You are here: HomeNews2014 08 25Article 322800

BOG, GSS mute on Dr. Bawumia’s exposé

Read Comments Comments (94)

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

Silence means admission [of guilt] in a court of public opinion.

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Bawumia is playing CHEAP politics and these 2 institutions are not political. NPP is a party that has not respect for institutions. EC, Parliament, Supreme court , GSS , BOG . Once it does not favour them , they will drag th ...

• ANTI 9 years ago

IT IS THIS KIND OF GULLIBILITY WHY GHANA IS IN A MESS. EVERYTHING IS INTERPRETED IN POLITICAL,TRIBAL, AND SPIRITUAL TERMS. REFUSAL TO ACCEPT CONCLUSIONS FROM HARDCORE ANALYTICAL EVIDENCE IS WHAT IS DESTROYING GHANA.

• Humanity 9 years ago

Well said ANTI. Ghanaians refuse to accept culpability for their own ACTIONS, and in majority of cases, would blame spiritual, political, tribal, malice etc.,
    Makes you wonder...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

WE KNOW ONLY TWO NAMES, NANA ADDO & BAWUMIA. NANA'S LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS.WE CAN'T PUT OUR TR ...

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

It is not for nothing that Bank of Ghana had deliberately set the exchange rate of the cedi to the dollar at 3.03 since middle of June; it was designed to scam the diaspora or Ghanaian overseas who have been making remittance ...

• PNDC Account no. 48 9 years ago

Edey be k3k3. Fools in government. Are they not the same people who when in opposition also accused these two so-called independent institutions as 419. I vividly remmember NDC economic guru - Fifi Kwetey (Afganistan Economic ...

• PNDC Account no. 48 9 years ago

these very institutions

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Next time, talk about yourself without bringing Ghanaians into the flay. When it's not your bunch in power, then all is not well. Yes, all is not well under Mahama's administration for cocaine dealers, cronism, nepotism and t ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

There is no monuments built for skeptics.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

WE KNOW ONLY TWO NAMES, NANA ADDO & BAWUMIA. NANA'S LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS.WE CAN'T PUT OUR TR ...

• ODIKRO 9 years ago

IF BAWUMIAH THINKS THE FIGURES ARE WRONG, IS THIS THE BEST WAY TO QUESTION THEM?
    OR IS BAWUMIAH TRYING TO LET THE CEDI DEPRECIATE FURTHER WITH HIS ALARMIST WAY OF DOING THINGS.
    DOES BAWUMIAH LOVE HIS POLITICS MORE THAN MOTH ...

• Ghana-ba 9 years ago

KOJO T. I DOUBT IF DO UNDERSTAND THE WORLD OF ECONOMICS. EXCHANGE AND BANK RATES ARE NOT SET TO AFFECT ONLY NPP SUPPORTERS. THE WORLD OF BUSINESS LOOKS AT THESE FIGURES ON A DAILY IF NOT HOURLY BASIS.

• Jo 9 years ago

He has been brainwashed for too long by Solomon nkansah to believe a cow is a goat

• afua kobi 9 years ago

kojo t is not educated... he don;t have a clue about economics. econometrics and political economy as a whole.. it is clear that he is a foot soldier and do as he has been told

• Kojo T 9 years ago

He is not a foot soldier but a hand soldier. Kojo T has not brains , so spare it being " brainwashed' . His brain is in a skull . Of course some people use words they picked up to impress . What are the solutions being advoca ...

• Afia 9 years ago

You are the most idiot fool in this generation.So called Kojo T the murderer.

• BlindMan 9 years ago

The two(2) institutions are doing 'perfectly' well; who needs to respond to the messenger, who put Ghana in the MESS to start with; if he had a solution, he would have done it RIGHT in the first place.
    Right now, it's quite ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

On the contrary, the two institutions are not telling us the truth.

• adanko 9 years ago

what is the true exchange and inflation rate of Ghana as of today???? We want a simple answer, please.

• Tesano Gardens 0244218389 9 years ago

This is the characteristic "shepherd's crook" shape of an Ebola virus.

What is Ebola?
    Ebola is a virus in the Filovirus family. The only other known member of this family is Marburg virus which appeared in a minor ou ...

• praying man 9 years ago

God bless our homeland Ghana.

• wali 9 years ago

BOG,GSS FAILURE TO SPEACK AND REBUT CLAIMS BY THE HONARABLE DR BAWUMIA
    JUST TELL US THAT EVERYTHING DR BAWUMIA SAID WAS TRUTH.
    WE GHANA PEOPLE CAN ONLY ASSUME THAT SINCE NO
    REBUT IS COMING FROM BOG THAT EVERYTHING BAWUM ...

• koffi parker 9 years ago

Its only a matter of time that this will happen if we dont as a Nation take collective measures to deal with this issue.
    My point is, must GSS and BoG come out the next day to debunk this?To whose interest,the Opposition or ...

• wali 9 years ago

we want to hear the truth nothing but the truth so help us god almighty

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Who has time to follow a mad man like Bawumia

Okyere Darko and Bawumia together do not know anything better than the guys at the Bank of Ghana.

In fact, Okyere Darko is only a functional illiterate.

Until Bawumia made his statement, BOG and the GSS did not even realize what they had put out in the public domain. Give them time to figure it out. I expect them to come out to try and lie to justify their lies.

• ********* 9 years ago

What a shame. NDC voodoo economics.

• Efo 9 years ago

BIG SHAME TO THIS WAHALA GOVERNMENT.

• Mallam Tula-2 9 years ago

MASSA: WE TOLD YOU SO THE DOGS OF NDC INCLUDING OFOSU KWAKYE : OMANE BOAMA AND OTHERS INCLUDING THEIR ECONOMIC GURU WERE LET OUT DEFEND THE 'KULULU'ACTIONS OF THE BOG AND THE SSS INITIALLY BUT THEN ALL IS GONE QUIET ON THE SU ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

I dont understand why ndc has decided to rule with only propaganda.l remember how Dr Bawumia was insulted by those babys with sharp teeth.Are they going to do same ? Shame.

• wali 9 years ago

THE LAW SAID WHEN SOMONE ACUSE YOU OF ANYTHING YOU HAVE ADUTY TO SPEECK AND/OR REBUT THE ALLIGATION ,THE LAW ALSO SAYS IF YOU FAIL TO SPEECK AND /OR REBUT EVERYTHING THAT WAS SAID PRESUME TO BE TRUE AND FACTS

• Chiga 9 years ago

NDC have set the exchange rate at 3$ so that in future they can use it to refute claims that the cedi depreciated by over 40% in their era. They know we have short memories. Ghanaians are wide awake thanks to Dr Bawumia.

• ASASE ABAN 9 years ago

LET THEM LIE A DOLLAR WOULD BE SOLD AT 10CEDIS,THEY CAN LIE ABOUT EVERYTHING BUT NOT THE ECONOMY.

• Genuine Observer 9 years ago

Force those responsible to answer all questions. Like most important issues of misrepresentation and governmental errors by Mahama's administration, they'll use time delay to kill it and Ghanaians will never remember it agai ...

• Abele 9 years ago

All the noise for 6-7 pesewa difference? Please don't take Ghanaians for a ride if u don't know what to do to stay relevant. This guy Bawumia presented such pathetic report as if he has discovered the ebola cure. He could hav ...

• Is sad 9 years ago

Why can't they tell the truth the exact fact

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

NDC and their agents are great and unrepentant liars. President Mills lied with forged documents about his REGIMANUEL house gift. They killed Mills and lied. Mahama lied about EMBRAER plane prices and per diem for Medical stu ...

• Oduro Edward 9 years ago

BOG and Gss should bow their heads down in shame for putting out there cooked and cosmetic figures forgotten that we all live in this country and shop from the same market.

• Mankind 9 years ago

Every one in the world knows that the BoG is lying through its nose!! The only ignorant people who believe their lies are the NDC guys, because they don't make remittances anywhere. My last remittance per Western Union two we ...

• Mankind 9 years ago

Kojo T has betrayed himself. Why? because ha does not make remittances to his family and friends. He would have known that the exchange rate is US#1 to GhC3.70 and that Dr. Bawumia is telling the whole truth. Those of us who ...

• Say the TRUTH 9 years ago

THEY WILL SOON GO BACK SEEKING & PAYING HUGE $ MILLIONS OF US$$$ TO US LOOBYIST TO HELP THEM REPAIR THE IMAGE OF GHANA AND ITS CREDIBILITY!!!!!

oooooooooooooooooooHHHHHHHHHHHH WHAT A SICK NATION AS THEIR OWN NATIONAL SECUR ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

NDC has never told the truth. They are liars and will die lying. Even when Mills was dying, they said he was as fit as a fiddle and they turned around to slaughter him like goat. NDC??? God will punish them bad~ jon Mahama is ...

• Obiba Kwasi 9 years ago

Truth always triumphs.....

• JACK ACCRA 9 years ago

MAHAMA HAS LOST WHEN HIS TEAM B MINISTERS TELLS HIM OH EVERYTHING IS OK THE ECONOMY IS FINE HE DONT EVEN HAS BRAIN TO LOOK AM SORRY FOR MAHAMA THEY WILL KILL HIM DAYLIGHT.

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

MR.BAWUMIA,has succeeded in making both the BANK OF GHANA & GHANA STATISTICS DUMB.
    If they have balls at their groin,why the silence,to such a very important and delicate issue?
    If they have teeth,let them bite with it.
    A ...

• olo Vivi 9 years ago

?

• NDC ARE DEVIL'S AGENTS 9 years ago

DESTROYING GHANA FOR THE DEVIL TO STEP IN

• Danny 9 years ago

I personally exchanged at 1$ to 3.7 cedis 3 weeks ago at zenith bank. So Ghanaians lets open our eyes well before these NDC boneheads drag our country to hell.

• Independent Government Professional 9 years ago

It is always a good policy for governmental agencies and staff of government involved with sensitive policy decisions such Finance, Statistics and other socio-political affairs should desist from political agents and party po ...

• TRUTH STANDS 9 years ago

It is simple ......... Bawumia spoke the truth ...... and truth stands.

• USMAN 9 years ago

Just one blow from the fine British trained mind, Dr Bawumia, has sent BOG and GSS gasping for air. This is how far our useless local university graduates have brought us into this mess.

• joe 9 years ago

Just defending, not telling the truth. If the figures are calculate or not we feel depreciation of the cedi very fast. Even a child know this, so get out with your propaganda ndc machine. You can't fool people all the time.

• Konkonte Officer 9 years ago

Prez JDM fireeeee all of them. Incompetent office holders.

• Kow Kyemeinu 9 years ago

I am taking Stanbic to court. When I was traveling last week the bank sold dollars to me at 3.82. I need a lawyer who can get the BoG and the GSS subpoenaed to testify for me.

• MANNY. London 9 years ago

This KOJO T guy will eat and drink FROM THE ASS of MAHAMA.

• Skains 9 years ago

What this loudmouth, over-educated, good-for-nothing, lack-of-self-esteem Bawumia is doing is that he's eroding business and investment confidence in Ghana. If he has concrete answers to Ghana's economic plight, why not offe ...

Skans
    The insults do not help our cause. Those of us with facts contrary to those articulated by the gentleman must bring them out. That will serve our purposes better.If we turned all serious discussions into the trading of ...

• QUEEN 9 years ago

TRUST GHANAIAN LEADERS AT YOUR OWN PERIL. THEY ARE ALL BUNCH OF DISGRACEFUL LIARS.

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

It is either truth or lies that the BoG presented to Ghana and the world.
    Truth is easier to defend, you see God's word is truth because the word itself is truth.
    Shame has fallen onto the NDC.

Dr. Bawumia is care befor ...

• Yaw(VA) 9 years ago

I have been reading your write-ups here and they are quite interesting to say the least. Unlike most of the people here, i know the man Bawumia personally. He was my Professor and mentor in school and a nobel laureate materia ...

• Akolgo 9 years ago

Is true

• KANAWU KASABA 9 years ago

What Bawumia stated are hard facts

Never Despair Comrades(NDC)We planted trees and created jobs. Our guinea fowl project created more jobs. Now we are building 200 SHS thus creating more jobs. All Ghanaian are working now because of the great vision of the gre ...

• BAFFOUR -- YAW 9 years ago

Sending money to Ghana at this time must be worrying because BOG is manipulating the exchange rate and our money from overseas will not correspond to Ghanaian market,diaspora's and investors are warn to caution by the bloombe ...

Bank of Ghana is not obliged to respond to silly comments from disappointed politicians.

Bawumia does his best to be socially provocative.

You think Bawumia's comments are silly? How I wish idiocy was an export commodity!

• KKO 9 years ago

Vodoo-Dwarfs economists and statisticians, what do they have to say?
    Since they put out those huuhuudious figures, if they were accurate wouldn't they have responded a long time ago? Shame on them. Academic puppets!!!

• Jay Rogue Ray Ram Liar 9 years ago

When you can only lie to refute an allegation you are better off keeping mute than to talk to be labelled a liar. However, when you are mute people will draw their conclusion to the obvious.... A Liarrrrr

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

Perhaps the renumeration of the Spin Doctors has been chopped and that may be the reason for the silence or are they waiting till just elections to answer Bawumia.

• JH New York 9 years ago

And so ?
    Instigating and litigating Ghana media/press,
    don't you know Dr Bawumia is entitled to his opinion ?. Are these Statistics the cause of the filth in the Country,or the reasons for the joblessness, and the procur ...

• Kabobo 9 years ago

What do we have to expect from Bank of Ghana and the Ghana Statistical Service? They have been caught up in their own trap of lies and propaganda. They have been exposed and therefore have no defence. They would not want to d ...

• Joe 9 years ago

I still continue to ask a question, why should anyone still follow NDC? All what they know is lying and even when caught, they do not apologize. What a government.

• Kute/USA. 9 years ago

For me it simply means the two institutions and those working there are people whose competence must be questioned. A student who has studied SSS economics would do a better job. If not it another strategy to loot our foreig ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

THESE TWO HAVE BECOME POLITICAL AND SHOULD BE SACKED, BECAUSE INSTEAD OF BEING NEUTRAL, THEY HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE LIES OF THE NDC GOVERNMENT OF CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT JOHN MAHAMA. THE TWO SHOULD BE SACKED AT ONCE.

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

If the intent of the publishers at the New Crusading Guide is to tout Dr. Bawumia's childish expose as the gospel truth then it shows that journalism in Ghana is not what its cracked up to be. Anyone who follows the ups and d ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

You said nothing except for the fact that you strung English words together. You clearly sound like an illiterate.

• candyman 9 years ago

That silence means incompetence so show them the exit

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

If the cedi has already fallen 40 percent this year, how can the change in inflation be 1.5%. Bank interest rates are around 30%. Does the government of the NDC think we are all as dumb as Jerry Rawlings?

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

THE BRILLIANT DR MAHAMUDU BAWUMIA, FAMOUSLY KNOWN AS DR PINKSHEET HAS DONE IT AGAIN. HE HAS EXPOSED THE LYING JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS NDC GOVERNMENT. THE NDC HAS LIED ABOUT EVERYTHING AND EVEN LIED TO THE INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL ...

• Kent Gyapong 9 years ago

Kojo T like the entire government seems deluded, their actions, comments and behavior are difficult for a reasonable mind to comprehend.

• Mr Nyamekye 9 years ago

The bank does not do Ntabil Puni Partisan politics. This youngman Bawu must know that the BoG is more reputable than his vodoo Economics. Otwee like that. Help Nana to trace his Law certificates. Where were you in 2007 when t ...

• hawa 9 years ago

I just checked BOG website and they have changed the rate to 3.1333

• Kent Gyapong 9 years ago

This country is unfortunately been govern by gang of criminals who are busily looting everything dry and at the same telling us not to complain

• Kofi_Boga 9 years ago

BOG's failure to set the correct rate is reflected in the amount received by relatives back home when money is sent home. MoneyGram rate is $1 = 3.01 GHS and Western Union is $1 = 3.00 GHS. This is incompetence on the part o ...

• Daniel Moise 9 years ago

Any level headed individual should look at the prevailing market figures quoted by the renounced Dr of economics and do unbias analysis to see who is telling the truth.

• Austin Amoah, UK 9 years ago

Kojo T either you are blind physically or academically illiterate. Have you read economics in school and do understand it?

You will not behave like that. Massaging figures will not help the economy. It is a shame for this ...

• Law Speaks 9 years ago

The evil u know is better than evil u dont know.

• Ossuman 9 years ago

no need to ardue with an ignorant person like bawumia. where did the npp get its figures when they were in power? if it is the same institutions have the personnel been changed? doing the same work? if yes, then he is unwise ...

• wali 9 years ago

THAT IS WHY BOG IS SILENT,SILENT MEAN
    AGRREING

• kwame peter 9 years ago

Oh wampah why forge forex rates when the market is transparent? Are though such stupid to believe ghanaians are more stupid than thy stupidity? Your days be cursed with thy ineptness and crass stupidity to assume ghanaians ar ...

• Amuggi 9 years ago

GH Statistical Services started fudging their numbers when they carried out the rebasing of the economy under president Mills. Their data and that of BOG is not credible and market forces are exposing them.

• Ama 9 years ago

Look at what we are doing to ourself. How can we be deceiving the people of Ghana? We all know that Ebola is in Ghana but the government refused to tell the truth about Ebola.If the BoG and the GSS can do this to Ghanaian The ...