It is all part of the delay tactics to until the next elections is over and then they let him go. Why are Betty and Bart not getting prosecuted? Amidu has been our savior, he has been the one pursuing the Woyome and not government. Government fired him when he blew the whistle. What fight has Mahama fighting? Must be some amateur boxing or something, because we don't see it. After the brouhaha in Brazil, instead of firing the sports minister, he was promoted to the flagstaff house. There is a huge gap between what Mahama say and what is really going on.
facts 11 years ago
Have the NDC and Mahama apologized to Martin Amidu who was sacked for pointing out the truth, I want to know.
Balawo 11 years ago
Mahama is a benefactor of all these shady deals - balawo
Atugabiig 11 years ago
Please get at me if you know of any Sex Therapist in Ghana.
You could send me the information via "repof316@yahoo.com.
Your help will be well appreciated.
Mahmoud 11 years ago
If I may ask, is the NDC new party school another communist ideological institution? The Young Pioneers implanted by Nkrumah in our midst did more harm than good to the development of this country when they usurped power from 1972 to 2001.
Our experience with the quack neo-communists is that, they seize power unjustifiably through coups and counter coups, and Ghanaians only suffer dictatorship, tyranny, corruption and economic mismanagement under them. The NDC being in power now for six years has again failed to improve the economy simply because their fundamentals are wrong. In fact, the country is about to be declared HIPC and they don't have what it takes to salvage the sinking economy.
Under normal circumstances, political parties are formed to produce leaders democratically. But in the case of NDC, a tyrant created the party with state power and resources to legitimize his illegitimate regime and cling to power fraudulently. NDC is therefore, an artificial and illegitimate party followed by stomach politicians and sycophants.
So the question is, how can stomach politicians and sycophants be expected to develop the economy of a nation?
vero 11 years ago
the president must know that People dont take him serious. he is just on paper as prsident. undr him they o what they like and nothing happens.
OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago
Author:..Rastafara"I"...
She just rented a hotel room at market rate!!! People.
Mahama brother took millions from a bank and said he will not pay because his brother is president...
Even a Gyan's brother can beat up ... read full comment
Mahama brother took millions from a bank and said he will not pay because his brother is president...
Even a Gyan's brother can beat up a journalist and walk away free....
Minister of Sports openly stool STATE money with Nyantekyi and he gets promoted...
Sack CHRAJ boss for renting a hotel room? That is the height of hypocrisy...Its not her fault that a third world country a hotel room cost $500 a night
Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago
The Supreme Court has ruled on this matter and ordered Woyome to refund the money he illegally received from the state. I cannot understand why a High Court would still entertaining a case that has been heard by the highest court of the land and final judgement given.
It is just a ploy to let Woyome off. There is nothing left to be decided by the High Court and Woyome should refund the money to the state. Period.
President Mahama, you are an intelligent person and even if you are not a lawyer, you should know that a High Court cannot reverse the decision of the Supreme Court so collect the money from Woyome. Your explanation is very deceptive and insulting to the intelligence Ghanaians.
Obed Adore 11 years ago
Kofi Ata. The ruling was only on the consitutionality of the said contract, which ought to have been presented to and approved by parliament.
It is true the government did not do that. However, the same constitution guarant ... read full comment
Kofi Ata. The ruling was only on the consitutionality of the said contract, which ought to have been presented to and approved by parliament.
It is true the government did not do that. However, the same constitution guarantees against exploitation. Was it for Woyome or the other contracting firms to present contracts to parliament or the government and/or its agemncies?
If the government failed to perform its obligations as enshrined in the constitution, the govt ought to be blamed. From following the stories, especially the stadia contracts the governments did acknowledge that some work was done and therefore must be compensated.. The courts did agree; the AG department did not show up and by default ruled in favour of the contractors. including Woyome.
Tell me, if the government awards you a contract written/non-written, but fails to present the said contract to parliament but has allowed you to do the work (or some of it), wouldn't you collect your money for any purchases etc, and cost of labour? Will say that oh the Supreme Court says that contract was illegal because it did not go through parliamentary approval, so I am going to refund that money.? What about my investment? What about my labour cost? Who should bear them? The answer is the one that failed to present it, and that is the government of Ghana or the govermment agency that messed up big time!
Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago
If you are not KULULU, why start a contract not approved by Parliament?
OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago
Author:..Action...
NIA should not abuse the intelligence of Ghanaians. They should back off the proposed exercise. Elsewhere, parliament will be summoning the NIA boss to answer questions on the floor. But what do we see in Ghana? Hands off until there is a problem and MPs get on their soap boxes. Not too late to act.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago
As if some of us are kids. After a supreme court ruling, what has the high court got to do? John, we were born before the Papa J revolution and we know more.
Obed Adore 11 years ago
Frank, the SC only ruled on the constitutionality of the cases ... Pure and simple, and is very theoretical!
The contractors would still and have the right to go after the government for breach of contract, their investment, ... read full comment
Frank, the SC only ruled on the constitutionality of the cases ... Pure and simple, and is very theoretical!
The contractors would still and have the right to go after the government for breach of contract, their investment, and even interest on the moneys owed! The lower courts saw it and handed their verdicts down, and especially as the AG department failed to put challenges..
Ghanaba Pa 11 years ago
resident John Dramani Mahama has spoken on the Wayome issue and indicated that his government will do what is lawful.
He said although the Supreme Court has ruled on some judgment debts, the Wayome case is still pending in ... read full comment
resident John Dramani Mahama has spoken on the Wayome issue and indicated that his government will do what is lawful.
He said although the Supreme Court has ruled on some judgment debts, the Wayome case is still pending in the High Court. He said, “so we have to wait for that process to be determined in the High Court.”
MAHAMA WILL SAY ANYTHING THAT COMES TO MIND AT THIS POINT OF HIS POLITICAL CAREER MEN IN GHANA HAVE SOLD THEIR BIRTH RIGHT FOR BRIBES.
Brainy Guy 11 years ago
Thanks for nothing! The president assertion is wrong. The supreme court is the final arbiter. A ruling by the Supreme Court cannot be refereed to a lower court for final decision. I am surprised and shocked that this presient would make such an outrageous statement.
BR= 11 years ago
LEAVE THAT FOR ATTA MILLS
Abaji 11 years ago
Was Mahama not his deputy when the money was given to him
Tweet 11 years ago
They are the same incompetent NDC presidents. Can you go and ask atta mess at the asomdwe park on Mahamas behalf? Mahama did worse things just because of his 39 family and big hip concubines
Hope 11 years ago
History recognizes you! You have silenced your critics.
Gye Nyame 11 years ago
Mahama sold Merchant bank for peanuts in order to cover his brother's debt, so where is the fight he is talking about? I guess this thief of a president does not get it. Talk is cheap but most of us and now the international bodies are beginning to "poopoo" what he says.
TEE 11 years ago
MAHAMA IS EXPERT IN DUPING STATE FUNDS
TEE 11 years ago
MAHAMA THE THIEF
Efo 11 years ago
Waiting for what, is just delaying tactics to rub Peter to pay Paul. To steal from Ghana coffins to give it back to Woyome in order to cover your mess and people involve in this saga.
Dagomba na 11 years ago
Your bottom is hot.
ghana 11 years ago
pls President stop talking n work.u are still giving people unessary job titles yet u complain of wage bill mumu prez
Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 11 years ago
One thing the president said that is so stupid is that some of the culprits are foreign... Kwasea, you know that they are foreign but you saw the way to pay them an undeserved judgement debt. Why not walk on the same path to retrieve the money the same way you foolishly gave it to them? Kwase. We know that fifty percent of the money is with you and your family and we will make sure that you pay it back before you are shot in the face before 2016 elections. Kwaseampanin, aboa kwasea.
Edem 11 years ago
Corruption by NDC and it's appointees to fund political activities ,build new office complex,acquire properties, build filling stations, SADA ,subah Woyome NSS, Gyeeda ,dubious oil contracts, CP, Vamed,etc. Fix these!
Kanawu 11 years ago
Mr Mahama you are playing games with Ghanaians. What is lawful. Go straight to the point. Are you going to get Wayome money or not. That is what the people of Ghana want to know. Any future government be it Nana or any future president will investigate the unparalleled bribery & corruption in the history of Ghana. And you and Late Atta Mills will go down in history as "weaker than Liman" administration
BOSS 11 years ago
I am surprised at some people, what good thing has Mahama done here that some people are praising him. All he has done is his usual thing- Talk, Talk, Talk and we never see any action. You are fighting against corruption by bringing people involved in corruption to the seat of Government to protect them. Please give us a break Sir, and this time around do something besides talking.
kk 11 years ago
I don't think you have any morality to chase this money because you are part of the create loot share. God punish you and your family one day.
Prof 11 years ago
YOU! Mr Perez,God will punish you for saying the AG is working on it, for how long Mr lover boy
Ugly Akufo Addo 11 years ago
We believe u
KOJO 11 years ago
What should we do now? the Supreme court is saying that we should go for our money from Woyome. Mr Mahama is saying that we should wait for High court rule. Yooo, we are waiting. this is Supreme court verses High court part 1 and 2.
good boy 11 years ago
Thank u mahama
Affordable 11 years ago
Instead of finding means to retrieve those monies and subsequently prosecuting them, your government goes after people like Eric Amoateng who has already served time for his crime. He didn't make that passport whiles in prison. Your consulate did because the US authorities sure had consulted with the Embassy. Go after Woyome, ISOFOTON, GYEEDA, SUBAH, NSS officials and bring us our monies.
jdm loote nd share 11 years ago
MAHAMA IS A LOOOSER PERIOD
Ghanaian 11 years ago
Just listen to the president presenting an excuse as to why we cannot retrieve some of these monies: "... because the companies do not have any local assets of any worth!" So what can the president do about that? What precautions are we taking to ensure that this does not happen again ever in this country? Come again,Mr President.
Is the president hoping that the High Court will arrive at a verdict different from what the Supreme Court has decided? Just ask Wayo,e to refund the money now according to the Supreme Court's ruling, and when the High Court makes any decision, we will see to it that it is implemented. But please do not use the High Court case as an excuse for not collecting the money now!
Brainy Guy 11 years ago
I may be wrong. But I thought the high court was the final arbiter. Or in Ghana the legal system is different. So in case the lower court rules in favor of Woyome, then what? Does this President knows the law of the land or he is exercising intentional negligence?
Obed Adore 11 years ago
Hey man, do not confuse people!
The ruling was only on the consitutionality of the said contract, which ought to have been presented to and approved by parliament.
In short, the SC rulling states that government contracts ... read full comment
The ruling was only on the consitutionality of the said contract, which ought to have been presented to and approved by parliament.
In short, the SC rulling states that government contracts have to be approved by parliament but since the said contracts did not pass through this approval process, the contract then become illegal So, in theory any related debts could not have been honoured.
This is true the government did not do that.
However, the same constitution guarantees against exploitation. Was it for Woyome or the other contracting firms to present contracts to parliament or the government and/or its agemncies?
If the government failed to perform its obligations as enshrined in the constitution, the govt ought to be blamed.
From following the stories, especially the stadia contracts the governments did acknowledge that some work was done and therefore must be compensated.. The courts did agree; the AG department did not show up and by default ruled in favour of the contractors including Woyome.
Tell me, if the government awards you a contract written/non-written, but fails to present the said contract to parliament but has allowed you to do the work (or some of it), wouldn't you collect your money for any purchases etc, and cost of labour? Will say that oh the Supreme Court says that contract was illegal because it did not go through parliamentary approval, so I am going to refund that money.? What about my investment? What about my labour cost? Who should bear them? The answer is the one that failed to present it, and that is the government of Ghana or the govermment agency that messed up big time!
Having said that work not done should not be paid for. And so if any moneys have been paid for jobs undone, those moneys need be refunded to the state.
Brainy Guy 11 years ago
Mahama's statement ids a complete fallacy and outrageous lie. A supreme court ruling we all know supersedes that of the high court. We are all aware of the plan of the NDC government in collaboration with the high court judge to delay this case as long as possible to desensitize Ghanaians about the stinking nature of this fraudulent act against the nation. Woyome is being shielded to avoid him going alone and eventually spilling the beans about how he collaborated with The NDC to dupe this country. No amount of delaying tactics would prevent Ghana from recovering our money back. In fact I have lost respect for this president.
DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 11 years ago
currupt president
asiedu nketia 11 years ago
see how the NDC kids write their comments. they dont even read the article, they just comment base on the heading. funny comments. keep it up. hahahahaha...
MUSA YANGA 11 years ago
MAMAHA YOU ARE A DISGRACE YOUR FACE LOOKS LIKE AN ARMED ROBBER . KROFOU , JULOR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yaa 11 years ago
Who do you think you are fooling, Mr President? You and your people have come to chop. You have chopped well. You are still chopping. And you have no intention of stopping. So can you and your Team Zeta stop pulling this crap and leave us to make our own judgement about just how bad a state our country is in? Your attempts to reassure achieve exactly the opposite.
Papa Yaw. 11 years ago
No
No
Osofo 11 years ago
They used some of the cash to build NDC's modern headquarters complex. Ndceivers.
imPOSSIBLE 11 years ago
Sorry I may be off-shore. Which is above the other: High Court or Supreme Court? Anyway a day is coming where all these socio-economic and social injustices would be well justified.
Kofi - USA 11 years ago
SO MR. PREZ HOW MUCH MONEY HAS YOUR ADMINISTRATION RETRIEVED SO FAR? NONE!!!!!
Bandana 11 years ago
Pepeni are your hands clean yourself
confidence 11 years ago
WHEN U DEAL WITH CORRUPTION GO BACK AND DEAL WITH YOUR PRESIDENTIAL JET SAGA ALSO, THAT ONE IS IMPORTANT.
VOICE OF REASON 11 years ago
Is that what this dump president wants Ghaniains to believe? Why did he not let the High Court swear him in as president ? Where did we go wrong as a nation to deserve such a dumb and corrupt president ?
mahama for2016
YEAH
It is all part of the delay tactics to until the next elections is over and then they let him go. Why are Betty and Bart not getting prosecuted? Amidu has been our savior, he has been the one pursuing the Woyome and not gover ...
If I may ask, is the NDC new party school another communist ideological institution? The Young Pioneers implanted by Nkrumah in our midst did more harm than good to the development of this country when they usurped power from ...
Even a Gyan's brother can beat up ...
The Supreme Court has ruled on this matter and ordered Woyome to refund the money he illegally received from the state. I cannot understand why a High Court would still entertaining a case that has been heard by the highest c ...
It is true the government did not do that. However, the same constitution guarant ...
NIA should not abuse the intelligence of Ghanaians. They should back off the proposed exercise. Elsewhere, parliament will be summoning the NIA boss to answer questions on the floor. But what do we see in ...
The contractors would still and have the right to go after the government for breach of contract, their investment, ...
He said although the Supreme Court has ruled on some judgment debts, the Wayome case is still pending in ...
Thanks for nothing! The president assertion is wrong. The supreme court is the final arbiter. A ruling by the Supreme Court cannot be refereed to a lower court for final decision. I am surprised and shocked that this presie ...
Mahama sold Merchant bank for peanuts in order to cover his brother's debt, so where is the fight he is talking about? I guess this thief of a president does not get it. Talk is cheap but most of us and now the international ...
MAHAMA THE THIEF
Your bottom is hot.
One thing the president said that is so stupid is that some of the culprits are foreign... Kwasea, you know that they are foreign but you saw the way to pay them an undeserved judgement debt. Why not walk on the same path to ...
Mr Mahama you are playing games with Ghanaians. What is lawful. Go straight to the point. Are you going to get Wayome money or not. That is what the people of Ghana want to know. Any future government be it Nana or any future ...
I am surprised at some people, what good thing has Mahama done here that some people are praising him. All he has done is his usual thing- Talk, Talk, Talk and we never see any action. You are fighting against corruption by b ...
We believe u
What should we do now? the Supreme court is saying that we should go for our money from Woyome. Mr Mahama is saying that we should wait for High court rule. Yooo, we are waiting. this is Supreme court verses High court part 1 ...
Thank u mahama
Instead of finding means to retrieve those monies and subsequently prosecuting them, your government goes after people like Eric Amoateng who has already served time for his crime. He didn't make that passport whiles in priso ...
Just listen to the president presenting an excuse as to why we cannot retrieve some of these monies: "... because the companies do not have any local assets of any worth!" So what can the president do about that? What precaut ...
I may be wrong. But I thought the high court was the final arbiter. Or in Ghana the legal system is different. So in case the lower court rules in favor of Woyome, then what? Does this President knows the law of the land or ...
In short, the SC rulling states that government contracts ...
Mahama's statement ids a complete fallacy and outrageous lie. A supreme court ruling we all know supersedes that of the high court. We are all aware of the plan of the NDC government in collaboration with the high court judge ...
currupt president
Who do you think you are fooling, Mr President? You and your people have come to chop. You have chopped well. You are still chopping. And you have no intention of stopping. So can you and your Team Zeta stop pulling this crap ...
No