You are here: HomeNews2014 08 27Article 322989

Nii Moi rubbishes Bawumia's "false" analysis

Read Comments Comments (139)

• SAMMY 9 years ago

BAWUMIAH ECONOMIC IS EMPTY AND HAS AGENDA TO CONFUSE GHANAIANS. FAILED AGENDA1

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Nii Moi is just a smooth talker providing solace to disheveled NDCeivers.

Nii Momone wants to project as the NDCeivers counterweight to Bawumia, but when you follow closely his drift, you would realize he is just tailgating ...

• obiba JK 9 years ago

It seems Dr. Nii Moi is all over the place trying to explain the simple fact that the Cedi has depreciated a lot more than announced by the Bank of Ghana. However much Dr. Nii Moi wants to spin it, the truth remain the same.

• Whatever 9 years ago

To get the cedi’s depreciation (or appreciation), he should have first found the value of ONE GHANA CEDI against the US dollar at two different points in time, which would be the following: 1 divided by 2.1628 and 1 divided ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Another stupid buffoon in the NDC. OMG. I blame the supreme court judges. Prez Mahama is corrupt and clueless.

• ADANKO 9 years ago

So, Nii, you call yourself a presidential adviser. Hmmm, Ghana is suffering because of people like you Nii. How can you advice when you look stupid?

• MAYOR 9 years ago

Is Bawumia FORMER Deputy Governor of the Bank of Ghana or STILL working there? Why is he challenging those still in the office? Is he getting the figures in his bedroom or through dream? Bawumia should get it direct in his em ...

• SGT ANAI FIADZOE 9 years ago

This stupid monkey who call himself Nii Moi should tell the majority people of this country whereabouts of the $600
    million American Dollars which is said
    to have been lost from the BoG.

Why such a big money could be los ...

• ADWEN 9 years ago

Dr Nii Moi's currency conversion is WRONG. His approach is appropriate if we aredealing with Cross currencies. Here we are dealing with straight FX rates. It would have been appropriate if we have say Cedi to $ at one year an ...

NDC stupid cleaners and illiterate fools
    better fix the economy and fuck off,
    where is the result of the so-called Senche Economic Forum and what sent you idiot like people there?

It is stupid monkeys such as you hence

What economic advise did this hopeless Moi offered corrupt Dramani Mahama in
    and dafter the NDC stupid Senche Economic Forum before he (MOI) is blowing his empty trumpets? Look at an animal like that.

So you Moi are you i ...

• Papa Gasty (Germany) 9 years ago

Why I desist to comment here, people speak as if they don't think. some comments are far from the subject under discussion and even insult intellectuals and respectable people in society in the name of politics. The Ghanaian ...

• NOT AN IDIOT LIKE YOU 9 years ago

And ask - It is 3.7 all day long Dr Nii Moi !!! Dont spin like Ablakwa who claims 72% Examination failure rate must be acceptable comparatively. Idiots are managing the country that is why we are falling behind in all thongs.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

What Nii Moi Thompson has done with this short rebuttal, reminds me of a 'mini-showdown' that took place some four decades ago between a so-called white African expert and a Ghanaian Professor,Kofi Hedjor[then teaching at the ...

• Floating Voter. 9 years ago

Thanks,
    You have disentangled the confusion in my brain with your piece.
    They say #the devil would quote the scriptures to support his evil deed #, and i think that is what is going on here.Have a nice day.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

The intellectual dishonesty demonstrated by people who are very desperate for 'power' knows no bounds.

• obiba JK 9 years ago

Nii Moi said nothing to debunk what Dr Bawumia said. He only went bunkers with his whole rebuttal. In fact his own example shot him in the foot. The point is the cedi has depreciated more than 40% since December 2013. It does ...

• Hard Listeners 9 years ago

Annorwuo, you may be pleased with Dr. Nii Moi's analysis but reality stares us everyday in the various markets. Keep on tickling yourself and have a good laugh.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Thank God there are a few of us around,,who cannot be easily swayed by the antics of 'WWE-type Economists' like Bawumiah,who play to the gallery!
    By the way,have you read about his latest 'bombshell' concerning a govt plot t ...

• Joe Effeih 9 years ago

I dont undertand Nii Moi's argument! He sought to rabbish Bawumiah's statement from the back end. What Bawumiah is simply saying saying is that, BOG does not generate any administraitve foreign exchange rates but relies on th ...

• DR. DIASEMPA 9 years ago

Hey Dr Nii Moi, it's a pity petty politics would make you degrade your economic analysis into pedestrian propaganda. Use those Real figures prevailing on the ground. Why neglect the Interbank figures, which are the real figur ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

2.1628-3.035 = -0.8722 which is divided by 3.035 *100 = -28.7380%. The method I use produce the same is the same as Nii Moi's own. Yet Bawumia, so called economist gave a figure of 40%. How did he get that figure calculating ...

• Rebuilding Ghana 9 years ago

We need more people with mathematical brains. Mathematics helps boost brain activity. Mathematics helps people to develop systematic approaches, orderliness and procedures. Science also helps people to become principled.

• THE SARP 9 years ago

HEY DOCTOR NDC, TO WORK OUT THE CHANGE IS SIMPLE ARITHMETIC 2.1628-3.035 = -0.8722 AND THEN -0.8722/2.1628 =-40%.
    THE NDC HIRED DOCTOR DID THAT IN HIS ANALYSIS AS IF HE HAS NEVER DONE PERCENTAGE CHANGE IN ORDINARY LEVEL. HE ...

What a pathetic calculation from a dum uninitiated NDC apologist. Why divide by 3.o35 as the base rather than 2.1628?
    This is the falacy inept NDC empty barrels make to deceive the ignorant and mostly uninformed unsuspectin ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Go and revise your depreciation notes before you pronounce yourself ignorant. There is a difference in calculating loss of purchase power and calculating changing value of a currency against another currency. In the latter th ...

• John Pen 9 years ago

What base year did Dr. Nii used in calculating his % increase or decrease as the case may be. Using 2013 figure as the base year the % change is 40, while using 2014 August figure of 3.035 as the base year the % change is 28. ...

I support you Absolutely. I wonder what type of Math Dr Nii Moi studied or who taught him Math. The percentage increase from 2013 to 2014 is 40.33%. God Save Ghana from these diaper wearing babies who can only insult tested w ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Just because you do not understand economics or economic principles and or CPI calculations and entities that affect CPI calculus does not mean Dr. Nii Moi is a liar. He provided an academic rebuttal to the academic jaundiced ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

He gave us ANANSELYSIS, something comparable to his supervision over the 2007/2008 economy which the state is struggling to overturn. He seems not clear of the DEPTH he plunged the state's economy, and only if, he would take ...

• Adeladza Kwassi 9 years ago

Nii Moi MUST say something like this rubbish to continue earning his income. Period

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

WE KNOW ONLY TWO NAMES, NANA ADDO & BAWUMIA. NANA'S LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS.WE CAN'T PUT OUR TR ...

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Nii Moi is just a smooth talker providing solace to disheveled NDCeivers.

Nii Momone wants to project as the NDCeivers counterweight to Bawumia, but when you follow closely this drift, you would realize he is just tailgatin ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

At the currency retail level, Some Banks in Ghana on purpose went beyond their foreign currency positions by buying currency assets far in excess of the currency liabilities because importers over-demanding for more dollar. T ...

• ohwini 9 years ago

The selling rate of the cedi is its true rate. How it was pushed to that point by the banks is irrelevant. So what is all the technical grandiloquence about? Economists speak with forked tongues and you are encouraging the do ...

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

Foolish Nii Moi taking a match order from his corrupt masters.

• bobby 9 years ago

incredible!! So these so called economist cum financial analyst hv been misleading the good people of dis country after all for political gains? God ve mercy on dis clueless Bawumia a.k.a DR PINK SHEETS

• Whatever 9 years ago

Bawumia thinks Ghana is Operating a FREE MARKET ECONOMY, something his NPP believes in so in his calculation of depreciation, he chose the market figures even when the law says otherwise. Under the law only figures from the B ...

• Kee 9 years ago

Prophet Dr Bawumiah's analysis

• tatale 9 years ago

Why should you come out to counter a story which your 3 year old son even knows is true.Oh shame on you!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Joe Ali=NJ 9 years ago

This idiot Nii Moi Thompson calls himself an economics. Ghana does not need such liars and opportunists to be advisors. Time will tell.

• dirty man ewe 9 years ago

Animals ga man analysis or calculations

• Mozato 9 years ago

Who is Nii Moi to challenge "Al Nabi"(Prophet) Bawumia! Managing the economy is not Ga Kenkey business. Having advised Mahama to pursue all the wrong economic policies that has rendered our economy the most hopeless in thee ...

• concern citizen 9 years ago

1. the title of this article is very bad and poorly captioned.
    2. Dr. Nii is Ghana running a fixed or a variable dollar rate? How does our Dr. Nii determine his dollar rate? Is it market driven or? Please kindly revisit you ...

• New Sheriff in Town 9 years ago

If we needed 2.1628 Cedis to buy $1 in December 2013 but need as much as 3.035 Cedis to buy the same $1 that means the Cedi has appreciated? The Cedi rather lost 40% of it's value against the Dollar from December 2013 to Augu ...

• LOL 9 years ago

Hahahahahaha....e de bee k3k3, eat that...lol.

• ken 9 years ago

So far it is 2:0 for Dr Bawumia. Dr Thompson is trying to complicate the calculation in order to confuse the public again. Dr Bawumia's calculation is easier to understand and facts on the ground support his calculation. All ...

• Mink. 9 years ago

It has taken the entire Mahama bogus administration and quack 'economists' a whole week to school themselves before coming out with this nonsense,lengthy,empty trash! AFTER ONE WEEK? You dumbfools simply don't have what it ta ...

• Kwame Abokyi 9 years ago

Wow! I cannot stop laughing. They claimed to have got the magic wind to
    turn things around for a "BETTER GHANA AGENDA",but look at what is happening all over the the country.
    Nothing is affordable. Lorry fares,
    prices of ...

• AKANIBA 9 years ago

The reaction and counter analysis of Dr. Thompson of Dr Bawumia economic assertion is not anything new to Ghanaians.

When has NDC misinformation machinery not come out with a rejoinder on any expression from Ghanaians? It ...

• Komi 9 years ago

Really rubbishing? His warped analysis has confirmed the technocrats fudge figures. Nii Moi's problem is more about his limited understanding of ratios, proportions and converting these to percentages. How do calculate simple ...

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 9 years ago

The thing is there's a lot Nii Moi Thompson can learn from Dr. Bawumia freely if he humbles himself, and at no cost.
    The figure has moved up sharply from 3.03 to 3.13 after Dr. Bawumia issued his statement.
    When Nii Moi th ...

• My goodness 9 years ago

Bawumia is a good economist, but don't say that the stats are false when you do not have solid proof

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 9 years ago

This man is not being INTELLECTUALLY HONEST.

He knows very well the iherent truths and facts about what Bawumia put out there.

His response, as always, is full of double talk, evasiveness, rhetorics, gimmickry, propaga ...

• Big Ben 9 years ago

THIS SAME DR, NII THOMPSON & TOGBE AFEDE CORRECTED A FALSE PRESENTATION SENT BY NPP TO WORLD BANK WITH WRONG FORMULA AND FIGURES. THE WORLD BANK APPRECIATED THE CORRECTED VERSION PUT FORWARD BY BOTH DR, NII THOMPSON & TOGBE A ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 9 years ago

They both have influence over this govt and you must ask yourself why the economy of Ghana has become like a pit latrine if Nii Moi and Togbe Afede have any competence worth a salt

• high school teacher, nii moi thompson 9 years ago

high school teacher, nii moi thompson

• Addae Akrasi 9 years ago

Nii why dont you allow BOG and GSS to response and why has it taken you so long to response. Something is wrong at BOG and GSS.

• Isaac from Pokuase 9 years ago

By comparing the two pieces and my international finance notes, I realize that Dr. Bawumia's data source inconsistences introduces an error.Also Bawumia made a common error students made.I am not surprise Mr.Casely-Jayford di ...

• KOO NIMO 9 years ago

Isaac, what are you saying? Please coma again because you are not clear!!!

• cocaine nana adui 9 years ago

I have already said that this idiot bawumia is nothing but stupid dog bought by nana adui the cocaine lord to to tell lies for him to become President. na lie ,eno go hapen, good for nothing dogs to rule who,do we need old dw ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Nii Moi thompson has been paid by thief Dramani Mahma NDCeivers to rubbish and thwart the shrewd, intuitive Dr. Bawumia has put out in the public domain. We all agree with what Dr. Bawumia has said so I think Nii Moi Thompson ...

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

I have tremendous respect for both gentlemen but until mankind come to realization that practical economics are just mere try and error crap of regurgitated theories which oftentimes create more problems than solutions, the m ...

• James Ghampson 9 years ago

Well said. But the point Dr Bawumia sought to make was simple. The BOG , by suppressing the rate and keeping the depreciation at 28.7 percent is telling us all the depreciation is not scary .

What will hapen if BOG used th ...

• Chale Wote 9 years ago

I think Nii's argument is that if you use today's market, then you must use 31st December 2013's market - to be consistent. You cant cross-wire the data. 31/12/2013 market is higher than BOG and so you wont come to the 40% ra ...

• Eddie 9 years ago

Moi try to behave like human being n stop ur stupidity argument coz u know very well that ur argument n calculation's are nonsense, look at an ordinary citizen how many times they can put a plate on a table for his or her fam ...

• Ewe nation 9 years ago

Why would a Ghanaian man name himself Moi? That was a dictator's name in Kenya and he's still widely hated for abuses,corruption and decay of the kenyan economy.Change yo name Dr Nii.

• Genuine Observer 9 years ago

Good try, Nii Moi, to circumlocating facts to arrive at square one. Every economist (except you) admits that the cedi is performing bad, therefore inflation has hit hikes which has caused prices to rise above previous years. ...

• Kow Kyemeinu 9 years ago

See how Economists can complicate issues? i bought a dollar two weeks ago3.5 cedis. Then i go back today to buy it at 3.8 and i'm told my cedi has appreciated by some formula. Is this formula taking me to Dubai? I'll stick ...

• Big Ben 9 years ago

BLACK MARKET PRICES ARE DIFFERENT FROM BOG RATE.

• KOO NIMO 9 years ago

Methink all these book-long and long- talk can never put food on the table neither put money in the pocket of the ordinary ghanaian. What are doing collectively as a people to change the fortunes of the country?

• Boss 9 years ago

Nii moi, you really need to come again. Finally I thought this would be a rebuttal from the government. After all this merry go round he has actually strengthen Bawumia's analysis. I wish he had used everyday language as Bawu ...

• Kow Kyemeinu 9 years ago

Come on my friend, big men do not use everyday language. The big man's analysis is for big men who get( not buy) their dollars from the bank of Ghana. Bawumia spoke to those of us who buy from Stanbic and ecobank and Zongo L ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Ghana is NOT operating a free Market economy. Under the law, the Bank of Ghana is the only one responsible for dictating prices of foreign currencies and NOT Market. Read the foreign exchange act. The idea to allow dominant p ...

• THEORY 9 years ago

IF 90% OF OUR IMPORTS GO THROUGH THE COMMENRCIAL BANKS THEN THE PREDOMINAT RATE IS THE MARKET RATE. NOT SURE YOU UNDERSTOOD THE TOMATO ANALOGY SIGHTED BY BAWUMIA? PLEASE WE HAVE ALL THE LAWS ON FOREI ...

• Boss 9 years ago

You are wrong. The market dictates the price otherwise there would have not been such a large spread between the interbank rate and the BOG rate. The BOG determines the rate based on market conditions. Ghana does operate a fr ...

• WTF! 9 years ago

Both NPP-trickster Bayifuo-nua and stinking NDC belly-economist Nii Momoni are not to be taken seriously. They are both IMF/WB servants, only doing the bidding of their former paymasters. Nii Momoni engages in a parsing exerc ...

• Ama Grace 9 years ago

This man joined the NDC govt and he has lost mind!

• Agyaaku USA 9 years ago

What matters is not the economic jargons but the reality on the ground.
    What is the rate at forex bureau across the country? Check the increase

• Teacher Noah 9 years ago

Nii you are a disgrace to academics. Bawumia's alanysis was not an assumption. The days are gone when Ghanaians were fooled by stupid schorlars like you. No wonder Ghana's economy is falling at an uncontrolable rate with peop ...

• fred 9 years ago

I'm so so disappointed in you sir considering you lived in "newyork" am knows how it feels. Sir, I'm not an economist but I remit via western union, moneyGram and all. If the currency is mashed, I'm at lose, my recipient is a ...

• RETIRED MP 9 years ago

Devaluation- The exchange rate at the ports and for all cedi denominated imported items have gone up by at least 40%. Cedi depreciation versus dollar and dollar appreciation versus cedi are the same thin ...

• MASTER P 9 years ago

YOUR ANALYSIS DOES NOT REFLECT THE REALITY ON THE GROUND. SIMPLY PUT,
    WHY IS THAT THE BANK RATE IS GHC3.03 TO 1 DOLLAR AGAINT GHC3.8 TO THE DOLLAR IN THE FOREX BUREAUS. PEACE

• THEORY 9 years ago

Government officials still get their Forex from the central bank at 3.03 cedis to the usd. the masses get their usd from either the commercial banks, forex bureau or the blackmarket at a mimimum of 3.8 ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

The reason why 3.8 market rate is not used is that under the law, only rates decided and permitted by Bank of Ghana is lawful. The Banks buy from the bank of Ghana and other banks at 3.03 and come and sell to you at retail ra ...

• THEORY 9 years ago

GO TO TEMA OR THE ACCRA AIRPORT AND CHECK WHAT RATE IS USED IN COMPUTING CUSTOMS DUTY! WAS 3.8 CEDIS TO 1 USD ON MONDAY!!PLS STOP SAYING WHAT U DONT KNOW! CEPS IS 100% RUN BY GOVERNMENT OF GHANA! ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

The Bank of Ghana is the sole entity mandated by law to decide rates, any other rates marked up above BOG's own is a profit laden rates operating under permission from BOG. And Last time I said, every week, there's a procedur ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Idiot, in not free market economy, government set up prices for goods and services and that is known as PRICE CONTROL economy like what goes on in North Korea.

Ghana is a free market economy and prices are determined by de ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

The LAW is there read. The can be NO free market economy under an exchange control act. All those dealers in foreign currencies are licensees. There's a licensor which is BOG. Can you be free if you are operating under permis ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Fuck off with your stupidity. The government has already told the country it will sell bond to earn dollars to stabilize the dollar. The government is broke in terms of foreign currency.

• Certified Public Accountant, US 9 years ago

Here is the simplest way to calculate the rate of the currency depreciation, according to the exchange rate as used by Dr Bawumia. Dr Bawumia assumed the exchange rate at close of December 2013, to be GHc2.2 to $1.0. Today, h ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Under Ghana's law, specifically the exchange control act, it is the Bank of Ghana's 3.03 that applies. Listen the Bank of Ghana sells foreign currencies at the rate of 3.03 to these banks and they in turn sell it at a range b ...

• Certified Public Accountant, US 9 years ago

Under which law? It looks as if you do not livein Ghana, or you're naive about the currency market in Ghana. Dr Bawumia says the true rate of the exchange rate should be quoted at GHc 3.8 to $1.0, instead of the superficial r ...

• Nyameasem 9 years ago

Go to website and check global converter, dollar or cedi is not koobi for sale, that u can sit down and do whatever u like to appreciate it. We are in global world; appreciation and depreciation depend on your country's econo ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

A changing value of one currency to another currency is NOT the same as loss or gain of purchasing power of a currency. Their calculations are different. The former is comparative , the latter is NOT. You sound clueless but N ...

• eddie 9 years ago

Nyameasem,yes there is global converter for the conversion of every currency to another but looking at our situation not everybody get access to BoG exchange rate. infact i will say about 85% of the population rely on these i ...

• MASTER P 9 years ago

ONE DOES NOT NEED TO BE A GENIUS TO UNDERSTAND THIS SIMPLE ECONOMIC'S MATHEMATICS. DOC, BE SIMPLE FOR THE LAYMAN TO UNDERSTAND YOU. YOU MAY NOT FEEL IT DUE TO THE POSITION YOU HOLD IN GOVERNMENT BUT THE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA A ...

• REBUILDING GHANA 9 years ago

We need more people with mathematical brains. Mathematics helps boost brain activity. Mathematics helps people to develop systematic approaches, orderliness and procedures.

Science also helps people to become principled. ...

• THEORY 9 years ago

THERE ARE SIMPLY TOO MANY PEOPLE IN GOVERNMENT WITH HUMANITIES BACKGROUND , STRONG PHOBIA FOR MATHS HENCE CREATING A FIELD DAY FOR INTELLECTUAL CROOKS TO USE THEIR MATHS , SCIENCE AND ECONOMICS INTELLECT NE ...

• DONBOLI 9 years ago

Nii Moi is wrong and advice the govt wrongly. If IMF want to help ghana why lie to them and why is Nii Moi thinking when lying knowing if the truth is said ghana will still get the help from IMF and EU.
    EU before ghana sign ...

• Skains 9 years ago

This intellectual nuisance, Bawumia, has been creating economic/business uncertainty with his stinking-mouth negative pronouncements about Ghana's economy. If he was sensible, he would offer constructive suggestions to impro ...

• CALABASH 9 years ago

This Nii Moi character if the purported "green letter" had any credence and effect, he should be the first one to be shipped out. But in a Mahama NDC administration where Anita De-Soso and her ilk can postulate dwarves being ...

• Yaw(VA) 9 years ago

That was so funny,Calabash

• Efo Kobla 9 years ago

Your opening statement made all the you said very very irrelevant. If you know GSS and BoG can defend themselves, what is your business waging into this debate. Massa, forget your 1920 paper and pencil Jacobian economics. Baw ...

• obiba JK 9 years ago

you are simply great

• Nyameasem 9 years ago

1.00 USD = 3.78000 GHS
    US Dollar
    ?
    Ghanaian Cedi

1 USD = 3.78000 GHS 1 GHS = 0.264550 USD
    Convert again View Chart Mid-market rates: 2014-08-27 03:34 UTC
    This universal converter. We can't have time for liars anym ...

• KWASI 9 years ago

THE HEADLINE IS MISLEADING.NII NOI ONLY SUCCEEDED IN EXPOSING HIS IGNORANCE, INTELLECTUAL DISHONEST AND BANKRUPT. IF THIS IS WHAT YOU CALL RUBBISHING BAWUMIA`S ANALYSIS, THEN GOD SAVE GHANA. NO WONDER WE ARE IN THIS MESS IF T ...

• Efo Kobla 9 years ago

If I were Nii Moi I would be weeping like Elvi Afriyie Ankrah. Don't you feel ashamed. If you were an Asian you would have shot yourself dead! If you are the advisor on the economy and we are in this mess you rather keep quie ...

• SYDNEY 9 years ago

U SPEAK ALL THE BEAUTIFUL ENGLISH BUT U CANT PROFFER ANY SINGLE SOLUTION TO THE CREATE LOOT AND SHARE OF UR THIEVING NDC GOVT WHICH HAS DESTROYED OUR ECONOMY SO BADLY...STUPID FOOL, BETTER SHUT UP AND LET BAWUMIA DO THE TALK ...

• Lopez 9 years ago

If we have people of Dr Nii Moi's interlect advising our president then no wonder our economy is being run to the drain. Look at his analysis is full of baseless quotaions which is what Dr Bawumia is complaining about.I don't ...

• Dan 9 years ago

They should call for debate to know who is telling the truth.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Dr Nii Moi, do not forget that the quoted BOG rate at Dec '13 was not different from the average quoted rates of the commercial banks.

• hawa 9 years ago

Immediately Bawumia issued his statement, BOG has Immediately changed their 3 months constant 3.03 weighted forex rate to 3.1333. Why now when all the BOG forex policies have been cleaned and cedi hs strated showing some stre ...

• mahama 9 years ago

this guy is still under ndc pay. he should shut his foolish mouth. cos life is unbearable in this incompetent mahama government. only takertives. foolish economics. nantwie mooooooooooooooooooooo

• kwame peter 9 years ago

Nii Moi deliberately did not talk about the forex rates which case was the mainstay of bawumia's analysis. I think nii Moi has not been comprehensive as bawumia's but only picked on weak links to make an empty case. We are in ...

• Kwame Annan 9 years ago

I respect this man

• Nana Antwi 9 years ago

Dr. Bawumia, a technocrat, has since entering politics has successfully courted support in the opposition NPP by playing to the gallery with re-engineered statistics (at Supreme Court and in Statements of the Economy) to back ...

• ohwini 9 years ago

The dollar appreciated against the cedi by4O% yet the cedi depreciated against the dollar by 27%?

This is a mere technicality which stems from the way devaluation stats are TERMED. It does not reflect real life experience. ...

• OMAN BAPA 9 years ago

BETTER FIX GHANA ECONOMY FOR GHANIANS,FOOOOOOL THAT IS ALL GHANIANS NEED

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

His now 'famous' one-liner of you and I were not there from the witness stand during the SC Election Petition hearings last year,but is he entitled to any slack in this bold-faced attempt to engage in pure sophistry in own ...

• kd 9 years ago

Isaiah 58:15

• agyeman 9 years ago

I sometimes wonder the kind of appointees Mahama has advisng him. Fact is that most of these people with massive credentials do not have native intellect. Managing Ghana;s economy now is not about book knowledge it is about c ...

• Abele 9 years ago

I get worried when our esteemed Bawumia plays cheap politics to catch the eyes of NPP king makers. There's better way for him to gain recognition rather than resorting to some baseless economic figures that he twists to suit ...

• bibi 9 years ago

Since Nii Moi knows that much of economics, why is it that he is one of economic advisers to government and we are in this much mess? He should come again

• Otoo 9 years ago

Bawumia is just a quack and fake economist. Afterall who knows this common Bawumia in the international field of economists. In Ghana anyone fool who has a Ph.D in economics in a low class UIniversity in Canada and worked for ...

• Floating Voter. 9 years ago

God have mercy on all these pink sheets economists !

• KWAME SAM 9 years ago

THE PRESIDENT HAS TO FIRE THIS NII MOI. WITH ALL THESE FACTS NII MOI CANNOT GET, AND HE IS STILL THE PRESIDENT`S ECONOMIST? SAD! SAD TO THE EXTENT THAT EVEN A FIRST YEAR SSS STUDENT CAN TELL YOU WHAT IS WRONG WITH GHANA ...

• CAPT. BILLY BONES 9 years ago

DR. NII MOI SEEMS TO BE CONFUSING HIMSELF AND READERS.HIS RESPONSE CAN BE SEEN AS HIGHFALUTIN.

• Band fo bisi!! 9 years ago

He does not see anything wrong with the economy. Having been ensconsed in the Flagstaff House with a fat salary, allowances, a V8 Landcruiser etc so he is defending government. Ghana!! Wonders will never end.

• agyei 9 years ago

i dont tinc he said so, if his figures r wrong brings urs simple

• BOATENG 9 years ago

A renowned economist, Kwame Pianim, has defended the credibility of the exchange rate and inflation figures released by the Bank of Ghana (BoG) and the Ghana Statistical Service (GSS).

Data released from the two institutio ...

• GbagbladzaV 9 years ago

Thank you Nii. I have been watching with amazement the depth of Bawumia's intellectual dishonesty since he mounted the political landscape.

He continues to make a fool of his Phd each time he makes presentation on the subj ...

Very interesting analysis made but does not change facts. Dr. Bawumia made known figures since June for the exchange rate for a dollar at 3.03 cedis to date.Certainly that is not the case. For inflation figures there may be s ...

I just don't get when NDc fanatics seize on propaganda churned out by their propaganda machinery like re denomination being the cause of our current woes. How many zeros did Zimbabwe wipe off their currency when they had the ...

• Pearson Nimoh 9 years ago

Hi all please find unbiased analysis of Bawumia claim from here [ghanaeconomygraphics.blogspot.com]

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Nii Moi is working for the gvt so now he claims the gvt agencies are right.

• Nec 9 years ago

??

• Mike Gizo 9 years ago

Useless nii moi thompson. Another propagandist n greedy bastard in Ghana moved by tribal n hatred comments

• Wiafe 9 years ago

GOG dependence on foreign "economics" to propel the Ghanaian economy is part of the problem.

The other which Nii has refused to comment on is the spate of corruption that no economics textbook can analyze. Welcome to Ghan ...