You are here: HomeNews2014 11 13Article 334800

I bear Rawlings a grudge for ousting Limann – Elizabeth Ohene

Read Comments Comments (80)

• OZA 9 years ago

You do not express anything new!

• JACK 9 years ago

Elizabeth has nothing new to say. Whatever he's saying doesn't change anything.

• DAVI 9 years ago

Elizabth is just educating our Youth about wicked AFRC-P/NDC'S History.J.J.RAWLINGS NEVER BELIVED IN DEMOCRACY AND HE IS AT IT AGAIN,GHANAIANS MUST WATCH THIS CORWARD AND HEPOCRATE.

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

Elizabeth should not forget to educate the youth about the bomb throwing and nation-wrecking history of the UP/NPP tradition. It is all there in the history books anyway and today the NPP is just putting into practice what th ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

O Lord I pray for Mother Ghana, that you reduce the number of FOOLISH VOTERS in 2016. Father the small number that will be left, wash their faces with sea sand so that they would be able to see the predicament they have put G ...

• OLIVER TWIST 9 years ago

ALL NPP LEADERS, PAST AND PRESENT MUST BE EXECUTED BY ANY MEANS ...

THESE CRIMINALS WILL HAVE TO DIE REGARDLESS!!!

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

When a member of the Narcotics People's Party is high on drugs he/she begins to hallucinate and sing unintelligent songs thinking that is a prayer. This is amply demonstrated by this post. When the effects of the drugs are ov ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

CRIMINAL POLITICIANS HATE THIS. WHICH ONE ARE YOU? A CRIMINAL POLITICIAN LIKE VICKY HAMMAH WITH A TARGET TO BAG OR A FOOLISH FOLLOWER. IF YOU ARE A FOLLOWER, YOU FIT WELL INTO THE PROFILE OF PEOPLE I DISCRIBED HERE AS 'FOOLIS ...

• DISTANT OBSERVER! 9 years ago

Close Observer, DUMMY, if you're prosperous, why the whining?
    Hypocrite!
    Send some of your toilet-washing money from the diaspora to your village and shut the fuck up!
    God does not listen t fools.
    Kwasea!

• WTF? 9 years ago

NPP partisans believe there are good coups and bad coups. The coups organized by their ideological mercenaries are, of course, the good coups. Ghana and Africa cannot afford such a hypocritical and dangerous stance. As events ...

• DON'T CARE. 9 years ago

ELIZABETH, YOU'RE FAT NOW.
    STOP PUTTING YOUR SLIM PICTURE ON BBC SITE.

RAWLINGS WAS PRESIDENT.
    LIVE WITH IT.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

She is bitter not because Limann was overthrown but because she lost her job as Acting Editor of the Daily Graphic newspaper,some people don't but some of us know about that.
    This woman should just give us break with this ol ...

• MANTSE 9 years ago

BEARING a GRUDGE is like drinking Poison and expecting somebody else to DIE.

If after 30 years you continue with your GRIEF where the WHOLE NATION has moved on then you must be MENTALLY CHALLENGED and must seek help.

• FREEDOM IN THE TRUTH 9 years ago

NOBODY CARES ABOUT WHAT YOU THINK. WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE? GHANAWEB PLEASE SAVE US FROM READING SUCH NONSENSE ABOUT UTTERANCES FROM NON ENTITIES. FOCUS ON ISSUES WITH NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

• Hannah 9 years ago

.How many days would it have taken for Limann to be overthrown by other Soldiers, if Rawlings hadnt. Coup d'etat ws the order of the day. We needed a strongman to end it and Rawlings did. Would have Limann survived all the co ...

• COUPS 9 years ago

True talk, Hannah.
    Coups were the order of the day throughout Africa, and other soldiers would have done the same.

By the way, PFP, Victor Owusu's party, was happy then, but because Rawlings did not had over power to them ...

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Constitutionally, she has a point - unless we do not want our country to progress. Does it matter if she lost a job when she is pointing our populace down the line of development as a civilized lot. Well, you insult her, you ...

• AGYENKWA 9 years ago

IF YOU TELL IT AS IT IS IN GHANA YOU WILL ALWAYS LOOSE YOUR JOB OR BE ELIMINATED - THAT IS GHANA FOR YOU, BUT, BIG BUT PEOPLE WHO TELL THE TRUTH AND KNOW THEIR STUFF WILL ALWAYS FIND A BETTER JOB OUTSIDE GHANA AND RATHER HELP ...

• JoJo (USA) 9 years ago

You are wrong. This Lady is the best News Reporter Ghana has ever produced. Her observation are valid and important.
    She is echoing our past mistakes so we may not repeat it.

• Tweaa 9 years ago

She was a disgrace to Kuffour that why was sacked. Her hatred for NDC will hunt her for ever and ever.Useless woman . Why now bringing this , Where were you when Ghanaian hailed the JJ coup?

• Big Ben 9 years ago

THIS IS MY PROBLEM WITH PEOPLE OF THIS SORT BY HARBOURING GRUDGES OF YESTER-YEARS. SO MANY YEARS AND YOU ARE KEEPING RAWLINGS IN YOUR HEART? YOU ARE WASTING YOURSELF. A LEADER WHO IS GEARING TO COME BACK TO GOVERNMENT? LIZZIE ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

This was the begining of double digit indiscipline and we are now bearing the fruits via corruption

• Nana 9 years ago

Exactly so JJ sown the seed of indiscipline that we're reaping today,he did not end there but destroyed our education which has made the whole nation full of degree holders but illiterates.

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Nana, people do not want to face facts. Jerry John and his selfish lot set us back so much. The illiterates that they created inflict themselves on us all the time even on Ghanaweb. In the interim, they amassed wealth enough ...

• AKONFEM 9 years ago

AKORABS, ASK YOUR KRONFUOR HOW MUCH HE STOLE AND HOW MANY OF HIS ISSUES HE SENT TO SCHOOL OUTSIDE GHANA, HOW MUCH HE STOLE TO RENOVATE HIS PRIVATE HOUSE, TO BUY A HOTEL FOR HIS SON AND TO BUY A MALL FOR HIS DAUGHTER.
    COME BA ...

• WTF? 9 years ago

With the 1966 coup organized by the Danquah-Busia mercenaries, with well-known foreign support, began Ghana's descent into underdevelopment, joblessness and military adventurism such as the 2 Rawlings coups. But Ohene will ne ...

• PAA NII 9 years ago

What are you going to gain from bearing someone a grudge? You will end up keeping youreslf in a pressure cooker and eventually have heart attack!

• PAA NII 9 years ago

This is simple life rule!!!! What are you going to gain from bearing someone a grudge? You will end up keeping youreslf in a pressure cooker and eventually have heart attack!

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Please do not let us fight over the words she used to express her disgust and disapproval of such dark acts. She is right and we as Ghanaians are all the poorer for it. She is a forward thinker and if we had a few like her in ...

• Nun 9 years ago

I just wonder how long it takes for public figures to properly formulate a 'vision' and a 'development course' for the country. We spend too much time re-visiting completely uninteresting and unintelligent arguments, just to ...

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

This is the only wise post I have read so far. These vociferous useless politicians have no new ideas to move the country forward. Which country has not got its dark years? The developed countries have dwelt the circle of vic ...

• AKORABS 9 years ago

I beg to disagree. Referring to our history is important in our development, especially in our constitutional development. The point she raises is one of constitution and if we have any respect for that of today, we should ha ...

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

Kwashivi is a professional coup maker borne out of jealousy and greed. She had no business overthrowing Liman. It was up to the people of the Homeland to use their thumbs to do so. That is what I personally have against him ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 9 years ago

Sister Lizzy ! Bear no one a grudge. God is the only judge and you can't place yourself in God's judgement seat.
    Little also do you know why things happen. And in all things let's learn to allow God's will to be done.

• DAVI 9 years ago

THE LADY IS JUST EDUCATING OUR YOUTH ABOUT GHANA'S HISTORY,J.J.RAWLINGS,AFRC AND P/NDC, IS THE TRUTH AND FACT,FOR THE YOUTH TO MAKE THEIR MIND AT ELECTIONS TIME.WE CAN NOT HIDE THE DAYS OF CULTURE OF SILENCE IN GHANA.

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

Apart from throwing bombs the NPP has also specialized in dealing in narcotics. One NPP MP jailed for drugs. Akuffo Addo formulated the infamous "Golden Boy Bill" with the aim of freeing drug dealers jailed in foreign countri ...

• PARKA 9 years ago

I WONDER WHY AND HOW YOU NEVER HAD A GRUDGE WITH J A KUFOUR, WHEN HE WAS INVITED BY EYADEMA OF TOGO TO CELEBRATE HIS THEN REVOLUTIONARY ANNIVERSARY. EYADEMA, WAS AMONG OF THE MILITARY LEADERS WHO OVERTHREW AND KILLED Sylvanu ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

RAWLINGS KILL ALL GHANA JUDGES AND ANY AND ALL PERSONS THAT RAISE OBJECTION TO HIM GRABBING POWER,BUT WHAT ALL THAT GOT TO DO WITH WHAT IS HAPPENING TODAY MADAM?

• Kwame D. 9 years ago

Madam Abutia

"...it was not the business of Flt Lt Jerry Rawlings or anybody for that matter to overthrow him, that is what I had against him,” Ohene explained.

So?????????????????????????

I humbly urge you to go ...

• OLIVER TWIST 9 years ago

I WANT ALL NPP LEADERSHIP, PAST AND PRESENT DEAD BY FIRING SQUAD OR BY ALL MEANS!!!!

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Your attitude to a little bit of common sense leaves a lot to be desired. The lady is referring to history to help us in our constitutional development and you want her dead! How negative can we be! Well, that is the feeling ...

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Do you see where Jerry John left you? You can not even spell the word UGLY. I am sure you are a product of his education system.

• KUM CHACHA 9 years ago

ASHAWO WOMAN,PRESIDENT KUFFOUR'S GIRLFRIEND, KEEP QUIET.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

The way K4 fucked her , prostitute

• vic 9 years ago

Please take care of Limann's wife and children.please

• George Badu 9 years ago

What about the people he killed for nothing?

• Hannah 9 years ago

How many days would it have taken for Limann to be overthrown, if Rawlings didnt. Coup d'etat ws the order of the day. We needed a strongman to end it and Rawlings did. Would have Limann survived all the coup attempts against ...

• Kwame Opoku-Agyemang 9 years ago

A sensible and intelligent woman

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

What is really intelligent about this exhumation of part of our most controversial political history at this time other than reviving the deep divisive anymosity that is associated with it?

I wish this lady would rather ta ...

• Yorkshire H 9 years ago

Pls no Christian business here tell ur people to wake up & work to build ghana & stop 24hrs churches my mate including ur corrupt so call leader

• Kojo Makamaka 9 years ago

There is no need to bear your fellow human being a grudge if u are really a christian but not disgruntled politician

• NII 9 years ago

RAWLINGS DIDNT SACK LIMANN.THE PROPLE OF GHANA DID.WAS HE THE ONE WHO WROTE LET THE BLOOD FLOW ON THE WALLS OF ACCRA.WE NEEDED A KAMIKAZ TO STOP THE ROT.HE SACRIFICED HIMSELF BUT WAS STAMPEDED BY STOOGES WHO EVENTUALLY DID ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 9 years ago

That is why the CPP will have nothing to do with the NDC. Rawlings who is said to be the 'founder' of the NDC illegally overthrew the the democratically elected government of Dr Hilla Limann .The party which brought Limann to ...

• WTF? 9 years ago

Limann was no CPPist (let alone Nkrumaist!). Limann was imposed on the party by his relative (some say Uncle) Egala. It didn't matter then because people were fed up with the military upheaval and most CPPists voted for the p ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

What you have said about LImann is absolutely true.He was not an nkrumaist but imposed on the PNP as a presidential candidate by his uncle Imoru Egala when the latter was disqualified from holding a public office.

• KWAMENA 9 years ago

OHEMENG, Rawlings changed from military Head of State to civilian President, served the constitutional 2 terms, and left.

Tell me where else in Africa's history a military leader did the same.

Whether he said he believe ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

That useless and stupid JJ would meet his maker soon. He is an armed robber. Satan would be his guide.

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

ELIZABETH OHENE IS PERFECTLY RIGHT. READ ELSEWHERE WHAT RAWLINGS IS SAYING ABOUT CORRUPTION IN GHANA TODAY.
    NOW TO THOSE LITTLE MINDS, WHICH IS BETTER, THE BOMB THROWING OR THE RAWLINGS REVOLUTION? LEARN THE HISTORY PROPERLY ...

• Howard Mensah Cromwell 9 years ago

Anyone corrupt person in ghana during that time bears grudge against the junior Jesus. You can go to hell Elizabeth Ohene.long live ghana.long live flight lieutenant Jerry John Rawlings.

• fuck u be my name....fuck u ghanaweb 9 years ago

and so wat?if u don't understand that JJ over threw him,u can go and drink up the sea.u fool

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

It's not surprising to read about some funny comments coming from NDC apparatchiks after Ms. Elizabeth Ohene expressed her misgivings concerning the December 31, 1981 coup staged by Rawlings.

Rawlings should have been impr ...

• WTF? 9 years ago

The Rawlings coup was illegal and criminal like ALL other coups! NPP sympathizers like Elizabeth Ohene cannot pick and choose which coup to bear a grudge over. There can only be one standard for anti-constitutional actions!

Afrifa,,Ankrah,Acheampong are all forgotten by Ms Ohene.

• Mr.big stuff 9 years ago

Madam it's in the past let it go...
    If u hv BALLS u should hv stayed back then
    and make such an accusation , not now
    Because u are only making urself look
    silly as the British call it well in a plain street slang pls shu ...

• the lone crudader 9 years ago

Maame le you are not the only one as all what the nation is passing through is by
    His fault and now that the law of karma is catching up on him he is confused gods time is the best as the saying goes

• Abeko 9 years ago

I don't know the relevance of this story and why is Elizbth ohene raising these now when she has been cooling off in Ghana since 2001 I.e 14 yes now?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

What is this lady talking about now? Does she wants to turn the clock back?
    Forward ever.

• Clement.USA 9 years ago

There is the need to be tolerant with our democracy no matter how bad it is.

• Kojo Nelly 9 years ago

U just have no reason. U can cook any stupid reason, it wont work.
    U loose track of your life. Dzi ma kpla.

• Yorkshire H 9 years ago

Every corrupt government should b ass even he or she stay in office for just 42hrs, as well as this current one with any means.

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

I thought you are a Christian?
    Try saying the Lord’s Prayer 3 times. And ask for God's forgiveness.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Went to him for his endorsement during the 2012 elections! It was a rather pitiful sight,and very shameful indeed.
    It clearly shows your party,with do a deal with the 'devil' to achieve power,so quit drawing 'nonsense' paral ...

• Kokonte 9 years ago

Shut the fuck up, woman. Nobody cares what you think now and thought then. You're not the only Ghanaian with opinion on issues.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

You bear a grudge? Why did your party sell out the Nkrumah government to the USA and the CIA? Was Afrifa not an agent of the Busia-Dankwa camp?

• ibrahim 9 years ago

Twaaaaaaaaa

• Salifu Bachopong 9 years ago

I don't think among the past leaders, there is somebody who is better than J J Rawling.He is a leader who will never accept corruption
    He have sympathy for all Ghanaian.So let us look forward and get leaders like him

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

The man is a complete idiot

• still rastafari 9 years ago

rawlings judgement soon come !!!!!!

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 9 years ago

Why did Lt. Gen Akuffo and others not killed Rawlings the bastard? Instead he turned around and killed judges, army officers, civilians and fetish priests. His day will come soon. Bronie Pettey

• Truth 9 years ago

I think Elizabeth has a point. What was the justification for the coup? Ex-president Rawlings has just been reported as saying that corruption in the present government is tens times that of the General Acheampong that he ove ...