You are here: HomeNews2014 09 29Article 327931

‘Nkrumah alone didn't found Ghana, Founder’s Day divisive’

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Kwamina Andrews 9 years ago

George Washington's birthday is marked as Presidents'Day in the US for all presidents but George Washington won Independence for the US and his role is not diluted by people who want to rewrite history. Ghana was not founded ...

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

Thanks for your comment Egya Kwamina.
    The question is not who 'founded' Ghana but what we have done with it since it was 'founded'! Whether you call it FOUNDING FATHERS' DAY or whatever, the core issue still stands: How do ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

Thank you!

• don`t care ©!!! 9 years ago

Hmmmmm!Ohoo!Ghanaians!!!Always wasting them God given time on irrelevant issues...issue that will not put food on their tables nor turn the economy around or even their life from being professional slaves..

Hmmmm!always sh ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

We settled for Founders' day until some treacherous members of the NPP decided to drag the issue up again by saying Nkrumah is not part of the founders' but the Messenger boy who had his journey paid for by the so called 5 o ...

• Ewurade Kasa 9 years ago

The name change from GOLD COAST to GHANA was the worst mistake these over-ambitious "founders" had made.If this country were to be called the Republic of the Gold Coast, there is no aorta of doubt in my mind that it would hav ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

It is not the name that matters but how we change our fortunes.

The title warrior means, strength, focus, don't give up easily. And history shows in the long run, the kings of Ghana became rich and powerful.

I prefer ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

i will agree our prospects are bright now that the majority of the business community realize we have a bogus fake govt and self reliance is the best .as long as we stay away from any govt or better put ndc corruption and do ...

• facts 9 years ago

Till the truth comes out a case cannot settle. The founders were more than Nkrumah alone. Let us honour them all as well

• ATSU, HO 9 years ago

THE FACTS ON THE GROUND SHOWS CLEARLY THAT NKRUMAH WAS A GREAT LEADER BUT WAS DEFINITELY NOT THE FOUNDER OF ANY NATION. WE CAN PRAISE HIS DEVELOPMENTAL ACHIEVEMENTS BUT AT LEAST HE WAS NOT THE FOUNDER OF THIS NATION. HE ONLY ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I ASK WHERE WAS THAT COMMUNIST 'KOBORLOR' NKRUMAH WHEN INTELLIGENTS WERE NEGOCIATING FOR OUR INDEPENDENCE? NKRUMAH DIDNT EVEN HAVE A PLANE FAIR TO COME WHEN THEY INVITE HIM HOME

• A KWADWO 9 years ago

Why would they need Nkrumah to help them negotiate our Independence if they could do it a lone? Has anyone thought of that? Credit is given to people for the leadership role they play in any given situation. Why invite Nkruma ...

• Ayitevi 9 years ago

Funny contribution, They called Nkrumah as they called everybody because he is a Ghanaian, Nkrumah didn't came to be Chairman but to write munites (secretary)

• Tuntumi 9 years ago

My friend go and learn how to express yourself properly in English before you come and confuse us with your bad grammar.

After all the free education that Nkrumah gave you, is this the result? Bad English comprehension an ...

• Ante Esi 9 years ago

You are worse! Just tell us you couldn't understand BBC NEWS and lets explain to you
    BBC NEWS wanted to say

Nkrumah the (one party state man)

Nkrumah the communist

Nkrumah the dictator

Nkrumah the president forev ...

• A KWADWO 9 years ago

Columbus and his crew discovered America. Being the leader or the Captain of the boat at the time of the discovery, the credit goes to him. If he had failed, the discredit would have gone to him.
    For instance, lets talk abou ...

• k, no problem, a 9 years ago

In that case everybody in ghana at the time should be cosidered as a founder.my father was an activist .he was beaten and got his limb damaged. Is he not a founder.all those who went on boycotts are they not founders. All the ...

• Ken 9 years ago

Nkrumah was the first President of Ghana. This is undeniable. Equally undeniable is that he killed all his opponents in Nsawam Prison and even denied them decent burial by thier relatives. With all opponents killed, it was le ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Sadly you are correct

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Was he ever charged and convicted?

Was murderous attempts made on his life rather and how many times? Let me see how brainy you are.

THAT ONE PARTY STATE COMMUNIST DICTATOR PRESIDENT FOR LIFE NKRUMAH PUT HIS SENIORS IN A 4X4 DETENTION CELL WATCHING A HIGH VOLTAGE BULB TILL THEY BECAME BLIND AND SOME DIED, SOME WERE EVEN BURRIED ALIVE! A THING PREZ MANDELA ...

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots! 9 years ago

Wat will you do to people who try to bomb, blow you into bits? Did u see anyone attempting to kill, shoot or bomb Mandela? U are too stupid to be on the Internet. I hope u knowingly eat poisoner n die. Fool!

Do u understand cause and effect? Prior to all these prison detentions etc. There were local bomb throwers and terrorists who sided with the cia to blow,.shoot nkrumah into bits! Wat will you do if u knew ppl were gunning for ...

• k, no problem, a 9 years ago

Name his opponents that he killed in nsawam prison.where did you learn that twisted history from? Do you know that historical perversion can be a cause for developmental retardation? Because the nation would be proceeding on ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

for 57 years. In my mind, even on a personal level, unresolved emotional scars will continue to set you back no matter how hard you try to ignore them and move on. If indeed we should move on as a nation, how necessary is it ...

• One Ghana 9 years ago

Let's move to where???? It true that Nkrumah was only invited to be part of the struggle that had aleeady started. Let's speak the truth and bring about peace and unity in Ghana.

• Houdini 9 years ago

Stupidity is your name. The big six means something. It was the UP People that paid for Nkrumah's passage home to help in the fight for Independence. The fight for Independence was not started by Nkrumah but by Paa Grant, J.B ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

Don't write nonsense. Get your historical information right. Consult Adu Boahen

Kwame Nkrumah of Africa!!!!

KWAME NKRUMAH USED OUR MONEY FOR GUINEA, MALI AND OTHER AFRICAN STATES WHO DOESNT EVEN RESPECT GHANA! NKRUMAH STILL FOLLOWED HIS POWER HUNGRY DENIED HIS GHANAIAN PASSPORT AND BECAME A VICE PRESIDENT IN GUINEA! NKRUMAH IS THE ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 9 years ago

Brother NON ALIGNED, thank you for consistently bringing historical facts to our people, My brother, our people loves us much more than we could ever love them in return, because of this fact, we must study and work tirelessl ...

• BIMBOBIBAMBOM,ZIMBABWE 9 years ago

HUODINI OR OWUDINI,YOU SHOULD GET YOUR FACTS BEFORE YOU START SPEWING DIRT FROM THAT STINKING MAW YOU CALL YOUR MOUTH.YOUR CHEATING U.P ANCESTORS WANTED TO USE DR. NKRUMAH FOR THEIR SELFISH END AND THE COWARDS THAT THEY WERE, ...

• Uncle 9 years ago

Go Away with your stupid history Nkrumah is still our father Akan man he struggle for our independence but one thing is clear he reap where he didn't sow, Who told you UGCC were not interested in Independence? why did they in ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

The UP people did not pay for Kwame Nkrumahs trip back home. It was Paa Grant who single-handedly formed the UGCC and went out of his way to invite Kwame Nkrumah to come to Ghana to assist the independence movement because th ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Kwamena could not have stated it more correctly.

• GHFUO: NYANTAKYI MUST BE JAILED! 9 years ago

FOLKS, ITS NOT NECESSARY. WE HAVE 6 MARCH TO REMEMBER THE BIG SIX. NKRUMAH WAS THE ABEDI, MICHAEL JORDAN, WAYNE GRETZKY, PELE, MARADONNA OF THE BIG 6 SO LETS LEAVE IT AS IS...THANK YOU. MAYBE, WE SHOULD CHANGE THE HOLIDAY TO ...

• Ken 9 years ago

Name Nsawam Prison Kwame Nkrumah Killing Field or Kwame Nkrumah Concentration Camp

Perhaps, u should tell America to change the name of guantanamo bay prison to bush or Obama also. Kwasia! Do u know about cause and effect?

• Francis C. Quainoo 9 years ago

Kwamena Andrews, History teaches us that if you failed to know your past, you'll always remain a child.

Therefore, for anyone to consider the inclusion of those you have just enumerated, just understand that they were mere ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

Oh, its Quainoo who has taken comfortable refuge in Australia again.

Mr Quainoo kindly tell us, what did the so-called Big 5 (without Nkrumah) achieve before the addition to the UGCC of Kwame Nkrumah? Kindly enumerate the ...

• Skains 9 years ago

In the fight for independence, not a single person does that. However, we attribute the founding of a nation to a particular person due to his special role in the founding process. This doesn't mean that others didn't contri ...

• osofonana 9 years ago

What do you gain by the worship of a hero whose so-called achievements are imagined and not true. Get this: about 50% of Ghanaians are cut off that celebration because it is a holiday instituted on hatred of a majority of pe ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Brofo ye dur. in all honesty and the way the "Founder's Day" is celebrated it has every connotation of being a "Founders' Day" rather. Somebody couldn't spell right but chose to write it down anyway and the spell-check man wa ...

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

We can't go back and rewrite history. Very painful isn't it?

• Isaac-HAMBURG, GERMANY 9 years ago

Mr Antwi Danso has shown to be a good Patriot of Ghana.He is always truthful and factual. Doc. keep it up

of questionable credentials... makes a lot of noise on TV and radio but lacks scholarship.

• Damani Kariku Katum Kunari III 9 years ago

Well, Independence Day should add the names of all our political " Earlier Giants of Ghana." To be seconded by adding all our former Presidents' to Nkrumah ,for our Independence Day Celeberations. Include the Stutus of the ...

• Nanguri Filami Yaributi 9 years ago

On the coins he minted after independence, they bore Nkrumah's head with the Latin notation, "Civitatis Ghaniensis Conditor," or Founder of the State of Ghana. Nobody in Ghana and the British colonialist dared to challenge hi ...

Thank you. I need to look for a post-independence coin.

• Factually Reliable 9 years ago

It is well written. Anyone can google images of ghana post indepedence coin or follow this link:https://www.google.co.in/search?hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1366&bih=624&q=ghana+post+indepence+coin&oq=ghana+post+in ...

• naa 9 years ago

Ghanians dont tell the truth,after his death
    It's seems everyone is talking good about
    him, but K N was nobody 2 Ghanaians.
    Just rem: CEDI KWASIA BI TRI DASO.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

After all, somebody somewhere paid for his ticket to fly from "overseas" to come home and join the struggle for independent. Right or wrong?

to lead the struggle not join the struggle... without Nkrumah Ghana would still be under colonial rule. The guys who paid for his ticket are now to be crowned "founders"...TRASH!!!

• KWESI AMONSIE 9 years ago

Point of correction Nkrumah didn't fly to Ghana. He came by sea through Takoradi harbour

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Nkrumah betrayed his colleagues and slapped them from behind to take power.

the terrorists, tribalists, self-seekers, etc

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

That will include all who contributed to the Country's independence.

GET AWAY,VLAD.WHAT'S YOUR PROBLEM?WHETHER IT'S APOSTROPHE S OR S APOTROPHE DR. KWAME NKRUMAH WAS AND IS THE MAN WE CLEBRATED NOT SOME HAPLESS DANQUAH-BUSIA-DOMBO SHITHEADS.THOSE GUYS WERE EVIL BOMB THROWERS WHEN DR. NKRUMAH W ...

• KWESI AMONSIE 9 years ago

Point of correction Nkrumah's passage was paid by J.B. GRANT Aka PAA GRANT and not UP.

• History master 9 years ago

It is not those who whisper we would like to become independent but the one who yelled Independence NOW who must be recognized. As a matter of fact Nkrumah shouted louder even as JB Danquah and other tried to hush him by say ...

DON'T BE A FOOL.ARE THOSE GUYS NOT U.P?

THERE WAS NO UP UNTIL NKRUMAH BREAK AWAY AND FORMED CPP! IT WAS UGCC OF WHICH PAA GRANT WAS PART OF IT! BUULU BUULU WHO DONT KNOW ANYTHING

• Ato 9 years ago

I'm also a CPP man, Vladimir Antwi-Danso should also talk about removing Kotoka from the airport.

No nation in this World honors a
    traitor by naming the first point of entry or airport after the traitor.

Ghana is psy ...

• Arnold 9 years ago

Kotoka did not stage the coup to make himself a ruler.He staged the coup to end the worst form of tyranny in our history. The best thing that has ever happened to Ghana was the overthrow of Nkrumah the murderous dictator.

Why don't u tell kotoka to use the gun against the British imperialists? U sit beside quietly for someone to do the dirty work and then u quietly creep and backstabbing them like a coward? Why didn't u tell kotoka to campaign ...

• Commonsense 9 years ago

21 Sep will never be a National Holiday under NPP regime

• OBIALEKE 9 years ago

Foolish and unnecessary talk. Concentrate on more productive stuffs.

• Michael K. Tettevi 9 years ago

It is true that Nkrumah alone did not found Ghana but the question is how many of the founders were born on September 21st. in order to declare the day as founders' day ? Founders' day should rather be 6th. March.

• Busumbru 9 years ago

Didn't found or didn't find? Oh my God!!!!

BUSUMBRU,YOU ARE RATHER WRONG.WHAT'S WRONG WITH YOU?A COUNTRY IS FOUNDED,OKAY.IT IS NOT LIKE IN THE PAST TENSE OF FIND.KWASEA,YOU THINK YOU KNOW BUT YOU DON'T.MICHAEL K. TETTEVI IS RIGHT.

• Busumbru 9 years ago

Thanks for the correction, but I think you need to learn how to do corrections without insults.

• Spiky 9 years ago

Everybody knows it that Nkrumah was not a lone fighter for Ghana's independence but he deserves the accolade of Founder. While he and his CPP nationalists were calling for "Self Government Now" J. B. Danquah and his fellow tr ...

• JAMES Y 9 years ago

Vladimir Antwi-Danso has never been a CPP man. He must tell the truth! I'm not challenging his opinion; it's just an opinion he harbours for a Founder's Day holiday. I'm just challenging his assertion that he's a "CPP man". H ...

• NON ALIGNED 9 years ago

It's very true you lot brought him to the fold for the struggle for independence, but guess what?

The bunch of lawyers wanted to use a true politician like Kwame Nkrumah, to use him to do your dirty work for you.

Nkruma ...

• NiiBii 9 years ago

We have a founder's day. live with it.

• Captein 9 years ago

In contemporary Ghana the same tendencies of political, xenophobes and certain useless educational elites to causes the stunting of progress, growth and overall national develop pre-/post-colonial time for over 5 decades cont ...

• emmanuel Papayaw Owusu 9 years ago

Vladimir is a false C.P.P member who, doesn't understand himself, he's confuse and requires to consider his opinion.

• Emma 9 years ago

Nkrumah was positive about Ghana the others were negative minded

• osei yaw - london 9 years ago

This Antwi-Danso is an idiot; he better get himself educated if there is somebody out there to help him; and as an idiot, he better not glorify himself as a member of CPP

- just planting it into the empty head of this Antw ...

• Mike 9 years ago

This Antwi-Danso was not made to think,he was just taught by his teacher....Professors of theories

• Tuntumi 9 years ago

This Antwi-Danso was invited by the equally inept leadership of the CPP to celebrate Founders Day with them. He was sitting right there on the podium that was reserved for CPP heavyweights. He even made a public speech.

An ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 9 years ago

The entire Continent of Africa, has chosen the Almighty OSAGYEFO KWAME NKRUMAH alone, as the icon of the PanAfrican revolution, the GREAT ONE, clearly stated: "The independence of Ghana is meaningless, unless it is linked to ...

• NON ALIGNED 9 years ago

How do you do it? You always deliver on point!

I would however take you up on the first part of your quote: "Osagyefo can be criticized on strategy and tactics, but absolutely no one can match his programs that benefit th ...

• still rastafari 9 years ago

case close...... Nkrumah met the process

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

WHAT ILLOGICALITY.IF IS FOUNDERS'DAY, WHY FIX IT ON 21/09? THIS DAY IS NKRUMAH'S BIRTHDAY AND IT IS CELEBRATED AS FOUNDER'S DAY. UGCC WAS NOT INCLUSIVE, IT EXCLUDED ASHANTI AND THE NORTHERN TERRITORIES AND TRANSVOLTA TOGOLAND ...

• ANYARS 9 years ago

you antwi danso what have u done to help the development of the nation. stop politicizing issues and help to develop the country. give good suggestion and stop these propaganda job.

• ROY 9 years ago

DANQUAH AND BUSIA WERE CIA AGENTS. AS REPORTED IN THE DE-CLASSIFIED DOCUMENTS OF THE CIA, DANQUAH WAS ON THE PAYROLL OF THE CIA RECEIVING MONTHLY SALARIES IN ORDER TO DELAY THE INDEPENDENCE OF GHANA.

BUSIA WAS BASED IN OXF ...

• Kofi Kwegyir 9 years ago

Founder's day is fine. Nkrumah's name is symbolic of the country's status as a new and independent State. The founding of GHANA in the face of stiff and murderous opposition by the NLM sectionalists was no mean achievement!

• COLEGRATE 9 years ago

Kindly note that Gold Coast was colonized by several European countries till the British colonized it finally,added the Asante and northern territories and put it under one umbrella called British colony still called the Gold ...

• Asafo Kwame Sowah 9 years ago

Founder’s day is a problem for some people; the same people who tried to obliterate history by burning all documentation and archived history under the pretext of a revolution. After siding with colonial powers over several ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

How did Antwi Danso turn an Nkrumaist? Even Nkrumah will disown him as a supporter The guy comes from the NPP stock. even the way he struggles to talk in english. An Nkrumaist doesn't talk the way he talks.

• kretz 9 years ago

Do we say didn't find or didn't found? hmmmmmm