A trip to the Aburi Botanical Garden

Read Comments Comments (74)

• mama Ghana 9 years ago

disappointing

• Kay 9 years ago

This country is doomed.

• NANA,native of Aburi 9 years ago

The most annoying aspect of this is John Mahama appointee(DCE of Aburi) even had the effrontery to go and cut down trees which have been there for over 200yrs.Ghana is doomed no good leaders

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Hay arsehole, why blamed Mahama on this one too? This situation has been ongoing since Nkrumah left the podium. Be smart the next time around, Capish?

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BORDERS 9 years ago

WELL SAID

• SENDERO 9 years ago

I visited the Botanical Gardens in Aburi in 1974 and the place was wonderful. Interestingly, the UST Botanical gardens was just as nice - well maintained, wonderful flora etc

NKrumah's departure has nothing to do with its ...

• Kofi B 9 years ago

Don't give credit to Nkrumah, this place was well kept because it used to house some Europeans who made sure the place was maintained.

• SENDERO 9 years ago

Thanks for this. The going on everyday about a man who bankrupted our country is unbelievable. Yes he had some great triumphs but also had stunning failures.

When Nkrumah came to power our national debt was 15 million poun ...

• ICONIC-07 9 years ago

CORRUPT KUFFOUR WAS IN POWER FOR EIGHT (8) SOLID YEARS AND TURNED BLIND EYE TO THE BEAUTIFUL ABURI GARDEND IN THE HEART OF NPP STRONGHOLD AND UNINTELLIGENT RALPH IS BLAMING THE MAHAMA GOVERNMENT. ITS ALL THE USUAL INWARD-LOOK ...

• NANA KUFUOR 9 years ago

Sendero, some of you just write things you dont know. I hope you managed to read some books during the independence era. When Nkrumah came, how many schools, factories, roads, harbours.....you name it did he build? Tell me wh ...

• James Naru 9 years ago

i AGREE WITH YOU 100%

• SENDERO 9 years ago

How much money did the Brtish leave him - 400 million poudns which was a monster sum of money in those days? How many of the factories made a profit - only about 4 so not suprisingly JJ sold all of them. Also how much money d ...

• Asiedu Nketia 9 years ago

Ghanaians can never discuss a simple thing without bringing in Nkrumah that , Nkrumah failed us, Nkrumah, that.....oh poor citizens, all awhile they reside in overseas and not helping with the in Ghana's development.....

• GENERAL DeGAULE 9 years ago

Poignant you should mention Nkrumah. No Ghanaian leader apart from him has had the foresight to develop the country in its entirety based on a DEVELOPMENT PLAN. All they do is chop and chop. When Kuffor's term was about to ex ...

• SENDERO 9 years ago

Nkrumah had nothing to do with Aburi Botanical Gardens which was in good shape until the early 1980s!

Haba!

• BB 9 years ago

Who said animals can govern themselves?.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

They have been collecting money everyday from tourist both far and near yet the Aburi Botanical Garden has stayed the same ever since.

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

I have harbored similar sentiments over the past several years about Aburi Gardens, since I have made it my sanctuary whenever I visit Ghana. primarily because of the climate and tranquil nature of the mountain resort, in com ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

An even more sickening scenario is that, the politicians have managed to maintain their Trasaco Village mansions in immaculate conditions. They find the money to buy new cars, build new petrol stations and supermarkets. Ghana ...

• Frank Ben 9 years ago

The black man is capable of mismanaging his own affairs

• FOYOOSIS 9 years ago

.....Reasons enough why management of the black race should go to the white man!

• Uncle Jimmy 9 years ago

The residents of that area must take pride of the Garden and to keep it.The same thing must be done with the birthplace of Nkrumarh.

• DHURUWAH 9 years ago

These are some of the things that make the UP and the NPP look bad they came and destroyed everything Nkrumah did. They let them all rot. OMG and they want to be in power with a dwarf in the lead. The gardens was a national t ...

• Say the TRUTH 9 years ago

Please Go check your facts well - Aburi Botnical Gardens WAS NOT CREATED BY KWAME NKRUMAH BUT RATHE BY THE COLONIAL REGIME SO dON'T bRING YOUR CPP/UP STUFF IN!!!
    THE FACT IS GHANA'S CULTURE OF MAINTENANCE IS VERY POROUS!!!! ...

• Meemuna Ibrahim 9 years ago

Porous! That's rather an C. None existent is more like it. Can you give me the equivalent word for 'maintenance' in any Ghanaian language of your choice? I'd give you a million Cedis if you are successful!!!

Porous? That's rather an understatement. None existent is more like it. Can you give me the equivalent word for 'maintenance' in any Ghanaian language of your choice? I'd give you a million Cedis if you are successful!!!

• SENDERO 9 years ago

University of Science of Technology was the dream of Prempeh I and his brother Prempeh II

The 1948 Watson Report noted that Tech was to be built. This was a result of the post-Legon pressure for a UNiversity in Asante.

• JOHN 9 years ago

I come from Aburi and I know for a fact that Aburi Gardens was there before Nkrumah was born.

• Prempeh 1 9 years ago

Of course, thats absolutely correct, but at least he(Osagyefo) kept an eye of maintaining it and that looks more beautiful for tourist attraction, now look at the condition, just ask yourself, honestly would Osagyefo ever liv ...

• Nana 9 years ago

I don't know why people use this platform to throw insult and to do politics whereby this not the issue of politics it the issue of all Ghanaians to raise and do something to help mother Ghana than waiting on people or politi ...

• James Naru 9 years ago

Nana I agree with you. Let us find a way to build this country into a preferred tourist destination in West Africa. I see places like Elmina, Cape Coast and all other castles dotted along the coast as places that would attr ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 9 years ago

NDC&NPP are partners in crime, Aburi Gardens is a national disgrace, tha roads inside and around the gardens are terrible, there's no flag on the flagpole, the housing is a mess, government workers are residing in renovated c ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 9 years ago

NDC&NPP are partners in crime, Aburi Gardens is a national disgrace, tha roads inside and around the gardens are terrible, there's no flag on the flagpole, the housing is a mess, government workers are residing in renovated c ...

• John,Tema 9 years ago

You're ignorant,Aburi Botanical Gardens is a scientific research station for trees/flowers specifically established over 250yrs ago for the state of Ghana.No town & I repeat no town in Ghana can fund that place on its own.

• eagle 9 years ago

@John Tema..U are fully right my brother, its a state property and its only the state that can maintain the Aburi Botanic Gardens. Who should use his/her peanut salary to maintain the place?

• omanba 9 years ago

GOD HELP GHANA. MY LAST TRIP IN THE 90S WAS NICE

• Nkunim 9 years ago

Cry o my beloved country.

• kaka 9 years ago

who is in charge, parks and gardens? local government? let the chiefs and the youth take over to transform the place. they can pay taxes to the govt

• Kojo Amos , New York, USA 9 years ago

Aburi Garden used to be Ghana Tourist attraction destination. These photos show why Ghana should not pride itself of any achievement since Independence.Everything is filthy in Ghana.

And we still blame the white man

• ghanaman 9 years ago

Compare and contrast this with a day when elsewhere The fourth annual Pumpkin Village has opened as part of the Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Garden’s annual Autumn Festival! Couldn't we as a nation take better care of a ven ...

• sulley 9 years ago

Why should this garden not be privatized? It will be better managed if it is in the hands of a private person or even in the hands of a group of people. I would suggest.

• MATETE 9 years ago

We have a bad maintenance culture which has been worsened by over politicization of government properties. Whoever is de MP fr de area must WAKE UP now. This was one of de famous tourist attractions in 30yrs back

• Great man 9 years ago

Maintenance in africa no no no..

I took some visitors there not too long ago and felt irredeemably ashamed. Truly awful!

• Lexus 9 years ago

How much does a gallon of paint cost ...... for such a national treasure?

• Reality 9 years ago

Why don't we give this heavenly place up for private partnership!!

• The mask 9 years ago

The Aburi botanical gardens is great. Bunso arboretum, which is much wider, offers a canopy walkway in addition to a botanical gardens and lacks the rocky terrain of Aburi.

However Aburi offers a conducive weather which al ...

• yellow 9 years ago

Eiii state assets. What's wrong with Ghanaians?

• Mr. Green 9 years ago

As an African, Iam not wonder to see such a horrible picture from Aburi Garden. I think we can not maitain things to last for longer. our privete people dont help. they rather prefere paying money to churches making the pasto ...

• Kojo Ayew 9 years ago

Very sad indeed the pictures send through the memory lane. I schooled at the great Presbyterian Boys' Boarding School from 1958 to 1960 and came back to the town in 1978 to 1980 to teach at the then Presbyterian Women's Trai ...

• Kwaagyebi Kofi 9 years ago

Well, well, well. After reading this article and comments by many others, may I suggest that we put politics aside and set in motion comprehensive plan to do something about the sorry state of Aburi Gardens. It would have to ...

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

What a shame. Total humiliation and outright disgrace. Kumasi was our garden city but, Aburi was the garden capital. When we had our yearly Eastern Regional Athletic competitions, I clearly remember when my school's athletic ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

OPAYIN RALF WRECK.

THIS REALLY CONFIRMS OUR LACK OF FORESIGHT AND VISION IN PUTTING OUR NATION ON THE RIGHT TRACK OF SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT.

RATHER, THE SO CALLED EDUCATED PEOPLE APPOINTED TO POSITIONS AT THE PUBLIC SE ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

What a shame black man do not like beauty what is going on in our country so we can't maintain anything in this country look at our roads water electricity even government buildings we built nice house and buy expensive car ...

• OFIE 9 years ago

OH GOODNESS. I am from "ofie".You know what, turn the whole place over to the Chinese who wanted to do something with it.Please sit down with them and come up with a good deal whereby no one looses. What is wrong with us at a ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

TO THE NECESSARY INFORMNATION AND ATTENTION OF.

KOFI ANNAN, GHANAIAN PROFESSORS AT DEVELOPED WORLD UNIVERSITIES AND THOSE SERVING AT INSTITUTIONS AND AGENCIES IN THE WORLD.

SHOLD THESE PICTURES MAKE US PROUD AS GHANAIAN ...

• Dr.Amponsem 9 years ago

Here we are agaian blaming the present government for the poor conditions of the Auri gardens.As any person can tell from the conditions of the buildings,gardens paths and lanes etc.,the Aburi gardens have been neglected for ...

• Dr.med.Acquah 9 years ago

Watching horror pictures? What a shame!We have senseless and belly political leaders!No brains at all!

• Agya Pa 9 years ago

I visited a cousin who used to work at the Aburi gardens in 1967 and I could not believe how beautiful the place was and am not surprised how the garden looks now but it brings tears to my eyes and has shattered the great mem ...

• Kojo Nii 9 years ago

I was an education officer in the gardens from 1998-2000 when I resigned to join the media bcos the management, under George owusu Afriyie, was not ready to help make the gardens productive! He hid under political colours to ...

• diaba k 9 years ago

The fact of the matter is that MAINTENANCE of property has never been part of Ghanaian culture. It is sad but that has to be said.

Could the management of the Botanical garden even remember the last day maintenance of the ...

• John Agbo 9 years ago

I am surprised no one gave credit to the whistle blower in this case. Please, let us give constructive criticisms and offer corrective advise to the 'powers that be' as far as renovating this garden is concerned. Finally, sto ...

• Grace 9 years ago

This is a very good article, I was there August of this year 2014 and was sad to see this place because I attended Aburi Girls in 1980 's and this the place we always brag about to our friends, to me, they have to renovate ...

• victor Ablorh 9 years ago

Neglect of national assets and creating new ones depicts immaturity.shame to greedy politicians who have ruin Ghana

• James Naru 9 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT IS CONTEMPLATING A NUCLEAR POWER PLANT AND WE CANNOT MAINTAIN A SIMPLE BOTANICAL GARDEN

• Asem 9 years ago

NOTHING WORKS IN GHANA ANYMORE. MAYBE GHANAIANS WILL VOTE WISELY NEXT TIME. EMBASSIES BROKE, POTAG, UTAG NURSES, PHARMACISTS, DOCTORS, JUDGES ETC ETC ARE ALL NOT PAID. OOOH GHANA OH MI MISERUM.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

What the NPP government do for Aburi Gardens? Nothing. Both NPP and NDC share equal blame, along with the past military clowns who headed Ghana for shorts periods of time.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

This was one of the best in Africa before Nkrumah's overthrow. Everyone leader that has followed has been either a crook or visionless and woefully inept. Ghanains can forget about nation-building, for the various leaders tha ...

• baba 9 years ago

surprised???????

• 'Prof 'Kweku Donsuro 9 years ago

Bring back Kwame Nkrumah's Ministry of Parks and Gardens.

• Eric 9 years ago

Just Google Villa Escudero, Philippines and you will see what they have done with a similar facility like our Aburi and it is raking in money for them.

• Bukari (From Bole) 9 years ago

It is now looking like one of the most beautiful streets in Bole, the home of the president who is supposed to oversee things like this. The man Mahama has no taste of beauty so if he goes there he will enjoy it. He may even ...

• Kojo Atterh-Thompson(Labone) 9 years ago

Some of our politicians are killing the spirit of patriotism and nationalism in the citizens by thier actions.They must learn to live up to expectation and do something to save our dear country, GHANA.