You are here: HomeNews2014 08 15Article 321415

‘Winner-takes-all’ system destructive – Rawlings

Read Comments Comments (117)

This one I'm with you JJ. We are foolishly hurting ourselves with politics and tribalism bullshit. Only the best is good enough for Ghana.

• ATSU, HO 9 years ago

FIRST WE HAVE to let bygones be bygones and open a new page. We should be taking more technical rather than political decisions on our land. Empower National Development Planning Commision - depoliticise it and make it functi ...

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

JJ the buffoon is a hypocrite

• SKALANBONE 9 years ago

for the first time in a very long time,jj has spoken some sense.

• BAD MOUTH 9 years ago

Look who is talking now that the NDC is going to lose the next election. This guy ruled Ghana for 12 years with no Vice or Assistant during the PNDC time. He rule for the next 8 years under the current system with no regrets. ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Everybody is complaining bitterly but very few dare speak the truth . We shall never move forward until the undeclared war against the Akans, discrimination of the majority and anti Akan propaganda hate agenda is resolved. On ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Everybody is complaining bitterly but very few dare speak the truth . We shall never move forward until the undeclared war against the Akans, discrimination of the majority and anti Akan propaganda hate agenda is resolved. On ...

• don`t care !!! © Hmmmmm! 9 years ago

whatz the opposite of "Winner Take All?

that`s Dr.Jerry massage!

• politics 9 years ago

NO LEADER, PRESIDENT, VEEP OR POLITICAL PARTY CAN HELP GHANA.
    FOR GHANA TO DEVELOP AND MOVE FORWARD IT'S THE DUTY OF THE CITIZENRY TO WALK THE TALK AND DO THE RIGHT THING.

HOW CAN GHANA MOVE FORWARD IF WE CAN'T GET SIMPLE ...

still you need a leader to direct & motivate...

we have been here b4!

• Murderer 9 years ago

foolish talk from that murderer son of Daavi. when Rawlings was prez, did he entertain opposing views? Avuu

you sound like you are cloth with bitterness!

sorry 4 you!buddy!

Challenges ->> I expected times like this - but I never thought they'd be so bad, so long, and so frequent

Change ->> When the winds of change blow hard enough, the most trivial of things can become deadly projectiles.

• AGBEVE AGBENYAGA 9 years ago

jj, it is the winner-takeS-all governance system that enabled you to give Nsawam Cannery to your wife on silver platter. If you think it is not good, then give Nsawam Cannery back to Ghanaians!

Foolish man!

• KK 9 years ago

No no no! He is avuu kabli! lol

(1) The fact that we expect success does not mean we should forget that failure exists.

(2) Good resolutions are like babies crying in the church, they must be carried out immediately

• >>> RASTA Jr 9 years ago

Be Fair-Minded -- you "Insight to the Bone", and don't discriminate, otherwise,your Truth will be meaningless,and you will be considered Tribalist.

You speak the Truth, but do (not) have anybody, or any Tribe.

Be Fair-M ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

the truth is what it is , one doesnt need to be a pope in order to speak the truth

• odikro 9 years ago

Speak the truth and shame the devil. Agood one there. More of these is needed from Hon JJ

• adjei adusei 9 years ago

how can someone likes rawlings wants to dictate for us always, he should knows that he is nobody concerning his education background he is nobody than a thief

Hmmmm!if you know your left & right or could differentiate ur right from the left...your reasoning will be different from this...primitive mentalities

• ELIKPLEM 9 years ago

I pitty u greatly whoever u are 3 things immediately come mind after reading your piece: (a) evil(a sabotier of god's work) (b) a anti national or (c) uneducated. may god give u a repented heart, mercy and eye to see. no wond ...

• AWUDU 9 years ago

Nothing but his own fight with his conscience over his murderous, corrupt nearly 20-yr dictatorship. His Afrifa moment will come sooner rather than later. One more Chinese-built tomb awaits at Asumdjwee Park for Rawlings to c ...

• Jj rawlings. 9 years ago

No comment?

• mugu1 9 years ago

JJ is sophiscated politician what exactly behind this kind of inclusive government his talking about ?
    does he think inclusive government will reduce the tension of political infighting in the political parties whenever they ...

• Kodwo 9 years ago

".....“I have always been a firm believer in the kind of governance that is inclusive and consultative for national progress, rather than working against each other in our quest to perpetuate our stay in power or to get int ...

• 1979 STUDENT 9 years ago

Your stupid constitution initiated this polarization. Worst came your tribal hatred against Akans especially Ashantis forgetting that Ashanti blood is flowing in your wife. Jealousy made you to kill even those you consider ...

The road to success is the only road that is under construction...not bigotry

• DONBOLI 9 years ago

It was in the watch of Rawling ghana had more political parties than an leader in ghana.
    The foolish Rawling thinks ghanaians are stupid and think we really care about his stupid comment.
    Rawling can play with John Mahama a ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

IF THE NO 1 CROOK AND CONMAN HAS NOTHING BETTER TO SAY THEN HE SHOULD ZIP UP AND COLLECT HIS BOGUS AWARD AND GET LOST.......WAS THE CONSTITUTION NOT WRITTEN UNDER HIS WATCH? DID HE EVER THINK OF MULTI-PARTY GOVERNANCE WHEN HE ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

THE SENSIBLE THING GHANAIANS SHOULD DO IS TO DITCH THE AMERICAN PRESIDENTIAL SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT AND GO FOR THE BRITISH PARLIAMENTARY SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT.....GHANA'S PRESIDENTIAL SYSTEM GIVES TOO MUCH POWER TO THE PRESIDENT ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

IN GHANA, IT'S WINNER LOOTS ALL. NOT WINNER TAKES ALL.

CRIMINALS AND HYPOCRITES.

• BB 9 years ago

Our elections results have shown that the electorates do not want 'winner takes it all'. We should adopt a coalition government where the party that gets the highest vote should form a coalition government with the smaller pa ...

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

The "Winner Takes All" system was your baby.

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

It's the "political immaturity" of our politicians and other leaders, who make STUPID, FOOLISH, VINDICTIVE & SELFISH decisions, while in government—and that’s democrazy!! What the IEA is recommending will be equally fooli ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

The kind of winner takes all practice being witnessed under Ghana democracy was initiated by this hypocrite of a creature, and he fanned this nonsense whenever his party is in power.

so what is your point!always stand still..

Hmmmm!The road to success is the only road that is under construction..true or false

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 9 years ago

THIS IS WHAT,WE NEED FROM OUR LEADERS INSTEAD OF TALKING BULLSHIT .

The road to success is the only road that is under construction

• Dr.Acquah 9 years ago

Words from a corrupt and brutal dictator!It is a spit in the face to honour these two corrupt dictators!A big shame to our two Universities.

you end up saying nothing sensible..

don`t 4get..The road to success is the only road that is under construction}true or false

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

JJ is a slow learner. How many years did it take for him to this conclusion. Or he feels that party he founded may loss the next election. Maybe JJ has a low IQ

• Elijah 9 years ago

Check your history, he appointed Kuffour into his cabinet.

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

Elija,

It is true that JJ appointed Kuffour into his military govt. However, Kuffour realized all too soon that the govt had a hidden agenda and therefore resigned.

JJ had an inner circle men, mainly made up of hard-c ...

• Baba Tunde Christopher 9 years ago

Eeeeee Kwaku, Kuffour cannot exonerate himself from the brutalities of the PNDC. He joined them and operated with them. Kwaku, do you know what a month in Government can do? If not, know that it takes a sitting for a governm ...

• SICURA 9 years ago

You must be a green horn or a baby as far as Ghana history is concerned to post this sort of comment. Rawlings has always been against this type of political system. He openly spoke against it when the country was going to ch ...

But he ruled under a constitution that was specially calved to favour him. Why didn't he talk against it then? Now that he sees himself away from power, he wants "UNIGOV". Has he realized the wisdom Gen. Acheampong had?

• SICURA 9 years ago

I have not addressed my point.

• Military Man 9 years ago

Either SICURA is a slow learner himself or just plain dumb.

• Sam 9 years ago

JJ knows NDC will lose in 2016.

• Anxious 9 years ago

The debate cannot start until a blue print of the alternative is outdoored.

• Step Up 9 years ago

Whew!!

For a minute, I thought I was in dreamland.

Did that statement really come from this imposter of all times?

Good LORD.... are you listening to this man?

The man who put all this heartaches that Ghana has su ...

• Miltary Man 9 years ago

You could have fooled me, Jerry!!!

Has your wife been given you shit at home, since she seems to be the smarter one?

She has bailed out on you, hasn't she?
    Why are you now singing her tune?

Although, your NDC is the ...

• SICURA 9 years ago

Talk is cheap. You certainly don't know what you are talking about. You will always find fault in this man no matter what. How old were you in 1970s and 1980s?

• Step Up 9 years ago

So don't give me any bullshit about Ghana's political history, OK?
    I'm an 'Nkrumahist' and I know my country's political history.

I find fault in any man who is an imposter or a hypocrite.

Something is only good for th ...

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

K4 got it right without all inclusive and without slaps , whiles u were slapping ur minister they still brought u down abi?

The whole system in Ghana needs reformation . Police never account for gov't and that's where a se ...

• Elijah 9 years ago

Kuffour didn't get it right. He filed or opted for bankruptcy (HIPC), redenominated the currency when the going got tough. He chose the easiest route, & that gave him a breathing space. What did he do with all that loan forgi ...

• /// 9 years ago

Fool, you are part of our problems.

• F.G. TOWORFE 9 years ago

J.J. has always been like this. Just that he has too many enemies. Anyway, this is what good people experience; just like Jesus Christ. The more you insult him, the better he becomes.

• Maame Ghana 9 years ago

You have said it perfectly. We will only come to cherish this selfless man who helped positioned our country on a better path of democracy, after he is no more with us.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

Dad Rawlings, I was away for a week. Yesterday I sent a fax to my wife I'd be home that night, and when I got into my room I found my wife i! n another man's arms. " Why, Dad ? Tell me why!" Dad Rawlings kept silent for ...

• GHANABA 1 9 years ago

Look the kettle calling the Pot "Black" .Rawlings ruled the nation for 19 years unchecked,During his military era,there were no constitution,no parliament and no laws in the country.He stole all our wealth,sold our national a ...

• Mr KK 9 years ago

I don't trust Rawlings in anyway and especially what he is saying about this topic. My reason is simply this, he was the one that Ghana's constitution was built around. Sycophants that he Rawlings constituted as constitution ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

The constitution is not worth the paper it was written on. It was made for Rawlings' benefit and nothing else.

• SICURA 9 years ago

Why didn't Kufuor change it then?

• Financial Freedom 9 years ago

Have u forgotting handing over to WHOM

• Akpokavi 9 years ago

After bashing Kuffour and his adm. now this "WEE" smoker wants to change this around. Go ahead and bash Mahama and see if his adm. will give you monies to spend

• OPOKU 9 years ago

AH MR RAWLINGS ,HAVE YOU FOGOTTEN SO SOON ABOUT YOUR REGIME? REMEMBER HOW YOU CHASED AKUFO ADDO BECAUSE HE WAS ON OPPOSITION? YOU ARE JUST A HYPOCRITE.

• we 9 years ago

I dont like you, but you said something sensible Ist time to integrate this Nation. Lets stand together like a Nation or we will face destruction

• james 9 years ago

mighty pass leader indeed

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

LISTEN TO THAT BARE-FACED LIAR. MILITARY COUP IS NOT PARTICIPATORY. AND PNDC/NDC UNDER HIM WAS NEVER INCLUSIVE.THE 1992 CONSTITUTION, WITHIST TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS, HAS MADE A MOCKERY OF DEMOCTRACY. THE CURRENT PROBLEMS ARE ...

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

KWASHIVI, when did you get to know the system is bad? You were there for almost 20 years, and you could not do anything about it. Shame, you greedy bastard.

• apuuu 9 years ago

Did Jerry Rawlings just wake up from grave he is the one who introduce the winner take all and the same guy who brought hatted in the country between the Akans now he's singing a different tune I guess is not to late to chang ...

• Kutu 9 years ago

When in 1978 General Kuti Achempong then leader of Ghana asked for Union government, Rawlings etc rejected and led student mass protests culminating to his overthrow! Now Rawlings you should atleast acknowledge Acheampong's ...

• Antoa Nyamah 9 years ago

The first time Rawlings has spoken about National Unity.We need all Inclusive Government.

• onetiibe 9 years ago

open your eyes

• Akwasi 9 years ago

JJ, The constitution that we are currently used was written just for you. You selected the people who wrote and approved it. That is why 50% of ministers must come from parliament. Be bold, apologize to Ghanaians for that an ...

• KWAKU 9 years ago

SINCE POLITICAL PARTIES ARE PRESUMED TO GET ELECTED INTO OFFICE ON THE BASIS OF THEIR MANIFESTO, IT WOULD WRONG TO FORCE THE HANDS THE RULING PARTY TO ENLIST THE SERVICES OF THE OPPOSITION, WHO MAY HAVE BEEN THROWN OUT BY THE ...

• abele 9 years ago

buffoon,shut up.Who started it?who brought tribalism into our body politics?Is it not you?You deserve to die,bastard

• A-Arthur 9 years ago

I HAVE ALWAYS MAINTAINED THAT THE SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM IS TO MOVE TO A PARLIAMENTARY SYSTEM OF DEMOCRACY.

THAT ENSURES INCLUSIVENESS!!!!!

• Yakubu 9 years ago

Wonders!

• adjei adusei 9 years ago

how can some one like rawlings want to dictate for ghanians always he should knows that he is nobody concerning his education backgrond.he should always thinks about how he makes his family rich and stoled ghanians gold and ...

• gla 9 years ago

are you now realising it or after satisfying you ego? do you remember your "hand over to who ?"

• KKO 9 years ago

Aponkye, when you hand-picked your cronies and errand boys and girls to tailor that unworkable constitution to enable you ride rough-shod on Ghanaians, it was good. Abowa fun carcass!

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Are there principled politicians left in Ghana anymore if there was ever one? The system of winner-take-all is a testament to a nation of cultured, level-headed and civil citizens. We used to be a nation of people who underst ...

• Djake Koku Salif 9 years ago

When did Rawlings eyes open. His an ass hole who I would love to kill with my bare hands

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

J. J. sometimes, you use your senses.

• CALM 9 years ago

they are empty headed

• truth 9 years ago

interesting developments coming from boom boom.

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

EVERYBODY HAS THE RIGHT to learn and call a Spade a spade! JJ has matured enough to see that the system ,as at present, WILL TAKE US FAR !
    Thank you.Let's have proportional representation and leave the NDC vrs NPP to history ...

• Nii Okai 9 years ago

Yes, many call themselves politicians but are never concerned of the system that drives the nation. It is a reality that the ''Winner Takes All''system is seriously breeding hatred and division within our nation than love of ...

• kretz 9 years ago

how long has it taken you Mr Rawlings to come out with this NDC idea of winner-takes -all.

• PREKESE 9 years ago

YOUR PARTY WILL BE A LOOSER IN THE NEXT ELECTION SO WE DON´T NEED ANY SHARING OF POWER IF THAT THING CAN HAPPEN THEN WE TO PROSECUTE AND JAIL ALL THOSE NDC PEOPLE WHO ARE INVOLVED OF COLLAPSED THE ECONOMY.IT SEEMS YOU HAVE S ...

• Edugye Wood 9 years ago

The problem is not with the winner-takes-all system. The problem is with the 1992 Constitution which was forced on the country by Mr. Rawlings and gang which required that almost all cabinet positions go to members of parliam ...

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Barebones, Cradle of Filth . What lessons do Ghanaians share in filth with this Evil Target designer. A monster among us , hungry in power and wealth. It is unfortunate how real gangsters sieze power through cantekrerous way ...

• Oh dear 9 years ago

If I could turn time back, I will certainly remind you boy. Be real boy

• guy jesus 9 years ago

When will this lunatic stop thinking he is a wise guy?

Until he resumes taking his medications, he will not stop having his narcissistic behaviour.

• Ewe nation 9 years ago

Listen to our Ewe hero coz he sees far and he's a visionary.God chose Rawlings for a reason and thats bcoz of his deep foresight.He's an Ewe and as such he cares deeply bcoz Ghana is our homeland unlike the ashantis who come ...

• Victor 9 years ago

This was all your creation, branding everyone a thief except you ,your wife and political associates.

• Kwame Rawlins 9 years ago

Rawlings is making this statement? He should be sent to prison for life.
    All the leaders since with the exception of Dr Nkrumah has failed the people.

• Whatever 9 years ago

Rawlings, we would have taking you seriously if you had match your words with action when you presided over that system for a long time some years ago

• OMAN BAPA 9 years ago

USELESS JJ MUST BE JAIL BY NOW,KWASEA CRIMINAL,BUUUULSHIT

• yentie obiaa 9 years ago

Who born dog??

• Saram 9 years ago

JJ started the winner takes all mantra he also started the ethnicity system of governance he also never allowed anybody to speak against him.His method was intimidation kind of governance.Corruption was all over the place und ...

• Kariku Damani Katun Kunari iii. 9 years ago

What I am asking Allah is to give JJ long life. Your aim is for the progress of every Ghanaian. You are gift to Ghana and Africa by Allah. You even gave your life to free Ghana from greedy Generals, Politicians, Kalabulesm a ...

• Nii Nmai 9 years ago

Please,please, pleeaase let us keep our peace, Mr.Conman.The current constitution that brought about the winner takes all was drawn under your supervision so since when did you start to stand for inclusiveness, Mr. Conman?
    I ...

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

Its just a waste of the country's meagre resources
    Waste more money gain very little system

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

Nobody listens to the little man
    This has been said many times
    Now big man has talk
    listen

• KING 9 years ago

Talk about Indemnity clause

• Bomfaboy 9 years ago

Rawlings is being haunted by his own misdeeds and unconscionable practices. He is more than a lunatic. The current constitution that is operational was written to suit the whims and caprices of " He Who must be Obeyed" Rawlin ...

• Aku Doe 9 years ago

After you have enriched yoursef with winner takes all. WHo started this?

Hypocrate

• isaac anakwah 9 years ago

did you do that when you were in power?

• Kwabena Atta 9 years ago

Did Rawlings ever share power with anybody when he was in power?Please, tell him to shut up.

• Atta mills 9 years ago

Shut the f.ck up .....

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

RAWLINGSE late prof mills was a Christian and i think he* will forgive you but i rogue will never forgive you.
    late prof mills tried very hard to break enimities in our Body politics of gh Young Democracy , you mr Rawlingse ...

• Yaw Twum 9 years ago

Who will be the watchdog over government especially in the culture of chop chop (corruption)? It will just be chop make I also chop.