You are here: HomeNews2014 08 21Article 322248

2 Arrested for declaring gay status

Read Comments Comments (72)

• aba 9 years ago

lol hahahaha, but it it a crime in ghana to be gay? my learned friends help me ooo.

• Kwesi 9 years ago

Being gay and having sex with the same sex are criminal acts in ghana. We have to expunge such people from our society

• AGYAPONG IS A TRAITOR 9 years ago

EVIL DOINGS EVRYWHERE BECAUSE EVIL PEOPLE ARE IN POWER.

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

Who will Arrest the Gay Vice-President of Ghana, Amissah?

• Angie 9 years ago

How were they arrested for declaring gay? The police went in the house because this idiot reported armed robbery & this led to the arrest of the other guy. As protocol, they interviewed both of them & the complainant later re ...

• Jigga 9 years ago

I agree, the headline is unwarrented.

• Yaw Boamah 9 years ago

they can be charged for making false statements and wasting the police time and resources

• Kwachas 9 years ago

Your headline is misleading; learn to do stories professionally.

• onetiibe 9 years ago

Lets give the police some common sense, it looks like they have being used to settle a private score and naturally not amused by that.

• Jick 9 years ago

Adwoa Wangara you are the most stupid woman i have ever heard of on this planet. Ashawo. Aboa ba

• GHANAian 9 years ago

YOU SEE, PEOPLE LIKE AJOA WANGARA SHOULD BE ARRESTED OUTRIGHT.
    IF THIS CREATURE'S MOUTH IS BIG SHE SHOULD USE TO BLOW A HORN. YOU CANNOT MAKE SUCH REDUCULOUS STATEMENT ON YOUR COUNTRY VICE PRESIDENT AND GO SCOTH FREE. I HOPE ...

• Yaw Wodumnsuo 9 years ago

Adjoa Wangara, you want the Veep to sleep with you to prove he is not a gay? What's your problem for telling lies and making false statement? I am very sure you have a deep seated problems in life.

• tawa 9 years ago

being gay is not a crime. go read the constitution well

• Marcel 9 years ago

I think the police shld concentrate on the stealing case than the gay thing , the guy reported on a stealing case not a gay issues, first come first serve, police u no the right thing , so do it , dont use this gay thing to ...

• MR-NOKWARE 9 years ago

Hahahaa,The complainant can`t enjoy stinky bottom for free.What a shameless drama.

• Lolulou 9 years ago

You are being silly! He can sleep with who he wants to!

• O(BIBA-JUDAS 9 years ago

ONLY THE FOOLS WILL VOTE FOR NDC 2016

• dissapointed citizen 9 years ago

gay people have rights. it is not an acquired habit.
    Remember blacks were once shipped with no rights.

• Boots 9 years ago

Get your little faggotty ass outta hear with that batty man bullshit. The laws of the land must be obeyed. If you wanna be a faggot, go to Sodom (US) or Gommorah (Europe)where it is legal. When in Rome...

• Siaw 9 years ago

Those place are indeed what you claim they are.
    African will NEVER know peace until these two are out of our system.
    Watch and see.

• Lolulou 9 years ago

Bit its ok to sleep around with women even if you are married???? Shame on you! Its equally as wrong!

• DESTROYERS PARTY N D C 9 years ago

you are seriously sick very soon you wear a pampass ASSHOLE

• Asabea 9 years ago

Did the police arrest the man because he declared himself gay or he was arrested becuz someone said he is an armed robber? This is bad reportage!

• mey3 guy guy 9 years ago

my point exactly Asabea... this story is very misleading. clarity is important in journalism.

• mawusi 9 years ago

He was arrested initially as an alleged armed robber. Then it turned out to be a false allegation against him. Turned out that his accuser did not want to pay him for sexual services the rendered to his accuser. So both him a ...

• Fanny 9 years ago

Where in the article did it mention the two being re-arrested because of they're gayness?

• Mawusi 9 years ago

Fanny ,It's didn't state it exactly, but if you read the story over again you might have a better understading . Don't forget that the title of the story is part of it to give the story more. Meaning

• Obournana 9 years ago

Asabea, read the article again. The police went for armed robber which turned to be different story altogether.

• David 9 years ago

Armed robbers can say anything to implicate the complainant hence i advice the investigation be done thoroughly.

• ISSIFU AMIDINI 9 years ago

This is an abomination and they must face the laws of Ghana

• KANAWU 9 years ago

CAN YOU ALSO ACCEPT PEOPLE BORN CRIMINALS IF YOU ACCEPT GAY? IF THEY WERE BORN GAY AT ALL, BAD BEHAVIOR SHOULD BE KICKED OUT OF THEM. IF THEY WERE BORN WITH HIV AT ALL, WE SHOULD HEAL THEM AND NOT ACCEPT IT.

• tawa 9 years ago

well are you speaking from fact or just your emotion? it has been proven scientifically that people are born gay. so speak from proven facts.

• Boat 9 years ago

WHICH SCIENTIFIC STUDY ARE YOU GETTING YOUR MISINFORMATION FROM?HAVE YOU EVER SEEN A FAGGOT BABY BEFORE?HAVE THEY IDENTIFIED THE GAY GENE?IF YOU ARE TRAPPED IN YOUR PERVERTED GAY LIFESTYLE DON'T TRY TO JUSTIFY IT WITH FAKE SC ...

• tawa 9 years ago

and oh as usual another basic mind. do baby's have sexuality? i dont think you realised you sexuality when you were an infant then you should be put in the Guinness book of records. and did i ever say i was gay at any point. ...

• kk 9 years ago

I don't think they were arrested cos of being gays but cos of the falls alarm that one of them gave.

• Nana Asare 9 years ago

I THINK THE GHANAIAIN AUTHORITIES SHOULD SET AN EXAMPLE WITH THESE TWO MEN TO PREVENT GAYISM GETTING ROOTS IN GHANA.

• Kofi Ba Boni 9 years ago

Everybody in Ghana knows Emissah Arthur is gay, at least bisexual. Is it because these two are nobodies in our society? The law is an ass indeed!

• ahmed nurudeen new york usa 9 years ago

homosexuality is against our culture, moreover, against supreme God's laws. I am daring Mahama the president and parliament to enact law to punish such abominable act. Despite he is very good friend of a gay activist in USA. ...

• alhassan 9 years ago

Don't you know one man's meat may be another man's poison? Homosexuality may be against your culture but certainly not the individuals involved in the act. Find something to do with your miserable life and stop the futile hat ...

POOR alhassan you have totally lost your mind you and who love gays miserable BEAST?Such idiots must spend the rest of lives hell

• gyan 9 years ago

God exposed them all. This people are money stupid.

• TONTONG 9 years ago

HEHEEEEEE! THESE AKANS ARE FUNNY. NOW THIER MEN ARE ALL HOMO-SEXUALS WITH THIER KORTI-BORTOR. NO DOUBT THEY ARE GOOD CARRIER'S OF THE CURRENT EBOLA VIRUS. INFACT THESE TRIBE IS A CURSE TO GHANA. EVERYTHING GOES AS FAR AS MONE ...

• Tantang 9 years ago

Agya w'agyimi de3! If fools were an export commodity Ghana would be the richest country on earth.

good for nothing BEAST WHEN WILL you BE CIVILISED ABOA FUNU ( ROTTEN BEAST) NOT IN GHANA ALONE BUT IN WHOLE WORLD USELESS PEOPLE ON THIS PLANET AIDS INFECTED ASSHOLE

They were not arrested for declaring they were gay. If someone makes a false report of armed robbery shouldn't he be arrested? And shouldn't the alleged robber be arrested as well?

• Yaw 9 years ago

Been a gay is not good but is better than ewe mEn always sleeping with their daughters.

• Ebo 9 years ago

This is Bullshit...

if They were two where is The Other Name of The Person......

Why Are people so Heartless And Mean... At Least He has Admitted It.. What About Those of You who Hide and Do Trash when No One See You... ...

• JOSEPHBARABU 9 years ago

What at all is the problem with some of the Ghanians? do they fear Jah at all? God have mercy on us but they need to bejailed

• Abi 9 years ago

A good case for Ghana to be in the books of Human Rights abuse. At least with bad governance, human rights abuse will give no credit to the Country.

• B.A. 9 years ago

WHERE IS SARPONG JUSTICE? COMMENT ON THIS TOO. WE COPY THE WESTERNERS BLINDLY & WHEN WE WANT TO BE MORE AFRICAN, SOME COME OUT TO INSULT PEOPLE INDIRECTLY. THIS IS IMMORALITY IN AFRICAN SENSE LIKEWISE THE SEX VIDEO TAPE IN T ...

• tawa 9 years ago

the headline is misleading....being gay is not a crime. its unnatural canal knowlege which is. and that is a crime comitted by both gays and straight people.

• Love 9 years ago

I think the writer of this article is gay himself hence, the need to put out this sensational headline in order to create controversy

• tawa 9 years ago

And ignorant as well.

• Don Juan 9 years ago

In Ghana it is, hence their arrest.

• tawa 9 years ago

where in the constitution does it state that its a crime?

• Angie 9 years ago

You gay people with your usual agenda, always trying to cry wolf & make claims about things that aren't there. No where in the article did it mention the two got arrested because they are gay. Godwin made a false report about ...

• tawa 9 years ago

read the headline i hope you dont't have any problem comprehending simple english. and why is it that you tend to call people who think gay is not a crime gay themselves? its such a basic way to think

• Gyan 9 years ago

You're basing the entire article on dis misleading headline?

• tawa 9 years ago

i'm saying the headline is misleading. do you understand what im saying? it means that it doesnt match with the story. those two were arrested for committing unnatural canal knowleged that is not homosexuality.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Is that the best headline you can give to this story. What is the motive for coming up with such a headline since it doesn't go with the story? Now, if you the writer or anyone close to you want to travel and intend cutting t ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

This may well be a set-up for a repeat of Lawrence V. Texas in Ghana.
    In this famous case, two men invited the police to their house for armed robbery. The police came to find the two having sex and arrested them for unnatur ...

• Queenie 9 years ago

And you called yourself an attorney? This fool wasted the time & resources of the police by making a false statement and the police using all their energy to go after the so called robber. Even in the USA that you claimed to ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

But according to the story, the arrest was for stating that he is a homosexual. The arrest has nothing to do with wasting police resources.

• Tonga 9 years ago

Foolish idiot liability what is your stake there? We are waiting to hear from you.

BONTUA !!!

• gay hater 9 years ago

kill all gays in ghana

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Hahahaha, it is not a crime to be guy in Ghana? But, the twist to the story is.

• JOE BOATENG 9 years ago

IF police pick up 2gay people, then 2 more left to pick up Asiedu Nketia and our Vice President Arthur Amissa.

• Kwamina Andrews 9 years ago

Laws have to guided by current scientific knowledge. There is nothing inherently criminal about having a homosexual orientation. Most of the world now understands this. We still think witchcraft is the cause of our serious pr ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

What is scientific about that ?.
    Scientific knowledge indeed !

• Expert 9 years ago

As if Africa wouldn't have real problems. Homosexual and poor or heterosexual and poor, who cares?

• Lolulou 9 years ago

Leave them alone - its just as bad when men sleep around with every Afua, Akua and Mercy!!!

• Agya 9 years ago

comedy show