You are here: HomeNews2014 09 15Article 325909

Duncan-Williams: Stop ‘cursing’ the economy with ‘negative’ comments

Read Comments Comments (111)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Let me remind all the NPP members the argument Nana Akufo-Addo made at the party’s Congress in Sunyani in 1998 in his opposition to giving candidate John Agyekum Kufuor the second chance after losing to Rawlings in 1996. He ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

They are not denying reality but being blatantly intellectually dishonest and morally bankrupt. As far as they are concerned, today, what was good for the goose then, is not good for the gander. What a crazy bunch!

• AMERICAN SOLDIER 9 years ago

THAT PREACHER IS RIGHT. I SEE THESE PEOPLE TALK NEGATIVE A LOT. IT DOES NOT HELP, IT ONLY HURTS. THE TONGUE IS POWERFUL JUST LIKE THE MIND

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What is this tithe stealing fake ArchBishop talking about? If the economy is bad and people are suffering do you want them to say the economy is good and things are better?

This moronic fool should get rid of the cassock a ...

• GIRLS SP 9 years ago

Duncan! you thief must rather stop talking nonsense!

• LOVE 9 years ago

DUNCAN WILLIAMS IS THE BEST PASTOR

• KB,LONDON 9 years ago

Solutions come by first identifying problems. If the government, which is paid to find solutions for the problems facing the country, can neither find solutions nor accept and implement workable solutions suggested by outside ...

• kafui 9 years ago

stupid pastor

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

If talk is what it takes for the economy to turn around then we don't have to look any further than Duncan Williams' BIG MOUTH and his vulnerable congregation. Good luck with talking up the economy -- soon Ghana will become U ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

If Duncan Williams is a real man of God what does the Bible says concerning marriage? He is a fake man of God and everyone that follows him will perish.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 9 years ago

You said you are playing to catch up the currency yet it is still declining. This tells me that you don't know what you are saying. You are a big liar. Get lost Duncan Williams. Your country men are dying chorela and you are ...

• joeY lonD0n... 9 years ago

Try him..

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You are a joke. I already called him as fake and tithes stealer, what else do you want me to call this coward politician hiding in Priest clothes?

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Why does the Archbishop preach on every Sunday? So that people will repent to do the right thing. Equally, why can’t people talk about the stinking economy, so that the leaderships will establish policies to improvement the ...

• joeY lonD0n... 9 years ago

LAST WEEK... I was standing on my lawns when my attention was drawn to two Ghanaians' talking very bad about GHANA and JDM.

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Dou, have you ever heard the phase “call a spade a spade” the economy in the country skimpily stink. Therefore, whitewashing it with different phase will not prevent the reek, the fetor, the miasma or the funk…….

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

He is just seeking attention for cheap popularity. If this was any civilized country like US, UK etc, heads would roll, and people would be dismissed and others would resign, but here in the jungle of Africa, no one ever resi ...

• KnYc 9 years ago

Exactly.

• Floating Voter. 9 years ago

Do you call them Christian council ?
    Apiitoor,True christians know well that,
    there is nothing too hard or difficult for our God to do.So those we hear are
    wolves in shhep's skin-political party in disguise.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

And let me remind you, you stupid BBC NEWS!!! commenter and your NDC clueless idiot party with your MORON president Mahama, the incredibly stupid dumb president Ghana ever had that, Npp have already pushed your JDM out! it is ...

• FACT 9 years ago

WORDS FROM THE TONGUE HAVE POWER BOTH POSITIVELY AND NEGATIVELY.THE REASON FOR WHICH WE SHOULD LEARN TO BRIDLE OUR TONGUES(BE CIRCUMSPECT WITH WHAT WE SAY).SAY MUCH IF YOU HAVE TOO BUT POSITIVELY AND SAY VERY LITTLE WHICH GIV ...

• Kwaame 9 years ago

What happened to your prayer to make the cedi stronger? The true test of a prophet is that whatever he says comes to pass - the Bible clearly states that. Your message should be directed at our leadership, ministers, presiden ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Two face clergy, preaching away before his faithful unsuspecting congregation.

• Kwamena 9 years ago

He as a MAn of God has and is doing his part, he has prayed for the cedi, he is asking believers to be believers and not speak like unbelievers, now the Govt has to do its part, the finance ministers, private sector too has t ...

• USACANADAUK 9 years ago

By telling the citizenry to shut up when the economy of the country in sinking into the gutter ? Most religious people are small minded people, and Ghana being the most religious nation on earth confirms it. SAD!!!!

• Kojo, San Antonio 9 years ago

I am Christian myself and once associate pastor in Springfield, Ohio so I put myself in category of religious people. I know you said "Most religious people", which means not all religious people are small minded so I firmly ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Oh my brother you sum it best. God bless you. Ghana education is not what it used to be, this is 25 years in making led by P/NDC.

• FACT 9 years ago

IF HIS WIFE WALKED OUT OF THE MARRIAGE HE IS THE RIGHT TO MARRY AND THAT IS WHAT HE HAS DONE.

• Think 9 years ago

This guy is nothing but a man of EVIL. The people who assess the strength of the economy do not look at words people speak, but the NUMBERS, and numbers don't lie. Numbers like the productivity index, The gross national produ ...

• Kojo, San Antonio 9 years ago

This confessing and claiming preachers actually take Scripture out of context to make it fit their selfish desires. This false prophet quoted from Genesis but out of context and not realized that when God spoke, he was actua ...

• John,Tema 9 years ago

If you've a country where the only thriving industry is the church and the alcoholic industries then it means there is a huge problem ahead.Duncan William and the likes are beneficiaries of a depressed & poor society.

• Asantenii 01 9 years ago

Well said my brother.This Duncan man I learnt is vying to lead the NDC National demonic council as president.Fake Bishop. Go and remarry your previous wife.she is still around adulterer shut your fucking mouth and leave us to ...

• daladam 9 years ago

no one is cursing and we entitled to freedom of speech in Ghana mr duncan

• Idrissu 9 years ago

NPP IS AN AKAN PARTY,THEY CAN NEVA COME TO POWER WIT TWO REGIONS

• OBIA MAN(JUJU MAN) 9 years ago

I know a geniune preacher man will talk about saving souls for Jesus Christ by preaching salvation but this guy is always talking about money and that's always on his mind money money money which is a material thing,Jesus sa ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

MR DUNCAN WILLIAMS, GOD IS NOT HAPPY WITH THE CORRUPTION AND THE LIES OF JOHN MAHAMA AND THE NDC PARTY, THAT IS WHY THE ECONOMY IS GOING DOWN. IT IS NOT BECAUSE OF ANY COMMENT ANYONE MADE. AS LONG AS THE RAMPANT STEALING AND ...

• P.K 9 years ago

The bible proved to us that JOB was very faithful to God and all good things he lost later got them abundantly so Tell the Government to stop stealing the tax payers money and stop lying.GOD has blinded This Government to see ...

• Kwabena 9 years ago

Some opposition people are praying for JDM to fail in order to score political points and come to power. They don't wish Ghana well. I believe in holding up Ghana in prayer

I guess your JDM and co were praying for the success of Ghana when they were in opposition. For your information, economics is not religion. Economies respond to well-thought out policies and wishes or prayers. If you do thin ...

• Abigi 9 years ago

You can pray till thy Kingdom, economics is a science not theology based on God's will or prayer. It deals with I puts and outputs not prayers. The more the prayer the more the decline in outputs and the increase in hardships ...

• Alice 9 years ago

The same corrupt people take delight in criticising govt and insulting the president. We are all guilty of robbing mother Ghana

• Kow Kyemeinu 9 years ago

I am not guilty of robbing anybody. If someone is paid a judgement debt which the court says should not have been paid then I will demand answers from those who paid.
    If someone took Ghana's money to clear a forest and repla ...

• Floating Voter. 9 years ago

You Are.Examine your conscience well.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Someone needs to check Duncan Williams - and those who flock to his church - for mental illness. So, the Church has now become a social club and an economic forum. There is absolutely no honest and transparent teaching of the ...

If you can read the bible, i dont see why you should go sit in a church to be told this. What suprises me is that well educated Ghanains also fall for this.

• BALLOT BOX 9 years ago

The story read, He therefore urged people to: “Speak solutions, speak alternatives, speak answers," instead of accepting “the situation” and saying: “That’s the way it should be.”
    I choose to go this route, I cho ...

• Samtakut 9 years ago

If words can make or unmake the economy or anything then I command your fingers to be replaced.

• Yalley 9 years ago

Well said.

Words do not make or unmake an economy. Prudent policies do. If economy obeys words, our economy would have had a turnaround after you commanded the cedi to stop falling and appreciate.

• Tengey Addai 9 years ago

This guy is a real embarrassment to his flock. I pity all these intellectuals who blindly follow this guy, allow him to shout about and make make money out of them through tites etc; then he comes out to say embarrassing thin ...

• N-W-A VOLUME ONE . 9 years ago

DUNCAN IS WORRYING ABOUT THE PREZ MAHAMA INSTEAD OF GHANAIAN FAMILY MOTHER AND CHILDREN - IT'S VERY SIMPLE TELL PREZ MAHAMA TO DO A BETTER JOB OR RESIGN . EVERYONE IS ENTITLE TO THEIR OPINION .

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 9 years ago

I hate this fake pastor too much. He is wicked man.

• Connie 9 years ago

So people still follow this man? I don't blame him, he's one of the elite & enjoying his tithes, so Ghanaians can't complain about the economy cuz that causes a 'curse' according to yet, another fake pastor.

• onipanua 9 years ago

I hope the Christian Council is listening to Bishop Duncan Williams.It has been preaching the gospel of economic doom to Ghanaians.

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

I hope someone would draw the attention of the Christian Council of Ghana to this wise man's preaching. Those bunch of doomsayers are politicians in cassocks. Here is a true man of God speaking.

• wang 9 years ago

shut up

• Busanga 9 years ago

Why ?

• boka 9 years ago

Out of context quoting

• ALL GHANAIANS 9 years ago

jUST SHUT UP AND GO AWAY, RELIGIOUS BUSINESSMAN.!!!!

• Colymore 9 years ago

Yes let's stop it now! If you would activate the power of your let there be, you will definitely aquire your heart desire. Let there be a rising of our economy in Jesus name.

• bob 9 years ago

You don't have inject your into the political climate in Ghana. Praying for the cedis is all a joke. You make youself Laughing stock. Ghana does not have an export base to back the cedis,that is one of the facts. There severa ...

This is common basic economics, if Ghana with all its forestry still imports tooth pick, why won't the cedi fall. Chasing unecessary foreign goods with limited foreign currency.

• Mia USA 9 years ago

Just stay away and respect yourself as other preachers are doing. You think we don't know Mahama gave you money...shame on you for engaging yourself in politics. THIEF

• KOFI 9 years ago

It Is Not The Devil Destroying Our Economy And Our Cedi, It Is Ndc Govt Misplacement Of Priorities And Wickedness....Like Subah, Sada, Gyeeda, Fake Judgement Debts, Sole Sourcing, Overbloated Contracts, 8.7 Bn Dollars Overexp ...

• KWAKU OBENG 9 years ago

HHHHMMMM. I thought the bible teaches us to tell the truth. So Uncle Duncan-Williams what are you teaching us now. Ohh Politics...hhhhmmm

• yendi boy 9 years ago

Thank you Pastor,those who predicts that Ghana is doomed because of the cedi have never read a single text book of economics neither a word of it.The National Debt of UK IS IN TRILLIONS. therefore ??????Ghanaians pray that " ...

• roland 9 years ago

You have earned my respect so much.. You surely understand the teachings of Christ. A positive thinker indeed.

• Osofo 9 years ago

How can comments hurt the economy? Bad policies surely will, so shut up.

• Billion 9 years ago

Very well said, Sir. God bless you!

• ANTI 9 years ago

CRITICISM IS GOOD FOR THE ECONOMY. IT IS THROUGH PUBLIC CRITICISM THAT THE PRESIDENT AND LEADERS OF THE COUNTRY WILL LEARN ABOUT THEIR MISTAKES IN MANAGING THE ECONOMY AND/OR THE VALUE OF THE CURRENCY. WHAT THIS PASTOR IS SUG ...

• Ayivor 9 years ago

Well said. This man is too desperate and at the same time, has no clue what democracy is all about. When the economy is as it is now, the only thing that will ginger the politicians to do the right this hard criticisms. Men o ...

• Abrantie 9 years ago

You are highly honoured. Patriot of the land.

• John Allotei 9 years ago

A country that gives platform and centre stage to buffoons like DW is going no where and has no future. This guy is number one charlatan 'prophet' and only extremely idiots would follow such creep.

• Abrantie 9 years ago

Words more powerful than any weapons on this earth. We can see how dear you love your country.

• uranium 9 years ago

We are just describing the economy of the evildwarfs and the greedy bastards led by thief, vision free mahama

• Joe 9 years ago

What does an archbishop (has to) know about economy?
    Nuthin.. as you can hear, he talks about lights on and off...

What solution, what alternative, what answer did he speak=
    Nuthin again.

Only thing he did was getting ...

• Kofi Adu Bediako 9 years ago

King Solomom ruled Israel so well,that there was abundance for everybody.The queen of sheba was dumbfounded when she visited Solomon in his country.Knowledge is power only when it is applied to suit the requirements of indivi ...

• jt. 9 years ago

Tell politicians who think they can deceive us both parties.We have seen all of them been in power ndc npp and we know when u no more enjoying what u use to get,how it feels but know that we did not get anything and still n ...

• Joel 9 years ago

Touch not my anointed and do my prophets no harm.

• HONESTLY 9 years ago

This is a quote to keep others in subjugation

• Brobbsnet-U.S.A 9 years ago

The bite of a snake does not kill you , but rather the venom and poison that stays in the blood kills. It is the NDC corruption,policies,denials,bribery and stiffness in thinking that is killing Ghana and the economy.!

• final judgement 9 years ago

duncan william has that most ghanaians are stupid and short sighted. he went and read small psychology and has succeeded in getting wise men to follow him. he never saw anything wrong with rawling administration and neither d ...

• Joel 9 years ago

A fallen Cedi is not neccesarily a bad Economy but lack of balance of trade. Our manufacturing base is non-existence and the President must address that now. Our weak currency must attrct investors for good returns. Mr. Presi ...

• Mallam Tula 9 years ago

MASSA; THIS CHARLARTAN; ROGUE AND THIEF WILL NEVER LISTEN; HOW CAN YOU YOU NOT TALK ABOUT THE REALITIES OF WHATYOU FACE IN REAL LIFE ; WHY SHOULD PEOPLE TALK ABOUT SOLUTIONS AND ALTERNATIVES WHEN THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEMS ARE ...

• Addae Akrasi 9 years ago

Nobody is cursing the economy we want a better Ghana. Ndc man of God

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

Man of God my bible tells me that God is truth and that those that claim to worship Him must do so in truth. So what does that mean?
    If the economy is in crises and I am suffering from starvation, how do you want me to say t ...

• soloso 9 years ago

you are right Papa. We didn't know,thank you.

• Onipa49 9 years ago

The Archbishop or whatever he calls himself needs a brain scan and quickly!
    If it was that easy to solve economic problems it would have been done long ago. Mr Williams should stick to praying with/for his congregation and s ...

• ROGUE LAWYER RAY RAMpreaching the gos 9 years ago

It is prophecy coming true. Remember nations will fight against nations, diseases and hunger will come. If we are seeing the fulfillment of the prophecies destined to come, what can we do in our power, or who are we to stop i ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

What is this pastor trying to implicate? Is he trying to tell us not to tell the truth but to say it is good when we know definitely well that it is very very bad? Nobody wants to see doom and gloom. When Mahama started steal ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

WHEN JESUS LIVED ON EARTH, HE DID MINCE WORDS. HE CALLED A SPADE, A SPADE. HE THE PHARISEES WHO RULED THE PEOPLE ZEALOUSLY WITH THE MOSAIC LAW, "BROOD OF VIPERS" AND MUCH WORSE. HERE IS A SO CALLED PASTOR ASKING US NOT TO S ...

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

Fake pastor, when you commanded the cedi to rise how many months now that the cedi is still depreciating?

• ns 9 years ago

U dont speak ill of a man of God...get understanding from the bible and stop talking trash...if u av nafn to say jux dnt comment..its as simple as dat...lack of knowledge, my people perish

• Salamatu 9 years ago

Sofo, you are becoming too much. Get yourself out of politics and focus on the gospel. Too much talking won't lead you anywhere. Word to the wise.....

• tonyalexis 9 years ago

Yes I agree with you 100 times.cos once cursed difficult to reverse. No matter what. So we need to be careful

• lkl 9 years ago

massa,have you now got ur dues ? hypocrite

• de 9 years ago

Duncan-Williams must not forget that how the negative comments inundate the media. The bad policies, poor decision-making coupled gov't's blatant lies about the true state of the economy and the incredibly noncharlant attitud ...

• KOOBOY 9 years ago

IS THIS NOT THE SAME Archbishop Nicholas Duncan-Williams, WHO "COMMANDED" THE CEDI TO STOP FALLING? THIS PASTOR IS JUST FULL OF IT. JUST KEEP QUIET.

• DONKOR KOFI 9 years ago

The man of God is right, despite the Party you belong, whether NPP or NDC, people are to put all these parties aside and think of the NATION GHANA first. is better we use our mouth to bless our dear country despite the diffic ...

I will advocate using our brains to slove our economic problems instead of using our mouths to bless our dear country. God gave us brains to think and advance and not to keep praying for him to come down and solve all our pro ...

• KWESI 9 years ago

A FEW PEOPLE ARE NEEDED TO WORK URGENTLY IN QATAR ON A 2 YEAR CONTRACT WHICH CAN BE RENEWED.
    WE NEED DRIVERS AND PEOPLE WHO ARE READY TO WORK AS SECURITY PERSONNEL.
    THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST QATAR PACKAGE EVER,BECAUSE THE S ...

• Kay 9 years ago

So how do you solve a problem.
    Just don't talk about it. Don't discuss it's effect and impact. Don't even mention that it exists.
    Just solve it. Naaaa!!
    That's an irresponsible way of solving problems. Duncan has a funn ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THOSE WHO CTICISE AND CURSE THE ECONOMY OF GHANA,ARE THE VERY ONES WHO HAVE FAILED TO DELIVER IN THE TECHNOLOGY AS A DRIVE TO INNOVATION AND CREATIVITY TO STIMULATE ECONOMIC GROWTH IN THE COUNTRY.

IN THE HOLY SCRIPTURES WE ...

• Al Hajj A A A-Rashid(OH. USA) 9 years ago

I guess I am going to get a lot of bad rap by siding with the Archbishop. An Al Hajj serving as the corner man for an Archbishop.

You guys have easily forgotten that Prez. Kuffour said Ghanaians are lazy.Right?

All the ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

Duncan Williams is out of touch with reality how can a man who call himself man of God making a stupid statement like that there is no negative if people complain about the economy I wonder why people go to his church to list ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

He who has ears, let him hear

• AGYA, AKOMADAN 9 years ago

DUNCAN WILLIAMS, WHY DO HIDE YOUR REAL IDENTITY? I KNOW YOU WELL. YOU ARE FROM AKOMADAN, YOU PRETEND TO BE FANTE. IF YOU ARE A REAL MAN OF GOD, COME OUT TELL THE WHOLE WORLD THAT, I AM NOT SAYING THE TRUTH.

• AGYA, 9 years ago

AKOMADAN PEOPLE ARE WAITING FOR YOUR PROPHECY.

• PASCALE 9 years ago

FRANKLY

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Mr. Bishop, Ghanaians have the right to say whatever they wish about the economy. Just keep controlling those who flock to your House of Deception and stop making useless admonishings. You're a quack just like TB Joshua.