YOU ON THIS. I am not sure what he deal is. We SHOULD SEND AS MANY DRUGS AS WE CAN TO THE WEST. tHAT WAY WE GET BACK SOME OF OUR MONEY THEY STEAL.

• Muntaro 9 years ago

Disgraceful Ghanaians both the drug carriers and connivers....quick money is all they chase for. Flashy cars, jewelry and large mansions. How did she made out from Kotoka International Airport? Shame on these drug dealers and ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

How come that it was reported first the lady travelled on a Ghanaian diplomatic passport bearing an akan name? This is the problem we have with journalists and the press in Ghana these days.They are always misinforming the pu ...

• Kwabena Erzoah 9 years ago

I am confused as I need help.
    It was published that one Ruby Adu Gyamfi was arrested at LHR with similar case. Now it is Nayele Ametefe. Just who is publishing the right story for readers to follow. Please help.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

What you see is what you get. What do you expect from nespapers and radio stations that are owned by klepto-politicians from both the NDC and NPP? Journalism in Ghana has taken, and continues to take, a slippery slide down th ...

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

tHERE ISNO TRUTH IN WHAT NACOB IS SAYING. WHY WOULD THEY ALLOW A DRUG TRAFFICER PASS THRU KOTOKA WITHOUT STOPPING HER ? WHAT IS THEIR FUNCTION AT THE KOTOKA AIRPORT THEN, IF THEY EXPECT OTHER AIRPORTS TO CATCH DRUG PEDDLERS ...

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

INVESTIGATE MAHAMA HIMSELF.
    I DON'T TRUST THAT SELFISH GUY.

• Hp 9 years ago

Nothing to investigate.

• kanawu 9 years ago

My question is, is this drug carrier an Austrian or a Ghanaian?
    She was travelling on Austrian Passport, as such she is now an Austrian.
    Why blame this on Ghana. Let her Austrian Government deal with her. So far as I am con ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 9 years ago

Exactly!!!.And that is why I am highly against dual citizenship[a Ghanaian passport was found on her].Which country does she belong to now,Austria or Ghana?This lady is not a ghanaian if he is a holder of an Austrian passport ...

• Real kebecois 9 years ago

Well said!! But the story is that , she travelled from Ghana . So it's our security agencies that let's down!! Most of us work in the law enforcement and when you go back to Ghana and you see how our men and women in uniform ...

Kwabena, I don't think her nationality is the big issue here. Whether she is Ghanaian or not, she transported 12 kg of cocaine through our airport in Accra. Must being an Austrian or Ghanaian matter? How did she manage to get ...

• Commonsense 9 years ago

How come NACOB knew about it and did not arrest that lady= Is it because Mahama and NDC are all involved? What did Atta Mills tell us some years back that his own NDC people are using Diplomatic passports and traffiking drugs

• Occupy Ghana 9 years ago

How did she (Ms. Nayele Ametefe) get to the VIP lounge without a diplomatic passport?

Though it is alleged she did not travel on a Ghanaian diplomatic passport, is she a current or past HOLDER of a Ghanaian diplomatic pass ...

• Liars! 9 years ago

I wonder where he got the name Nana Appiah from. Akans and in particular Ashantis were lambasted by this TRIBALIST when it emerged initially that the name of the culprit was Ruby Adu Gyamfi. Shame on you! Come out with your r ...

• @GetSerious 9 years ago

That name was what came in the media in the beginning. On the other hand, having a name doesn't automatically mean she comes from a particular place until she is investigated and her real home pops out.
    If you want to know, ...

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

THERE IS EVIDENCE THAT THIS WAS A PLOT HATCHED AT KIA. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD TAKE DRASTIC ACTION. IF THIS IS NOT DONE THE GOVERNMENT ITSELF CAN BE CONSIDERED TO BE ENCOURAGING THIS.

• Daniel 9 years ago

I believe Gh, doesnt produce cocaine, yet people are having assess to them, Meaning our security agencies are not doing their maximum best. As individuals,we should keep watch and bring this menace to a stop

• SS 9 years ago

Why is the world's wealth concentrated only in the West. I live in London and will definitely try to bring cocaine into London one day. The fact is the West is so greedy and besides they've the resources to treat their addict ...

• Asiedu Nketia 9 years ago

What image does Ghana have??? Bad road network, lack of basic necessities of life ie water, electricity, zero hygiene, dirty country, dirty people who defaecate and litter the country anytime and anywhere, leaders who can't t ...

• SS 9 years ago

Well said. This is 21st century Ghana. Very filthy, I wonder if we have sensible people at all in Ghana. Honestly, I doubt it.

• Damani Kariku Katum Kunari III 9 years ago

BECAUSE MOST GHANAIANS ARE SIKASITIOUS . You can imagine how some how people in a trusted positions amass wealth . It's the people and not Prez Mahama,

It was published that one Ruby Adu Gyamfi was arrested at LHR with similar case. Now it is Nayele Ametefe. Just who is publishing the right story for readers to follow. Please help.

• Onipa ba k 9 years ago

Nayele should be given 30 yrs in prison
    Sentence to serve as deterant to future
    Carriers.
    It will be nice if her picture be shown to the world media.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

The way this beleaguered news portal is reporting it? What is really embarrassing about making sure this elusive narco-trafficker was nabbed in a jurisdiction,where she could not possibly buy her way to freedom? If,indeed,Kw ...

• citizen 9 years ago

I do agree with Dr. Kwesi Aning there is a need to beef up the calibre of personnel at NACOB. There are a lot of very, very qualified personnel who when paid well can do the job than the small boys who have very little traini ...

• Agya Koonti 9 years ago

Dr Aning, are you afraid to tell it as it is? What collaboration went on between the two sides? You are a typical stomach politician afraid of what will happen to you and therefore trying to please the powers that be. Are you ...

• God's humbled servant 9 years ago

THE EYES OF THE LORD ARE AT EVERY PLACE WATCHING BOTH THE GOOD AND THE EVIL.
    HER CUP IS FULL BEFORE THE ALMIGHTY GOD,NOW SHE AND ALL HER ACCOMPLICE MUST BE READY TO SUFFER THE CONSEQUENCIES OF THEIR WICKED WAYS WITH NO APOLO ...

• MARTINO 9 years ago

De firt name dat came out wa RUBY ADU-GYAMFI why NAYELE AMETEFE again Ghanaweb learn to gv correct infos nd stop throwing dust into our eyes(poor media agent)

• Yaw 9 years ago

we better stop this talk of collaboration. There's none in here. If there was how come only the lady was arrested? Collaboration occurs where the suppliers,distributors and all those along the chain are apprehended. You don't ...

• AKORABS 9 years ago

When the word collaborators comes up, it goes to answer your question about the attraction traffickers have for Ghana. Because they have highly valued and trusted collaborators in our midst and those are the elements we got t ...

• kwabota 9 years ago

The money is for campaign

• So she is not Akan after all the insu 9 years ago

It is surprising that there are sooo many Akan haters in Ghana. I read the first piece where readers were raining insults on Akans. Such people should be ashamed of themselves. It doesn't matter which tribe she hails from, so ...

• Kwame Rought 9 years ago

Tweaa Doctor

• NOBODY 9 years ago

You're late. Ghana's image was dented long ago when Member of Parliament Amoateng was arrested, tried, convicted and incarcerated in the USA for trafficking in drugs while serving in Parliament. How much more denting can be d ...

• rida isaac 9 years ago

The kIA officials most be held responsible. Those in charge of inspections should be summon to explain how did the drug eluded them? It seems like collaboration took place. We need to know.

• anne 9 years ago

This may not have been her first time in the act this is why she was so sure of herself. Who is the top official she paid the bribed to. He is the one that Ghana must fear and nap now before others follow this disgrace to our ...

• Santaclausian, Croydon 9 years ago

These are the deplorable low class idiots that continue to tarnish the name of this great country as a result of their insatiable greed. Ghanaians are loved and respected worldwide. I travel a bit across Europe and everyone l ...

• DANJUMAH DAO 9 years ago

I work in a public school in the U STATES. If we only know ,how drugs affect families Negatively we would desist from dealing in satanic business.
    We all must be on the watch out for to save Ghana for further embarassment ...

• I Mohammed 9 years ago

The security agencies in Ghana are not up to the task of protecting Ghanaians.
    The BNI's and other other agencies are always being used to bully the opponent of whichever party is in power.
    They always act as the foot soldi ...

• obeng james 9 years ago

corrupt and incompetent mahama ,from stealing to drugs.mahama u are a liability to ghanaians.ndc must go?