You are here: HomeNews2014 10 30Article 332766

Ghana is No. 1 ‘wee’ consumer in Africa – NACOB Officer

Read Comments Comments (131)

• Kojo. 9 years ago

Ther eris no centre for such people in communities. It is a taboo to talk about therefore those who are addicted don't not get any help from statutory authorites.

• KOFI 9 years ago

GANJA NANA ADDO

• BBC NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

WEE OOO NO WEE OO NANA ADDO HAS WON OUR HEARTS! EVERY GHANAIAN SAYS IT IS NANA OR NO VOTE! NDC CAN GO TO HELL

• Kojo Nkansah 9 years ago

Did i hear u say every Ghanaian? TWEAAAA!!!!!! Abeg stop dreaming.It only the Npp who want him.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

LOOKING AT THE DESTRUCTION NDC HAS CAUSED TO THIS GREAT COUNTRY IN THE PAST 6 YEARS, ANY TALK ABOUT THIS INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT ADMINISTRATION WINNING THE 2016 GENERAL ELECTIONS, WOULD BE DEEMED AS A BIG INSULT ON THE INTELL ...

• Odiasembone 9 years ago

How can Ghana be the third consumer of weed in the world? Mr Writer, are you talking about the % of the population who smoke or what? Nonsense! Anybody who can type on a key board call themselves journalists. Before opening y ...

• kubolo 9 years ago

as for me I lik to saying my opinios that wee smoken is corect for minds becos i too i smoken, however i tink that Ghana peopleses hav to not smoken tto many becos it mak you very very lazyness. I tink that govament hav to st ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Ligalise it yeah Yah. I will advertise it. It's good for your health; it cures cancer and tuberclouses......

• JACK DE RIPPER 9 years ago

I don't do drugs,I set plants on fire and breathe.

• hamed 9 years ago

GOD CREATED THIS PLANT TO HELP PEOPLE FIGHT MANY SICKNESSES IT IS TIME TO TELL THE TRUTH ABOUT WEED TO ALL OUR IGNORATE BROTHERS& SISTERS
    GOD WONT CREATE A MIRECLE PLANT LIKE WEED TO HARM HIS CHILDERNS

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi, NOW!!! 9 years ago

Bullshit stash and bullshit court. Tackle corruption first. We need corruption courts not drug courts

• BBC NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

OH SORRY OOO!! I FORGOT THERE ARE SOME ALLIENS!!! WHO DONT LOVE NANA ADDO APART FROM YOU ALLIENS? THIRD CLASS NDCs

• Mahama the rapist!! 9 years ago

I prefer a ganja Nana Addo to a rapist, womanizer, thief, corrupt, clueless, murderer, and incompetent john Mahama

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!!!!! 9 years ago

Its better to smoke wee than to spiritually sacrifice Prof. JEA Mills like mahama did!!!

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

We don't have data on simple things like infant mortality much less on smoking of weed. NACOB is just trying to get some attention, that is all.

• mensa 9 years ago

DO YOU THINK GOD WANTS SOMTHING BAD FOR HIS CHILDERN?GOD GREATED THIS MIRICLE PLANT TO CURE MANY SICKNESS
    TIME TO TELL THE TRUTH AND STOP THE LIES

• GEORGE 9 years ago

Ganja man Nana and his linguist Kwaku Baako and the ganja leading group in Ghana

• SHAMO 9 years ago

NDC CAN JUMP INTO THAT DIRTY KETA LAGOON WHO CARES?

• Affordable 9 years ago

Under your government Ghana has won so many awards. One for corruption, world leading fraudsters award, thievery, looting & sharing award, World Cup comedy award, incompetence, square pegs in round hole award, etc, and now le ...

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BORDERS 9 years ago

HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN JOHN JERRY RAWLINGS? OR BECAUSE OF HIS COMPLEXTION YOU REGARD HIM AS A WHITEMAN.George or whatever,TO BE HONEST WITH YOU, THE DISAPPIONTED EUROPEAN WAS THE KING OF GANJA AND RULED GHANA FOR 19 TERRIBLE YEAR ...

• papa kofi 9 years ago

Kofi ,brush your teeth because your mouth stinks like shit.

• Mahama the rapist!! 9 years ago

I john drossmani mahama aka the rapist cum murderer can't stay without sex. That actually has been my problem since my basic school days. I once raped a colleague but my father used his strong political powers to kill the cas ...

• SHAMO 9 years ago

WE SHALL DIRTY THEIR STUPID AKONFEM PREZ THAT THEY WILL REGRET

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

The Wikleaks confirmed that Nana Addo is the most notorious wee smoker in Ghana. The drug world adore him.

• DESTROYERS PARTY N D C 9 years ago

CNN ALWAYS BROADCASTS john mahama,jj rawshit kojo ofui tsikata,and all ndc looters are addicted WEED SMOKERS THAT'S WHY THEY TAKE ANY STUPID DECISIONS ANYHOW

• ROMANO 9 years ago

GOD BLESS GHANA KEEP PUFFING NTAMPE IS BETTER THAN AKPETESHI

• MENSA 9 years ago

WEED IS LESS DANGER THAT ALCHOL NO ONE EVER KILLED OR RAPE AFTER USING WEED PLEANTY OF PEOPLE COMITT CRIM AFTER DRINKING.
    TIME TO LEGEL;ISE WEED IN GHANA

• Activist Twelve 9 years ago

Marijuana, as all drugs can be beneficial and at the same time harmful in its use. When use properly it can be medicinal and much better than alcohol. There is enough evidence out there that it is much safer than alcohol in t ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

Way back in history, when the name of this drug, marijuana aka WEED, was introduced in Ghana, some illiterates down there couldn’t get the correct pronunciation of the word "weed" and simply called it "WEE" and the rest of ...

• HOVAH 9 years ago

HEHEHE HE SMOKE WEED EVERYDAY

• APOLO T 9 years ago

MAHAMMA SMOKES JOT AND WEE LIKE FISH

• nana1 9 years ago

Kofi ....hamama koti is like your mothers mouth... kwasea berima.. abowa gimmmee

• The Great 9 years ago

this is the the problem with our count try, we try to imitate there countries system instead of examining their system and see if it is a match for our country. first lets look at the facts, there is no evidence that wee does ...

• Kuuluuluu busibie 9 years ago

IF THIS INDEED IS A UN REPORT THEY MUST BE VERY IGNORANT INDEED IN THIS AREA. THE FACT IS THAT WHILE SEVERAL COUNTRIES ARE LEGALIZING THE USE OF 'WEE', WE (GHANA's LEGAL SYSTEM) EQUATE ITS MERE POSSESSION, HOWEVER SMALL IT IS ...

• Kuuluuluu busibie 9 years ago

IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THIS STATEMENT IS BASED ON A PREVALENCE RATE REPORT IN 1998 WHEN 21.5 PEOPLE IN GHANA REPORTED THAT THEY HAD TASTED CANNABIS BEFORE. A LOT OF ANALYSIS NEED TO BE DONE BEFORE A REPORT OF THIS NATURE CAN BE S ...

• kofi''' 9 years ago

if ghana is third in the whole world then those who legalized it will be what?? where is jamaica, uruguay, brazil, columbia, cuba, middle east and the friends??

• ekomdeboy 9 years ago

If ghanaians smoke more wee than USA, then I can't believe it. Wee is like cigarettes out here and the present and most former president also tried it

• Affuku Adod 9 years ago

This is not true!

• THE PATRIOT 9 years ago

Nana Addo is acknowledged by the American, German and French Embassies as a notorious wee smoker and womaniser. The British High Commission has him as the kingpin of the drugs trade

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

The youth smoke weed out of frustration...what else is there to do?...no public parks or any other useful activities to occupy the youth...than alcohol, drugs and sex

• Nana 9 years ago

JJ Rawlings, Tony Aidoo, Tsikata brothers and cousins dye inside the club.

• Asiwome 9 years ago

These things cook the brains of people, it takes over the lives of otherwise decent people causing irrational behaviors and death. It is a sad sad devise of Satan.

• amaapaa 9 years ago

Mo hye paa o

• Incompetent Government NDC 9 years ago

Fuck the security agency

• MENSA 9 years ago

LET OUR PEOPLE ENJOY THE WEED THAT ALMIGHTY GOD GAVE US HUMEN TO ENJOY

• Chap 9 years ago

YOu have a country of 25 million people and its youth have resulted to smoking wee as the third largest in the world. This really disturbing. What is causing the craze for such behavior. Unemployment is one and bad government ...

Congratulations to Ghana for our enviable achievement. Another credit to the NDC government. Keep up the good work!

• John 9 years ago

So funny,I however doubt this ranking.What about USA,The Netherland,UK,Jamaica,Nigeria,South Africa?

• Okponglo Guy 9 years ago

You guys post every nonsense

• The mask 9 years ago

Nowadays businesses and government organisations have stopped demanding Secondary School Certificate or Basic Education Certificate.

Each of these certificates are important. For example for many tertiary graduates the on ...

• mahall 9 years ago

Wow jah rasrafa Ghana.idiot this is lie .idiot then jamaica will commit suicide if Ghana is the leader

• Twindzitwiba Okyerefo Obuekwan I 9 years ago

Stop throwing dust into our eyes and report something better. Wee is consumed illegally and no one has the fact on consumption rate. how then did you compare with other countries.

This is all assumptions and craps.

• John 9 years ago

Intelligent observation thanks,can NACOB tell the whole World how much marijuana is produced annually?

• Yaovi 9 years ago

Stupid people. What they should rather be doing is to grade the best and worst Joint regions so that we can have the best weed in Ghana to patronise.

In Ghana the joints from Hohoe are the best. Apparently they are also of ...

• Jah Love 9 years ago

Foolish Yaovi. Hohoe is not noted for wee. Check Nsorkor Seikwa, Badu, Nkoranza and you will see. Jah Rastafari

• rasta friedrice. 9 years ago

We love it and there's nothing you can do .

• Bomber 9 years ago

health issues with wee is huge, the country has a major problem coming in very near future as most of its youth will have major health problems

• Moko ni 9 years ago

Can someone tell us how much has been generated by the courts that deal with traffic offences? Most police officers will rather take bribe than send offenders to court, so what difference would this narcotics court be?

• lukman 9 years ago

One love

• Rawlings Jnr 9 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians ,do you know why my father talks boom ,boom and foolishly at times ?Its all because of the weed(Wee) that he smokes. He successfully overthrew constitutional governments 'cos of getting high. He smokes mornin ...

• Kofius 9 years ago

Former President Rawlings and Presidential aspirant Mr Akufo-Addo all smoke(d) wee

• Adjei Koti 9 years ago

Let the UN go to Marina, Mushin, Agege, Oshodi, Mile 2, Kirikiri, Ajengule etc. all in Lagos to see which country is the heaviest wee smoking nation in Africa

• Vak Luze 9 years ago

How many NDC government officials were imprisoned for drugs? is just a question who cares can give me the answer.

• Yaro de Mann 9 years ago

Jobless is causing our youth to go into wee smoking and all those things. Find them a trade and all these will stop.

• kofi 9 years ago

nana addo have won you and who hearts abrafunu

• KWAME BOAKYE, AGONA 9 years ago

Everything bad is for Ghana.

• Oduro Baah 9 years ago

This is more reason why "wee" should be legalized. Politicians, Doctors, Lawyers and the so called men of God are smoking it so why not make it legal

• Noble 9 years ago

Liberia should the No 1 in Africa . A country that has gone through civil war and almost 90% of the youth smoke cigarette or wee

• Search For Truth 9 years ago

I will contend that that information is not accurate. if anything its South Africa that is no 1 in Africa.And the USA has began legalizing 'Wee' in a few states ie Colorado etc.

• asgh 9 years ago

Kofi find something to do and stop insulting because they buy u waakye.and credit think of your future no one can help u and your cfhildren.U live in a jungle.

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

TRUST JATO TO DELIVER NEGATIVE ACHIEVEMENTS FOR GHANA. HIS NDC PARTY IS THE WORSE FOR CORRUPTION AND NOW HE HAS ADDED THIS NUMBER ONE POSITION IN GRASS SMOKING.

• EDEM_PEKI 9 years ago

nonsense...evrytin america...liv de weed smokers alone nd tackle de corruption,greed nd dishonesty in our politics....america ma foot

• Dakora Gilbert ( CAMBODIA ) 9 years ago

I feel strongly high wee smoking in Ghana is the sotage of cigarrettes in Ghana . All the tobacco companies have been closed down and cigarretes are smuggled into the country which is expensive compared to wee . If the price ...

• MOI 9 years ago

BLAME THE DESPERATE OLD MAN. YOU KNOW WHO

• benny 9 years ago

I will ask my grand mother about this moatia abogyese

• Coleman USA 9 years ago

This is not true. Please let's have some self respect and stop exaggerating issues just to get publicity and attention.

• benny 9 years ago

Its a lie. Where did he find the fact. Do u know what happens in other countries in Africa. You stay in Ghana and made analysis travel to other countries and see. Some countries use that in bathing, as tea as soap as medicine ...

• AGBEVE 9 years ago

What about Jamaica and gambia ?????

• franzy 9 years ago

What?

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Ghanaians are smoking wee because thy don't have work to do. And they don't have work because of Jon Mahama's stupidity. Jon Mahama is stupid because he has surrounded himself with thieves and and unthinking animals.
    NDC is ...

• jbb 9 years ago

kofi u are very ignorant person if u have nothing to write back off.

• Akuffo Addo 9 years ago

What is wrong with smoking ntampe ...I guess the government can make more money if a tax is place on marijuana and also place a ban on smoking it in public. Go the Armstadam way...wise up black people

• Bomber 9 years ago

I will not argue issue, i can't explain the way our youth are taking up 'wee' smoking. My nephew has reached a stage he doesn't want to go to school but his father is prepared to pay what it takes to put him at a better level ...

• BOB SOUTHAFRICA 9 years ago

OH GHANA WHEN THESE YOUNGONES FINISH SCH OR VAS KNOW WORK TO BE FOUND THEY BECOME SO HOPELESS THE THEY BECOME WEE CONSUMERS THIS WHAT ABOA TANI MAHAMA HAS DONE TO GHANA .

• ADUANABA YAW - NY 9 years ago

MR AMANKWAAH IS A LIER.HE ONLY WANTS ATTENTION.EVEN IN AMERICA IT IS LEGAL IN SOME STATES.IN NIGERIA U CAN BUY WEE FROM OJO BARRACKS.GHANAIANS WHO SMOKE WEE FORM LESS THAN 5% OF THE WHOLE POPULATION.THERE IS NO SCIENTIFICALLY ...

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

How do you know? Yaw, would you quit before things get out of hands? Kuffour could not do it, even Rawlings and his guns, Egya Atta too, then our lazy government cannot but get loose for consumption to escalate. Would you ap ...

• Herbalist 9 years ago

chewing on herbs like an ubangi.

• ray 9 years ago

one of the biggest lies ever told

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

nonsense

• OWEN,NEW YORK. 9 years ago

Rawlings tops all smokers in Ghana. N.D.C should bring the wee smokers list now.

• nipa ba 9 years ago

This is a great lie. South Africa is the first. Pls make your research again

• Kk3 9 years ago

Where are you going to incarcerate all these people your 'kangaroo courts' will sentence.

Monkey see monkey do mentality!

• Aandy 9 years ago

What about south africa? Her youths smoke wee outside and even infront of police.But ghana, u cannot smoke outside.how did they know and who did this research? It is bias and to ternish our good name.

• Ganja Planter 9 years ago

The stuff if called WEED not WEE!

• Ninoi 9 years ago

WHEN GHANA RANKS LOW IN CIGARETTE SMOKING, TO THINK THERE ARE MORE WEE SMOKERS SUGGESTS SOME PEOPLE WHO NEVER SMOKE CIGARS DO SMOKE WEE. THAT DOESN'T SOUND CORRECT TO ME. ALO?

• Esther 9 years ago

They have no viable statistics! Speculations

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

BITTER GHANA JJ MAHAMA NDC EVILS,ATUGUBA FOR YOU,NDC FOOOOLS

• Kwabena 9 years ago

Ghanaians are STRESSED! Can't blame them, with the current political climate and economic climate I would smoking too hahaha.

• cletus 9 years ago

Do you know president John mahama to do thing some if you don't know

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 9 years ago

Oyiwaaa! Nana Akofo Addo is the president of wee smoking society of Ghana, Nana ganja

• yaw 9 years ago

What has this got to do with Nana Addo and John Drama, wise up

• Ntampe ye paa 9 years ago

Ntampe ye pas

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Akufo Addo best food is wee

• Martin 9 years ago

The claim by the NACOB that Ghana ranks third in the world for marijuana consumption should be taken with a grain of salt. The NACOB official cites a UN report released a couple of years ago as the source of the data. Inquisi ...

• DOTSE SEDEM. Ho 9 years ago

what shall it profit a man after smoking all the wee then he goes mad? God have mercy.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

This is one of the legacies of Jerry Rawlings. He smoked it on Ghana TV - June 9, 1979

• Yaw Adu_Asare 9 years ago

Show us the numbers and stop wasting public resources.

• KOSS 9 years ago

LEADERS ARE FULL OF IT AND WITHOUT PROPER BRAINS THIS COUNTRY WILL GO DOWNHILL. AM SURPRISE THIS COUNTRY HAVE CHURCH AT EVERY CORNER

• Kwamena 9 years ago

This nonsense has to stop. What empirical evidence have the UN got to prove that Ghana is the No. 1 wee smoking country in Africa??? What rubbish is this?
    We always accept any bullshit from the west. Did any Ghanaian officia ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Is wee that made him sick

• Bola NR 9 years ago

This how MAHAMA have reduced gh

• agnes 9 years ago

gh ?s spo?l

• PHOKH N'SHIIT 9 years ago

IT IS ABOUT TIME THE USELESS ACADEMICS IN CHARGE OF ADMINISTERING OUR NATION TO BE SANCTIONED, AND WHIPPED FOR THEIR UTTER NONSENSICAL FARTS THAT KEEP ANNOYING US REAL PEOPLE THESE DAYS. WHERE IS THE DATA THIS FLUNKY USED TO ...

• GhanaMassai,France. 9 years ago

And we are pushing the drug-addicted Papy Nana to lead Ghana? Wow! His first presdential move will be the legalization of this devastating horror & Ghana will rank first as the most "marijuanized" country in the world! May th ...

• John 9 years ago

Wat of kwaku Baoko. He takes like water

• MykeNation 9 years ago

This is a big lie...go to South Africa and make a good research. An average south african start smoking at the age of 13years

• Mr TWEAAA! 9 years ago

When someone says that Ghanaians have voted Nana Addow as the president is an insult to Ghanaians indeed because Nana was voted by Tweaa population of the country which do not represent the majority of the good,respected,sens ...

• modinsane 9 years ago

Ghana's wee is the best in the whole world. Nothing like greenhouse nonsense. We need to export for foreign exchange.

• OBIBINIBA 9 years ago

nonsense I dnt think this writer knows his job, how many population has ghana to be 3rd in e world? y3 shiiiaaa wo!

• ANABA 9 years ago

UNRELIABLE!!!SOURCE NOT CREDIBLE.WHY DO GHANAIANS CLAIM NO 1 POSITION IN EVERY THING?

• okataku dade 9 years ago

u mor know

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

So now we know.Most Ghanaians have been made dumb from smoking weed and that is why we have dumb Mahama as president.....now the jigsaw puzzle is solved

• Mother Ghana 9 years ago

Why some misinformation news being said about the Country by Daniel Akwasi Amankwa he should tell us the true.
    Because in UN report US is in the third position not Ghana and in Africa.South Africa is the number one

The world 10 countries that smoke the most Marijuana.1.Iceland 18.3% of the population use.(2).Zambia 17.7%. (3)USA14.8% (4)Italy 14.6% (5)NewZealand 14.6% (6)Nigeria 14.3% (7)Canada 12.2% (8)Spain 10.6% (9)Australia 10.3% ( ...

And in Africa. South Africa is the number one not Ghana bogus research from our so called researchers.

• JM 9 years ago

This is nonsense. Our leaders should stop talking from their stomachs. Which research did this man based his findings on?

• WHERE 9 years ago

Folks, where is the Vice President Paa Kwesi Bekoe Amissah Arthur? Has the Vice President resigned? Has the Vice President been sacked? Where is the Vice President?
    Again, in the absence of the President, is it the Chief of ...

• observer 9 years ago

No wonder ghanaian workers are going on strike frequently.They are all high on weed.

• batana 9 years ago

only wise people smoke marijuana ( wee)can someone give me a piece to kill?

• Wiseman 9 years ago

Keep The Fire Burning!!!

• Ebaltey 9 years ago

Infact I love the send.