You are here: HomeNews2014 09 18Article 326463

Ghana must stop pampering State officials - Adei

Read Comments Comments (118)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

self-seeking stealers

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

House only president and VP for security reasons. The rest have to find own accommodation and transportation. With the internet there is no need for officers to be moving around for meetings -- use video and teleconferencing ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

I have been writing articles saying the same thing for the longest. That colonial mentality has passed its usefulness. Even in England government does not provide free housing to Ministers let alone messengers at Flagstaff ho ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Lagbokope 9 years ago

@ Sarpong. Even though I don't condone the practice of the state housing ministers, MPs and other high officials, you are wrong in your assertion that Ministers are not housed by the tax payer in Britain. For your information ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Sorry, I might have got my information wrong but here in USA, the only people who get free housing are the President, Vice-president and the Chief Justice. All the other government employees including Members of congress(Hous ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

…..and state governors as well. The rest do not live on freebies as heads of public sectors employees do in our sorry a***** country. It is about time to STOP this waste

• The Archivist 9 years ago

Good suggestion! But in the future Adei should practise what he preaches. This was the unqualified person who was given temporary charge of the Rectorship of GIMPA and succeeded in staying for 5 or so years plus wanting to be ...

• Bono 9 years ago

Attacking the messenger is what is killing us!!!!

• Opong Gyamfi 9 years ago

In the USA, congressmen and Senators charge the national purse during tax filing time for their accommodation, transportation, feeding and other minor expenses for "working out of their home state"! Even some mayors like the ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Do you know what you are talking about? Do you know anything about accounting? When you you file your taxes in USA, you have the option of taking the standard deduction or filing for itemized deduction which most of the peopl ...

• Daniella 9 years ago

Thank you Sarpong. I have a federal job here in DC, and everything you are saying is right on point.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Thank you Daniella.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What you are talking about is different from government paying for officials to live in Washington D.C. Anybody with a second home that is warranted because of business is allowed to take a certain percentage of the mortgage ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

The cry is all because he is not a state official. If people like this Adei guy gets a post like that he will ask for more incentives and privileges. This is hypocrisy at its best.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

This expensive or costly benefits for senior public officials is a huge drain on the state. They get all these numerous benefits at enormous cost to the tax payer whilst schools, hospitals and other critical services are star ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

What is the retirement age for commissioners and judges? Lauretta is about 55 or so. You may be right about her wanting to buy the government home eventually, otherwise why would she have asked for all the renovations but aga ...

• aaagrass 9 years ago

Funny funny funny and funny

• Whatever 9 years ago

Would someone ask Professor Adei, which country buys four-wheel drive every month for its ministers? Speculative analysis doesn't show forward-thinking but clear opportunism

• Daniella 9 years ago

what is that suppose to mean?

• facts 9 years ago

Then those who enjoy the single spine salaries and continue to enjoy free accomodation must be made to pay re funds..

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

This foolishness should have been corrected a long time ago. I've written many times, in this forum, that FREE CARS, HOUSING, UTILITIES, COOKS, DRIVERS, GARDEN BOYS and other FREEBIES for state officials were the LEGACIES fro ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Why is he saying that now, so late when the horses had bolted out of the stable?

Indeed, scrapping those colonial legacies was the main aim of the Single Spine Scheme, as I learned in the beginning, only to have them still ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Lagbokope 9 years ago

Ask again, why now. Can Prof Adei honestly vouch that he wasn't living in a public-provided accommodation when he was Rector of GIMPA? When he was enjoying the largesse, he found nothing wrong with it. However, now that he no ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Mr. Sappey!I completely agree with your observation or the minor correction you made on Mr. Sarpong's post however,that does not mean we should keep on implementing the same damned useless policies. Building accommodation for ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

I like the way you used humour to hit home some very good points in your article.

I just hope somebody high up there in government will read your comments and act good on your suggestions.

• Kobina 9 years ago

Articles writing on Ghanaweb do not help. We need to name and shame them. I am working on a website called Ghanainc.com

It will be like Americas most wanted.Politicians name and pctures will be published, with perks they ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

How could judges and state prosecutors who live in govt house ever prosecute and jail wrong doers of the same stature and privilege? They can only do that if they cater for themselves and hold everyone including their co equa ...

• WOW!! 9 years ago

LAZY SOME GHANA PEOPLE!!!

• Boateng 9 years ago

How long have you noticed this pamparing? Sir? Don't you know he is the MP? Don't you know he is a Lawyer? Don't you know he is a Doctor? Hey, don't you know? That is Ghana for you!

• GHANAMAN. 9 years ago

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ TOO KNOWN@@@@@@@@@

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

Enough of the freebies.
    Everybody is just taking and given back nothing. Ah Ghana is sweet to be in Mahama's government.

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

IT IS THE FAILURE OF THE EDUCATION AT GIMPA. STATE OFFICIALS PAMPER THEMSELVES. POLITICIANS COME AND GO, BUT OFFICIALS REMAIN. ONE WOULD EXPECT THEIR TRAINING TO HOLD THEM BACK, BUT NO, GIMPA HAS FAILED THE NATION. ADEI MUST ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

State officials they say your pay is in heaven.

• enoch 9 years ago

I WISH THE GOVT WILL LISTENS.GOOD PRO.

• Ogyam 9 years ago

Because of this pampering, they do not respect us. All thwy know is stealing dollars to buy houses in USA.
    Cheap ministers.
    They should come to USA and show me the work they would to to attract such package.

• SAMO JEWELLERY 9 years ago

Call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest designs of yellow n white gold rings to choose from for yr wedding n engagement........locally design rings soo perfect n accurate with superb finnish touches.....u call also ...

• Tibaa 9 years ago

State officials are over-weaned kids hooked to the largesse of the state, the cost of which is borne by ordinary Ghanaians.

The rot within the corridors of power make mockery of our democracy and constitutionalism.

At t ...

• Marry 9 years ago

The accommodation is for the state and not Lady The state was spending a property they did not keep well.I agree.We must pay people at market price and let them pay out of pocket.

• Kwabena 9 years ago

Well said. And what is the idea behind that'honourable' title? During a visit few years, I thought it was nice, I had a drink with old buddies. They had a gentleman we them, they all called 'honourable'. During that sittin ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

SINCE YOU ARE WAITING CHRIST,ALLAH, OR WHAT EVER YOU SHALL BE POOR STAND UP WAKE UP BBEFORE SOME ONE FROM SOME WHERE CAN HELP YOU LAZY LEADRS LAZY GHANA,

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

SINCE YOU ARE WAITING CHRIST,ALLAH, OR WHAT EVER YOU SHALL BE POOR STAND UP WAKE UP BBEFORE SOME ONE FROM SOME WHERE CAN HELP YOU LAZY LEADERS LAZY GHANA,

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

The government not only Mahama's but all have used pampering of State officials as a legal avenue for theft. It is used to shut up those who have access to illegal and corrupt informations on government (political) dealings. ...

• Maame 9 years ago

This woman must not only resign but also need to be investigated for spending such amount of money on renovation & the hotel lodging.

• K. Duah 9 years ago

The 'truth is the truth' period. Our so called leaders are not proud of the positions. All that they know is spending tax payers money any how they want at the expense of their top boss, the President and the house of Parliam ...

• obofi wayome 9 years ago

john mahama is not a Ghanaian

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

Great on you professor Stephen for pointing this out. I wish you can lobby the parliament to change the law. Ghanians in Ghana also can demonstrate /lobby their parliamentarians to talk about this in Parliament. Now the quest ...

• GONJA MAN 9 years ago

WHERE IN THE ERA WILL GOVT BE PROVIDING ACCOMATION FOR ITS PUBLIC SERVANTS OR FOR THAT MATTER MP, AND MINISTERS. GOVT. PAYS THEM THIER RENTS MONEY ADDED TO THIER SALARIES. IT IS THEIR RESPONSIBITY TO RENT AN PLACE OF THIER CH ...

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

A poor country like Ghana with meagre resources can simply not afford to pamper these officials. Public service SHOULD be borne out of sacrifice not a sense of entitlement, especially where the majority of the masses are in d ...

• Mother Ghana 9 years ago

Where was the CHRAJ staying before her appointment?The Government is not to provide accomodation for every worker.

• Musah 9 years ago

100% throui the should not.

• asem 9 years ago

We are going to demand change from our leaders very soon. Ghana is going to be ruled according the way we Ghanaians want not how is been done at the moment. Politicians are a bunch of criminals looting state wealth with noth ...

• obeng 9 years ago

ghanaians are afraid of the reality and that is what prof has boldly said. we must stop pampering state officials.
    it is their responsibility to protect the people of ghana.

• Kwame Poku Ansah 9 years ago

we are spending huge amount on one official while ordinary Ghanaian is finding it difficult to get access to potable water,daily bread,accomodation,good road,quality health care and education.Eeiii Ghana,where are we heading ...

• Real Abongo 9 years ago

But Gh is so corrupt that the so called "leaders" will not welcome your idea

• Willie 9 years ago

Yes in Europe they live in their own houses,we should do that,you see MP'S going to work on bicycles even ministers.We are taking care of them which should not be the case.Ghana needs a government who is going to abolish this ...

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

No wonder every idiot wants to enter into politics. Just a matter of where you come from, join NPP or NDC depending on which party's stronghold you live, make noise at their meetings and you become a loyal member and bulldoz ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Tell me about it -- Obama rented a room in Washington before becoming president. Biden rode the train back and forth to Delaware every weekend and still does that once in a while as VP,though now he has security when he does ...

• Bassing Kamal 9 years ago

Folks!!can anyone tell me what exactly is wrong these these highly pampered idiots?

• Bassing Kingdom 9 years ago

Folks!!can anyone tell me what exactly is wrong these these highly pampered idiots?

• jt. 9 years ago

Pro. Adei, who want to hear this. The very people who would oppose this are the very people suffering as a result of this nonsense colonial practice. Why do Ghana Government have to spend too much to raise a voted politician?

• Power from below 9 years ago

Let all Ghanaians join in the crusade

• Ofori 9 years ago

Dr. Adei did similar or worse things at GIMPA. Hmmm. I leave it to God. Dr. Stephen Adei standing on high moral ground? Your records are there.

If state officials are enjoying it, why shouldn't he? If it is not being done, then we expect it not to be provided to anyone. Dr. Adei could not have denied himself the privilege if it existed. What he's saying is that it sh ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

We enjoy saying we are independent from the British...but their FREEBIES,......bush allowance,tea Allowance,Govt Vehicles,Free petrol,Gardenboy, cook etc. are STILL there !! WHEN will a president come and END these silly thi ...

• frank 9 years ago

Did you not enjoy same as GIMPA? You had all the freebies and more. You built mansions and had fleet of cars at your disposal

• concerned 9 years ago

Some categories of workers are denied accommodation and other basic facilities. Meanwhile such workers receive peanut as salary while other workers are given freebies. Especially MPs and their likes. This is discrimination. ...

• Kolai 9 years ago

It is mind boggling why we continue to house these so-called useless officials who have no good intentions for the country but to enrich themselves and concubines at the expense of the masses. They ride in luxurious cars and ...

• Kwami - US 9 years ago

President Obama is on tax deductible salaries and fills tax at the end of every year. African leaders only want unending terms in office with miroborant salaries including bogus benefits and perdiem. As for their flashy cars ...

• yaw-london 9 years ago

peof, u are a sense. bravo

• Chris 9 years ago

Dear Prof,
    In as much as i endorse your proposal, what was your posture towards this when you were in charge of gimpa. Did you or did not you enjoy the same things that you seems to be suggesting? What has changed?
    God Bles ...

• Efamoateng 9 years ago

well said Prof. no per diems n ex gratias n also they should pay 4 their utilities bill with de huge income dey get.

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

That's right Prof. Ii's about time the government did something about this. The so-called officials have subsidized gasoline for their cars, etc.. Just too much for the country to bear. We simply can't afford this waste.

• OHENEBA NSUO (KONA) 9 years ago

MAHAMA DONT DESERVE TO BE PRESIDENT
    HE JUST CAME IN FOR RICHES

• Kwabina Sekyi 9 years ago

If single spine was to structure salaries in order to correct these excessive benefits to government officials, then why is the government not enforcing the new rules. There must be a serious audit in the system. Ghanaian tax ...

• keep quiet 9 years ago

my prof have spoken well. But the problem is jm will not listen. He put them there n they keep eating our money only to face toothless committees as usual.

• papyrito USA 9 years ago

You're damn right for saying that, its about time Ghana should learn from the US, Giving all the national cronies while the poor suffer

• kwamena/usa 9 years ago

Prof, if you did enjoy govt. perks when you were in office, why not give some of your excesses back to the state as a starter for others to follow? Then lead the charge to recoup some state losses from as many officials who h ...

• Naa 9 years ago

Prof Adei should stop bothering our ears with his sanctimonius effusions,, is he not the one who went on retirement with all sorts of "perks" including house help and security paid by GIMPA forever? And when someone tried to ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Amen to what the professor said for, it's long overdue.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

IN THE FIRST PLACE, DID YOU ALSO HAVE HAVE SUCH A PRIVILEDGE WHEN YOU WERE THE RECTOR AT THE GHANA INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT.

WHY HAS IT TAKEN YOU YEARS BEFORE RAISING YOUR VOICE ON THE MANY NEGATIVE THINGS PREVAILING IN THE ...

• Abbas, london 9 years ago

forgotten recently that you toke your exgratia. massa be fair to urself

• The Archivist 9 years ago

From the General News of Monday, 1 October 2007 of Ghanaweb.com:

"GIMPA Rector admits he’s not a Prof"

Dr. Stephen Adei, Rector of the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA) has finally admitt ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

So Professor who fault is is it the system that is in place for people who works for the government take advantage of it citizens because they work for the government or because of our minds set that people who has good ed ...

• Nkwantabisa ,Italy. 9 years ago

Many women in Ghana when they elevated to a higher position they turn to to arrogant and in the process not being able to perform well.

• ohene 9 years ago

Half of the houses in Accra are state owned, and people have leaved in them for free since 1957. More than 25% of vehicles in Ghana are state owned, and they are being driven at the expense of the state. Ghana waste so much m ...

• ohene 9 years ago

Rawlings, are you listening?

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

A lost country.

• Whatever 9 years ago

If someone did not throw an unstable allegation at the Laurrete, would he have found the need to raise this issue? No country buy four-wheel drives for its minister every month so the supporting analysis of contrast done by A ...

• Ghanaman Original 9 years ago

Very interesting. In the USA, the office of management and budget (OMB) computes how much the government can spend in order not to go bankrupt. I hope the government in Ghana has an equivalent of the OMB to determine whether ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Professor stephen Adei is 50 years late. The moment Nkrumah was removed by those matemeho traitors, self-adulation took over and their bootlickers sprouted. The situation has changed much since then. Professor Mills tried br ...

• JB Abadam 9 years ago

the so call democracy is too much in ghana

• Nkwantabisa ,Italy. 9 years ago

Ghanaian women normally become arrogant when they are elevated to higher position. Especially when go to meet them in their offices

• fosu 9 years ago

True speaking..prof

• Atta Kwaku 9 years ago

For all you know the rent goes to her. The house is for her.Thief

• Whatever 9 years ago

What prove do you have to suggest he stole something? publication inside newspaper does not constitute incriminating evidence

• obidia diana 9 years ago

with all these, they will come and tell us there is no money in the country. Are they fooling us or themselves??

• YENTIEOBIAA 9 years ago

Ghanaians must come together to support what the professor is saying. Take home your monthly due cheque and draw your scale of preferences accordingly. Live by your paychecks to smell what the masses is going through.

• Daniella 9 years ago

FEEL WHAT THE PEOPLE YOU ARE SUPPOSE TO BE LEADING ARE FEELING AND THAT IS THE ONLY WAY TO BE SUCCESSFUL AT LEADING THEM.

• ANTI 9 years ago

GHANA IS A POOR COUNTRY AND CANNOT AFFORD THAT LIFESTYLE FOR GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS. MEANWHILE, THE COUNTRY IS IN DIRE NEED OF BETTER ROADS, SCHOOLS, FIRST CLASS HOSPITALS, REBUILT RAILWAYS, ETC...ETC. ARE WE SERIOUS AS A COUNT ...

• obidia diana 9 years ago

with these, they will come and tell us there is no money in the country. Are they fooling us or themselves?

• Whatever 9 years ago

Which country acquire four wheel-drive for its ministers every month? The Two-by-four calculation professor Adei has done over is misleading and I think his suggestion is speculative and not thought through. He's just in hurr ...

• Martin 9 years ago

Ghanaians are well-known for talking and not following the talk with action. Stephen Adei has proposed that with the exception of the President, the Vice President and the Speaker of Parliament, all other public servants must ...

• voltaman 9 years ago

nonsense Government

• KWAME ADDO 9 years ago

You have enjoyed all your life at the states expense and now that you are off-road is when you sense advising the government. It is not true that US state officials don't enjoy facilities. Even in Holland, government spends m ...

• Kwapps 9 years ago

You compare Ghana to Holland? You must be a nutter!

• Nii Awuley 9 years ago

They are entitled only to what the constitution allows. Everyone should pay their way and never live above their means. Elected officials create jobs and grow the economy not their bank accounts!

• Nana Agyeman 9 years ago

I agree wholeheartedly with Prof

• saco saviour church 9 years ago

good one there, wise saying

• concerned 9 years ago

Ghana is not a country to kill yourself for because the resources are not evenly and fairly shared. Is it not absurd to scrap teacher training allowances and nursing training allowances while monies are frivolously thrown int ...

• kojo 9 years ago

this issue will soon go to sleep and status co will prevail because the one to let this proposal work him/herself benefits from it. God is forever watching as the rich contribute to the death of the poor.

• Abena 9 years ago

Would they listen? People go into politics to DUPE the country, and frankly about 90% of them have no clue about whats going on. They call themselves honorable when most cannot read simple English. We are a joke.

• DESERVE HOUSING 9 years ago

ONLY THE PRESIDENT AND THE THREE WHO CAN ACT AS PRESIDENT WHEN HE IS NOT AROUND DESERVE TO BE HOUSED AT TAXPAYER EXPENSE. THE THREE ARE THE VICE PRESIDENT, THE SPEAKER OF PARLIAMENT AND THE CHIEF JUSTICE. ALL OTHERS MUST LIVE ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

My question to you Professor Adei so what is the reason why we pamper this States Officials the rich, educated,even people who travel to abroad if you can say this is the reason then you up to something good other wise we w ...

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

Mahama is a thief and weak. In a poor country like Ghana where people are suffering to survive. Wicked politician live in luxury and waste poor tax-payer's money.

• Paa Kwesi Thomas USA 9 years ago

I agree 100% with the Professor because even in the developed world,they don't pamper govt officials. You go for loan and use it for these officials and you think about any development in the country. Cars and women are the o ...

• adanko 9 years ago

THE HEADS OF ARMS OF GOVERNMENT MUST ENJOY THAT FACILITY. INDEED ONLY RESPONSIBLE PEOPLE SHOULD RULE US. HOW CAN YOU BE RESPONSIBLE WHEN YOU DO NOT HAVE YOUR OWN HOUSE, YOU HAVE NEVER WORKED IN YOUR LIFE OR YOU ARE NOT MARRIE ...

• Blow 9 years ago

Hon.Pro Adjei is full of wisdom but don,t understand why he shy away from politics over the years.May you live long.