You are here: HomeNews2014 11 04Article 333411

Freeze salaries of striking workers – MP charges gov’t

Read Comments Comments (68)

• JUSTICE 9 years ago

I am even surprised these strikers get paid by the same government while on strike. No wonder they are always eager to strike because it is a paid holiday for them.

• KWAKU SARFO KANTANKA 9 years ago

Does any of ur family members working in the public sector? If no
    then put urself in their shoes. ur president is stealing Ghana's money advice him to do the right thing

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

KWAKU, striking workers have no right to demand pay. Even in the rich developed countries striking workers do not get paid by the employer for the period of the strike. Until government passes legislation to stop paying strik ...

• Doobia 9 years ago

Nobody is holding knife at the neck of your father to work in the public sector in the actual fact he can go and farm or be a farmer and no one can control his pension. Stupid fool.

• KY 9 years ago

Hear the selfish, uneducated fool who call himself MP talking. That's he know the labour laws? How did he got himself elected? No wonder it was on the ticket of NDC the mediocres. He can't even fit for poling station chairman ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Stupid unions

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

As democratic as the US is, this government strike would not see the light of day there. First of all it is unconstitutional for federal employees to go on strike so the courts would shut it down quickly. In any case if Maham ...

• Joshua Okyere 9 years ago

total nonsense if those Mps refuses to go to to seating does the government freezes their salary. they shouldn't get us annoyed ,they work for only 4 years n takes home billions of cedis. fire burn them

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

These words definitely did no come from his mouth for they stink! These are our law makers. Many of them are there for personal gains. They are blockheaded and ride on the back of political affiliation to amass wealth at the ...

• Obournana 9 years ago

Are you normal or because you are bastard you don't respect but jealous of elders? Do you expect them to stay home and get paid? Do you have brains at all? Why are you NPP followers only want the destruction of the country? G ...

• Ras Nabia 9 years ago

@ #Obournana if you see bastard will you be able identify him/her, no wonder,just watch yourself in a mirror, you will realise that you are a bastard

• obiba jk 9 years ago

Your are villager

• KK 9 years ago

I'm tempted to believe that you are one of the horses that is easily ridden by that NDC good for nothing government and your inefficient president. If your stupid government do the right thing these workers would go back to w ...

• biggy 9 years ago

foolish man!! kwasia

why are u NDC followers also want to steal the state money by ur so create, loot and share. Do u think Ghana is for u or u will forever remain on the seat? watch out for 2016

• Obournana 9 years ago

Ministry of finance and accountant control staff must also go strike in order to stop sending heir salaries to bank. Is simple. Why should they stay home and expect others to go to work? Government should shut down the accoun ...

• agyeiwaa 9 years ago

It is a shame, isnt it, that our doctors have refused to work when EBOLA is in our region and doctors in neighbouring countries are on high alert, ours are on strike bc of an issue that can be resolved thru other means. Is it ...

• kuuu 9 years ago

stupid talk.....

• YAW USA 9 years ago

They have to be paid they are just demanding what is due to them.. Maybe those people who are saying the workers should not be paid are jobless and homeless we all work for pension OK stupid fools.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

You claim to be in the US but ignorant more than people in Ghana.
    Who told you when you are on strike legal or illegal you get paid?
    The reason why these people keep going on strike almost every other month is because they ...

• P Otu 9 years ago

In demanding what is due you strike is the last option. Why would u strike and expect to be paid? If you own a business pay your workers if they go on strike

• Stoway 9 years ago

This is nonsense! They have weak leaders who uses strike to ask for demands. Where is their negotiation skills, respect for courts and love of nation? Nation wreckers! Freeze the salaries if they continue to defy the courts r ...

• EXCEL 9 years ago

scrap ex gratia and put them on pension a they will come back to reality.they r currently in dreamland or wonderland.

GHANA DE SWEET THEM,ARTICLE 71 HOLDERS.

THE MASSES DE SUFFER,AFRICA FOR U.

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

Strikers SHOULD NOT BE PAID! These organisations should set up a "strike contingency Fund"for THEMSELVES so that for the DURATION of the STRIKE, they are paid from that !! It doesn't make SENSE that the Govt pays them FOR STR ...

• citizin 9 years ago

u have No retirement benefit

• Okando 9 years ago

It is long over due even there should sacked and new once recruit and should be on contract.

• T.Y 9 years ago

Now u are not working is your anus the salary will come from?

• P Otu 9 years ago

This is long overdue. If the government believes it is on the right track then without any further notice it must freeze the salaries of the striking workers. After all there are other avenues they could have used to make the ...

• sirous 9 years ago

go n teach in all de schools in ghana n also work in de hospitals n see how it is. think twice n be wise.

• Avonsige Kennedy 9 years ago

That's all they know money money matter.Solves the problems and stop attacking the workforce with threats of freezing salaries. Hopeless Government.

• Boys Boys 9 years ago

You see this man, when he was a teacher we used beg kia truck any car which ply the Sunyani together to take us to our respective schools. Now that his ways have changed have you seen the wickedness on him? I was in Baampehia ...

It is quite unfortunate this is coming from An MP who was part of the formulation of ACT 766 of 2008. I think he doesn't know anything about law in Ghana. The John Dramani Mahama's salary would have being first freeze after h ...

• STRIKE 9 years ago

What about transferring the tier-two pension funds that the Mahama NDC gov't says is sitting in the TPFA account at BoG as dictated by the law now, now now??? It would be much easier, don't you think???

• Obaayaa 9 years ago

No wonder the minister would say so because at the end of every four years he takes home more than the worker who has worked for 20-40 years as end of service benefits. If he would have been one of us he would not have said ...

• ahenasaba chichi 9 years ago

this MP needs not to be allowed into Ghana's parliament because his logic of thinking is abysmal and short-circuit. i wonder the capacity of the electorates, who voted for him...

• T.....blay 9 years ago

Freeze their money and they will still survive.What kind of country is this. U this mp's are there taking over 60m +allowances and someone's small money to u pple are choppin.Nonsense talk.

• p m biliguo 9 years ago

Honourable Adjei I am agree with you 200% goverment must freeze the striken unions salaries

• ......... 9 years ago

pm biliguo, have u been to class one before , ur grammar is very poor, no wonder u r not making any sense.

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

Adjei-Mensah, nobody should blame you for making such a statement. I only blame your constituents. They closed their eyes when they were voting. You have no business being in that august house. Please tell us how much you hav ...

• John Mensah Obina 9 years ago

Ghana belongs to your father. I don't blame you.

• Chimney - Ksi . 9 years ago

Stupid advice from stupid MP, compare how much you are taking home after 4year service in parliament to that of a public service worker, who have served for,even 20years. You are cheating them and you want them to keep mute. ...

• Jenn 9 years ago

I am a nurse who works @ a children's ward. I av been working for more than seven months and am sure I would be working for more than a year before I get paid. But even that, I get only 3months arrears paid n the rest of the ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is a son of a dog

• Chimney - Ksi . 9 years ago

It's not good to insult an elderly.Shame.

• Eben 9 years ago

who is prolonging the strike, the labour union or the government? just respond quickly to the problem and they will go to work. Freezing their salaries will not do anything. It's two weeks now and what are you as government w ...

• ODOI SYKES 9 years ago

NO WORK NO PAY. DON'T PAY THESE IDIOTS WHO WANT TO BE PAID FOR NO WORK DONE. THIS SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO THE DOCTORS AND ANY OTHER FOOL WHO HAS JOINED THEM

• Teacher Emma 9 years ago

The striking labour unions go to church but do not apply Gods world and whiles on strike went to bank for your pay God sjould forgive these partisan unions and NPP is behind it Old man Akuffo Addo who cant win Election in gha ...

• kofi Eric 9 years ago

u are right honorable nowhere in the world are workers paid by government when on strike.... they shouldn't be paid that's all....Too much indiscipline in this country

• One Ghana 9 years ago

Listen to this funny MP....it's very unfortunate the kind of some people who find themselves into our paliarment. Tweaaaaaa.....

• Dennis 9 years ago

He must b a fool. He should b a bit sensible to bring some dignity to Ghana's law making body. he's a disgrace to all those who voted for him

• Orion 9 years ago

Hehehehe listen to him......
    No wonder d burkinabes burnt down deir parliament house...
    Ours is also full of empty heads
    Tweaaaaaaaa

• jah guide 9 years ago

foolish mps u dont do anything but u are paid fat salaries go ahead and feeze

• kwaku siaw 9 years ago

does the management of Ghanaweb read these comments at all?
    i have followed with keen interest how people who May not be familiar to each other unceremoniously insult one another.
    i blame the managers of ghanaweb and how mo ...

• D J Pat 9 years ago

Kwasia man! foolish mp go freeze ur mama's account siaaaaaaaaa bi sei!

• willis 9 years ago

aboa ba no nso wose sen,kurasinii mp wo fiiiii is not ur fault dats why u suggest boldshit monkey mp

• Mr.Andy 9 years ago

All those in Support of that mp, i understand are in the Same boat and are therefore moving foolishly in the Same direction,but U should know that all those striking are not NPP members but the good people of Ghana.U should h ...

• Dela 9 years ago

I think this boy psychologically indisposed.

• FYA 9 years ago

Pls Ghanaian let us give our life to God Almighty . These politicians has nothing good for us. My fear foe them is that, oneday the owner of this earth will come n meet them with their lairs n burnt dem completely so allow de ...

• Mr.Andy 9 years ago

I am not supprise some people are calling the good workers Ghana as fools. the reason is that foolish people thinks that every One is a fool.
    Ask all those making those ill Statement why they are not working? obviously the a ...

• CONCERN 9 years ago

Did the Government freeze the MP's salary when they refuse to go to parliament? During Kufuor regime as well as Mahama regime it happened. Do unto them as you want to be done to you.

• Okyesco 9 years ago

This man calls himself an elected law maker(Member of Parliament) oh mother Ghana!!!

• NICHOLAS 9 years ago

We are simply not helping our country to develop by our actions and in-actions. Ghana is still a developing country and as such we always have to marshal our resources, be it human,natural or financial to ensure the accelera ...

• DAVID 9 years ago

Adjei Mensah, I think you have interest in a Ministerial appointment in the current government. But please, not this method. how much will you take at the end your four years service? You are not a leader but someone who is h ...

• Nana OJ 9 years ago

NDC never ceases to amaze me so do their members of parliament. You feed on taxpayers money so ypu have the audacity to talk nonsense. Talk is cheap so any senseless lunatic can open up his mouth wide to spit thrash.
    Your da ...

• Alhassan Bei,walewale 9 years ago

Listened to this fool in the paradise.I dont blame you,you have eaten beyond your limit that is the mp can reason well.To hell with your salary freeze.

• ark 9 years ago

If the govt is doing well do u think tht the twelve labour unions wil go on strike ?
    they have to be paid.

• DCE for Ejura 9 years ago

Mumu man! go and freeze it, if u can. U talk rubbish

• Atisco @Navrongo 9 years ago

No need to freeze acc., after all de strike was less dan two weeks, unless u cal de daily wages n subtract it. Let de govt face de bullet n stop beating abt fe bush