You are here: HomeNews2014 10 17Article 330790

Kofi Annan: Ebola neglected because it started in Africa

Read Comments Comments (138)

• adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

Right on

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

No, this is not RIGHT ON. West African governments disabled by Ebola denied that the epidemic was Ebola. If you don't sell your sickness, who can give you a cure?
    The West still has Anthrax, SARS and other virus diseases. Ev ...

• Free Thinker 9 years ago

This is why Africa must invest more seriously in research-oriented education at the universities and colleges, not the usual chew-poor-forget system.

There are many of these capable African researchers abroad who are helpi ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari wo maame tweasi 9 years ago

FREE THINKER WO MAAME TWEAAASI S3 PREKO TRUMU WAI

FRANK TAFRE ME TRUMU

ABOA BI BA

• jas 9 years ago

Why??????????????? insult! I may ask

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 9 years ago

Historically,the selfish Europeans and other rich white countries have only been interested in Africa's Raw Materials and Precious Metals.PERIOD !!!

When Kwame openly told the world about "HOW EUROPE UNDERDEVELOPED BLACK ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

Don't mind this professional liar,.aka uncle tom! What happened to small pox, bird flu,.swine flu,.kwashiorkor, malaria, cholera, tuberculosis etc......they concorts new diseases only to raise funds and sell impotent the, hal ...

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 9 years ago

correction..it should read....

• Sigma, London 9 years ago

Kofi is right. It took WHO a lot of foot dragging before they sent some staff to the area. Medicine san Frontier was the one to take the lead and the west did not care. It serves them right that they have gone back to their s ...

• KCRH 9 years ago

URGENT VACANCIES
    WAITRES, WAITERS, FEMALE OFFICE CLERKS, SECURITY GUARDS,CALL NOW.
    020 430 7627
    032 202 6506.

• jas 9 years ago

Well said! I know some people will not agree with you but this is what I have been preaching on everyday. this is the time for African leaders to think outside the box. people can go on-line to watch debate on Ebola(Press TV) ...

• KB,LONDON. 9 years ago

Politicians in Africa are mostly thieves. Even though they get paid generously, their prime motive being in office is to steal. Steal to buy houses and expensive cars when hospitals are ill-resourced and roads are in bad stat ...

• TheAntidote 9 years ago

Only Kwame Nkrumah thought like the white man and was the poorest president but he built the country. Africans got rid of him. Today's presidential aspirants want to be elected so they can get their piece of the cake before i ...

• Afua Nyarko 9 years ago

Mr Annan,
    I am surprised that you will make such a statement. It is unfortunate that you would blame worthy countries for not responding to this ebola virus quickly enough. Wealthy countries do not owe poor countries anythin ...

• Paa Frank 9 years ago

The U.N. set up the Ebola Trust Fund some few months ago to raise 1-billion dollars to fight the virus. As of today, only 300-million has been raised. John Mahama is the president of Ecowas, ask him how much has he raised fro ...

• Ghanaba Pa 9 years ago

"YOU CAN NOT EAT YOUR CAKE AND HAVE IT" AFRICAN LEADERS WANT TO BE BABY SIT IN ALL ASPECTS. YOU GUYS WANT THE WHITE TO HELP YOU BUT IF THEY TELL YOU HOW TO MANAGE YOUR COUNTRIES AFFAIRS YOU DISOBEY THEM "MONKEY NO DE WORK WHI ...

• kwamena/usa 9 years ago

Mr. Annan, I believe I heard the name Ebola in the late 90s hitting central Africa i.e. DR Congo. If so, were you not the president of the world then, and what did you do about it then? Please stop the blame game.African lead ...

• Mitchel , Texas 9 years ago

"""Chew pour pass and forget"'

• Repugnant 9 years ago

Invented, packaged sealed and delivered. Why is a disease known for so many years and contained in Central Africa, pop up in West Africa, instead of say, Gabon, Rwanda, Angola, Chad etc even if carried by inoculated bats, rat ...

• Repugnant 9 years ago

Yet the three West African countries have recorded over 4,493 deaths to date, from 2013–2014

• David Ansah 9 years ago

What kind of drugs do you take?.kid.

• JONG 9 years ago

MASTER SLAVE MENTALITY WILL IT HAVE TO TAKE 40YS TO REALISE THIS EBOLA CRISIS IF PROPER REASEA LAB IS SETUP IN EACH AFRICAN COUNTRY INCLUDING AFRICAN UNION WHAT KIND OF ANIMAL THESE AFRICAN LEADERS ARE. ONLY THINK ABOUT LOOT ...

• John 9 years ago

Well done, well spoken. The monies if sent to the African countries, especially Ghana, will be spent by Politicians. Ghana chop chop.

• JONG 9 years ago

LEADERS WHO CHALLENGE THE STATUS QUOTE NOT LEADERS WHO LOOT AND SHARE. FOOLISH LEADERS WAITING ON THE WEST TO HELP WHILES DISEASES WERE BEING CURE BEFORE WHITEMAN CAME TO GHANA SHORES. EVEN CUBA IS BETTER PREPARE

• Akyaa 9 years ago

I like that!!

• JONG 9 years ago

WHERE WAS ALL DOCUMENTED WHEN OUR FOLKS KEEP PASSING ON AND THAT IS THE MENTALITY OF BLACKMAN NOT DOCUMENTING NOTHING FOR MANY DECADES NOT EVEN SPERM BANK LIKE DENMARK. LEADERS WHO THINK ABOUT MONEY AND LOOT.

• BlindMan 9 years ago

When Fahrakan and some notable 'blacks' charged the Ebola epidemic as an attempt to control the population of Africans, the reaction to Fahrakan was the usual condemnation to his extremities. Now, Kofi Annan's response on Ebo ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Do we Africans always want to be beggars and slaves to look up to the Westerners and the International community to come to our rescue? Do we understand why we Africans are not respected in the world?

It seems like we lack ...

• Faithful 9 years ago

What planet are you from seriously? My God do people think through their stomach or with their heads? 4500 peoe are dead to date and you think, Aftican leaders did denied the presence of Ebola in Africa. Fine Aftican leaders ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

That is the problem with Africans. You don't want to face reality. Do you think a Western countries care about your welfare if they don't benefit from what they give you?

The pharmaceutical companies are not going to inves ...

• I Am Faithful 9 years ago

You are part of the syndrome too. Bring your research on and help eradicate the Ebola in the next couple of months.
    You guys hear a term and start using it as if you just rob your hands on the walls and research is complete ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

I respect your opinion and you should respect mine. It is time Africans start doing things for ourselves instead of always waiting for Westerners to come to our rescue.

More than fifty years ago, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah declared ...

• Kawanopaado 9 years ago

We can not blame the west for our woes . Lets learn to improve on our own. If your lips are cracked you will not wait on some one to lick it.

• sizz 9 years ago

you are shallow and myopic minded,your problem is that you watch too much tv.educated illiterate

• MR TRUELY TRUELY 9 years ago

Mr Annan, you are still very influential so act very fast to call for funds and facilitate them to attack the problem. I kindly know this is not your style to criticism. The poor cant get money by force but we need to contin ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Kofi Annan should muster enough courage to tell it like it is that this ebola is man made by his white friends.
    Why the pigmy in the Kongo forests and the so-called Indians in the Amazon forests did not develop ebola ever e ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Elinam you asked, "Why the pigmy in the Kongo forests and the so-called Indians in the Amazon forests did not develop ebola ever even when all their meat is from bush meat?"
    The simple answer is that they are sensible primit ...

• larry baba 9 years ago

There was no need to bring tribe into this, but this is the first time I've read something slightly sensible from you,

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Dont forget there was wide spread of Ebola epidemic in the Congo in the 1980's

• Pelicles 9 years ago

We Africans think that we easily mingle among the Whites so, all is well. No and never. There is always something sinister against the "black man" who is so stupid to accept anything thrown at him. HIV came and it was push ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

I greed with you. Mahama is begging for $16 million. In a country of 26 million, if Mahama is a good leader, he could show the EU how he can get that money by making every Ghanaian above 12 years to pay $1.00 a year and we ...

• I. Boateng, New York. 9 years ago

You darn right, pelicles. The black man fits the definition of sub-humans because he cannot stand on his feet by himself. And i really pity those who go crazy looking for photo opportunities with the white just to make them f ...

• EZE 9 years ago

BROTHER MAN I THINK YOUR ARTICLE POSTED ON THIS WEBSITE DOES NOT HELP IN EDUCATING THE BLACKMAN. IF YOU DON'T WANT TO MINGEL WITH THE WHITE PEOPLE WHY ON EARTH DID YOU TRAVEL TO HIS COUNTRY? I THINK BY MINGELING WITH THEM WE ...

• joe 9 years ago

good, bro.

• Asiwome 9 years ago

It is about time we admitted that the white man's education is for the white man. It is influenced by white man's history and geography. Even in our own homes, every child is different. We cannot use knowledge about temperate ...

• fredsaid 9 years ago

The black man's mentality also has to change. The way our leaders think is always retrogressive and not progressive. If our leaders were to stop stealing the nation's resources and pump them into education, education and re ...

• bold 9 years ago

I don't accept that blacks are useless, we are too divided and have greedy visionless leaders, whites are thinking 100-1000years from now, we thinking now and our fucking stomach, if they cant make it to mars which is impossi ...

• Prempeh 1 9 years ago

Because, we Africans always have traitors among us any time one good leader comes out of us and trying to build a good society, the traitors among us will pass the informations to their white masters whom they ask permission ...

• Bold 9 years ago

Very few of us can see and reason like u do.

• Koomsom 9 years ago

Thank you Pelicle.. I have been singing the same song for the longest time and most people think that I'm racist against my own race especially my African American friends. The black race is the most useless on this planet... ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

What do you think Mr. Annan? About 60years ago you said you could manage your own affairs. Why are you crying now for help on all fronts?

You can't turn your population into slaves to toil for few people in the captals ne ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

The African is capable of mismanaging his/her own affairs. Let this epidemic happen and see the amount that has been embezzled by politicians. For how long will this go on? When there was an earthquake in Haiti and donations ...

• David Ansah 9 years ago

I have told you to stop smoking wee,but you won't listen to me.Now look at the kind of stupid and meaningless comments you have posted.

• Joe Canada 9 years ago

Franks comments is meaningless to those are mentally retarded. Idiot, you are one of those morons who thinks white man is responsible for Africans stupidity. Let me tell you something asshole, until you and most idiots like y ...

• Bread and kokonte 9 years ago

Look at this selfish hypocretical and a puppet kofi anan man, he helped the white destroy Africa continent. God will punish him before he dies.

• ONIPANUA 9 years ago

Why insult Kofi Annan?You are a fool. God will punish you first and you will die before he dies.How did he help whites to destroy Africa?

• fredsaid 9 years ago

YOU ILLITERATE BUFOON GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND LEARN HOW TO DEBATE

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Why are you pussyfooting around? You have no shame and you are a disgrace to humanity basind on your comment.
    You either haven't a clue what you are talking about or have not applied your brain to the propblems which could e ...

• SAQ 9 years ago

Ok, you are suppose to take of yourself and not to wait for free stuff. Most problems would disappear once you can Feed yourself! No neglected Africa, Africans neglected themselves.
    Wakeup!!!

• oor 9 years ago

Can one talk his mind on this forum with out being insulted pls a bit decorum is it not a shame tacle the politicos who care only of theirs

• Emmanuel 9 years ago

I am with you, always raising insults on people without a cause, the only thing we need to do is to stand and come together with a common purpose regardless of the political affiliation, the democracy that has brought the whi ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

I'm with you all the way, Sir!

Somebody should also hold the feet of our African leaders to the fire as well.

It is true that if the the situation had happened in another corner of the world, the response would have bee ...

• Bomfaboy 9 years ago

Yes it's true the "wealthy nations" delayed in holding of this Ebola menance, but do you really mean what you're saying?
    Mr Annan, when African governments and politicians STEAL , CREAT LOOT AND SHARE the resources meant f ...

• k.baah 9 years ago

I do not expect this from Kofi Annan. last time i checked i thought there was an organization called the African Union. He should be calling that useless organization to account and not the wealthy nations. the only reason wh ...

• EZE 9 years ago

I DO NOT SEE THE REASON WHY THIS KOFI ANNAN MAN DID NOT HELP AFRICA TO PUT SOME CHEK& BALANCES AT PLACE DURING THE TENURE OF HIS POST. HE KNOWS AFRICA COUNTRIES MUST BE ABLE TO STAND ON THIER OWN TO SOLVE THIER PROBLEMS EFFE ...

• Swapna Guduru 9 years ago

Kofi Annan is certainly wrong on this one. Ebola started in Africa as far back as 1976 and what did African governments do until now?

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The West do not owe us anything after independence. African leaders have failed their people by not tackling Ebola while pilfering from their small national coffers.

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

You are correct.

• abdallah(Madrid) 9 years ago

They want us to learn more then to like money
    Africans we like money more then our lifes
    continent where doctors have turned to politician

• Odasanibi 9 years ago

The disease is already here so let us deal with it as much as we can with all the resources at hand. This is not the time to point fingers but to help those who need our help. On this note, i hope the GFA does not accept to h ...

• k.baah 9 years ago

preservation. Kofi Annan is a good man and has done a lot of work for the international community but sometimes i just wish he will use his influence to help his native ghana battle corruption and africa as a whole.

• Kwame 9 years ago

AND PLEASE MAY BE MAHAMA AND THE NDC WILL LISTEN TO YOU THE CORRUPTION IS TOO MUCH AND WE THE ORDINARY PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING

• Kwame 9 years ago

AND PLEASE MAY BE MAHAMA AND THE NDC WILL LISTEN TO YOU THE CORRUPTION IS TOO MUCH AND WE THE ORDINARY PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING

• tellthetruth 9 years ago

We Africans should not always blame the developed world for our problems. They are human just like us. They didn't develop through the attitudes that we have, but through hard work and sacrifice for each other. It's high time ...

• Prempeh 1 9 years ago

Master you're correct, let us take our own country Ghana for instance, When we gained our independence from Britain, we started very good on development and scientific socialism, building industries creating a lot of jobs for ...

• Kojo. 9 years ago

Lack of basic hygiene is the cause of this ebola virus. Why don't we invest in ensuring that alll primary schools have hand washing basins to teach our young generations that hand washing after using the toilets is the norm. ...

• Kojo. 9 years ago

Blame African Government for failing the people and rather investing in producing more children into the world with lack of basic concerns for hygiene ie hand washing basins in all primary schools. Nkrumah said independance n ...

• Sam 9 years ago

EBOLA did not start in Africa but was planted in Africa.

• Ndebugre 9 years ago

When you were the UN General Secretary, were you able to stop the massacre in Rwanda? stupid Ass.

• Military Man 9 years ago

Go and check your facts before you open your dirty mouth and your illiterate mind to spew garbage at someone you are not fit even to shine his shoes.

Kofi Annan was NOT the UN Secretary -General during the Rwandan crisis.

• 0243578657 9 years ago

ADMISSION INTO SHS 1, 2 AND REMEDIAL SCHOOL FOR 2014/2015 ACADEMIC YEAR.

It is announced for the information of prospective applicants that Cambridge Senior High School is admitting students into SHS 1, 2 and the Remedial ...

• Kwame USA 9 years ago

Are we incapable of finding cures for our own diseases?

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

If you behave as a fugitive in the USA and then does not apply your brain by your labour for scanty money for your survival how can you be capable to find cure for your own disease?

• Kwame USA 9 years ago

We cannot rely on Obroni to cure a disease which originates in Africa.

• Agyeman 9 years ago

USA and Europe don't owe you Africans any help and therefore no neglect is there.Get your own research done into tropical medicine,have a competitive pharmaceutical industry and better control of public health.You're wrong co ...

• Darlene Superville 9 years ago

The negro can never accept responsibility, it's always "Whitey" who is doing this or that thing to him or her. Savages.

• Ebbah 9 years ago

All the continent takes Africa for granted. Introducing this virus and try to Implementing it Africa They will never have themselves free they will face the heat affecting nurses in Europe and America is just the beginni ...

• Basty 9 years ago

why won't they neglect us when we are led by damn useless greedy bastards who only think of their stomach.
    Fuck you all those African leaders who aid the western world to milk our resources leaving Africans impoverished.

• kwame mensah 9 years ago

Africans must help themselves.enough of begging is enough.i think if this not stop ,there will come a time the whites will be begged to fuck our wives 4 us.shame on the African continent.

• Eric, Stuttgart 9 years ago

The white rich n wealthy don owe us no s..t. With our big n loud mouths claiming to know everythn, we shld be in a position to find an antidote to the disease. All we know is to beg. Wake up African leaders. Stop wasting your ...

• hon mahadin wa 9 years ago

Truth is one and that is what you have just spoken. But Your execellency during your reign as UN chief there were pockets of Ebola cases in Congo why didn't your outfit initiate the process of getting the west to act? or yet ...

• K.S. 9 years ago

Listen to Mahmoud. It was neglected because it started in Africa? Then who neglected it? We did! It is time we stop blaming everyone else and figure out ways to manage our own problems, like the rest of the world does.

• kofikofi 9 years ago

who should fight Ebola for the continent? what about we becoming serious with developmental issues and education. all we as a continent are interested in is useless activities and corruption...think about what happened in the ...

• Jason 9 years ago

Look at the whole break..

African citizens and their governments are stupid! How come, the desease started in first place? They are not telling the truth!

Europe and US don't care because they know it can be cured...and ...

• Gyam Korrowii 9 years ago

Where from the virus in the first place?Americans DOCTORS created the virus and the world is watching, the World is full of coward and evil human.American gods in this mother earth satan sent in this world to destroy African. ...

• Timur 9 years ago

Kofi Annan is a disgrace to all of Africa. EBOLA is a Biological Weapon Made by ( U.S. Military and Big Pharma) Read the Book "EMRGING VIRUSES" by Dr. Leonard Horowitz

• Sir kobby 9 years ago

We need God's intervention

• Mitchel , Texas 9 years ago

Mr Man, why pushing everything to other countries? Africans can't sit down and reason a bit to solve their own problem?. Africans suck too much..
    stop licking pussy always and use ur brains cuz u're fuckin human too.

How come you are not listed as one of the prominent persons in the world? Mitchell from Texas invented.....?

• bold 9 years ago

I hope you are in Texas, well then u are worried, its there, find out who manufactured that shit virus to wipe out Africans if u have any brains and why, most of us appear uneducated, not all of us, its in your home and u app ...

• BRAINES 9 years ago

Mitchel is right. Don't blame anyone for your filth. clean your environments and tell your governments to invest in healthcare and education. America does not have all the natural resources ghana has but look at how she has d ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Who told you Americans don't have all the natural resources Ghana have? The only natural resource Ghana have that USA doesn't have is cocoa.

They have 1000 times the oil Ghana have.

They have 1000 times the timber Ghana ...

• nana will fall 9 years ago

David Ansah I think you have mental problem, what has Kifo An an said wrong before you are asking if he is drugs,you yourself might be a cocaine and wee addict ,sometimes if you want talk , talk as human being,think before yo ...

• Saka Baah 9 years ago

Yes, Mr Annan, you have hit the hammer right on the nail. When it is against Africa, no problem. Now that the virus is at their doorsteps, they are acting. May God save Africa

• SAMO JEWELERY 9 years ago

Call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest designs of yellow n white gold rings to choose from for yr wedding n engagement........locally design rings soo perfect n accurate with superb finnish touches.....u call also ...

• OWUOMPOSURO 9 years ago

This "EBOLA"& AIDS are a man made disease.

• Joeking 9 years ago

Mr Anann we need your help in Africa now

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

No

• OBAA SIMA 9 years ago

KOFI ANANE, SHUT THE F**K UP, WHAT DID YOU DO FOR AFRICA? YOU IN PARTICULAR COULD HAVE DELT BETTER WITH THE ISSUE OF THE RWANDA GENOCIDE AND IT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED. IF YOU THE AFRICAN CAN NEGLECT AFRICANS WHEN YOU WE ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Obaa Sima it seems you never followed the reports about the Rwanda Genocide. Despite Annans effort it was the descision of the then Canadian General at that time whose deals caused the misunderstanding of the International co ...

• Prempeh 1 9 years ago

Thats correct, my brother, we handled this on conference about Iraq war, at that time my Boss, who was a retired Director General of IAEA, Mr Blix was appointed as Special U.N Inspector on Iraq's Weapons of Mass destructions ...

• GHANABA NO 1 9 years ago

GOD HELP US

• PA 9 years ago

You're influencing Mahama that he doesn't want to put temporary ban on the free movement of the people from most infested countries with deadly disease. We should be wise. More than 30 countries in Africa have put temporary ...

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

WHAT ABOUT OUR OWN LEADERS. YOU HEAR OF KORLE BU BOARD BUYING SOME OF THE MOST EXPENSIVE AUDI MODELS WHEN THERE IS NO WATER FOR WARDS AND NO STANDBY GENERATORS. OUR GOVERNMENTS HAVE GOT THEIR PRIORITIES WRONG AND LEFT OUR HEA ...

• Agyei Martin Jnr (Asamankese) 9 years ago

when the pig turns it's berry upward the sky..it over turns it's back by it self...Annan is right.the governments are responsible in providing the tactical resources to enable the WHO to help fight the deadly VIRUS

• MANY FAKE PASTORS - NO SCIENTIST 9 years ago

MR KOFI SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER LAZY AFRICANS . IT'S EASY FOR YOU TO POINT FINGERS BUT YOU DON'T KNOW HOW TO TELL GHANAIANS HOW TO IMPROVE THEIR RESEARCH AND STUDY HARD FOR BETTER FUTURE . STOP DEPENDING ON WHITES . NKRUMAH ...

• jojo 9 years ago

we need to stop blaming the white man for every thing and start taking care of our own business. all these countries with rich resources yet we've let a corrupt few run them down by enriching themselves instead of building in ...

• ODEHYEEBA KAAKYIRE. 9 years ago

Yes, I said it from day one that, this EBOLA disease was manufactured by the whites bcos they have seen we the Africans are outnunbering them. H.E. Kofi Annan will one day come out clearly and tell us the truth. Papa Busummu ...

• Captein 9 years ago

Considetr the war in Iraq that Annan war against what happened?

His house was not mowed fo months and janitors were removed.

second term for UN SG was not supported by powers that be.

The war led ti ISIL, hundreds of ...

• SANTROFI 9 years ago

Western lackey black man black sense Kofi Annan, despite his so-called international standing and exposure to Western politics, still expect the WEST to solve Africa's self-inflicted challenges like the EBOLA outbreak.

Afr ...

• BRAINES 9 years ago

DO NOT BLAME THE WEST FOR YOUR TROUBLES. STOP EATING MONKEYS AND THE BUSH MEAT. MOREOVER AFRIACNS ESPECIALLY GHANA TALKS ABOUT PUBLIC HEALTH CONCERN BECAUSE THE CONTINENT BALMES THE WHITE MAN FOR HER WOES. CLEAN YOUR GUTTERS ...

• kojo dk 9 years ago

Wht independence, we didn't got it and we wil never have it, they left because they achieved wht they came in for before we asked for our independent. For 8oo years their doctrine they set-up is flourishing 10 house is to chu ...

• Kwame VS Kofi 9 years ago

What does the AU do about helping Liberia, Sierra Leone Guinnea and the DRC? I`ll tell you: NOTHING!
    As usual, it`s the US, Europe, etc.. who are on the ground with Doctors and Nurses Volonteering and risking their lives...

• oor 9 years ago

Can one talk his mind on this forum with out being insulted pls a bit decorum is it not a shame tacle the politicos who care only of theirs

• Kwaku Nantwi 9 years ago

Kofi Annan should shut up. What did he do for Rwandans in April, 1994? He was running the United Nations during the genocide, but he and his UN Peacekeeping Forces failed to intervene to save the lives of 850,000 Tutsis. ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 9 years ago

-YOU ARE RIGHT,MR.EX-SEC.GEN.U.N.,THEY NEVER THOUGHT IT WILL SPREAD THAT WAY,BECAUSE EBOLA STARTED FROM AFRICA.THE W.HO,WITH GOVERNMENTS NEVER THOUGHT THAT WILL SPREAD TO OTHER COUNTRIES.NANA KOFI ANNAN,YOU ARE RIGHT.

• Mars1 9 years ago

Excellent analysis of the situation from an absolutely wise man. Africa and the world as a whole must be proud of you as an elder statesman who merits respect and gains it whenever he comments on a subject. Chapeau to you Sir ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

LISTEN TO THE WEATERN-ORIENTED AFRICAN. HE IS ALWAYS EXPECTING OTHERS TO BALE HIM OUT. THEY JUST USED YOU WHEN IT SUITED THEM- YOU ARE NOT THEIR FRIEND. THEY NEVER HAVE BEEN THE FRIENDS OF AFRICA. WHAT WERE THE AFRICAN DOING ...

• adako 9 years ago

Stop the blame game.What advise do you give to African leaders who loot our money.

• me 9 years ago

"they the african countries could have asked for help faster"..."we international community"...

• Asiwome 9 years ago

I can't believe he said that! Who neglected what? What does he do when he is sick?

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Why should Africa,the richest continent in terms of natural resources,depend on the benevolence of the developed countries and go panhandling all the time?
    If the politicians wise up and stop STEALING monies which accrue fr ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WHY BLAME THE WORLD COMMUNITY.

WHERE ARE OUR OWN EDUCATED HEALTH OFFICIALS.

SHOULD THE DEVELOPED SCIENTISTS HAVE TO COME AND DO THE RESEARCH WORK FOR US,

THEY CAN ONLY BE CALLED IN TO SUPPORT US IN OUR EFFORTS, BUT ...

• richie 9 years ago

Mr. Anan i totally agree with you whatever happens in Africa is seen as African problem, it only garnered concern when he (Ebola) stepped on the doorsteps of the US and Europe. Etua wo yonko ho a etua dua mu!

• richie 9 years ago

Whatever happens is seen as African problem. Anyway why cant we Africans try and find solutions to our Problems. Beco
    ause even if Ebola spreads to the world over. They gonna solve their problem before they will help us.

• Phillip Saa Tali, Jr 9 years ago

Amb. Anna, thanks for your analysis and your comment as an African, but I would be grateful were you to look deeper into the health crisis in Africa. Many a time we Africans condemn the West whenever there is/are crises but t ...

• Phillip Saa Tali, Jr 9 years ago

Amb. Annan, thanks for your analysis and your comment as an African, but I would be grateful were you to look deeper into the health crisis in Africa. Many a time we Africans condemn the West whenever there is/are crises, but ...

• Madam T 9 years ago

Weldone, SIR. WHY in BIG letters do we AFRICAN countries have to relay on others countries ALL THE TIME????????Are African countries LEADERS HANDICAPS, They never call us for their diseases, they come to experiments our her ...