You are here: HomeNews2014 09 25Article 327467

Terkper vindicated as the Cedi significantly gains value

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

I am at a loss. The factors quoted by Govt Communicators to have accounted for the depreciation of the cedi are still there .For instance they said Ghanaians import too much. They said the Kufuor redenomination of the cedi wa ...

• Goose pimples 9 years ago

NPP has not seen anything yet! Ghana will be heaven! Nana will get a heart attack. His diabolical tactics will only kill Alan Cash and not Mahama. Mahama will turn Ghana into the envy of est Africa- good currency, food basket ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

This is just the calm before the storm!!!!! After the IMF bailout is rolled out with senseless cutting of social intervention programs and support, we'll see.

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

So have consumer prices gone down? I guess not, what they may not have realized is that the harbors are empty, businesses are holding off on imports, so the demand for foreign exchange has gone down until businesses start imp ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• VVV 9 years ago

NPP MORGANS

• Kweku 9 years ago

Argentina would come to Ghana sometime in the future. This latest bond is issued at what coupon and were bought by what group of people? There are always hedge fund 'VULTURES' who eat carcasses of rotten bonds risking funds j ...

• Kofi Oppong 9 years ago

IDIOT

• facts 9 years ago

NDC too talk. Bawumia identified the problem and suggested solutions but they were all rejected but now we see there is no other way but to borrow a thought from him. Now we all know Ghana is in crises which finally too us to ...

NPP will continue to teach them. They stole SADA and messed up. They are stealing Free SHS education. Bawumia showed them the way to go to save Ghana. Posterity will condemn NDC. Posterity will hail NPP. Posterity will ask ho ...

• NANA 9 years ago

NO AMOUNT OF PROPAGANDA CAN CAUSE NDC'S DEFEAT. WHERE WAS BAWUMIA WHEN THE CEDI DEPRECIATED TO THE EXTENT THAT WE HAVE TO REDENOMINATE OUR CEDIS? WHERE WERE HIS EXPERTISE WHERE GHANA TELECOM HAVE TO BE SOLD TO PAY SALARIES AN ...

• VVV 9 years ago

COME AGAIN

• KOKI 9 years ago

Dr. Bawumia is still around. You need him for further scrutinzing of the economy? Be grateful for people like him who make governments to sit up and take decisive actions to revive economics. Step two: wait for him if you cho ...

FUCKIN IDIOT if the NDC are so great why did their own supporters whom they took to the world cup want to seek asylum in Brazil because that imbecile mahama and his fools have messed up the country.

• Concerned 9 years ago

The price of dollars and other foreign currency went up because there was a shortage. After the sale of the euro bond we now have a billion dollars so the supply of dollars have gone up pushing the price down. After the ndc ...

• Nana Adwoa New York 9 years ago

TEKPER PREDICTED AND ITS NO MAGIC THE SCENARIO CASES ARE
    1.COCOA MAIN SEASON STARTS IN OCTOBER EVERY YEAR AND THE SYNDICATION OF BANKS SINGS LOANS FOR PURCHASES OF COCOA IN THE REGION OF SEVERAL MILLIONS OF DOLLARS EVERY YEA ...

• ASEM 9 years ago

ARE GHANAIANS GOING TO VOTE FOR THESE PEOPLE FOR WORKING FOR JUST 2 YEARS AND LOOTING FOR SIX YEARS?

• Charlie? 9 years ago

NPP is a sad Ghana story. Haba! You are wishing your own country bad and God is blessing it under President Mahama and you are sad and crying? What kind of people are theses!

• yaw obotan 9 years ago

how long is cedi going to stabilize? let's hope for the best.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Yaw, you are right that the cedi appreciation could be cut short if the dumsor (energy crisis)continues for long. I believe Economists are giving too much credit to the IMF intervention because the bail out is yet to start.

• Honest Tony 9 years ago

I don't want to be in the skin of Dr. PINK SHEET. He wanted to be like Obama. Shame unto u. Ur evil thinking doesn't come through

• HARD LISTENERS 9 years ago

this govt wants to take credit for good results but gives excuses for failures. the stability came as a result of reversal of bad policies by BOG on controlling private foreign accounts. the drop has been the result of specul ...

• Krikri 9 years ago

This news certainly does not excite the Matemehu Bomb throwers and Kufour's looting brigade at all. All they want to see and hear is destruction and bad news - sice independence. But GOD IS GREAT, ALLAHU AKBAR

• daladam 9 years ago

the minor gain can go the other way any day now stop beliving terkper and mahama lies ,our cedi have no value due to terkper voodoo economics
    of high vat and high taxes the man deserve zero credit lets stop the denial

• richhiee 9 years ago

U just dnt know wat u are writing better shut up Anlo man like u

• KWAA 9 years ago

We do apreciate the fact that the Cedi has stablized,but the fact also is,we went to the International Market to sell Euro Bonds for Billion Dollars.This is more or less a credite which we have to pay with huge interest.The q ...

• NII KOLIKO 9 years ago

THE WORD IS DIVIDEND AND NOT "DIVIDENCE" ( CHECK YOUR ASHANTI ENGLISH GRAMMAR ) PLEASE!!!

• KWAA 9 years ago

Nee if the only problem you have in this World is my "Ashanti" English,then you don`t have a problem at all.
    Thanks anyway for your correction.
    Bear in mind i am not an Englishman and i am proud to be a Ghanaian.

• MENSA 9 years ago

WE MUST NOT FORGET THAT HIS VOODO ECONOMIC POLICY GOT US TO THE MESS WE NOW HAVE IN GHANA THIS IS THE MAN THAT RAISE VAT AND TAXES ON US WE MUST REMMBER THIS

• fail 9 years ago

ndc lies

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Borrowing heavily to pay you bills does no make you rich, not does it make you debt-free. It's not even a strategy. Just wait until John Mahama decides how much to give to Ibrahim Mahama and you see what happens to the cedi.

• Dede 9 years ago

Stop the nonsense, how's he vindicated? It only happened because of the IMF loan, Terper did nothing to stabilize it.

• PQ 9 years ago

THANK GOD THE CEDI IS GAINING GROUNDS NOW.

• PQ 9 years ago

ONE KUMASI BURGER COME TO THE PORT WITH ALL HIS MONEY CHANGED TO DOLLARS EARLIER ON AND AFTER THE HOLIDAYS THE DOLLAR HAD DROP DRASTICALLY HE THEN STATED INSULTING THE PRESIDENT FOR THE DROP OF THE DOLLAR.HAHAHA

You surely do not have examples of Ewe businessman who lost similar, do you? You sound funny, PQ!

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

Where is Pro. Dr. Pink Sheets? What has he to tell us now?

• TT 9 years ago

Hello,

The dollar has been stabilized for now at 3.5 cedis. It was 2.2 cedis in January. Solution is when it comes back to 2.2 cedis. They have just halted the rise not resolved the problem. It will rise again this Christm ...

• FOOLISHNESS 9 years ago

This cause nothing to celebrate at all. There is no NDC or NPP when your economy is unproductive, dollar scrpped and you have to go and borrow high interest foreign currency to cushion your unprodctive economy. To the interna ...

• francis 9 years ago

Which kind vindication?it is not through any effort of his

• CNN News 9 years ago

What is there to write home about when £1 can now get you 5.2 cedis. The government minimum wage is 6 cedis

• Brigitte 9 years ago

You mean people in Ghana are happy because they went to borrow 2 billion dollars for which they are going to pay 3 billion dollars in five years. God bless Ghana!. How can you invest this money with very high interest and mak ...

• Kelly 9 years ago

The creditors know what they are going to reap from these fools. Who will invest this amount not knowing what they are going to rip off Ghana. Or the money is just being plucked from trees in Europe. Let's wait, the implicati ...

• Stanley 9 years ago

It is like the head of a family who used all the family resources to drink akpteshie today the extent the family cannot pay school fees and buy food. The family head goes to borrow money at high interest rate guaranteeing the ...

• crystal 9 years ago

surely the doom wishers will soon be disappointed as things are speedly improving. In christ the lord our help is found.

• Tony 9 years ago

2016 is a little bit long so nana Akufo bin l'addo should stop thinking that he has won the next election all because of the current economic crisis. We the patriotic citizens know that president mahama will take us to the pr ...

FUCKIN IDIOT

• DANIEL 9 years ago

Bring some discipline in your spending. Cut down on waste. Invest in capital projects that will create jobs for the people. Give them social interventions to reduce their pain.
    Keep it up!

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

Daniel, please understand that, social interventions is not found in the dictionary of IMF bailout!!

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

THIS IS BUSH TALK.WERE YOU GUYS DOZING WHEN THE CEDI DEPRECIATION STARTED ?
    IS THAT GOING TO CAUSE THE PRICES OF GOODS AND SERVICES TO ALSO REDUCE ?
    BUSH AND FOREST ECONOMICS TERKPER

• ANIMAL FARM 9 years ago

Eiii,If Terkper and BOG were not responsible for the deterioration in the value of the Cedi,why should should they be vindicated for its stability.After all they are paid to manage the economy and to keep the Cedi stable and ...

• Markkuss 9 years ago

Will that affect the prices of the basic commodities on the market whose prices have shot up drastically as a result of the rise in the exchange rate. Oh mother Ghana!!!,do we have a price control body in the country which re ...

• Dynamic Thinter 9 years ago

See

• MALLAM TULA 9 years ago

MASSA; WHAT THE CEDU RATE AT THE START OF THE YEAR AND WHT WAS THE LAST RATE BEFORE THIS ; TYPICAL NDC PROPAGANDA ; THEY MESS UP THINGS AND THEN WHEN THEY HALT THE ROT THEY CLAIM IT AS VIVTORY AND AN IMPROVEMENT.

• OBENFO 9 years ago

Cedi stabilized against major currencies for 1 month and we are already in jubilation. First of all, their job was to stabilze the cedi, so it does not fall the way they did. For a whole year, they did not know what they wer ...

• Abdul rahman ganja 9 years ago

Hahaha what a propaganda?

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

AND SO THE CEDI IS ALREADY RESPECTED BY IMF? JUST A LITTLE ADJUSTMENT, AND LISEN TO THE GOVT. PAY ALL THE ARREARS OWED TO WORKERS, AND INREASE THE WAGES OF ALL WORKERS.

• me 9 years ago

where are the structural adjustments? a sudden inflow of cash cannot stabilize cedi for a long period of time. and the cash was at what cost? 25% i last heard. this is a circus.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

You will win in 2016

• M.D 9 years ago

NDC talking too much, prez mahama stop that foolish talks and do the work.

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 9 years ago

TERKPER IS A PROPHET. TERKPER IS A PROPHET. THERE IS A REASON WHY SMART MAHAMA DECIDED TO KEEP SETH TERKPER AS FINANCE MINISTER. THE ECONOMY IS RECOVERING. THE ECONOMY IS TURNING AROUND. THE NAYSAYERS ARE SCARED TO DEATH THA ...

• Straighttalk 9 years ago

Who are you guys deceiving? Mahama is a waste. Period