You are here: HomeNews2014 11 07Article 333943

Burkina Faso's military leader snubs AU deadline

Read Comments Comments (73)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Mahama and these AU politician crooks are not thinking. Let's see what sanctions these corrupt idiots will come up with.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire and Togo should close their boundaries with B. Faso and we shall see if Zida and B. Faso will survive. Gaddafi is no more to support military rule in Africa. Glad he is dead and gone. The military may ove ...

• Sethoo 9 years ago

Heii Charley stop it your wife/girlfriend will not get fresh tomatoes & onion for your favourite soup/stew again.I am a vegetarian so I don't care about their meat/guinea fowl.Hahahaaa your country Ghana can't do fokoooo

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

The African Union (AU) with the USELESS MAHAMA AS THEIR LEADER on Monday gave the military a two-week ultimatum to hand power to a civilian ruler or face sanctions. If Mahama is not mad! how can you fools give Zida only 2 wee ...

• Zida 9 years ago

Dont mind him. He will soon follow Campaore at Ivory gulf. I don't understand why this sahara dry colony could grow onion and tomatoes for export why Ghana with too much rain can not do anything. Good governance

• ZIDO 9 years ago

Maybe because Ghana's "too much rain" spoils the crops?

• JUDGE 9 years ago

Sethoo, Burkina cannot compete with Ghana in sanctions, just as Russia cannot compete with USA in sanctions. There are different magnitudes of effect on each side. Guess who will win.

But I know that Ouattara will not coop ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

My friend what is ur soo call democracy or civilian rule is doing for u in ur home country ghana? "Gathering n looting". Ghadaffi was one of the best leaders the continent has ever produced.

• AMU 9 years ago

Yes..Ghadaffi was one of the best!!!!
    Thank you Ghanaba.

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

AU is such a useless organization, the AU saw no problem with 27 years of Compaore but is concerned with the new regime -- how do you do this handing over in 2 weeks anyway? The timeline is a ridiculous one anyway. They waste ...

• AMICUS 9 years ago

Yes, Ghanaba and AMU, Gaddafi transformed Libya from bottom of 3rd world to middle of 1st world and protected his resources from plunder and his people from abuse.

Well done, Gaddafi. RIP.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

You're right, Ghanaba. The western agenda has always been to get rid of good and dynamic leaders in Africa so that it can harvest the continents resources for cheap, with help from idiotic and zombie leaders who are klepto-po ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

You are right but leave Gadafi out of this,his overthrow was.a huge mistake which even any dumbass should know looking at what is happening now which would not have happened if he was in charge.
    That Zida is one of the sel ...

Your suggestions will be wonderful. I am sorry Mahama will suffer because of our long porous border system. That is why Mahama is struggling. He cannot contain B. Faso influx.

• David Ansah. 9 years ago

Why don't you go and close the borders,chieftain.How can you be so stupid and make such irresponsible comments."The military may overthrow a corrupt and non performing government,but should not be allowed to rule or conduct e ...

• Samir 9 years ago

Only in Africa that this is allowed to happen.In a civil society with civilized people when a sitting President resigns,steps down or dies the vice takes over from where he left off to continue until the next elections but un ...

• Kingsley osei, lagos 9 years ago

That is the consequence of break of law and order.That their socalled uprising against goverments doesnt work.It only escalates problems and worsen situations to the detriment of the innocent poor people who were better o ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Do u knw what these crooks(Mahama led corrupts Africa leaders) are afraid of? It is very simple...they jux don't want a copy cat in other part of the continent. So they are in a hurry trying to change the concept of "POWER I ...

• Kingsley osei, lagos 9 years ago

Oh! damn it.! GHANN... WHAT? REALLY? BUT YOUR WORDS HAD BETRAYED YOU. YOUR THOUHTS AND EXPRESSIONS ARE FAR FROM BEING A GHANAIAN. WHY? GHANAIANS DISCERN TOWARDS ISSUES AND ARE MORE BROAD MINDED.BUT YOU SOUND DIFFERENT, MR. ...

• LAMIZANA 9 years ago

How did a LIEUTENANT-COLONEL, Isaac Zida, take precedence over a GENERAL, Honoré Traoré, in a non-coup military authority?

• Kay 9 years ago

The two weeks period seems too short. If care is not taken the same civilians who supported Campaore will be back or power will be totally given the opposition. There is also the fear of the military getting corrupt with a lo ...

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

it is total nonsense to give the army two weeks to hand over power. This shows that the people who gave that ultimatum did not sit down to think about what to do. Just because they are scared of their positions, they are doin ...

• nana1 9 years ago

e be so Ghana go make kwasea wait and seee...u damn fycks

• Asem 9 years ago

Why would he listen to some one like John Mahama when they are aware he came to power through fraudulent elections. What moral right does John Mahama has to tell them what to do. Respect is earned not demanded.

• Stoway 9 years ago

Mahama is the Chairman of ECOWAS so put it in your Akkufo Addo head that he did not issue any deadline. He went there to have the military and the parties to agree to transition to democratic rule and hold election in one yea ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

This guy is going nowhere,let's wait and see.Thank you.

• gang 9 years ago

want to see what happen when he refuse.

If sanctions affect the people of B. Faso so much, he may be forced to flee or assassinated. Who thought Gaddaffi will flee and Campaore too

• SirCharles - USA 9 years ago

Frank, honestly I don't get it. When these leaders want to rule for ever, no body raises a finger. Mahama is confused and leading a bunch of brainless morons. The people rose up and removed the gov't of Campoare and not the m ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

When Blaise Compaore was killing Captain Sankara and destroying the nation where was AU?
    This is hypocrisy at its best.
    Mahama cannot find solution to the many troubles on his plate and he wants to help another country?
    We ...

• MICHAEL M. M. 9 years ago

So Africa is still staging military coups while the west simply changes bad leaderships through the ballot. Oh Africa; What a pity. God help us. America has the greatest military; yet they don't stage military take overs. The ...

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 9 years ago

AU must Know that the entire organization worth toilet paper, the colonial musters are still looking for a leader who will seek their interest therefore they prefer Compore man to rule that country than somebody who does not ...

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 9 years ago

Two weeks is too short for him to rob and loot the coffers of the country. These stupid armies are just like that, what cry did Rawlings and his thieves not cry?

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

@Agbesi, what are ur soo call civilian rulers are doing now for the continent...I believe is the same gathering and looting stuff.

• Namjia 9 years ago

That is what matters most.

• Abu Samson 9 years ago

Zida didn`t staged a coup, it`s the people`s uprising which forced compaore out. The military led by Lt col Zida took over to stabilize the situation. Given him two weeks deadline to give power back don`t make no sense. leave ...

• Papa yaw 9 years ago

Why why

• Gee, VA 9 years ago

Just what we need right next door to us

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

Another stooge being bred and ready to listen to his slave masters and NOT his people.....just like Blaise Campaore. Who had 27 years of 'democracy'?????

The AU's approach will bring about NOTHING! It is the same results i ...

That spineless AU should back off Burkina Faso. Burkina Faso has the right to determine how they run their transition. What AU needs to do is to get the over 200 girls abducted from Northern Nigeria back to their parents. Tha ...

• OBINNA 9 years ago

AU SHOULD LEAD THE WAY IN BRINGING THE KIDNAPPED GIRLS BACK HOME. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE WHICH THE AU HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT. HOW CAN NIGERIA, OR FOR THAT MATTER, ANY COUNTRY, GO ON WHEN SUCH CRIMINAL AND DESTABILI ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

This Idi Amee look alike has balls to talk shit.We will see who is who in West Africa. Jonathan Goodleg, Mahama and others do what they can do.

• OSEI, Toronto. 9 years ago

You again? Chaka was right?

• Kwame Owusu 9 years ago

This is silly ultimatum, how long will it take to organise election including campaigning and handling over ceremony, do you think 2 weeks? You must be joking if you think all this can be done within 2 weeks. Come on Mahamah ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Please Kwame try to comprehend what you read before you make a comment. Nobody is saying the guy should organise election and hand over in two weeks. All that the AU leaders are saying the guy should handover to civilian tran ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

I can understand what this military leader is saying to AU if you guys can not fix your country problem how in the hell you going to give me two weeks when things are in bad shape well said Bukina Faso Mahama is a lady ap ...

• senior citizen Germany Braunschweig. 9 years ago

The infantile automatum given to the coup leaders in Burkinab by the Afican leaders sterm from the fact that,they lack leadership qualities and if they have a good leader who can face the bull by the horn they might not have ...

• STEEL PULSE - AMSTERDAM 9 years ago

Hahahaa, Ghana a party to sanctions against BF?, let us be fools and join that stupid decision; and the day BF decides to divert the source of the Volta river (the source of the Volta lake)then we go smell peper. GHANA OUR BE ...

• HAILLE SELASSIE 9 years ago

Where is the source of the Volta River?

Read to find out please

If you can't read then let me give you a clue; The Black, The White and The Red Volta all flow through BF and can therefore be diverted and thus depriving the Akosombo dam of its vital source

• Kokotwidie 9 years ago

Is two weeks enough as deadline for a country whose thugs burnt down the parliament? Right now, that country needs a sense of discipline for situation to calm down before they can think about civilian rule. Meanwhile, there ...

• Hahahaha 9 years ago

See how idey?

• San Antonio magarrieta 9 years ago

Hmmm why not the CDS taking over but a presidential security coordinator? Hmmm wonders will never end. A word to the wise is in the North.

Who do you think selected the CDS. Wasn't it the President? They were all participated in the corruption.

AU is a corrupt organization. Guess who the leader is?

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

DID THESE CORRUPT AU LEADERS SELECT WHO THE LEADER OF A MEMBER COUNTRY SHOULD BE? FOOLISH EMPTY DIRECTIVE

• PATRICK DANMARK 9 years ago

HAND TO WHO

• PATRICK DANMARK 9 years ago

HAND OVER TO WHO

• Eric Jackson 9 years ago

Sometimes I wonder if Africa will ever be raid of the much greedy bastards spread all over it beautiful landscape. I weep with you mother Africa, it sad. what a shame

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

How does the AU expect a smooth transition to civilian democratic rule in a mere 2 weeks period in a country that has experienced decades of military rule? About a year is enough time to make a smooth and decent transition fr ...

• Geshon Yao Adadivoh 9 years ago

African Union? What's so called AU and what does it formed for?presumably it doesn't make a mere sense at all and it should be dissolved simple because non of any african leader have common sense else they would have not sell ...

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

CLEAN THE HOUSE

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

MERCI BOCOUP. Lt Col Zida

• SHDAKARA 9 years ago

TWO WEEKS IS TOO SHORT TO HANDOVER GOVT TO CIVILIAN

• King 9 years ago

Nonsense, you wait for civilians to oust a sitting president and now you are behaving like men, Zida my foot..

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Dumb Mahama is a beneficially of a similar junior rank nobody who found himself overnight as the Head of State and coined the mantra 'hand over to whom'.......He ended up handing over to himself after toying with the lives o ...

• Obenfo 9 years ago

It's really funny when the AU silently watched the West Powers to indirectly assassinate Quatharffi, and now trying to pose tough on poor Zida.

AU didn't see anything wrong for allowing one person to rule B. Faso for 27 ...

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

Isn't this very funny? Where was the AU when the former president, after 27 years if office, tried to change the constitution so he could rule some more years? How come they didn't send a delegation to him at that time? It go ...

• Love for Africa 9 years ago

Africa leaders are just Western puppets and always be until. They were ask to do that, how can they sit back and the West kill Ghadaffi. The people need to elect who to run the country not another puppet like Compaore the idi ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

When did a stupid Col take care of a country when people above u are around? Only in Africa.

• NAOMI AKPALINGA 9 years ago

Idiots, did they not have the sense to instruct Campore to resign after 27 years?