You are here: HomeNews2014 09 17Article 326290

Trotro drivers protest DVLA’s seatbelt directive

Read Comments Comments (29)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

these guys are not serious about safe driving

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Intra city vehicles do not need seat belts. There is no where in the developed countries that I know that Intra city vehicles have seat belts. Even school vehicles that carry children do not have such belts for passengers. Wh ...

• MAAME 9 years ago

The driver and the passenger at the front need to put on seat belts bcos the impact at the front is heavier than at the back.I support seatbelts as it is safer to have it on than none.what is hard about this I don't get it ? ...

Yes, drivers and front seat passengers should have seat belts but not the rest of the passengers in Trotro. I have not seen it anywhere. The protests, I think is against the rest of the passengers and not the drivers.

• GHFUO: nyantakyi take a hike! 9 years ago

TROTROS MUST ONLY OPERATE IN THE REMOTE MUNICIPALITIES AND VILLAGES. IN THE CITIES. THE CITY GOVT MUST REGULATE AND RUN/ADMINISTER PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION. OUTSIDE THE CITY, THE REGIONAL GOVT MUST ADMINISTER N RUN ALL NON CITY ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

@Frank: what you are saying is inaccurate all in vehicles in the US are required to put on seat belts though this may differ from state to state when it comes to fastening seat belts in the back seats. You are right about sch ...

I don't think we have that much disagreement on this issue. Trotro stops more frequently too. It will not hurt having seat belts on but not Trotro. All others, including private cars should have them and regulations and punis ...

• odi asem pa. 9 years ago

Agyena, why do you think trotro does not need the belts, are you saying cos of frequent stops it canot be severely affected by high impact there throwing passengers away, or even hitting the seat infront of you? wise up buddy ...

• GHFUO: nyantakyi take a hike! 9 years ago

NO TROTROS IN ACCRA, TEMA OR ANY SO CALLED DIRTY CITY IN GH HAVE SEATBELTS. THEY PRLLY CUT OUT THE SEATBELTS TO DO KAYA BUSINESS...MUAHAHAHAAAAAAAA. THE MATE PROLLY CUT OUT THE SEAT BELTS N SOLD THEM TO THESE KAYA BOYS TO USE ...

where do you know in the developed world that use seat belts for intra city driving? Accra? Ghana?

Perhaps Accra, Kumasi, Koforidua where people follow no traffic rules. I was scared to drive in Accra and Koforidua.

• poko a poko 9 years ago

frank which cave are you living in. If you don't know stuff, don't make up one. School buses have seat belts.
    do your research well before you comment.

You are rather living in an unlighted cave. I live in Atlanta GA and I am a school teacher too. I also have kids in the High School and know what I am talking about. Name me any school system in Georgia or other states where ...

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

fRANK, WHERE DO YOU LIVE AT. sTOP GIVING FALSE INFORMATION. IN THE US EVERYONE IS EXPECTED TO HAVE A SIT BELT ON.

I live in ATL, GA. Have you seen Greyhound buses with seat belts for passengers? I don't know about New York but do your school buses have seat belts? Do your intra city buses have belts? Do your home work well.

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho) 9 years ago

The bible says lack of knowledge my people perish.When will those trotro drivers learn sense?

• You need seatbelts!!! Due to overspee 9 years ago

It would have been a good idea to exempt Trotro drivers if they were mostly desciplined at driving at regulated speed becuase seatbelt would have been of no use in such instance. But with the level of apathy and repugnance a ...

• Akos 9 years ago

Seatbealts are safety features that prevents fatal injuries & deaths. Wearing it faithfully saved me from a major car accident. Ghanaians hate change, even when it's for their own good.

• P Otu 9 years ago

Ignoramus. Is Trotro not a vehicle plying Ghana roads. What makes these people think they dont deserve to fix seat belts on their vehicles. Every road user must be concerned about safety. The troskies must install the seat be ...

• Poka 9 years ago

Frank, many new buses in the States have seatbelt & some States are now making it mandatory for the older buses, including school buses to install seatbelt.

People make claims without any backing.

You can be right but do you even know that in some school counties in Georgia, especially Clayton county, students sit in the floor of the bus? Check with fox news. I recommend the use of seat belts. Do you know Greyhound bus ...

• odi asem pa. 9 years ago

Frank, let me educate you on the hierarchy of control of hazards that courses accidents, 1.elimination, 2.substitution, 3. administrative control, 4.engineering control and 5. using personal protective equipment.

u cant sa ...

I am stating my views and you can state yours. Don't tell me to wise up. That implementation will not work in Ghana for now. How many trotro passengers in Accra will put on those belts even when they are installed? Is there a ...

• Egya Blay 9 years ago

This is a very good strategic move; a strategic approach to get rid of such rugged, rusty, aged vehicles not wealthy of commercial usage. I think scrapping all those cars will help. Heeerr! I have lots of photographs of those ...

• tragic country lover 9 years ago

Like most of the transport institutions in this country the DVLA is very unfriendly to the motorist. To start with the law was passed two years ago and yet they have been passing these same vehicles as road worthy time and t ...

• AWUKU 9 years ago

We the NPP are strongly against this draconian law that NDC has imposed on our poor drivers.

• Carbo 9 years ago

You might as well rebuild the entire passenger chamber for the real Tro-Tro converted from the old hard bedford truck. Its easier for the Vans to comply.
    Next thing you know, all Tro-Tro will need side impact bars and air ba ...

• Kubli 9 years ago

This not bad but l wish the dvla should introduce speed radar cameras and red light signal cutting system also to help the traffic finds and violations in the country....