BNI picks up Director of Passports over Amoateng

Read Comments Comments (118)

• Remove Indemnity Clause 11 years ago

This is what should happen in Ghana to get rid of corruption.

• Yawman 11 years ago

At the time that Amoateng's passport was issued, Mr. Odoi Anim was serving in Ghana's Mission in the Hague as the Deputy Head of Mission. He returned to Ghana on completion of his duty tour in 2011. In 2012, he took over fr ...

• Jake 11 years ago

All comments read on this site either saying the director is GUILTY OR INNOCENT. Please folks look at the word..."ALLEDGED" and sentence... "AS PART OF AN INVESTIGATIONS", and let the BNI finish what they are doing before we ...

• moyo 11 years ago

We are our own enemies. The laws of the land should work at all cost and we should understand that no one is above the law. All the guys must be investigated to ascertain the truth.

• koffi parker 11 years ago

It appears the director has been used no knowing what he even signed,the level of corruption,hmm this is just a tip of iceberg, they are sitting on can of worms.This time around they've bitten more they can chew, maggots

• TK 11 years ago

whay has he been picked up if he is innocent. You seem to know more than the BNI

• NANA YAW SARKORDIE NEW YORK 11 years ago

THE PASSPORT WAS ISSUEDIN FEB 2009 WHEN MR ANIM WAS IN THE HAGUE AQS DEPUTY HEAD OF MISSION.THERE IS A DIRECTOR ASSISTED BY TWO DEPUTY DIRECTORS SO WHICH OF THE DIRECTORS APPROVE THE ISSUANCE OF THE PASSPORT.DID AMOATENG TRAV ...

• S>L>Y> 11 years ago

has BNI also arrested their own corrupt men stationed at the passport offices responsible for enforcing initial application processes? all those whose signatures appear on the form in the process from the rubbish shed people ...

• k OPUKU 11 years ago

who was the director of passport at the time every passport was signed by a director
    so the question is who signed the passport?
    this BNI guys are stupid

• Baba 11 years ago

1.No one at a travel desk at JFK would board a passenger with a passport that does not relate to him or her.
    2.We are tot told if Amoateng was deported or just released ordinarily from prison.

• RX 11 years ago

I don't know what all this hulla baloo over this guy is about. May God give our authorities wisdom. What is the BNI trying to Prove to us? Straining at an ant while people are "Swallowing camels" in government offices. There ...

• Yaw Johnson 11 years ago

Yawman, are you telling me that it is not possible that this Director of Passport may not have nothing to do with Amoateng's fake passport? I would prefer you should allow the investigations to commence and let's not be narro ...

• Kweku 11 years ago

Ok Mr Facts, who then issued the alleged diplomatic passport to Pastor Otabil? Don't hesitate on this job...... please send facts asap.

• DON 11 years ago

FAKE GHANA BNI.GO ARREST AFARI GYAN,MAHAMA,ATUGUBA AND CO.FOOLS

• dick 11 years ago

they have been issuing ghana passport to foreign nationals.. it's there normal business, deal very harsh with them.and let them produce all passport fraud there involved in..ghana passport becomes toilet booklet running to ev ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 11 years ago

Why did Amoateng even need a passport to come home after his jail time and deportation from USA?

It doesn't make sense, the US could easily have handed him over or get him a Travelling Certificate for one-way home into the ...

• JDM 11 years ago

instant justice

• kwasi 11 years ago

his arrest is illegal and against the laws of Ghana bni cant hold this man in jail for ever ,since he is not quilty until he was fund quilty only in a court of law and only base on hard evidence and proof.
    wake up Ghana bn ...

• KWAKU MANU 11 years ago

I guess this Director is not an NDC man hence this shabby treatment. Hoe do you hold him for a passport that was issued long before he came to that office? Does a deported ex convict need a passport to come home? Why all this ...

• TK 11 years ago

You must be stupid and do not know what you are talking about, You seem to know more than the BNI then why not join the police and be part of the CID

• master 11 years ago

First it is claimed the passport belongs to a lady. which could mean that the passport was obtained legally by a lady and somehow transferred to Amoateng. In this case, what is the crime of the passport director.

The NDC ...

• adomba 11 years ago

Please calm down the BNI knows what they are doing, else they will be in trouble themsleves. I believe they know this guy was not the director when that passport was issued in 2009, so for them to arrest him then they have so ...

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

No, it was the passport application form that bore the name of a lady initially.

• Darren 11 years ago

The nation is more interested in WOYOME pay back with interest

• Baba 11 years ago

I ask this same question!Deportation does not require a valid passport. His expired passport together with a Travel Certificate is enough to bring Amoateng home.

• Nyansasem 11 years ago

It does not make sense at all.

First of all, he was asked to proceed on leave because it is an opportunity to replace him with one of their own. You don't 'fire' someone before you do any investigation. After firing him f ...

• Kululu 11 years ago

I often admire your opinion on some matters but not this one. Ask yourself these questions. why would the BNI implicate this gentleman? was his signature on the passport, although it is known that in 2009, that gentleman was ...

• Nyansasem 11 years ago

First of all, I am more concerned about the whole case and not just "picking up" the director of passport. Let's not be in denial when discussing issues about what ails the country. There is no way, a sitting government will ...

• Obiba 11 years ago

I think you, Nyansasem, Your intelligence is superp, and you also Know more than the BNI people. If anybody uses emotions to react to such situations, then you are first.

• the truth 11 years ago

KPOM!!!!

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 11 years ago

If Amoateng had no passport or his passport had expired the prison authorities in the US should have arranged to get him a travelling document from the Ghana embassy there to facilitate his return to Ghana.I am surprised he h ...

• kofi yaw 11 years ago

Something is not right.
    Once he completed his sentence the US authorities will assist him to get a travelling documents. there is no need for a fraudulent passport.
    Something is not right

• Nyansasem 11 years ago

In the case of Cocaine, you will not be free into the society in any advanced country; you will be deported. That is why the case does not make sense.

Also, note that the passport was acquired in 2009 while he was in priso ...

• Close Observer 11 years ago

It doesn't because some are above the law. Once you are in government, you can never be arrested, hence the reason why corruption will remain with us for a long time. In a more civilized societies, it is not like that. I reme ...

• O(BIBA-JUDAS 11 years ago

FBI SHOULD RATHER PICK AFRIYIE ANKRA AND LEAVE THIS CASE BEHIND>

• CAPT. BILLY BONES 11 years ago

AMOATENG WAS IN JAIL SINCE 2006,HOW COME HE WAS ABLE TO ACQUIRE THE PASSPORT IN QUESTION IN THE YEAR 2009? HMMMMM-GHANA

• KOJO OSEI WUSU 11 years ago

BNI will certaily do good work as the Police continues to fail Ghanains. BNI WE LAUD YOU!!!!!!!

• OFUIJATO ABLAKWA 11 years ago

Has the BNi picked john Mahama for sending the nations gold to turkey?

• Kululu 11 years ago

My friend, some people are more equal than others.

• Samuel Obiri 11 years ago

YOU ARE SIMPLY A LIAR. THE GOOD PEOPLE IN GHANA KNOW THAT OUR PRESIDENT WAS NOT INVOLVED IN ANY DEAL TO SEND GOLD TO TURKEY. WE ARE NOT SURPRISED YOU HAVE EXPOSED YOUR POLITICAL BIAS ON THIS PETINENT ISSUE CONCERN THE NATIONA ...

• Kwajo Sei 11 years ago

This is first in the history of the fight against corruption. When things happen like this then you see the ripples going down in the society. However, I wait to see the end state. Kudos BNI.

• Nii A 11 years ago

Is better the BNI arrest Wayome so long

• ANDROPOV 11 years ago

odoi anim did you sign or did not sign that passport. in effect were you the director when that passport was issued

• KWAKU MANU 11 years ago

IN MY FORIEGN TRAVELS I HAVE MET MANY NIGERIANS WHO CAN'T SPEAK A WORD IN A GHANAIAN LANGUAGE WELDING GHANA PASSPORTS. THESE SHOULD BE BETTER INVESTIGATED THAN A GHANAIAN FROM A US PRISON HOLDING A GHANAIAN PASSPORT. AN ERROR ...

• Osagefo 11 years ago

f you were born to a Ghanian parents in Russia but left Russia at the age of 5, and acquired a Russian passport while living in Ghana.. Do you have to speak the Russian language before acquiring a Russian passport?.. A questi ...

• TKD 11 years ago

The Mahama led administration has a very good case to be used as a perfect deterrent.
    This may look like the tip of the iceberg calling for the swift move by the BNI to easily unravel the mystery surrounding the falling va ...

• kwasipong 11 years ago

Why didint Amoateng has his own passport that he first travelled with to the Staes when he was arrested? Can somebody answer please?

• Nyansasem 11 years ago

First of all, he was asked to proceed on leave because it is an opportunity to replace him with one of their own. You don't 'fire' someone before you do any investigation. After firing him from the job, do they think they wou ...

• Kululu 11 years ago

be patient and let BNI come out with its version on the matter. the guy would be freed and compensated with his job if he is innocent.

• ANDROPOV 11 years ago

amoateng's passport expired while he was in prison. and once a crook always a crook he got his connection men to fix one for him

• Dr Pink Sheet 11 years ago

That guy shouldn't hv been granted bail in the first place

• kwame(USA) 11 years ago

Oh Ghanaians........Do u believe anything will come out of BNI "pick up" Give it a few days to weeks and it will become history.

• Kweku 11 years ago

We are on our way out of corruption

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

We must be careful about the laxity at giving out passports; it could lead to serious consequencies with the onset of terrorism.

• Rojo 11 years ago

Kudos BNI, professionally done.

• Ajit Babu 11 years ago

For the theft and corruption in GYEEDA, SUBAH, etc.

• Jama 11 years ago

Stupid fool. You want to politicize even criminality. What the hect is wrong with you pin heads?

Please allow her that's what they are known for

• Ajit Babu 11 years ago

If the BNI really knows its core mandate, Mahama and most of his ministers/appointees should have been interrogated on all those corruption cases - SUBAH, etc.

A step in the right direction

• inside Africa 11 years ago

All what they know is picking up innocent people and later turns out that the person is innocent. This is purely harassment

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Lagbokope 11 years ago

You say what? Who says good governance ain't working under the JDM administration? If this was under Kufour, this crass case of corruption would definitely had been swept under the carpet. However, since JDM is determined for ...

• DB 11 years ago

Why some of you allow such irresposible behaviour of the BNI impress some of you baffles me. Look at the way Kwabena Kesse was picked up by the BNI at the airport on his return from abroad, disgraced, harrassed and his passpo ...

• Fiifi Miles - Ghana International Vic 11 years ago

Why is Mahama ignoring the plight of Ghana International Airways passengers? Why hasn't BNI investigated the refund case? There seems to be something fishy about the NDC government claims that they have given the refunds to t ...

• K.Gyasi 11 years ago

Imagine if all root causes of corruption in Ghana are dealt with this way.Oh what a beautiful and law abiding country Ghana would be.
    Keep it up, tackle the roots!The stem will follow suite.

• Tawiah 11 years ago

This is what Ghana deserves to clean it off all that canker called "CORRUPTION".

• kwasi 11 years ago

THE MAN IS NOT QUILTY UNLESS AND UNTIL HE WAS FUND QUILTY ONLY IN A COURT OF LAW AND ONLY BAASE ON HARD EVIDENCE AND PROOF,YOU CANT HOLD THE MAN IT IS ILLEGAL CHARGE HIM AND RELLESE HIM OR YOU WILL FACE THE MAD PUBLIC SONER T ...

• Mankrado 11 years ago

This case takes the biscuit. The Impossible is always made possible in Ghana. May be BNI are smelling fish about this "little" matter. Hmmmmm!!!

• NONO 11 years ago

Get rid of all these corrupt guys and you see how fast Ghana will turn in just 10 years . Thank you all

• Yawman 11 years ago

As a routine exercise, the former Director of Passports, Mr. Odoi Anim has been transferred to the Head Office but has not been asked to proceed on immediate leave. He was in the process of handing over when the BNI picked hi ...

• Ama 11 years ago

leave him alone and look for the 2009 passport director

• Ama 11 years ago

Thank you Ama

• Kululu 11 years ago

May be the BNI dont know what they are doing.if so, then God save us all cause innocent people are going to be picked up anytime just like that without reason. The man is a lawyer so he knows his rights and how to fight his c ...

• Military Man 11 years ago

Please complete your sentences to make any sense.

• kill me 11 years ago

This out of law, arresting the passport dire tor look dum and lazy work . This ghanain passport any one can just remove the picture and change the name . So me it make right to arrest the officer.

• Tango & Cash 11 years ago

Picked up sounds to me like the dreadful revolutionary days when if you were picked up that meant danger! Can our journalist use mordern iEnglish and just say "arrested"?

"Picked Up"is just too loaded and should be left ...

• Yawman 11 years ago

Cash & Tango The Director was picked up for questioning but not arrested.

• DB 11 years ago

Invited for questioning is a more sensible and civilised way to put it. All this sensational headings helps no one.

• Nsem peii 11 years ago

Almost all Nigerians here in South Africa are using Ghana passports ,can both NDC and NPP members swear they are not part of this evil deeds? One have to just use a Muslem name or join the haij group or if possible go to the ...

• Gabby 11 years ago

what about Mahaama

• Financial Freedom 11 years ago

Ghana consul is US failed knew Amoateng was coming home for which any passport he was holding had expired. All he needed was lasses passé. I don't think they even saw him when he was released.

• Law Speaks 11 years ago

If deportees don't need passport why did he get a fraudulent passport.

• Kululu 11 years ago

you are asking the real question.every one should be asking that question. Its dirty politics. Because he is a former opposition MP, the NDC gov't may have denied him even a travel certificate, prompting Amoateng to apply 'wa ...

• TK 11 years ago

Fraudulent Director of passport

• zegi 11 years ago

PLAP FOR BNI, VERY GOOD SHOW

• Robin Hood 11 years ago

Was this current director at post in 2009?Just asking.

• Kululu 11 years ago

No, but what if his signature was on the passport? such things can happen you know it.

• Di Wo Fei Asem 11 years ago

You see how quick they are in arresting Mr. Eric Odei, the Director of Passports. Yet their corrupt cronies and the greed bastards are walking around freely.

• NOG 11 years ago

MAHAMA, RAWLINGS AND THE NDC ARE SICK

• dick 11 years ago

jail the director,, he has been issuing passports to aliens everywhere for 200 dollars each. deal with him very very drastically

• Kofi Lawyer 11 years ago

There are non-political cases which BNI could be effective but Mahama & his ministers use BNI for their own political ends. This not "governorship" is something else.

• Judge Kpega 11 years ago

BNI is used by Mahama to do his dirty job. That is why cases BNI is involved turn to be fiasco in court

• Kwofie 11 years ago

Dont think BNI is for fair play>

• Be Wise 11 years ago

I dare say both NPP and NDC are very guilty of passport fraud.Both have issued diplomatic passports to unqualified party apparatzics. Oh Ghana, what is this NPP and NDC turning you into? Each party has an accusation against t ...

• CAO. 11 years ago

sad

• CIA 11 years ago

We are watching you closely

• Fad 11 years ago

NI picks up Director of Passports over Amoateng

• Dakora Gilbert ( CAMBODIA ) 11 years ago

I am working in Cambodia here . There many different citizens in Cambodia ,Vietnam and Thailand in possession with Ghanaian passports who cannot speak one word of Twi , Ga , Fante, Dagbon , Dagaare , Mamprusi , Frafra , Nakan ...

Oh Boy!!!

We really have our priorities all screwed up as a country, don't we?.

We take loans to buy sanitary pads for school girls while our railway system which is supposed to be used to transport our minerals from th ...

• Osagefo 11 years ago

If you were born to a Ghanian parents in Russia but left Russia at the age of 5, and acquired a Russian passport while living in Ghana.. Do you have to speak the Russian language before acquiring a Russian passport?.. A ques ...

I have a Nigerian guy working under me in Canada. He was born in Montreal while his father was a lecturer in one of the universities in Montreal. His parents went back to Nigeria when this guy was still young but he's been a ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

All those under him has to be arrested in addition

• Abeeku Mensah 11 years ago

This is the wakeup call I have been sounding to remind politicians there is no credible enforcement of our voter registration practices and procedures. For starters, Ghanaians of voting age are supposed to provide a national ...

• Papa Yaw. 11 years ago

So

• Opanyin k quansah 11 years ago

Fellow Ghanains i have seen somthings wrong with our passports renewals , when go for a passport and it expires or gets stolen , u must have the same passport number from ur old passport that way people are glued with pr ...

• Yawman 11 years ago

Mr. Quansah you need some kind of education on issuance of passport. Every printed Passport bears different serial number and are issued out as fellow Ghanaians apply for them and the numbers keep on changing as they are iss ...

• Ataa 11 years ago

Are we back to the era of this military language again? They should have their facts and then bring him in not bring him in while investigating the matter. This is exactly what was done to Kessben...Why?

• albert 11 years ago

I am so excited upon reading this piece. There is more to what this man has done...l once went to the passport office and what l saw was an eye saw.Some Ghanaians collect monies from Nigerians and establish a link with the d ...

• S>L>Y> 11 years ago

look at the cars these guys drive thats enough to tell anyone that passport office is a gold mine even common gateman. hmmmmmm

• ACCRAMAN 11 years ago

Is the colour of Ghana's passport really GREEN.

• ACCRAMAN 11 years ago

Why choose green for ECOWAS passports. Please quickly change it to BLACK for all ECOWAS countries, omg.

• MUMU VOTERS 11 years ago

JAIL BOTH THEAVES

• MUMU VOTERS 11 years ago

Woyome must go to JAIL

• big joe 11 years ago

i dont see why bni will arested the director of passport. because i can see there is northing in this so call ndc, mahama gvt. but no problem ghana is not better then any other countrys but all what our leders are doing one d ...

• Hebert, Sweden 11 years ago

We are enemies of our own country. Why do you mix crminal cases in Politics. So do you mean, no one in Ghana should be arrested or questioned by the Police or any Security Authorites? This has deprieved Ghana from knowing the ...

• Dario 11 years ago

please keep him there stupid currupter

• Alex 11 years ago

A former Director of Passport Odoi Anim says ex-convict Eric Amoateng’s fake Ghanaian passport was issued by Ghana’s Mission in Washington in the State of Columbia (DC).

Speaking to Joy New’s Kwakye Afreh Nuamah, he ...

• dan 11 years ago

1 BNI LAW FOR AMOATENG NONE FOR BARTON ODURO, BETTY MOULD IDDR, WOYOME, WATERVILLE, ISOFOTON, STX, GYEEDA, SUBAH, SADAH, MERCHANT BANK FORTIZ, GFA/BLACK STARS MONEY CHOPPED, IT SEEMS SOME PEOPLE ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS.