You are here: HomeNews2014 09 09Article 325023

Kwesi Botchwey leads IMF talks

Read Comments Comments (70)

• Mama Tula 9 years ago

Bravo, Mr. President. this is the only forward and I enthused by the selection of no one but Mt. Kwesi Botchway has dealt with the IMF for a very long time and has the experience. We are hopeful that the talks would be fruitf ...

• akonoba 9 years ago

JDM collapsed the cedi, destroyed the educational system and corrupted the judges (Vicky Hammer confession) and now turn to IMF for a bail out.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Hopefully the better Ghana is coming, for we have suffered for too long. Please do not steal or waste the bailout money from IMF !

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

Hope this IMF will scrutinize the NDC government before they initiate their money into our economy.I therefore ask the IMF not to trust this Mahama led government. They are incompetent and corrupt.

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

I hope IMF will not be that stupid to give the useless and corrupt Mahama and his NDC money, they will share it within two weeks.

• sam 9 years ago

we will hold you responsible

• Obiba TK 9 years ago

I agree with your view. The money will be shared among his corrupt officials.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

The choice of Botchway to meet IMF is the best because he has dealt with them longer than any person. Mahama did well by not choosing Fiifi Kwetey and others like Ablakwa. IMF would have floored them flat.
    Also, having decid ...

• Atikopo#4 9 years ago

Frank:

This man brought the SAP and ERP to Ghana.

And look at where we are now.

• Sankofa 9 years ago

Agyena-Karikari, na lie!

Kufuor did not take us from IMF claws, he took us into HIPC. Highly Indebted Poor Country status meant our debts were written off and the money used for specified development projects.

The same ...

• WOYOME DUPED GHANA 9 years ago

Because TERKPER is incompetent

• dan 9 years ago

HE IS BEHIND THE HIGH VAT RATE AND HIGH TAXES IN GHANA HE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR GHANA PEOPLE AND BUSNISSES BEING TAX TO DEATH

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Seth Terkper is a professional "accountant" and not an economist and that is one factor hampering his performance as finance minister. The man is good but he needs help. There is no need to pack the Finance Ministry with "a ...

• DALADAM 9 years ago

TERKPER IS THE MAN RESOPNSIBLE FOR HIGER VAT RATES AND HIGHER TAXES ON GHANA BUSNISS AND PEOPLE IF IT WAS UP TO HIM HE WILL BE TAXING YOU FOR EXISTING. WISE UP THE MAN IS A LOSER DESPITE WHAT NDC TRY TO TELL US THAT HE IS ...

• TOGBE 9 years ago

WHO IS KWESI BOTCHWAY? IS HE AN ECONOMIST? DOES HDC LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE OF NDPC, WHICH IS NON POLITICAL. I THINK KUFFUOR PERFORMED WELL BECAUSE IT LISTENED TO THE NDPC PROFESSIONALS AND NOT POLITICIANS. THEE ARE COMPETENT PE ...

• Boubacar Tuggar 9 years ago

You are hopeful? Hopeful that Kwesi Botchway, the useless man that paraded the country in the same mess many years ago with JJ is back to do the same thing? He achieved nothing. Tweaa

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Dealing with them before does not mean he has experience about them. The IMF dictates with no compromise. You are going for their assistance and how can you "cow" them to play your game? No and never. Those who did not li ...

• ENOUGH BORROWING! 9 years ago

So how has the $3 billion loan from China been spent so far?

And the first $547 million from the U.S. (Kufuor)?
    And the second 500 million from the U.S. (Mahama)?

• Fullstop 9 years ago

Living on borrowed money unfortunately is related to psychological conditioning. It is a disease that must be tackled as such. Much like alcoholism, sex addiction or delusions of being rich(grandeur), it has to be confronted ...

• NEZER 9 years ago

"President Mahama disclosed that he had no immediate plans to change his key economic team". Why would he change his economic team? So far they have performed to instructions. They've managed to railroad the once-buzzling eco ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 9 years ago

This is the particular man whose myopic economic policies brought us to this disgraceful state and you have appointed him again? Mahama is as ignorant as Rawlings.

• Kobina 9 years ago

Borrowing! Borrowing!! Borrowing!!! That's all this government does. We are mortgaging the future of our kids.

• Private Mensah 9 years ago

that is why there are no toilets for schools and good hospitals for the country because this same JJ guy or imf operator continue to sell our kids and us all for their pockets

• Opia 9 years ago

In every country, it is the economic management team headed by its finance minister that leads such discussions. To select the head of the NDPC speaks volumes about the competence of Seth Tekper.

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

2010 HYUNDAI SONATA & 2012 HONDA ACCORD 4 SALE CONTACT NANA YAW
    020 799 8269

• Kwesi Osafo 9 years ago

What the fuck is this, Kwesi botchwey? OK how about if the whole PNDC government come back into power. God please help Ghana.

• TOOTSIE 9 years ago

BRAVO MR PRESIDENT! THIS IS A MATURE MOVE. HAVE YOU NOW REALIZED TERKPER WAS DESTROYING THE ECONOMY? THE ECONOMY WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN ON ITS KNEES NOW WHEN YOU WERE ADVISED TO LET HIM WALK A YEAR AGO.

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

OH GHANA, WHEN ARE WE GOING TO LEARN. THESE NDC DINOSAURS OR OLD DWARVES LIKE KWESI BOTCHWEY, THE AHWOIS, TSIKATA ETC ARE STILL RUNNING GHANA AND NOTHING IS BEEN ACHIEVED, BECAUSE THEY HAVE GONE PAST THEIR SELL BY DATE, NOT N ...

• ato kwamina 9 years ago

y kwesi botchey n not finance minister, its a vote of no confidence in the finance minister. just sack the incompetence guy.

• Mallam Tula-2 9 years ago

MASSA; IS JON MAHAMA CONFUSED ;WHAT ON EARTH IS GOING ON ; HOW ON EARTH DO YOU ALLOW KWESI BOTHWAY TO LEAD THE ECONOMIC TEAM BESIDES WHAT CAN KWESI BOTHWAY DO TO CONVINCE THE IMF THAT THEY WILL SAY WHAT THEY SAY THEY WILL -NO ...

• Earl Jones 9 years ago

Can't believe Kwesi Botchwey is back to curse the ndc.
    what happened to your young sharp minds? Tweaa!

• Sekou - London 9 years ago

JDM, what is wrong with you? Kwesi Botchway alone is involved in four very important national assignments - chairman NDPC, chairman Ghana Gas, member Economic Advisory committee, head IMF bailout etc. There are no other peopl ...

• NII 9 years ago

TELL GHANAIANS THEY ARE DOING A GOOD JOB-MAHAMA HAS BEEN SUCH SA USELESS PRESIDENT SO SHOCKING-I AM NOT NPP BY THE WAY BUT TRUTH BE SAID MAHAMA/NDC SO FAR HAS BEEN A BIG FAILURE.

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

So

• Ossify, USA 9 years ago

This is an admission the current finance minister isn't up to the task.

• Ibrahim Mahama; JDM's brother 9 years ago

If Set Terkper is so useless and incompetent then sack him and bring Kwasi Botchwey to do the job. At least we would'nt be paying two people for the same job. Kwasi Botcwey was humiliated by Rawlings and was forced to re ...

• KWESI 9 years ago

2 SERIOUS PEOPLE ARE NEEDED TO TRAVEL AND WORK
    IN THE CHECK REPUBLIC WHICH IS PART OF THE EU WITH 2 YEARS WORKING PERMIT.
    THE CONTRACT CAN BE RENEWED.
    ITS A CAR MANUFACTURING COMPANY/FACTORY WORK.
    SALARY RANGES FROM 1000 ...

• KOFI AGYAPON 9 years ago

How successful was Dr. Botcway when he was a finance Minister? Why can't we learn. Why Americans do not go go Wold Bank for money? Thinnk of it and you will realize that when contiguous nation or nation bound by comman land a ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 9 years ago

Dont compare spain to that damned country called Ghana.Spain is 14 best country while Ghana is 138 of 178.

• Benny 9 years ago

Ghana is not for NDC alone. They are the now ruling government so any tablet that comes from them we engulf it but they should know that meeting this IMF I suggest the government has to go there with each candidate from each ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Clueless Mahama you have gone back to The spent force Kwesi Botchway who sold us down the river during the JJ's era? Ghanaians should ask Kwesi Botchway how and where he got his multi-million dollars from without owning or r ...

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

When are we ever going to learn?????
    What has Kwesi Botchwey got to offer us? Apart from accepting every degrading proposals put to us by the IMF......OH! OSAGYEFO! YOU TOLD US SO!!!

Osagyefo warned against dependence on ...

• NANA 9 years ago

Kwesi this is god news at long last Ghana is recognizing her great professionals. You may need Paul Acquah and I wish Nankani was still alive. This is the time to create a great African country. Don't forget the very poor in ...

• jay london 9 years ago

If botwe is so good why do we have the rot in the first place. why didn't he help avoid it?

the fact is kwesi botwe has been and will always be one of the PNDC + NDC CROOKS

• Earl Jones 9 years ago

We need contemporary thinkers and not old schools with Bretton woods mind sets. Botchwey precedes things that currently make economies tick. He lacks the thought leadership in contemporary issues that can get our economy out ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

I RESPECT THE IDEA OF KWESI LEADING THE TEAM TO ENGAGE THE BRETTON WOODS INSTITUTION,MY WORRY IS WHY DOES ONE MAN HANDLE SO MANY ASSIGNMENTS WHERE AS THE GOVERNMENT CLAIMS TO HAVE ENOUGH COMPETENT OFFICIALS...

• YIADOM 9 years ago

how many 4x4 has he bribing people with, this is the man who has opportunity to turn all the oil money into good use but for the country to lift herself from poverty but rather borrow more money, he who voted NDC MUST EAT WHA ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

How could the once NDC's imperielist stooge and IMF darling boy, Kwesi Botchwey, lead Ghana to negatiate in the best interest of the people and country? that is simply impossible.

Were these not same fake campus socialist ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

In his days as Lecturer, Dr. Botchway used the IMF and the Bretton Woods institutions as punching bags. By conniving with coup makers, he became the longest serving Finance Minister in Ghana. During this time he went into bed ...

• YIADOM 9 years ago

WHY ALMOST EVERYONE IS TALKING ABOUT BOTWE, WE SHOULD TALK ABOUT THE NDC CORRUPTION that brought the country to this shameful level.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Kwesi Bot was the head of the gang that destroyed Ghana's economy. A lawyer-turned economist who thought government could make big money if prices and services were doubled. That was the start of the destruction of the cedi t ...

• DOGBE 9 years ago

Mmmmmm GHANA PAA NIE ??????

• Pancho 9 years ago

Kwesi Botchway was the same guy the led us to IMF years ago and destroyed our ecomini(hahah)and we are now having him lead the way again. Oh Ghana we are doomed forever.

• GHANA MMA 9 years ago

THIS KWESI BOTCHWAY HAS HELD VARIOUS TOP PUBLIC SERVICE OR POLITICAL POSITIONS OVER THE YEARS, YET GHANA IS STILL ON A BACKWARD TRAJECTORY.

THE SAME APPLIES TO "DR" SPIO GARBAH.

WHY ARE GHANAIAN PRESIDENTS SO OBSESSED W ...

• Analyst 9 years ago

Thank you so much GHANA MMA. I have been thinking the same. It was the same thing we did to P.V. Obeng until he died. If Kwasi Botchey couldn't save Ghana during his long reign as Finance Minister, what makes us to think that ...

• gershon ashie nikoi 9 years ago

are we so poor will ideas to manage our own challenges? do we want to say we do not know where the answers are for this nation? are the members of IMF more intelligent than our human resource? which of the previous policies o ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

Ghana HAD COME TO THIS ECONOMIC NON-PERFORMING FAR -because of the Petrol economics practice by Kwasi botwie for his 15-18 years as finance Minister
    he broked all the ghana economic pillars built by dr Kwame Nkrumah.

if ...

• KOJOGA STEINBURG 9 years ago

THIS MAN AND P.V.OBENG REVERSED ALL PRESIDENT NKRUMAH'S ACHIEVEMENTS.MY GOD THIS NATION NEEDS PRAYERS.

• Kojo kojo 9 years ago

Mother ghana needs a saviour now.This is because we keep doing the same thing while expecting diffrent result,its not going to work diffrently.

• Ben 9 years ago

For some of us PAMSCAD is still fresh in our memory!

• Private Mensah 9 years ago

Again IMF and its imperialists connivers are at it again. God help Ghana from the clutches of the devil and his agents

• jagadu 9 years ago

Reduce the number of ministers and deputy ministers and save Ghana. Such a stupid president who has no idea what he is doing.

• TOGBE 9 years ago

THERE ARE SOMPETENT ECONOMISTS AT THE NPDC WHO ARE BETTER THAN POLITICIAN KWESI BOTCHWAY. THEY MAY BE CIVIL SERVANTS WHO HELPED KUFFUOR ADM. LISTEM TO THEM AND STOP THESE LOUD MOUTH POLITICIANS. HUMBLE YOURSELF, AND TAKE ADVI ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

HAVE GHANAIANS FORGOTTEN THE DEAL KWESI BOTCHWAY ENTERED INTO WITH THE SAME IMF WHEN HE WAS MINISTER OF FINANCE? WHERE WAS MAHAMA THEN? HAS HE BOTHERED TO FAMILIARISE HIMSELF WITH THE DEAL KB HATCHED WITH THE IMF? GHANAIANS D ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

Ghanaians,you have every right to stop this President Mahama IMF bailout nonsense.President use his own authority to steal $4billion without parliamentary approval from tax payers to buy vote and after that insult Ghanaians ...

• Obiba TK 9 years ago

Ghana should not be seeking IMF bailout in the first place. But because the corrupt officials in Ghana have stolen the wealth for themselves Ghana is poor. People like Sylvester Mensah is stealing too much money. Mr. Prez. wa ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 9 years ago

Where is the Gold,oil,cocoa,Timber,Agriculture,etc,Money?

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

Why Kwesi Botchway and not Tekper?

• Opoosa 9 years ago

The Bretton Woods institutions are lenders of last result due to the harsh but realistic conditionality they put in place - that is in a plain man's language if you can't handle your resources/assets/debts etc. we can do that ...

• Lopez 9 years ago

Ghanaians should embrace themselves for more hardships since if we go down memory lane it's this same Kwesi Botchwey that took us to the Structural Adjustment Programme in the 80's that brought untold hardships to our dear co ...