Why his complaining about that . U forget that any u who be in power do the some thing . npp neck the some people so do worry ok . Wait n see if np come to power n we shall see what u will say about that
Rentals 11 years ago
His reason for the complaints is in the article. Read it again and stop politicizing the issue. Apart from the reason he gave, the country is losing a lot of money on too many MPs who don't even attend meetings. There are times they don't get a quorum to deliberate on important issues. Most of them have become contractors and businessmen on the side. Read my post on the ratio of lawmakers versus the population in the US and Ghana. Thank you.
Re: Okponglo Guy Wo maame twe 11 years ago
SHUT UP YOU IDIOT YOU DONT KNOW WHT YOU TALKING ABOUT
Correction Officer 11 years ago
He knows what he is talking about. You should rather shut up since you have nothing sensible to contribute to this issue. If what he said is hitting you hard then that is good. Stay in your Okponglo village and stop being a Fool.
GHANA 11 years ago
WHY DID THEY DO IT THE TIME THE WERE ON POWER? THAT IS AN INSULT TO WE GHANAIANS
Ghanaba, USA 11 years ago
Considering the physical size of the country, population, government expenditure on salaries (and corresponding revenue or the lack thereof), infrastructure – roads, bridges, water plants, electricity plant, sanitation facilities, inputs f to expand some basic industries, etc.; I cannot fathom how the government can support 270 MPs who do not contribute nothing significant except to promote corruption and nepotism and sometime steal our scarce resources. We need strong nationalistic, patriotic, selfless leaders who will bite the bullet (damn the consequences) and revive our country.
May be it is time for another REAL revolution!!! Damn the NDC and NPP.
facts 11 years ago
24m with more than 200 MPs, as poor as we are? There is something wrong. Thank God he is an MP himself who has voiced this out. Waste of funds. People who could not have been chosen to serve on the town development committees are now MPs. We really need to do something about it.
AME, USA 11 years ago
It is high time the good people of Ghana speak up. These MPs are paid verattractive salaries with no work done. I am not sure whether they pay taxes and utilities. They have been pampered for too long. we should have 5 MPs in each region and send the rest of them home. the huge money for their salaries should be channelled into education and health, we neeed good drinking water for every village in Ghana. Enough is enough
fred 11 years ago
what you are talking about. Ghana indeed is full of illiterates
ELINAN 11 years ago
He claims the super MPs will be expensive but will give us good governance as if the word good governance alone without law and order will take us to the promise land.
He wants it to be like the british, a dream he so much ... read full comment
He claims the super MPs will be expensive but will give us good governance as if the word good governance alone without law and order will take us to the promise land.
He wants it to be like the british, a dream he so much cherish. A COPY CAT OF THE 5TH DIMENSION.
Osei Akoto 11 years ago
DECENTRALIZE FOR REGIONS TO BEAR THE COST OF MPs IN THE REGION OR DISTRICTS TO PAY THEIR MPs. WITH THAT THEY CAN EMPLOY 100 MPs FOR EACH REGION IF THEY WISH.STOP THE MADNESS IN GOVT EXPENDITURE.
Kojo 11 years ago
No politics? Ok, why should OSEI KYEI MENSAH BONSU attack Afari Gyan in the person of EC? He was accusing the EC but he had Afari Gyan in mind hence his use of 'he' to refer for the EC, unless you want to tell the that Mensah Bonsu used the 'he' figuratively.
ELINAN 11 years ago
Reduce the damn thing to 4 per a region and give power to the districts and let them come from their homes and hall and chambers.
liv 11 years ago
Very funny Elinan, If I had a choice it will 1 MP for every region.
Concerned citizen 11 years ago
Mr. Rentals, this is one thing I always talk about that is not helping our country. People like you always equate wrong with wrong. Because NPP did it, NDC can also do it even if the whole country must suffer. What kind people are you? What is your brain made of? Did you read the reasons of the law maker? Why are we behaving as if we do not have grey matter inside our heads. You think about it, even in America, the richest country in the world with over 300 million people has around 400. By population, America is more than a dozen (12x) times more than Ghana. Can somebody start to do critical thinking for Ghana?
Concerned citizen 11 years ago
Sorry Mr. Rentals, my response was not to you but to Rash
Rentals 11 years ago
In the US, over 300 million people are being represented by 535 congressmen giving you a rough ratio of one congressman to 500,000 people (1:500,000). Ghana's population of about 25 million has 275 parliamentarians, giving you a ratio of about 1:90,000.
Nana Boadaa 11 years ago
so which constituencies and their MPS should be taken out? Maybe the the minority leader wants his constituency to be blacklisted ...its true that the governmentt might be spending so much on the mps, yet , its too late to limit the number, what he could have suggested is the creation of no more constituencies or a freeze on new creations, but to ask for reduction from 275 to 200 would mean 75 constituencies and their respective MPS should be taken off, which is constitutionally impossible and unfathomable.
ELINAN 11 years ago
Laws are not written in blood and stone. We should reduce these lowly animals to 4 per region,period.
Rentals 11 years ago
Nana, if you read the contributions on this forum you will realize that majority are in favor of the reduction. It is doable. The constituencies can be redrawn. All they have to do is to agree for the parties to lose an equal number of seats, unless they see their presence in parliament as a money-making venture instead of representing the interests of the people.
KA 11 years ago
The fact is that there are too many Regions in Ghana. These regions were created ostensibly for development purposes. But how much development and decentralization have taken place in all these years? In reality, the regions were created solely for political and divide and rule reasons. Amalgamate the current regions and subsequently reduce the number of MPs to a meaningful figure of less than 200.
Kwaame 11 years ago
Why should some get 25000 votes and lose out whilst another gets 10,000 and goes to parliament. The politicians just increase the number seats to win votes. We should reduce the number to 150 and redraw voting lines.
KA 11 years ago
Kwame, you have good ideas. But should it be based on population or how much contribution a Region contributes to the national coffers?
It seems to me you are implicitly suggesting a Federal form of Government in Ghana. ... read full comment
Kwame, you have good ideas. But should it be based on population or how much contribution a Region contributes to the national coffers?
It seems to me you are implicitly suggesting a Federal form of Government in Ghana. This will obviously reduce the number of MPs significantly.
I am sure the have-nots will scream from the top of their voices about such proposals.
osei 11 years ago
Thank you Dr. your concern, my best guess is 100 instead of 200 or 275.
Nii-Bi Nuu Kpakpa 11 years ago
Indeed, as if we do not know our right & left, we misplaced our priorities as an independence, sovereign country. We've imposed a self-inflicted hardship on ourselves, & so our people are needlesly suffering. Has our constitution FORCEFULLY, mandate EC to add, add & add our MPs bcoz censures has taken place? Unfortunately, some pple rr bent of defending even BAD things to d detriment of d developmt of our country. The reason: politically expediency & intensionally to steal from d state; but God is watching them.
Ghanaba 11 years ago
EC takes its powers from laws enacted by parliament. Mr. MP you know that you are the cause of the arbitrary increase in number of MPs and it also in your power to fix it. Please do not shift blames to any EC!!!
Rentals 11 years ago
Thank you, Ghanaba. The MPs have allowed so many things to get out of hand. They are simply not doing their work. A lot of issues can be solved on a bi-partisan basis and yet each party wants to score political points. A typical example is how they are toying with the lives of our SSS students. One party says 3 years of SSS education is enough. Another party comes to power and changes it to 4 years and then it comes back to 3 years. Can't the MPs put their heads together and solve this once and for all?
F.L.O.B.A. 11 years ago
osei-kyei mensah should mandate off,so the others to fellow suit
F.L.O.B.A. 11 years ago
osei-kyei mensah should put off his mandete,so others follow the suit
Ghananyobi 11 years ago
Good idea. Tough to implement. Which party will be willing to lose seats in parliament? Best thing cap the number at current level.
Rentals 11 years ago
You've made a good point which can be implemented, but if they want to maintain the 200 seats the two parties can work together with the EC so that they lose equal number of seats. They can lose 37 each and add the remaining one to the 200, making it 201.
Obournana 11 years ago
The MPs should amend the constitution to increase the constituency population to one million instead of the 250 thousand for re-demarcation. Who should do that? It is the job of the MPs. Osei Kyei Mensah should send a proposal to parliament for deliberation instead of cheap political marks he want to score.
Real Abongo 11 years ago
Reduce the number to even 20, thus 2 for every region
Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago
We don't need more than 20 MPs. What do they do there. Rubber stamp? Tweaa. And people call them honorables
Original Ghanaba 11 years ago
I AGREE WITH YOU 100%.
Michael K. Tettevi 11 years ago
It looks as if parliament is congested and congestion produces inefficiency. Clear the mess the earlier the better.
Real Abongo 11 years ago
Waste of cash paying these ppl doing garbage
KO 11 years ago
Both the NPP and NDC are taking advantage of this provision. I have always been against that provision in the constitution. it does not make sense to be increasing the number of MPs. We will eventually have 1000 MPs. I think a poor country like Ghana should not have more than 200 MPs
EC 11 years ago
The country needs just 120 MP's, just 120.
O j Oklahoma City 11 years ago
Thank God someone is thinking beyond the box. Even United state With all the resources and a population of about 370 million has how many lawmakers. Jesus Christ what kind of leaders are we producing?.God save us
who cares 11 years ago
You have my support, a country with 24million population, we don't need that much of MPs.Less than 200 will be okay.
Original Ghanaba 11 years ago
WE ONLY NEED 7O MPS'
NN 11 years ago
Where was Osei the hourable when this law passed by them and the number increased, was he thinking below the box that time? the congestion can be solved by building a larger hall.
Bush Doctor I 11 years ago
How this thieving, backwardly primitive, hunger-stricken, lazy country boasts of such a big parliament is beyond me.
Ugly Akufo Addo 11 years ago
Failed manority leader
Obournana 11 years ago
Does the minority leader knows his job in parliament at all? Or he just make his as a propaganda? Was he not part of Kuffour's administration that increased the number to 230? How can a population of about 25 million have 275 MPs? Are we insane and then blame government of not providing infrastructure in the country? What proposal has Minority leader sent to a committee for deliberations? His empty noise annoys some of us so if he does not know his job, he should shut up. Who should reduce the number, the president or his mother? Maybe, Akuffo Addo can do it. Breakdown, UER, UWR & VR =5 each; NR, BAR & CR = 10 each; ER=20 GAR=30; WR=25; AR=35. All total 150.
Commonsense 11 years ago
We need Federal System so that each region will use its resources for development, period.
mr amin 11 years ago
The low allowing ec to creat new constituance is wrong. i think the
number should be reduced to save money.
DANDOR 11 years ago
If you have something meaningful and better to offer, no matter where you are, you can still do that. But do not forget that if it comes to reduction of the useless seats in there, then your will be the first.
angelina benson 11 years ago
what the minority leader is saying is the truth. I once attended a sitting at parliament n wow, u cannot even see the backbenchers contributing.
mr amin 11 years ago
reduce their numbers drasticaly to less than 200.
Ndemba 11 years ago
Pls;minority leader,ll u sacrifice your seat?where were u in 2000 to 2008?
truth 11 years ago
Reduce MPs to 20 not 200. MPs are waste of tax payers money and they do nothing at Parliament.some are dictator. Mps who want to be in Parliament all their lives. If really they are patriots who want to serve their country then they should not be paid ex gratia and that also goes out to the president
andaboy 11 years ago
Please my fellow ghanaians it is time we get more education on how we make comments on certain issues .kwning that your comments can bring changes.Not quantity but quality,a few Mps can take decision that can benrfit all ghanaians.
Billal Mallam sani 11 years ago
dat is true , hw can a small country like Ghana will have dis Number of mp? we must tink twice .
emma 11 years ago
MPP their hypocritical in everything during their time he didn't see that .that is MPP for you
Daniel 11 years ago
Mr mensah bonsu why are attacking ec for doing what the constitution mandate them to do. If u want that portion of the constitution amended, make a strong argument rather than always attacking our dear DR AFARI GYAN for no reason. No wonder your party cannot even abide by the provisions of their constitution so am not surprise at al.
Annorwuo 11 years ago
These 'useless' MPs like this loud-mouth individual,who has made a being in Parliament,a lifelong career! What has this overly partisan guy accomplished during his time in the august House,than instigating needless demonstrations,and being an agent provocateur?
He should take the lead,in relinquishing his seat, to show the people of this country that he is really serious! After he quits voluntarily, he can test the waters and see if he commands the current pay packet and perks[in the region of GHc 9-10k per month] he enjoys!
He can blame the EC Chair all he wants,but we all remember he was the Majority Leader,when fmr. Speaker of the House,Begyina Sekyi-Hughes, 'plundered' the Speaker`s Official when he was retiring in 2008.
Dr k Azaglo 11 years ago
why so many MPs for a small country like Ghana. This is a waste of tax payers money. These foolish corrupt selfish stomach MPs thonk only about themselves and not the country. Get rid of them. they are raping oue motherland. fooooooools
achimorazo 11 years ago
i support his views,but my only concern is,will he have said these,if npp mps are more in parliament?
Ganyobi Aryitey 11 years ago
This is what we expect from a sensible honourable person called MP,at least it would reduce public spending on mostly good for nothing people calling themselves 'HONOURABLE',how many of them even talk in the chamber let alone contributing to a debate?all what they know is the partisan' yeeye'the 200 is even too much, with our ten regions we dont need anything beyound 150, if KPI is done on this MPs, you see that only a few are actually doing the work and every 4 years, we toil to give them new house, new car,and they would go away with it including big cash, whilst the ordinary worker suffer throughout his life and go home with nothing at the end of his working period than unreliable SSNIT,God save Ghana.
EZEKIEL 11 years ago
Even 200 is too big. Set by LAW the number at 160 i.e 10 reps per Region!!
Second, REMOVE the CLAUSE enabling EC be creating districts and thereby the Nr. of Mps!!
WE have to be THINKING and not "BUSINESS as USUAL" always. ... read full comment
Second, REMOVE the CLAUSE enabling EC be creating districts and thereby the Nr. of Mps!!
WE have to be THINKING and not "BUSINESS as USUAL" always.
The EDUCATED are rather RUNNING the Nation DOWN!!
Newman, Ada 11 years ago
Minority leader, u are right. Take Ada as eg. One Mp is ok as compared to the current two Mps. The country wage bill is depriving us of developments.
koku 11 years ago
Excellent suggestion. This is long over due
koo manu 11 years ago
Take yourself out and the number will go down. Greedy man. Why don't you lead a crusade to reduce your perks?
Bell Nono 11 years ago
I am of the view that we do not need more than 50 MPs, good morning.
Salis Nkpazama 11 years ago
Where did you get these numbers I mean the the ratio thing you talking about. It is wrong go back back and do your research again.
fred 11 years ago
AND CONTRIBUTE ZILCH TO THE WELFARE OF GHANAIANS; MOST OF THEM DONT EVEN KNOW WHY THEY ARE IN PARLIAMENT ONLY TO JOIN THE PLANNING LOOTING SHARING AND CRYING BRIGADE BOTH NDC AND NPP
Chris Boahen 11 years ago
Even 200 is too much, we should have 100 MPs at most! Compare Ghana to other democracies using GDP, Population and land area as metrics to measure the size of the job and in effect the no of MPs needed! Ghana is clearly an outlier plus the adage goes "too many cooks....."
Ghanaba 11 years ago
This should be taken seriously. 100 MPs even can help. Then Ministers are taking out of Parliament.
We can't get money to pay Doctors, Nurses and teachers; yet we get huge money to pay 275 MPs and Ministers. A small Coun ... read full comment
This should be taken seriously. 100 MPs even can help. Then Ministers are taking out of Parliament.
We can't get money to pay Doctors, Nurses and teachers; yet we get huge money to pay 275 MPs and Ministers. A small Country like Ghana?
liv 11 years ago
The next biggest demonstration in Ghana to reduce MPs to 1 per region, and to abolish free govt bungalows for our officials.
palmer, Gremany 11 years ago
Yes, that is the rigth way to hav overview of the work of MPs ,and also the spendings.Ghana should spend more on education than on MPs.A good education neans better and good leaders for Tomorrow,and education System and Teachers training method must also be changed to coop with the up-to-date situation in the world.
apuuu 11 years ago
The Parliament should divided into two one body elected for four years the other side served for six years this will give balance and they can work together in this case there will be no winner take all and no corruption
Big Bonsu 11 years ago
and the rest will follow so that the MPs will be reduced to 200. Bonsu must set a good example by eliminating the Suame constituency and by this way Suame people will present their grievances through a sign board infront of the parliament house. This is fair treatment to all.
His reason for the complaints is in the article. Read it again and stop politicizing the issue. Apart from the reason he gave, the country is losing a lot of money on too many MPs who don't even attend meetings. There are tim ...
He knows what he is talking about. You should rather shut up since you have nothing sensible to contribute to this issue. If what he said is hitting you hard then that is good. Stay in your Okponglo village and stop being a F ...
Considering the physical size of the country, population, government expenditure on salaries (and corresponding revenue or the lack thereof), infrastructure – roads, bridges, water plants, electricity plant, sanitation faci ...
24m with more than 200 MPs, as poor as we are? There is something wrong. Thank God he is an MP himself who has voiced this out. Waste of funds. People who could not have been chosen to serve on the town development committees ...
It is high time the good people of Ghana speak up. These MPs are paid verattractive salaries with no work done. I am not sure whether they pay taxes and utilities. They have been pampered for too long. we should have 5 MPs in ...
He wants it to be like the british, a dream he so much ...
No politics? Ok, why should OSEI KYEI MENSAH BONSU attack Afari Gyan in the person of EC? He was accusing the EC but he had Afari Gyan in mind hence his use of 'he' to refer for the EC, unless you want to tell the that Mensah ...
Mr. Rentals, this is one thing I always talk about that is not helping our country. People like you always equate wrong with wrong. Because NPP did it, NDC can also do it even if the whole country must suffer. What kind peopl ...
In the US, over 300 million people are being represented by 535 congressmen giving you a rough ratio of one congressman to 500,000 people (1:500,000). Ghana's population of about 25 million has 275 parliamentarians, giving yo ...
so which constituencies and their MPS should be taken out? Maybe the the minority leader wants his constituency to be blacklisted ...its true that the governmentt might be spending so much on the mps, yet , its too late to li ...
Nana, if you read the contributions on this forum you will realize that majority are in favor of the reduction. It is doable. The constituencies can be redrawn. All they have to do is to agree for the parties to lose an equal ...
The fact is that there are too many Regions in Ghana. These regions were created ostensibly for development purposes. But how much development and decentralization have taken place in all these years? In reality, the regions ...
It seems to me you are implicitly suggesting a Federal form of Government in Ghana. ...
Indeed, as if we do not know our right & left, we misplaced our priorities as an independence, sovereign country. We've imposed a self-inflicted hardship on ourselves, & so our people are needlesly suffering. Has our constitu ...
Thank you, Ghanaba. The MPs have allowed so many things to get out of hand. They are simply not doing their work. A lot of issues can be solved on a bi-partisan basis and yet each party wants to score political points. A typi ...
You've made a good point which can be implemented, but if they want to maintain the 200 seats the two parties can work together with the EC so that they lose equal number of seats. They can lose 37 each and add the remaining ...
The MPs should amend the constitution to increase the constituency population to one million instead of the 250 thousand for re-demarcation. Who should do that? It is the job of the MPs. Osei Kyei Mensah should send a proposa ...
I AGREE WITH YOU 100%.
Both the NPP and NDC are taking advantage of this provision. I have always been against that provision in the constitution. it does not make sense to be increasing the number of MPs. We will eventually have 1000 MPs. I think ...
WE ONLY NEED 7O MPS'
Failed manority leader
Does the minority leader knows his job in parliament at all? Or he just make his as a propaganda? Was he not part of Kuffour's administration that increased the number to 230? How can a population of about 25 million have 275 ...
Reduce MPs to 20 not 200. MPs are waste of tax payers money and they do nothing at Parliament.some are dictator. Mps who want to be in Parliament all their lives. If really they are patriots who want to serve their country th ...
Please my fellow ghanaians it is time we get more education on how we make comments on certain issues .kwning that your comments can bring changes.Not quantity but quality,a few Mps can take decision that can benrfit all gha ...
Mr mensah bonsu why are attacking ec for doing what the constitution mandate them to do. If u want that portion of the constitution amended, make a strong argument rather than always attacking our dear DR AFARI GYAN for no r ...
These 'useless' MPs like this loud-mouth individual,who has made a being in Parliament,a lifelong career! What has this overly partisan guy accomplished during his time in the august House,than instigating needless demonstrat ...
why so many MPs for a small country like Ghana. This is a waste of tax payers money. These foolish corrupt selfish stomach MPs thonk only about themselves and not the country. Get rid of them. they are raping oue motherland. ...
This is what we expect from a sensible honourable person called MP,at least it would reduce public spending on mostly good for nothing people calling themselves 'HONOURABLE',how many of them even talk in the chamber let alone ...
WE have to be THINKING and not "BUSINESS as USUAL" always. ...
Even 200 is too much, we should have 100 MPs at most! Compare Ghana to other democracies using GDP, Population and land area as metrics to measure the size of the job and in effect the no of MPs needed! Ghana is clearly an ou ...
We can't get money to pay Doctors, Nurses and teachers; yet we get huge money to pay 275 MPs and Ministers. A small Coun ...
Yes, that is the rigth way to hav overview of the work of MPs ,and also the spendings.Ghana should spend more on education than on MPs.A good education neans better and good leaders for Tomorrow,and education System and Teach ...
and the rest will follow so that the MPs will be reduced to 200. Bonsu must set a good example by eliminating the Suame constituency and by this way Suame people will present their grievances through a sign board infront of t ...