Foreign exchange controls lead to shortages of foreign currency.
TRUTH 11 years ago
CHEAP POLITICIAN
OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AFEDE FILLING HIS BANK ACCOUNTS ABROAD< ASIEDU NKETIA SPREADING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER BRONG AHAFO AND BUYING MANSION IN CALGARY CANADA, HANNA BISSIW ,OYI LITHUR ANITA DISOSO SPREADING MONEY AS IF GHANA HAS NO PROBLEM
BULAALAH 11 years ago
Mr. Documents again?
Obournana 11 years ago
Do your job for your part and let them do theirs. What is wrong with you, Mr.Know-All? Why are you NPP followers see only good things about your party and members but not other parties and their members? Do you see only perfect members in NPP than any other people or what? Book-long and intellectuals of the world, just stay in your cage and leave others alone.
OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago
AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....
It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the next flag bearer of the Party by excluding them even before the mortal remains of the demised President were interred. It is also symptomatic of how political party elites in Ghana and Africa worm their way into the confidences of persons perceived as likely to ascend to power positions for purposes of eventual personal economic gain at the expense of the generality of the mass of Party members and the Nation which every President swears to serve under the Constitution...
Azumah Nelson 11 years ago
You should rather shut up.what do you about economics?
Obournana 11 years ago
He is expert in everything but he could not cure his impotence. What a world? He has become a nuisance like stupid Franklin Cudjoe. Those purchased by NPP to do their dirty jobs never make any impact, I wonder why? Kweku Baako did all he could with his publicized lies against NDC for Nana Addo and NPP but he did not make any impact. He still does same old tricks that never worked. NPP needs a real researcher to study the pattern of modern politics for them. They will keep losing if they do not change from their old politics which do not work.
MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!!!!! 11 years ago
Only foolish and stupid people like you will still hail gov't inspite of this abysmal performance!! Ghana is destined to destruction!!!
sammy 11 years ago
when the cedi depreciating the opposition were all over place blaming the gov of infficiency and bad managers.now that the cedi is gaining strenth kwaku baako say they should not talk about it.what kind of person are you?
JAMES Y 11 years ago
Kwaku Baako rather should shut up. He is disappointed that the local currency (cedi) is appreciating against the dollar and other foreign currencies. For him, he will like it to depreciate even further to keep blaming government for its fall because of economic management. He would have made praiseworthy noise had that happened during an NPP tenure of office.
KWAKU MANU 11 years ago
WHY SHOULD GOVERNMENT BE PRAISED FOR BORROWING TO SHORE UP THE CEDI? ALL NDC HAS DONE IS TAKE MORE LOANS AGAINST OUR CHILDREN'S FUTURE AND INSTEAD OF BUYING OUR COCOA WITH CEDIS TO GO AND SELL FOR DOLLARS. THEY HAVE TAKEN A LOAN IN DOLLARS TO COME BUY IN CEDIS,- REVERSE OSMOSIS. ACCUMULATION OF ALL THOSE LOANS IN OUR FOREIGN ACCOUNTS IS WHAT HAS CUSED THE UPSURGE OF OUR CEDI.
PRATT 11 years ago
ANITA DE SOOSOO'S DWARFS HAVE RELEASED THE CEDI BUT STILL A GALLON OF PETROL COSTS 3.36 GHC EQUAVALENT TO 151,200 CEDIS. NDC MUST THANK DR BAWUMIA FOR THE RE-DENOMINATION OTHERWISE WE WOULD CARRY 1,663,200 CEDIS TO FILL OUR CARS FUEL TANKS. NDC HAS REALLY DESTROYED GHANA.
kusi 11 years ago
U talk too much
Joe Turkey 11 years ago
These NDC men are mad. You can't borrow more to free yourself from debt. This so-called appreciation is a fluke. The cedi will start depreciating in no time when the borrowed monies are "used up". Projects are going to be inflated the same way the GFA inflated costs in Brazil. Meantime, government is going to use the scant income to pay interest on the loans. Then they will go for more money (if they can get it). But here is the bottom line. This country is so heavily leveraged because of corruption and very, very bad policies. Now, they are dancing with an axe. Wait until the cedi starts depreciating (if it hasn't started already) and they will blame importers of "obroni wawu"
Factually Reliable 11 years ago
You can borrow to free yourself from debt. Finanacial leverage is good when the said money is used to invest in projects to bring huge returns in the long run. Don't take what your bawumia says hook and line. Go to wall street and most of these countries, they borrow to reinvest and pay thier debts and subsequently towards financial emancipation.
k.poku 11 years ago
This cedi appreciation is not sustainable because it has to do with injection of more dollars through borrowing aka the Eurobond and cocoa loan. The fundamental of the cedi/economy is still weak so the government should be careful with the excitement. Imports still outstrip exports, the dollarization of the economy is still course, the CHRAJ Commissioner's rent and hotel fee are all paid in dollars as an example. We are not seeing the cedi appreciation reflected in the prices of goods and services because majority of these goods were supplied to the market during the time of cedi depreciation. This positive trajectory should be sustained for at least the rest of the year before we can see it reflected in the prices of goods and services. To me this appreciation is just artificial
Mm 11 years ago
How do u make a weak currency strong?
Fanta De Fanta 11 years ago
Kweku Banku, U are full of ur self, u talk to people like they are on ur pay sheet, even u have the right to talk, not alone defending K4 & NPP every second, which of this guys are u feeding? With ur dead penis, thanks to Rawlins u marry for someone to be banging ur wife for u. Ewu
Concerned citizen 11 years ago
His only aim is to make a name for himself: as Mr fearless, Mr know all, Mr good speaker, Mr no nonsense, but these make him look so arrogant, foolish, boring and very, very, very petty. All he is good at is how to bring poeple down, creats an environment of hatred. He is just an attention seeker! What is wrong the with government coming out to tell the popualtion how the currency is doing. Has he not got the intelligent to realise how the nation has been woried about the fall of the our currency? Has the nation no right to know how things are moving in the country? Or is this his method of making him forget about his personal problem? What a shame!!
Factually Reliable 11 years ago
You are telling true patriots of Ghana that many factors could cause the appreciation of the cedi but in the same vain many factors could not cause depreciation hence blame government when depreciation.
Yaw Br3nya 11 years ago
Will upward prices changes arising form the Cedi/Dollard come down
KB 11 years ago
Is it not interesting that, the same person who was calling for the sacking of the Bank of Ghana Governor because of the cedis depreciation cant stand others praising the govt for ensuring that the cedi not only stabilises against major currencies but also appreciate. He doesnt even know that this is the first time in many years that the cedi has appreciated drastically against all major currency. The best the cedi did in prevous years was to remain stable. This time around it is not only remaining stable, it is further appreciating. This in my opinion is a very good thing and who ever was responsible for that must be applauded. For me, it confirms the wide held view that the fundamentals of the economy was relatively good. Kweku is not an economist and therefore will not understand why the cedi is appreciating and why government communicators have confidence that this will appreciate even further. There are every indacation that the prospects for the cedi and the economy as a whole looks good.
Yes its true that the cocoa syndication loan and the euro bond injected into the economy has helped, but going forward things look even brighter;
Gas project: There is every indication that, when the gas project comes on,the economy will further stabilise as this will inject about another 1 billion into the economy which would have gone out of the economy to pay for gas and oil.
This will also lead to increase power generation which will further boast production in the country.
The IMF injection which will start next year will further inject more capital in the economy and this will further ensure stability.
Government is also busy partnering private companies to further increase power generation in the country by 2015 with the altimate goal of generating atleast 5000mgt of power by 2016.
All that the government needs to do is to follow the development agenda it has programmed for itself, particularly energy, to make Ghana a net exporter of energy by 2016 and the economy will look very good in the coming years. Some of us understand some of these things and therefore Kweku Baako should rather shut up.
Boamah 11 years ago
If the government is blamed when the cedi falls, they have the right to claim credit when things improve.
Sam, Bern 11 years ago
Shame on you Kwaku!whz shouldnt they say it. Would u have kept quite if it was still depreciating. so please keep to principles and stop plazing the Ostreach
joan accranewtown 11 years ago
lkojuhzgtfr
lkojuhzgtfr
Albert 11 years ago
What really is Baako's point if it is not the fact that he is just trying hard to confuse the public about the gains being made by the Mahama government regarding the positive signs being shown by the cedi, which the likes of Baako initially thought was an impossibility?
Abbas, london 11 years ago
According to him (baako), government must be cautious about taking glory for the seeming stability of the local currency as several factors could be responsible for the current situation. and i ask, since when did he baako realize that, aren't he and his cronies the same people attacking the government individually for doing little to stabilized the cedi. kwaku be fair on your analysis since u are not the only one which God has blessed u wid wisdom. fucking boy
Exposure 11 years ago
Mr. Baako, are you not one of those bashing the government of the day when the cedi was nose-diving? Is it your wish that the cedi should never recover so that you will continue with your bashing? Yet even if for a little while, allow the government to be on cloud nine.
bigblackwolf 11 years ago
i dont understand why some people are bashing him, what he is saying is that, govt communicators should wait for a while to make sure the cedi is in fact stable before taking all credit, otherwise they will have to come and find reasons to justify should the cedi not stabilize, what is wrong with this admonishing. some one please explain to me if you can, please
John 11 years ago
Kwaku, did you kept quiet a while when the cedi was having challenges? You and your likes were all over the place castigating the government over the depreciating cedi. You should understand that the appreciation of the cedi did not happen in vacuum.
LOVE, ABUJA NIGERIA 11 years ago
Kweku Baaku if you had classmates you will not reason like this. You were on Good Morning Ghana lambasting the Government for mismanagement of the economy hence the fall of the Cedi, now if the government has been able to reverse the trend you say what.
Are the one who determines what Government Communicators should or should talk about ?
Hmmmmmm Ghana is a very funny place. It is the only country in which school drop outs and wee smoking people like you profess economic reasons.
What are the factors accounting for the stabilization of the currency other than Government policies?.
Now what does your economic braggart Bawomia say. We have now known that Bawomia was using political motives to send bad signals on the economy that was why the Cedi fell anytime he gave his Bawomiatic Lectures or comments
Come again Mr. No Classmate.
What happened to you I heard you were doing a Certificate In Public Administration at GIMPA. Hahaha you run away from class test one fine Wednesday morning abi ?
oor 11 years ago
This gorvenment indeed i rest my words.
HARD LISTENERS 11 years ago
all the reasons are gone, abi? the dwarfs, the redenomination of the cedi, the huge imports etc. propaganda govt
Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 11 years ago
So Mr. Baako ! I sometimes think you allow parochial interest clouds your senses of intelligent analysis. All fingers went pointing to the Government and the Finance Minister when the cedi slide into the abyss. A no hope of confidence became the daily crusade of your NPP financiers. Now that, through Governments prudent interventions and the cedi is bouncing back to life,you think several factors other gov't measures be attributed to the cedis gradual recovery. Unfortunately in your porous analysis you could not mentioned any of your so called " several factors. Where is your stand? You fall short of any intelligent analysis.
Ugly Akufo Addo 11 years ago
Wht is this stupid fool talking about
Son Of Man 11 years ago
GOVERNMENT COMMUNICATORS, LISTEN TO WISDOM FOR ONCE PLEASE.
WHERE WERE YOU GUYS WHEN THE CEDI WAS SUFFERING ?
BUSH TALK AS USUAL.
Abdul rahman ganja 11 years ago
U inject one billion dollar to protect us value to shout Bawumia up, hahaha the money will soon finish in the bank name we will see. I wish the our experts value that helped but for injecting himmmm it won't help for long ooh
mm 11 years ago
I hope you also know that it is this same several factors that cause the cedi to fall against the dollar and other currencies.
mm 11 years ago
Is Central Bank different from govt? You are the same person who will blame govt when central bank goes wrong.Shame
ALI MAHAMA 11 years ago
It is only NDC IDOITS who will jump for joy over the Gedi appreciation after over 8months suffering from the hands of incompetent Mahama Economic team under the leadership of Ammisah Athur.The fact is if the Government was forced to go for Loans like ERO BOND and COCOA loans before bringing the Cedi to life what has it achieved Only DEBTS DEBTS DEBTS.
James Armstrong 11 years ago
I thought you will rather keep mute and look for a hole to enter as the economy is now proving you 'doomsday' loud mouths wrong. With the focus of this administration on investments in the oil sector, power, airports, sea ports, roads Ghana is being prepared for an economic boom beyond our imaginations. The Mill's Better Ghana Dream after all is now being given the desired boost it needs and the NDC will impress even the die hard NPP foot soldiers to take a hard look at the lies and propaganda of their leaders and vote overwhelming for Mahama in 2016 to continue the good work.
CHEAP POLITICIAN
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...
Mr. Documents again?
Do your job for your part and let them do theirs. What is wrong with you, Mr.Know-All? Why are you NPP followers see only good things about your party and members but not other parties and their members? Do you see only per ...
It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...
He is expert in everything but he could not cure his impotence. What a world? He has become a nuisance like stupid Franklin Cudjoe. Those purchased by NPP to do their dirty jobs never make any impact, I wonder why? Kweku Baa ...
Kwaku Baako rather should shut up. He is disappointed that the local currency (cedi) is appreciating against the dollar and other foreign currencies. For him, he will like it to depreciate even further to keep blaming govern ...
WHY SHOULD GOVERNMENT BE PRAISED FOR BORROWING TO SHORE UP THE CEDI? ALL NDC HAS DONE IS TAKE MORE LOANS AGAINST OUR CHILDREN'S FUTURE AND INSTEAD OF BUYING OUR COCOA WITH CEDIS TO GO AND SELL FOR DOLLARS. THEY HAVE TAKEN A ...
ANITA DE SOOSOO'S DWARFS HAVE RELEASED THE CEDI BUT STILL A GALLON OF PETROL COSTS 3.36 GHC EQUAVALENT TO 151,200 CEDIS. NDC MUST THANK DR BAWUMIA FOR THE RE-DENOMINATION OTHERWISE WE WOULD CARRY 1,663,200 CEDIS TO FILL OUR C ...
U talk too much
These NDC men are mad. You can't borrow more to free yourself from debt. This so-called appreciation is a fluke. The cedi will start depreciating in no time when the borrowed monies are "used up". Projects are going to be inf ...
You can borrow to free yourself from debt. Finanacial leverage is good when the said money is used to invest in projects to bring huge returns in the long run. Don't take what your bawumia says hook and line. Go to wall stree ...
This cedi appreciation is not sustainable because it has to do with injection of more dollars through borrowing aka the Eurobond and cocoa loan. The fundamental of the cedi/economy is still weak so the government should be ca ...
Kweku Banku, U are full of ur self, u talk to people like they are on ur pay sheet, even u have the right to talk, not alone defending K4 & NPP every second, which of this guys are u feeding? With ur dead penis, thanks to Raw ...
His only aim is to make a name for himself: as Mr fearless, Mr know all, Mr good speaker, Mr no nonsense, but these make him look so arrogant, foolish, boring and very, very, very petty. All he is good at is how to bring poe ...
Is it not interesting that, the same person who was calling for the sacking of the Bank of Ghana Governor because of the cedis depreciation cant stand others praising the govt for ensuring that the cedi not only stabilises ag ...
lkojuhzgtfr
What really is Baako's point if it is not the fact that he is just trying hard to confuse the public about the gains being made by the Mahama government regarding the positive signs being shown by the cedi, which the likes of ...
According to him (baako), government must be cautious about taking glory for the seeming stability of the local currency as several factors could be responsible for the current situation. and i ask, since when did he baako re ...
Mr. Baako, are you not one of those bashing the government of the day when the cedi was nose-diving? Is it your wish that the cedi should never recover so that you will continue with your bashing? Yet even if for a little whi ...
i dont understand why some people are bashing him, what he is saying is that, govt communicators should wait for a while to make sure the cedi is in fact stable before taking all credit, otherwise they will have to come and f ...
Kwaku, did you kept quiet a while when the cedi was having challenges? You and your likes were all over the place castigating the government over the depreciating cedi. You should understand that the appreciation of the cedi ...
Kweku Baaku if you had classmates you will not reason like this. You were on Good Morning Ghana lambasting the Government for mismanagement of the economy hence the fall of the Cedi, now if the government has been able to rev ...
So Mr. Baako ! I sometimes think you allow parochial interest clouds your senses of intelligent analysis. All fingers went pointing to the Government and the Finance Minister when the cedi slide into the abyss. A no hope of c ...
BUSH TALK AS USUAL.
It is only NDC IDOITS who will jump for joy over the Gedi appreciation after over 8months suffering from the hands of incompetent Mahama Economic team under the leadership of Ammisah Athur.The fact is if the Government was fo ...
I thought you will rather keep mute and look for a hole to enter as the economy is now proving you 'doomsday' loud mouths wrong. With the focus of this administration on investments in the oil sector, power, airports, sea por ...
Mr know it all again. Always talking jazz.