the red pum oil we use in Ghana will kill us evuntually
Nii Joromi 11 years ago
Are you referring to palm oil?
Adomba 11 years ago
Palm oil use does not cause cancer, but like all saturated tropical oils, it tends to clog the blood vessels of the heart causing sluggish circulation, high blood pressure, stroke, and heart disease.
It is to be mentioned, ... read full comment
Palm oil use does not cause cancer, but like all saturated tropical oils, it tends to clog the blood vessels of the heart causing sluggish circulation, high blood pressure, stroke, and heart disease.
It is to be mentioned, that all oils when overheated (the oil smells different) will have carcinogenic compounds. Hence, the reason to limit foods eaten outside the home!
Of note is the concern of eating burned food which carries carcinogens.
The best place for burnt food is the trash can. Don't compromise.
You ask what can we eat now? it is a long list of food we should avoid!
God in his wisdom gave our first parents fruits and vegetables as their diet. It was after the Flood (Genesis 9:3) that meat eating became permissible. City life has almost made it burdensome to have a garden to grow our own foods, but we can buy small quantities of fruits and vegetables (which are high in antioxidants) and eat them at meal times to reduce the free radicals (highly reactive chemicals which can react with ionizing radiation to change cells) present in processed foods.
Cigarette smoking will increase the reactivity of free radicals for sure.
If you smoke join a stop smoking class. Stopping smoking is easier if we do not buy or keep the cigarettes on us and at home. Get counseling.
Ruth 11 years ago
And yet palm oil is supposed to be so good for us because it is a good metabolism agent.
Musa K. 11 years ago
AHA Recommendation
We advise people to reduce the amount of saturated fat in their diet and limit saturated fat consumption to less than 7 percent of total daily calories. One way to do this is to limit your consumption o ... read full comment
AHA Recommendation
We advise people to reduce the amount of saturated fat in their diet and limit saturated fat consumption to less than 7 percent of total daily calories. One way to do this is to limit your consumption of foods containing tropical oils. A diet high in saturated fat tends to raise blood cholesterol levels, increasing the risk of heart disease.
What are "tropical oils"?
This term refers to coconut, palm kernel and palm oils. Like all fats and oils, these three oils contain various types of fatty acids. But unlike other plant oils, they contain a lot of saturated fatty acids. Coconut oil contains 92 percent, palm kernel oil has 82 percent and palm oil has 50 percent.
These oils are found mostly in commercial cakes, cookies and salty "snack foods," and need to be eaten in moderation.
Raphael 11 years ago
Coconut oil is among the healthiest of oil,and its generous consumption is actually recommended as it is heart healthy. Coconut oil has medium chain fatty acids. It contains lauric which is antifungal,antiviral and antibacterial. This is trendy and is supported by all current research.
Esi Mensimah 11 years ago
God save us.
GHANA MMA 11 years ago
Typical Kwasia Ghanaian. God has no thing to do with your stupidity.
God will save he who tries to save himself first.
Oyibo 11 years ago
GHANA MMA, what has the author of the article done to you to deserve an insult? Would you be happy if someone calls you "kwasia" for presenting a highly researched work to educate the public?
Sam 11 years ago
Oh he was insulting Esi mensimah who commented "God save us". She does not need to be insulted, but that's the attitude of some folks on this forum.
yaw 11 years ago
Its a long list,but how can we do without some of these foods. We better not eat anything then.
18 yrs 11 years ago
Its not that easy to totally abstain from these foods. Moderation is the key in whatever we eat.
GoodMan 11 years ago
We don't have good health officials in Ghana.What they know best is to organise mafiaism to loot the economy.Check from our hospitals if what i am saying is not true.
NOBODY 11 years ago
The study left out Ghanaian politicians and pastors, the biggest cancer causing agents in Ghana.
Private Mensah 11 years ago
tell them
tell them
Ruth 11 years ago
Thank you so much for this article. Very educative. I especially like the info on canned tomatoes. Thanks
Paapa 11 years ago
Don't mind them. Eat whatever you want till you drop dead.
Haba, all die be die. Isn't?
Mark Donner 11 years ago
GMO is a poison. Eating genetically modified corn (GM corn) and consuming trace levels of Monsanto's Roundup chemical fertilizer caused rats to develop horrifying tumors, widespread organ damage, and premature death. rats exposed to even the smallest amounts, "developed mammary tumors and severe liver and kidney damage as early as four months in males, and seven months for females." The animals on the GM diet suffered mammary tumors, as well as severe liver and kidney damage. Everywhere GMO is being grown, food allergies, disorders such as autism, reproductive disorders, digestive problems, and others have been skyrocketing in the human populations.
There has been a drastic decline of crop-pollinating insects all over the world, and what this means for the future of the world's food supply. Wild pollinators like bumblebees, butterflies, and beetles are basically disappearing. GMO industrial agricultural practices are causing this insect genocide. Pollinating insects in general, which include a wide range of insects and other animals, are simply vanishing from their normal habitats and foraging areas. That lower diversity and lower abundance of wild insects means less fruits and destruction of the diversity of plants and their fruits worldwide
GMOs cross pollinate and their seeds can travel. It is impossible to fully clean up our contaminated gene pool. Self-propagating GMO pollution will outlast the effects of global warming and nuclear waste. The potential impact is huge, threatening the health of future generations. GMO contamination has also caused economic losses for organic and non-GMO farmers who often struggle to keep their crops pure.
GMOs increase herbicide use. Most GM crops are engineered to be "herbicide tolerant"?surviving deadly weed killers. Monsanto, for example, sells Roundup Ready crops, designed to survive applications of their Roundup herbicide. Between 1996 and 2008, US farmers sprayed an extra 383 million pounds of herbicide on GMOs. Overuse of Roundup results in "superweeds," resistant to the herbicide. This is causing farmers to use even more toxic herbicides every year. Not only does this create environmental harm, GM foods contain higher residues of toxic herbicides. Roundup, for example, is linked with sterility, hormone disruption, birth defects, and cancer.
GM crops and their associated herbicides can harm birds, insects, amphibians, marine ecosystems, and soil organisms. They reduce bio-diversity, pollute water resources, and are unsustainable. For example, GM crops are eliminating habitat for monarch butterflies, whose populations are down 50% in the US. Roundup herbicide has been shown to cause birth defects in amphibians, embryonic deaths and endocrine disruptions, and organ damage in animals even at very low doses. GM canola has been found growing wild in North Dakota and California, threatening to pass on its herbicide tolerant genes on to weeds.
By mixing genes from totally unrelated species, genetic engineering unleashes a host of unpredictable side effects. Moreover, irrespective of the type of genes that are inserted, the very process of creating a GM plant can result in massive collateral damage that produces new toxins, allergens, carcinogens, and nutritional deficiencies.
GMOs do not increase yields, and work against feeding a hungry world.
Whereas sustainable non-GMO agricultural methods used in developing countries have conclusively resulted in yield increases of 79% and higher, GMOs do not, on average, increase yields at all. This was evident in the Union of Concerned Scientists' 2009 report Failure to Yield?the definitive study to date on GM crops and yield.
The toxins associated with GMO should never be tolerated. NEONICOTINOID PESTICIDE neurotoxins are absolutely the main factor causing the collapse of bee and pollinator populations along with other lethal chemicals, glysophate, etc. When these poisons are banned as they were in Europe the bee populations start to recover. GMO neonicotinoids, roundup etc. MUST BE BANNED OUTRIGHT and all the farmers along with Biotech and chemical companies told to cease and desist from what they are doing.
An even scarier prospect: the "BT" version of GMO soybeans and corn, (basically pesticides engineered directly into the plant )
The “BT toxin” gene is put into the DNA of the corn in order for it to manufacture its own toxins that kill pests. The BT gene originated from a soil bacteria that also infiltrates the microflora (friendly digestive bacteria) in your gut. The Bt gene converts the microflora in your intestine into toxin-manufacturing machines.
So, to be clear, eating GMO corn products can cause your gut (which is primarily responsible for keeping you healthy) to turn into a breeding ground for tiny little pesticide factories inside your body, actively creating toxins which are designed to kill living things. These toxins are found in the blood and are readily transferred across the placenta to developing babies in the womb.
Chris 9 years ago
This article is fucking terrible, most of these things arent even directly carcinogenic, very misleading. There are way more cancerous foods than this list.
Jerry 9 years ago
How dare you say that, so rude
Chris 9 years ago
How dare you insult your master, apoligize at once!
Jerry 9 years ago
Everything listed on this website is directly linked to cancer, get your facts straight before you make such offensive remarks
Jerry 9 years ago
Yes master, i am sorry. Behold i have sinned against thee and need forgiveness.
It is to be mentioned, ...
AHA Recommendation
We advise people to reduce the amount of saturated fat in their diet and limit saturated fat consumption to less than 7 percent of total daily calories. One way to do this is to limit your consumption o ...
Coconut oil is among the healthiest of oil,and its generous consumption is actually recommended as it is heart healthy. Coconut oil has medium chain fatty acids. It contains lauric which is antifungal,antiviral and antibacter ...
God save us.
tell them
GMO is a poison. Eating genetically modified corn (GM corn) and consuming trace levels of Monsanto's Roundup chemical fertilizer caused rats to develop horrifying tumors, widespread organ damage, and premature death. rats exp ...