Mahama has lost the 2016 election already. He should get ready to leave the Jubilee House for a better person to take over.
moyo 11 years ago
In Ghana, the people vote on ethnic lines so we can't compare the two.
Apuu 11 years ago
The Democratic Party in the US has a 'lame duck' presidency. Historically the 'lame duck' party always suffers because of poor voter turn out at the polls. This does not mean that the opposition gained strength. The beauty of a democracy is that it can re-invent itself every 2 to 4 years. That is the only comparison, if Ghana truely is a democracy, then the NDC should be worried.
The 11 years ago
Prez Mahama should not be shaken by what is going on in the US. Infact in the case of US Obama has even performed creditably and even that his Democratic Party is loosing grounds, but Prez has been very incompetent in Ghana and that should shake him far more than what is going on in the US. Ghanaians are suffering because of his incompetence and that is what should shake Mahama.
Mahmoud 11 years ago
Ghana had about 1bln dollars in reserve when Nkrumah took over the reins of government in this country. Could you imagine what the value of one billion dollars is in the early fifties? Again, after 2years of his rule, cocoa prices at the world market rocketed and increased four-fold. But contrary to any sound economic planning, he did not reserve any fraction of the windfall for a rainy day, as the Whiteman had done with only one fourth of the revenue he got from cocoa. So, apart from revenues from gold and other natural resources, what did Nkrumah do with at that huge money from the astronomical cocoa prices and the big reserve he inherited, which took many years to build for our financial stability and sustainable development?
He just went on a spending spree both in Ghana and around the world, throwing his weight about and talking big. So when the cocoa prices fell close to the end of his rule, he was quick to point accusing fingers at the West, blaming them for manipulating cocoa prices to sabotage the economy of Ghana and overthrow his government. Finally, after misusing all the money mainly on useless prestigious projects, failed communist agricultural projects and whimsical mad-rush industrialization projects that did not withstand the test of time, he also burdened the young nation with another billion dollars' debt before he was forced out of the country.
The truth is that, Kwame Nkrumah met a rich, confident country with a stable economy, and left it nearly bankrupt in few years as a result of gross mismanagement.
Sethoo 11 years ago
Correct for 101% you're intelligent than all our political lecturers.That is why our democracy won't work.
HANDSOME AKUFFO ADDO 11 years ago
You will vote on ethnic line cos you are not in Ghana.
NANA KUFUOR 11 years ago
You are all comparing apples to oranges. There is a possibility that Mrs. Clinton can win the 2016 presidential elections especially if the hardline republicans mess up in two years time. In Ghana, though I will agree that NDC are not performing well, it has been been ordained that Nana Addict can NEVER be president of Dr.Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana.
OBD 11 years ago
Lies!
Lies!
Nii Nortey (New York) 11 years ago
YOU CAN GET ALL UR INFORMATION FROM SO CALLED CREDILE SOURCES BUT THE NPP WILL NEVER WIN 2016 PERIOD
SOWATEY JIMIMI 11 years ago
THE DOG THAT FUCKED YOUR MOTHER DIDN'T DO A GOOD JOB. YOU ARE SO FUCKED UP IN THE HEAD AND I SUGGEST YOU TELL YOUR MOTHER TO LET A BULL DOG FUCK HER FOR A BETTER YOU
NICHOLAS 11 years ago
Anyway, you are not Komla Agbeshie and again you are not a resident of HO.Tell us your yardstick for saying Mahama has lost the election.
Are the events happening in the country the first time? Are you the one who is going ... read full comment
Anyway, you are not Komla Agbeshie and again you are not a resident of HO.Tell us your yardstick for saying Mahama has lost the election.
Are the events happening in the country the first time? Are you the one who is going to vote for every Ghanaian? Explain yourself.
Victor Kpornu 11 years ago
So do you think all Ewes will vote for NDC? I know Komla and he lives at Ho so don't panic. Bahama has already lost the 2016 election-
OKOROMANSA 11 years ago
COMPARE WITH THE IVORY COAST, NOT USA.
IS THIS PAPER OR EDITOR SERIOUS AT ALL?
Charles Agbenu 11 years ago
the Ghana voter will be objective and vote agaiSnt Mahama blatant recklessness and misuse of the resources of the country. THE AGE LONG TRIBALISIC TENDENCIES AGAINST Ashanti will not work this time for NDC and the BALAW MAHAMA. SOMETHING MUST CHANGE THIS TIME. tHE SUFFERING IS TOO MUCH
Charles Agbenu 11 years ago
The Ewes The Gas The Northerners must see reason and abandon the BY HEART Mediocre NDC this time
LAST MESSENGER 11 years ago
Y3n akanfo) de3,Npp the most tribalistic party on earth,fool
CORNEY 11 years ago
Why not tell Ashanti's and Akyems also to stop voting for the NPP in their large numbers,are you that dumb to know why some States in America always vote for only Republicans and only the Democrats?
The idiot behind this pu ... read full comment
Why not tell Ashanti's and Akyems also to stop voting for the NPP in their large numbers,are you that dumb to know why some States in America always vote for only Republicans and only the Democrats?
The idiot behind this publication should know that this is a Mid term election which the media always try as much as they can to get the opposition party win and it is different from the general election that always see a high turn out and that idiot should know that this is not the first time Massachusetts has elected a Republican,the outgoing Governor took over from a Republican,Romney who contested President Obama but although a former Governor and a native lost miserably at the time Obama was not that popular like during the 2008 election.
In. Maryland it was because the turn out for Blacks,young voters and immigrant groups was low which didn't help Anthony Brown,something that may not have happened in the general election.
How can that election Shake Mahama when it didn't shake the Democrats who may still win the White House if Hilary Clinton decides to contest?
Nana Ansah 11 years ago
Goodness me! Sometimes it is hard to find words to describe how exceptionally stupid some Ghanaians are.
See, Obama is doing the dirty work in the White House for others to come in later and take the credits for doing noth ... read full comment
Goodness me! Sometimes it is hard to find words to describe how exceptionally stupid some Ghanaians are.
See, Obama is doing the dirty work in the White House for others to come in later and take the credits for doing nothing.
Do some of these fools remember 2007/2008 when Wall Street crashed due to Leymann Bróthers and the housing bubble and with it the rest of the world? The US Auto industry was only a Skeleton of itself.
Today Obama has done the cleaning job(Aprapra), the US economy is back on ist feet, Wall Street can smile with the highest index ever, unemployment is down to 6,5%, clean energy programme, universal health care which is normal in any civilised country in the modern world, the big three Auto industries are back and more Americans are buying cars than ever before and the list goes on but Obama hardly gets any praise. Why?! He rather finds himself being scorn by REDNECKS and yellow press.
Maybe, Obama has got himself to blame. Obama came in 2008 with both houses of congress run by the Democrates. He could have pushed Immigration law and many other democratic agenda through but he was too cautious. Instead of playing a hard ball politics he was trying to be everybodys darling. But politics is not for the faint-hearted.
I think black People will always do the dirty Job of cleaning(Aprapra) until we wake up and play hard within the rules of the game wherever we find ourselves.
OMANBA 11 years ago
Will tribalism help NPP? Ghanaians will be very stupid to vote for either the NPP or the NDC.
Rastafara"I" 11 years ago
you are third world corrupt lawless country president
KK 11 years ago
In the US you cannot buy votes or rig an election. But that is possible in Ghana. Just even look at the recent NPP vote to choose a flagbearer. So I will just keep my peace if I were John Mahama and let Asiedu Nketia and Boateng Gyan do the work for me when the time comes.
Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 11 years ago
Why should anybody in Ghana be concerned with elections in the United States when we are here struggling with economic issues? What level of nonsense if not NDC?
Majesty 11 years ago
You meant to if not NPP right? How can anyone compare other state affairs to his or her country?
AFARI GYAN 11 years ago
The exercise has already began. The EC's retired IT boss and the Israeli security locks company he now works for are already at work. 2016 de be kw3kw3.
EDUARDO DOMINGO 11 years ago
THE NPP GRASPS AT ANY SIGN TO ASSUME THAT THEY WILL COME TO POWER,
THIS IS ONE OF THEM!! LOOK YOUR FUTURE IS IN YOUR HANDS AND YOU HAVE PLAYED THE WRONG CARD. YOU LOSE AGAIN IN 2016.PERIOD.
Correctguy 11 years ago
Well said Eduardo:They can continue with their insults and tribal sentiments, wishing and thinking that others shd think and act like them whilst they rain insults on them as if to say they are first class citizens of this country. They shd note that these insults are the daggers they have drawn out and they will fall on them came the day of the election.
ABDULKHAMEED 11 years ago
Ghanaians are suffering from illusionary syndrome, a problem that makes one think everything one says makes sense and therefore must be listened to by others. What has American mid-term election to do with Ghana or Mahama, in the first place; the poorest American State is richer than entire Ghana and, the level of awareness in the US is invomparable to largely ignorance that is very pervasive in Ghana. The Akuffo must rule mentality among the Akyem/Ashanti population in Ghana does not apply in the US anyway and, how does one compare Ghana a virtually unknown quantity in the arena of world league of nation to America which is the leader and torch bearer of everything wealth in the entire globe. Ghanaians should shut up and stop enjoying listening to their own voices bcos no-one cares whatever happens in Ghana politicts except Ghanaians themselves.
ELINAM 11 years ago
When did Ghana become part of the US that what ever happens there has to be a thing we have to worry about? Not even the UK who is rather so closed to them cared much.
The ppl of US do not even know who Mahama is.
We're tru ... read full comment
When did Ghana become part of the US that what ever happens there has to be a thing we have to worry about? Not even the UK who is rather so closed to them cared much.
We're truly in the state of illusion.
AVUIA SIDI KAKANI 11 years ago
ANOTHER COCK AND BULL NPP PLANTED STORIES. PROPAGANDA SOOOON. THIS TYPE OF NPP PROPAGANDA IS CHEAP. PLANTING SUCH STUPID STORIES IS NPP STYLE.
wazzup 11 years ago
Ghanaian journalists are not professionals,is this News? Why you comparing US to GHANA? NKWASIASEM
Basty 11 years ago
FOOLISH AND NAIVE ANALYSIS.
WHAT ABOUT IF IN 2016, NDC WINS ASOKWA AND MANHYIA CONSTITUENCIES IN ASHANTI OF WHICH THEY HAVE NEVER WON BEFORE.
Kadigariba72 11 years ago
Hope people understand the international politics of this world,this is like comparing apples to oranges.
Mid-terms is not national election so please give us a break.
Hope people understand the international politics of this world,this is like comparing apples to oranges.
Alex 11 years ago
Mahama has proved very disappointing so far with nothing to show apart from widespread corruption, unemployment and show of weaknesses from taken the fight to curb corruption. He has succeeded to increase poverty and economic hardships of the people. Going to IMF will worsen the plight of our people in the next few years ahead of us. So on free and fair grounds, he has already lost the elections.
citizin 11 years ago
Nana has won already
Commonsense 11 years ago
Ever since Ghana became democratic in 1992, a president loses between 1-3 percent votes when seeking re-election. Rawlings got 56 percent in 1996 compared to 57 in 1992. Kufour got 52 percent in 2004 compared to 2000 even though he was so popular at that time. In 2016, John Mahama will lose between 1-3 percent and leave
ama 11 years ago
USA employment rate is low and Obama did a lot for the economic. Little mistake he did by legal gay marriage and reform health system. What has Mahama did to Ghana. Only begging money from all angles and no accountibility. We the youth we will vote on how our country is being governing not on ethnic line.
Opemsuo 11 years ago
Oh so did Mahamma ever thought that Ghana ins will vote for him again. That could be seen as an insult to Ghanaians. Doesn't he knows that those fools who voted for him have wised up.
ADE 11 years ago
Whoever sits in Ghana and compares and contrasts the happenings on the political scene in the US and Ghana, obviously needs to have his or her head examined.
The dynamics in both countries are completely different and under ... read full comment
Whoever sits in Ghana and compares and contrasts the happenings on the political scene in the US and Ghana, obviously needs to have his or her head examined.
The dynamics in both countries are completely different and under no circumstances should one compare John Mahama and his NDC party and the way they govern to anything close to anything in the US, because it would be a fast-track route to the Shrink House.
No Gurantee 11 years ago
Ghanaians were supposed to have gone to the polls to elect their assembly men and woman to the districts and municipals this year as has happened in US,as enshrined in the constitution.But due to clear INCOMPETENT AND RECKLESS RUNNING OF THE ECONOMY OF COUNTRY,by Mahama and Amissah-Arthur NDC govt,NO MONEY WERE GIVEN TO THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION to conduct these election as demanded by the constitution which John Mahama swore to obey.
FELLOW GHANAIANS ,WE SHOULD ASK OUR SELVES WHEN THIS QEUSTION
1.WHEN WILL THIS ELECTION TAKE PLACE?
2.AND WHEN IT TAKES PLACE,WILL IT RUNS ITS FULL TERM OF 4 YEARS,THUS DISRUPTING THE TWO YEAR GAP BETWEEN GENERAL ELECTIONS?
Even when the nation was under HIPC IN 2001,districts and muncipal elections were held.
KB 11 years ago
Right you are,moyo.Ghanaians mostly vote along ethnic lines,sadly but truly.
HOLA 11 years ago
DO YOU THINK PR. MAHAMA WILL BE DISTURBED WHEN NDC GOES TO OPPOSITION? HE HAS ALREADY ACCOMPLISHED HIS OWN. WITH NDC IN OPPOSITION HE WILL BE CALLED FORMER PRESIDENT. THAT IS ALL
OTCHERE DARKO 11 years ago
"This adage is so befitting though, the United States (U.S) is so far away from Ghana; but the fact is that the President John Dramani Mahama Government should take a serious look at how the Democratic Party of President Barrack Obama has performed poorly in the just-ended U.S. Mid-Term elections."
........................................................................................................................................................
Comparing the IMPENDING poor performance of Mahama with recent poor performance of President Barrack Obama has performed poorly in the just-ended U.S. Mid-Term elections" is like.......
COMPARING THE FALL OF A RIPE PAWPAW FRUIT WITH THE FALL OF A RIPE COCONUT FRUIT.
WHILE IT IS ONLY ROTTEN PAWPAW FRUITS THAT FALL, COCONUT FRUITS FALL WHEN THE ELEMENTS, SUCH AS BLOWING WINDS, GO AGAINST THEM.
OBAMA'S POOR PERFORMANCE IS THE RESULT OF THE TWO YEARS NEGATIVE REPUBLICAN CONGRESSIONAL ACTIVITIES AGAINST OBAMA WITH THE VIEW OF ENSURING THAT THE FIRST BLACK AMERICAN PRESIDENT DOES NOT SUCCEED IN LEAVING ANY "FOOTPRINTS" WORTHY OF REMEMBERING.
Mahama is going to fail because he is inefficient, corrupt and useless.
OTCHERE DARKO 11 years ago
Comparing the IMPENDING poor performance of Mahama with recent poor performance of President Barrack Obama has performed poorly in the just-ended U.S. Mid-Term elections" is like.......
COMPARING THE FALL OF A RIPE PAWPAW ... read full comment
COMPARING THE FALL OF A RIPE PAWPAW FRUIT WITH THE FALL OF A RIPE COCONUT FRUIT.
WHILE IT IS ONLY ROTTEN PAWPAW FRUITS THAT FALL, COCONUT FRUITS FALL WHEN THE ELEMENTS, SUCH AS BLOWING WINDS, GO AGAINST THEM.
OBAMA'S POOR PERFORMANCE IS THE RESULT OF THE TWO YEARS NEGATIVE REPUBLICAN CONGRESSIONAL ACTIVITIES AGAINST OBAMA WITH THE VIEW OF ENSURING THAT THE FIRST BLACK AMERICAN PRESIDENT DOES NOT SUCCEED IN LEAVING ANY "FOOTPRINTS" WORTHY OF REMEMBERING.
Mahama is going to fail because he is inefficient, corrupt and useless.
Naa 11 years ago
It happened in Britain by-election. It is the economic trends.
taxman 11 years ago
You are all fools think of Ghana not USA.Look ate the road and take a look at America roads.Big fools
Abeeku Mensah 11 years ago
Those who dare to take the NPP as equivalent to the Republican party of the USA, in style, substance and operationally need basic education between animal rescue/dog catcher and law enforcement agencies. Yes there are laws and statutes under which both enforcement agencies do operate but one agency deals with none thinking creatures while the police/security agencies deal with people with the potential to be diabolical and yet are protected under laws of state.
Yes people in the NPP mostly the Ashanti and Kyebi bred may hate Mahama, his party and his tribe from the postings on Ghanaweb but even the immoral and diabolical conniving practices of the NPP is still elementary any which way you slice it. The differences between the Republican and Democratic Party of the USA while strikingly different in a few ways are the same in most ways with the Democratic Party because both party’s elite are of the white race. Their look and take on life always include protecting their gains and any minority who forgets that simple fact is bound to learn the hard way. The majority leader of the US senate and of the Democratic Part made it clear he did not work for president Obama and the best commendation he could give Obama is that he "speaks so well". The Republican Party does not hide their disdain for Obama but its leadership is polished and disciplined leaving the dirty work to be done by surrogates.
In Ghana the NPP is top heavy with classroom educated but unwise and unintelligent lot. They count on a largely foot soldiers with the mentality of cattle herds going to the slaughter. So while the NPP leadership amasses despicable riches they are content with throwing a few bones and token jobs amongst the worker bees thinking it should suffice. Sooner or later those foot soldiers are bound to know their level of existence is no more than pigs in a nation where toilet/indoor plumbing facilities are reserved for the rich and the poor left to defecate in public and in their own backyards. But just as the NPP think and dream of reaching the presidency to loot what is left of the nation’s riches and coffers, so are the NDC thieving bunch ready and willing to protect the trough at which they feed. Anyone in the NPP thinking, hoping and praying to their deity gods that the NDC give up the presidency without a fight to the end is a born again dreamer in search of a fool’s gold.
FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago
FLOATING VOTERS DON'T VOTE IN MID-TERMS. IT IS THE BASE THAT VOTE MORE IN MIDTERMS. GOT NOTHING TO DO WITH GHANA
Gyeeda Sada Subah Woyome isofoton 11 years ago
Jon Mahama is a fool. Anyone who votes for NDC must have lost their mind because they don't have the country at heart. Ghana needs a very intelligent individual like Nana Addo and Bawumia to lead the country not a fool who is a thief and a murderer. Jon Mahama is a pig, The whole NDC party is made up of criminals always stealing state funds. The only one person in NDC with credibility is Honorable Martin Amidu. Don't ask me why I say so because you know. But ask me why the rest of NDC hate Martin Amidu.
Paa Kwasi Thomas 11 years ago
Whether they are dying or not, the akpeteshie and the pito drinkers will vote for NDC before they the next day of hunger. That's how some people behave. Tribalism is killing Mother Africa.
Paa Joe 11 years ago
WHAT HAS THE MID-TERM ELECTION IN THE US GOT TO DO WITH THE POLITICAL SYSTEM OF GHANA.
WHATEVER BE THE OUTCOME OF THE GENERAL ELKECTION IN GHANA IN 2016, NPP WILL NEVER BE GIVEN THE MADATE TO RULE GHANA AGAIN.
THEY STOL ... read full comment
WHAT HAS THE MID-TERM ELECTION IN THE US GOT TO DO WITH THE POLITICAL SYSTEM OF GHANA.
WHATEVER BE THE OUTCOME OF THE GENERAL ELKECTION IN GHANA IN 2016, NPP WILL NEVER BE GIVEN THE MADATE TO RULE GHANA AGAIN.
THEY STOLE THE IDENTITY OF THE NATION,CORRUPTED THE SOCIETY,CONTRACTED DUBIUOS AND FICTITIOUS CONTRACTS AND SQUANDERED THE FUTUR OF GHANA.
POLITICS IS ABOUT TRANSFORMATION,REFORMATION, TOIL, SWEAT AND HARDWORK AND NOT CHEAP MONEY.
Abdul-Rahman 11 years ago
u are entitle to a single which is insiginificant
AK47 11 years ago
Foolish Journalism
PA 11 years ago
Americans think differently.
Nana 11 years ago
You should by now know that anybody who seeks anonymity when speaking to the enquire is either lying or the news paper is lying. Why hide your face when you are telling the truth
NOBODY 11 years ago
Rubbish. What have the US elections have to do with Ghana? There's nothing shocking about the US mid-term elections. Mid-term elections in the US are not necessarily a predicter of the coming general elections. This is nothing but faulty propaganda. The informer will be hard-pressed to state its source for this worthless propaganda, for the article is nothing but a fabrication.
Adolf Heatlar 11 years ago
Sure he must shake. After all he used Obama's victory and his party Democrat to campaign heavily and so when Democrats party is losing Mahama must be shaking because Manama's doom day is near
Asem 11 years ago
I don't understand what this headline means. Thats John criminal Mahama in is coconut head think Ghanaians are going to sit down for him to steal another elections? I don't get it, if this fool thinks we are going to sit down for him to keep on stealing with his gang of thieves, then he got another thing coming.
assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 11 years ago
Ndc had three seats in Ashanti region,how many seats did NPP get in volta region???????????????
KWAME-BELGIUM 11 years ago
What has this doing with NDC or Ghana politics?
Samuel Aziira 11 years ago
Informer n its informant are all allies of NPP.liars n nothg more.
Thomas 11 years ago
The anonymous "Close Aide" doesn't know shit about American politics! The very idea that the Democratic party has always won both Maryland and Massachusetts is absurd and points to the depths of ignorance of the speaker. During the past 100 years (1914-2013), Maryland has shown a more Democratic trend than has Massachusetts: during those years the governor's mansion has been filled by a Democrat 78% of the time, but in Massachusetts the governorship has been held by a Republican for 55 out of the last 100 years, most recently by Obama's 2012 opponent, Mitt Romney (Governor 2003-2007).
The American electorate is anything but monolithic. We don't buy into the myth of "big man" nonsense as do Ghanaians and so we often elect legislators from parties other than the party of the executive. An examination of the Senate seats (2 for each state) for Maryland and Massachusetts during the past 100 years show that for Maryland's first seat (what we call Class 1), a Democrat has been in office 70% of the time while for Maryland's second seat (what we call Class 3), a Democrat has held it 64% of the time. On the other hand, for Massachusetts' first Senatorial seat (also Class 1), it has been occupied by a Democrat 79 out of the last 100 years, but Massachusetts' second Senatorial seat (Class 2) has been occupied by a Republican 54% of the time. Thus it is proven that the idiot doesn't know what he is talking about.
Furthermore, an inordinate arrogance is demonstrated by comparison of Ghana's NDC with American's Democratic Party. Neither has very much in common: America's Dems are not the inheritors of coup plotters and judicial assassinators; America's Dems do not rob the national treasury of money meant for the poor citizens of our country to enrich their own pockets; America's Dems, when in office, do not manipulate the electoral process and use the military and police to intimidate voters in an effort to "win at any cost"; so please quit comparing your NDC to our Dems. It is nauseating.
The anonymous aide seems to think that Mahama has done something miraculous by being able to take note of Obama's flagging fortunes while simultaneously chairing ECOWAS and hosting the U.N.'s Ebola efforts. A high school graduate could do as much, so Mahama has done nothing to brag about. He is, after all, President and as such is EXPECTED to be able to do these three not very taxing things - and more!
There was nothing strange about the outcome of the American election 3 days ago. The results had been predicted for at least the past year. We all expected the Dems to lose control of the Senate: Obama has lost focus over the past 6 years. Having made soaring promises in 2008 and again in 2012, he has failed - even with absolute majorities in both the House and the Senate during 2009 and 2010 - to follow through with the majority of his rhetoric, and has most recently increased the scope of President Bush's unpopular drone bombings. We refer to Obama as "Republican-lite". His professorial demeanor has proven wholly unsuitable to the Oval Office (unlike his academic Democratic predecessor Woodrow Wilson [president of Princeton University 1902-1910], who successfully prosecuted World War I).
Anyone who is unable to discern the difficulties of the Ghanaian people truly has their heads up their asses. To suggest that it is the fault of the press for Mahama's ignorance of the plight of his people is an exercise in hypocrisy. All one needs do is glance at ghanaweb from time to time.
Omanba pa. 11 years ago
How can you compare this guy to Obama? Obama's issue is about America Red Necks who have pinned him down since he became President. The inward looking Republicans have not been happy as he has always been fighting for the down trodden ones.
What has Mahama done for Ghana....waste of space. Every institution set up by the previous Govt, Mahama is pulling down.
Please don't compare Mahama's situation with that of Obama. It makes some of us sick.
Analyst 11 years ago
Even the Americans themselves are cautious in interpreting midterm election defeat for the incumbent. Historically, midterm results, which are typically unfavorable to the president’s party, tell us relatively little about the coming presidential election. Bill Clinton, for instance, bounced back from the 1994 Republican midterm landslide to easily win re-election in 1996.
If the election results of the US are the basis for predicting Ghana's election results, then it can also be said the chances of an incumbent president winning reelection is overwhelming. This is because, out of 19 incumbent US presidents who sought reelection since 1900, as many as14 of them won.
STONER KOBYLYNTON 11 years ago
Your points are very clear but the basis that won Bill Clinton the 1996 elections cannot be the same basis which may apply to Mahama to win the 2016 elections. Voters in US are all not fools like their Ghanaian counterparts. Ghanaians vote on tribal lines, personality, party fanatism and majority of them are deficiency in the political discourse.
Early this year Dr. Kwabena Agyei made a statement which any sensible voter in NDC would have taken it as insult but not a single literate among them made a comment about it. He said "NDC have some voters who would never change their voting pattern no matter what". This statement is an insult and absolutely true because my cousin who is in bed with NDC would never think outside the box for anything. How can a reasonable being compare political elections as same as soccer tournament which do not matter who ever wins? Do you think had Clinton's infidelity occurred prior to the 1996 elections Americans would have given him that mandate? Absolutely not.
But here we are with a President who rumours suggests that he have 17-children with 4 from his wife and 13 with other women and yet Ghanains voted him as their leader. Would this happen in any western country? Never but in Ghana we made it happened and Mr. Mahama is going to win 2016 elections - hands down because of fools who don't think outside the box.
HAZOR 11 years ago
Who is president Mahama?this sanitary pads and nkonfem president.He should not think this time of rigging the election and EC woun't there try to rig the election either for it stupidness show show them to regret of being stupid.
MENSAH BONSU GYAWU 11 years ago
So Ghanaians think that Mahama is a Prez of Ghana? He is there for the judges who collected bribe through the former king Solomon and now nebuchadnezar. they shd all bow down their heads in shame. their end will come at noon.
achipelago 11 years ago
WHAT HAS HAPPENED IN THE USA IS FORE-SHADOW OF HOW NDC WHICH IS A COUNTER-PART OF THE DEMOCRATIC PARTY WILL ALSO FARE IN 2016. THE WRITINGS ARE CLEAR ON THE WALL
KING LOMOTEY 11 years ago
Comparing GHANA to US is not healthy.
It is extremely misleading.
Don't ever do it folks.
Original JM 11 years ago
Don't u remember when the Ewes said if JJ is mentally sick they will still vote for him?
@@@@@@@@ 11 years ago
Electrical commissioner.Only worthless people who have been fooled since kwame nkrumah Era had been fooling with this useless commission. MMOA mma. afari GYAN opanin boa opanin kwasea who toilet ed at SC. MAY HE DIE WITH BRAIN CANCER.
@@@@@@@@ 11 years ago
AND GHANA #9 THE SAME.IF U HELP THEM THEY WILL NEVER VOTE FOR U JUST USELESS THEM MAKE THEIR LIFE WORTHLESS U GET THEIR VOTE. THE MOST POOREST FOLKS IN USA ARE BLACKS NO MATTER WAT DNC.VOLTA REG.NO MATTER WAT NDC BLACKS IN USA JESSY JACKSON. EWES. IN GHANA MICHAEL KWAME BORKOR.HE GOT FREE HOUSE BOUGHT BY NDC FOR BASHING AKUFO ADDO.
The Democratic Party in the US has a 'lame duck' presidency. Historically the 'lame duck' party always suffers because of poor voter turn out at the polls. This does not mean that the opposition gained strength. The beauty of ...
Prez Mahama should not be shaken by what is going on in the US. Infact in the case of US Obama has even performed creditably and even that his Democratic Party is loosing grounds, but Prez has been very incompetent in Ghana a ...
Ghana had about 1bln dollars in reserve when Nkrumah took over the reins of government in this country. Could you imagine what the value of one billion dollars is in the early fifties? Again, after 2years of his rule, cocoa p ...
You are all comparing apples to oranges. There is a possibility that Mrs. Clinton can win the 2016 presidential elections especially if the hardline republicans mess up in two years time. In Ghana, though I will agree that ND ...
Lies!
Are the events happening in the country the first time? Are you the one who is going ...
the Ghana voter will be objective and vote agaiSnt Mahama blatant recklessness and misuse of the resources of the country. THE AGE LONG TRIBALISIC TENDENCIES AGAINST Ashanti will not work this time for NDC and the BALAW MAHAM ...
The idiot behind this pu ...
See, Obama is doing the dirty work in the White House for others to come in later and take the credits for doing noth ...
In the US you cannot buy votes or rig an election. But that is possible in Ghana. Just even look at the recent NPP vote to choose a flagbearer. So I will just keep my peace if I were John Mahama and let Asiedu Nketia and Boat ...
Well said Eduardo:They can continue with their insults and tribal sentiments, wishing and thinking that others shd think and act like them whilst they rain insults on them as if to say they are first class citizens of this co ...
Ghanaians are suffering from illusionary syndrome, a problem that makes one think everything one says makes sense and therefore must be listened to by others. What has American mid-term election to do with Ghana or Mahama, in ...
We're tru ...
Mahama has proved very disappointing so far with nothing to show apart from widespread corruption, unemployment and show of weaknesses from taken the fight to curb corruption. He has succeeded to increase poverty and economic ...
Nana has won already
Ever since Ghana became democratic in 1992, a president loses between 1-3 percent votes when seeking re-election. Rawlings got 56 percent in 1996 compared to 57 in 1992. Kufour got 52 percent in 2004 compared to 2000 even tho ...
USA employment rate is low and Obama did a lot for the economic. Little mistake he did by legal gay marriage and reform health system. What has Mahama did to Ghana. Only begging money from all angles and no accountibility. We ...
The dynamics in both countries are completely different and under ...
Ghanaians were supposed to have gone to the polls to elect their assembly men and woman to the districts and municipals this year as has happened in US,as enshrined in the constitution.But due to clear INCOMPETENT AND RECKLES ...
"This adage is so befitting though, the United States (U.S) is so far away from Ghana; but the fact is that the President John Dramani Mahama Government should take a serious look at how the Democratic Party of President Barr ...
COMPARING THE FALL OF A RIPE PAWPAW ...
Those who dare to take the NPP as equivalent to the Republican party of the USA, in style, substance and operationally need basic education between animal rescue/dog catcher and law enforcement agencies. Yes there are laws an ...
Jon Mahama is a fool. Anyone who votes for NDC must have lost their mind because they don't have the country at heart. Ghana needs a very intelligent individual like Nana Addo and Bawumia to lead the country not a fool who i ...
THEY STOL ...
Foolish Journalism
Rubbish. What have the US elections have to do with Ghana? There's nothing shocking about the US mid-term elections. Mid-term elections in the US are not necessarily a predicter of the coming general elections. This is nothin ...
I don't understand what this headline means. Thats John criminal Mahama in is coconut head think Ghanaians are going to sit down for him to steal another elections? I don't get it, if this fool thinks we are going to sit dow ...
The anonymous "Close Aide" doesn't know shit about American politics! The very idea that the Democratic party has always won both Maryland and Massachusetts is absurd and points to the depths of ignorance of the speaker. Duri ...
How can you compare this guy to Obama? Obama's issue is about America Red Necks who have pinned him down since he became President. The inward looking Republicans have not been happy as he has always been fighting for the dow ...
Even the Americans themselves are cautious in interpreting midterm election defeat for the incumbent. Historically, midterm results, which are typically unfavorable to the president’s party, tell us relatively little about ...
Your points are very clear but the basis that won Bill Clinton the 1996 elections cannot be the same basis which may apply to Mahama to win the 2016 elections. Voters in US are all not fools like their Ghanaian counterparts. ...
Who is president Mahama?this sanitary pads and nkonfem president.He should not think this time of rigging the election and EC woun't there try to rig the election either for it stupidness show show them to regret of being stu ...
Don't ever do it folks.
Electrical commissioner.Only worthless people who have been fooled since kwame nkrumah Era had been fooling with this useless commission. MMOA mma. afari GYAN opanin boa opanin kwasea who toilet ed at SC. MAY HE DIE WITH BRAI ...
AND GHANA #9 THE SAME.IF U HELP THEM THEY WILL NEVER VOTE FOR U JUST USELESS THEM MAKE THEIR LIFE WORTHLESS U GET THEIR VOTE. THE MOST POOREST FOLKS IN USA ARE BLACKS NO MATTER WAT DNC.VOLTA REG.NO MATTER WAT NDC BLACKS IN U ...