You are here: HomeNews2014 09 19Article 326657

Over 150 UCC students admitted over cholera, food poisoning

Read Comments Comments (65)

• ghana 9 years ago

cholera is better dan ebola

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Of all the coastal towns and cities and if there's one, Cape Coast is the filthiest followed by James Town and Chorkor.

• Ghana Ba 9 years ago

Eeeeiiiiii are we safe.....as a country!

• Woman 9 years ago

I wonder where you place sekondi and Takoradi!

• senior Wisdom 9 years ago

Ghana until recently vying to become a middle income country. This is disease a of the middle ages and not befitting of a contry whith such ambitions

• Woman 9 years ago

Are you serious!

• We Told U So 9 years ago

whhhaaat

• the truth 9 years ago

everything has a superstitious explanation in Ghana.

Na waaaaa oooooo

• the truth 9 years ago

Are you serious (question mark)

• abu okyeman KIBI 9 years ago

DIRTY MAHAMA GOVERNMENT,DIRTY ACCRA SLUMS ,GHANA IS FILTY ALL OVER . NDC GOVT IN A CURSE

• Nima boy 9 years ago

Your mothers filthy pussy is rather a curse for giving birth to you.Noooonsense.

• MR JELIL AHMED 9 years ago

I WONDER WHERE UNIVERSITY STUDENTS GET CHOLERA

• KD 9 years ago

So cholera is slowly becoming an epidemic in Ghana? And what is the government of Ghana doing about it? Where is the minister of health?

• KWAKU MANU 9 years ago

NDC IS THIS HOW FAR YOU HAVE BROUGHT US. COMMON CHOLERA WHICH STRUCK THE NATION. YOU HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DEAL WITH IT. YOU HABE SAT DOWN FOR IT TO BEVOME ENDEMIC, WHAT IF EBOLA STRIKES? MAY GOD IN HIS MERCY KEEP GHANA FROM ...

• Nima boy 9 years ago

Master did the government opened your dirty mouth and poured shit into it.Keep your environment clean and dont forget to educate your illitrate tribemen also.
    Salute

• baby luv 9 years ago

Stupid piece. Do you want the NDC to keep your house clean Learn the cause of cholera and you will begin to write sensible article

• Yiddana 9 years ago

When will our leadership understand their job functions?

• Things Fall Apart 9 years ago

Go around Ghana and see how dirty everything is. Hand washing alone wont help. Instead of wasting time in churches they should clean up the country. Teach hygiene in the schools and every Ghanaian should behave well not litte ...

• osei hwedie 9 years ago

Those who insulted Mrs Rawlings as a BLACKMONK

• osei hwedie 9 years ago

THose who insulted Mrs RAWLINGS aS A BLACK MONKEY should retract their insults and apologise. She was the only person in GHANA who drew the attention of the people about the Criminal Negligence of NDC president. Those who ins ...

• MNBVJHFGUTY 9 years ago

FOOLS FOOLS ANIMALS IN HUMAN SKIN MAHAMA SHOLLD COME AND CLEAN YOUR HOUSE FOR U,U WILL FOREVER REMAIN IN OPOSITION DRUG PUSHERS,

• Afari 9 years ago

I hope you understand what leadership means!!

• aff 9 years ago

Before these guys came from their various homes to school there was no cholera in Cape Coast, so why should any body blame the leadership for the outbreak?

• rOB 9 years ago

I DON'T KNOW HOW OLD YOU ARE, BUT SINCE YOU WERE BORN, HAVE YOU HEARD OF SUCH A SERIOUS CHOLERA OUTBREAK IN GHANA BEFORE?

• rOB 9 years ago

Cholera is a well understood disease and its prevalence in a community or country is directly related to the state of sanitation in that location. If you want to tell us that this record outbreak of ALL TIME in Ghana has noth ...

• King Bright (USA) 9 years ago

If you fail to release and mismanagement funds meant for sanitation what happens? Worse of it they will come to insult people who complain. Wow.

• anewu & d wife 9 years ago

"For how long" are they going to be choleraed? Oh Cape, my Cape. I miss d battle of Shoa Balls.

• rOB 9 years ago

This is a disgrace! Cholera has now become as common as a stomach upset in Ghana. What is this government doing? I have never heard of such a serious Cholera outbreak in Ghana before. If the government can't run the country, ...

• kofi''' 9 years ago

instead of taking the university authorities to task people are blaming mahama...what happened to the sanitation fees paid by the students... I guess some of you are just desperate to tag mahama with all the bad in ghana! let ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

NA SO EBEE!!!!! CHOLERA MAHAMA, CORRUPTION MAHAMA, DUMSOR DUMSOR MAHAMA,
    CHRAJ MAHAMA, EVERYTHING MAHAMA. EDEE BEE KEKE MAHAMA.

• Williams 9 years ago

The rest off the student should be careful

• abena 9 years ago

Provide good drinking water to the population and put a stop to the sachet water. It is spreading cholera. Don't wait till everybody dies until there is no one to govern!!

• Tibaa 9 years ago

Our Press is deeply steeped in sensationalism: is it 150, or 100?

• KD 9 years ago

CHOLERA 100
    FOOD POISONING 50

TOPIC IS CORRECT

• BALLOT BOX 9 years ago

E de bee k3k3 is what you, yes, you, that was what you wanted isn't it?

• WATERLOO 9 years ago

WHY ARE GHANAIAN JOURNALIST NOW BECOMING VERY UNCOUTH AND UNKIND TO THE VERY SOCIETY AND COUNTRY THEY PLEDGED TO SERVE? KOJO YANKAH AND KWAW ANSAH AND THEIR LIKES SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR ESTABLISHING SUCH A SUBVERSIVE SYSTEM/ O ...

• Edna 9 years ago

Effective hand washing and taking of warm food. is my advice to all UCC students

• Abakah 9 years ago

da food vendors must b investigated.dey. don't care wat goes into da food, all dey care fr is deir money. dis is inhuman

• Jacob 9 years ago

Only Cholera and 2 dead. I shiver to imagine when Ebola lands. We need to use this opportunity to change our sanitary conditions.

• Walantuwalansa 9 years ago

GHANAIANS HAVE NO HYGIENIC BEHAVIOUR THEY ARE JUST DIRTY, SHIT, PEE AND THROW RUBBISH EVERYWHERE... ONLY THING THEY DO BEST IS TO GO TO CHURCH AND SHOUT! MAYBE ALREADY EBOLA??? TAKE CARE!

• Atueknab 9 years ago

OMG

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

IF IT IS EBOLA WE MUST KNOW FOR THE PUBLIC TO TAKE EXTRA PRECAUATION. THE FACT IS EBOLA GOES WITH CHOLERA AND IT IS DANGEROUS FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO HIDE THE SPREAD OF EBOLA.......JUST EXPOSE WHAT IS HAPPENING AT THE UNIVERSIT ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

Oh Mother Ghana!!!

What is happening to our country?

Nobody is safe from this disease now.

What happened to the 'very neat and rich' old Ghana some of us grew up in?

The good, old 'tankase' mentality should be bro ...

• Adams Yussif, Korle-Bu Campus, UG 9 years ago

I think we better deal with the issue and stop this politics. Cholera outbreak, what are we doing as Ghanaians in managing it should be the topic of every one. The media is doing their part in tell us about it, ministry of he ...

• Yaw Sebe 9 years ago

Filth all over! why Ghana

• Yaw Sebe 9 years ago

Filth all over the Country! why oh why Ghana

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

UCC, please consult.. www.shaghana.org for assitance.

• Grace 9 years ago

Ghanians are filthy people period. They thrive on living ina filthy environment, using gutters as toilets and eating without washing hands.

• YEBOPOWER 9 years ago

Too much beans.Shut down the damn school and let everyone go home and take care of himself/herself since the whole country lacks medical defenses.

• Akwasi Manu 9 years ago

blame the school authorities for d poor sanitation on d campus. i wish som1 come to ucc, walk from their taxi rank to Ayensu, Kwapro, Amamoma n Apewosika. all they know is taking money from the science Mkt women. ppl sell fo ...

• paa mensah 9 years ago

cholera is something familiar in ghana and almost all africa, we been there before and knows how to treat or cures it, dont panic, be control of yrselfes, this is not ebola thank almighty GOD, cape coast uni u will all be fin ...

• kofi duku 9 years ago

Our leaders must wakeup and do what I'd right we are dieing why

• TOMMY 9 years ago

This is an unprecedented case so far in Ghana.
    Let's pray that the issue of cholera would be hurled out of the nation along with the NDC government

• Lawyer 9 years ago

'Fellows' l wish you fast recovery.

• pk 9 years ago

Tragic, a disaster. The clarion call: Water and sanitation for all in 2015.Got to mobilise internal funds. Can't wait for foreign aid.

• Ametefe 9 years ago

Cape coast is too dirty. Here dirt and the people live ln total harmony.Sanitation officers are non existent.

• Kwabena 9 years ago

University students dying from cholera in this day and age? This is a sahme for Ghana ans speaks of the rot in the society.

• i am the fireman!! 9 years ago

hmmmm Ghana filth x killing us wat a disgrace highly preventable dead citizens must rise up to fight politicians dey r all mess

• K APPIAH 9 years ago

CHOLERA AND SO WHAT,WHY ARE WE SURPRISED? WE HAVE NOT SEEN ANYTHING YET.MAHAMA IS A CURSED PRESIDENT.SOMEONE WHO COULD ONLY WAVE AT SOMEONE AND THE PERSON DIES INSTANTLY, AND YOU SAY WHAT.HE IS JUST A CURSED PRESIDENT SIMPLE ...

• gigi 9 years ago

Oo university of constant confusion, ure still at it?? Hmm, may God have mercy on their pool souls ND save de rest of Dem, hmmmm

• Kanawu 9 years ago

What do you expect when students feel proud to clean their environment. They dress nice but they live in squalor and slum

• infact 9 years ago

cholera goes to university

• saboo 9 years ago

Ada beaches the best in ghana.....n around the volta lake....man is like Bahamas....thus my hometown...jooor mmmmmuuaahhh

• Jah Bless 9 years ago

ghana is inded cursed cursed under this Mahama led government. Nothing good is really coming out of the country

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

Is it possible for the Ghana Water Company to check the water supply on the UCC campus to ensure water flowing through the pipes is not contaminated through leakages, cracked pipes etc. Also samples of sachet water on sale in ...