Cedi fall: Gh¢10 to $1; a possible scenario - Otabil

Read Comments Comments (104)

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

All NPP wants is for things to get worse so that they trumpet that for political gain. Sadly God does not reward evil wishes!!!

For a pastor to be leading the prayers for things to get worse in Ghana shows how Christianity ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

JDM is visionless. JDM@59years is a youth leading the youthless NDC. Under JDM/NDC, Woyome was dashed GH51m, GYEDA Ghs50m, SADA Ghs50m and SUBA Ghs50m. The Ghs
    10m YES fund will go the same direction as GYEDA, SDA n SUBA. A ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

JDM is deforming the economy to the era of the 1980s and 90s under JJ the coup leader. JDM@59years is a youth leading the youthless NDC. Under JDM/NDC, Woyome was dashed GH51m, GYEDA Ghs50m, SADA Ghs50m and SUBA Ghs50m. The G ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

JDM is missionless. JDM@59years is a youth leading the youthless NDC. Under JDM/NDC, Woyome was dashed GH51m, GYEDA Ghs50m, SADA Ghs50m and SUBA Ghs50m. The Ghs
    10m YES fund will go the same direction as GYEDA, SDA n SUBA. ...

• THE TRUTH HURTS 11 years ago

THE TRUTH HURTS BUT MUST BE TOLD.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 11 years ago

CRAZY NDC SYCOPHANTS DOUBTED MY WORDS!! NOW THE REALITY HAS DAWNED!!!!-----MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CA ...

• J J RAELINGS 11 years ago

EBUUUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEENDC IS KILLING GHANAIANS . WHO WILL SAVE US FOR THEY HAVE LOADED THE ARMY WITH THEIR GENERALS "YEBEKA AWU"

• Kweku 11 years ago

Nonesense! Festival of ideas just talking about cedi falling without solutions? Common sense don't come here for anyone to know from how the cedi is trending and indecisiveness of Ghana to arrest the situation. I knew before ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Kweku, you have made one of the most intelligent and sensible comments here.

The man is just talking without proposing any solution to the problem. I am not sure if this man is in production type of business or in the us ...

• Nana Ansah 11 years ago

Otabil the titanic of Ghana/Africa started with you 419 pastors aka men of God. Churches and Mosques are in no short supply in Ghana/Africa but good schools (Educational institutions) and factories are few and far between. W ...

• ja 11 years ago

Anything is possible clown. Why though as a man of God do you want to speculate and put fear into people. Stick to spreading the good positive word and leave this personal ungodly behavior to the politicians.

• Nana Ansah 11 years ago

Corrections!

What Ghanaians/Africans must remember and put it into doing is this: There is something called luck but it looks like work and that means we have to pull up our sleeves and work hard. Period! There is no easy ...

• Nii Lante Okunka. 11 years ago

I couldn't agree with you more Nana Ansah.These "prophets of doom" make my blood boil when I read about their incessant alarmist whining about our nation's challenges.
    One thing Otabil needs to learn is economics is not a pe ...

• Assholes 11 years ago

Do u really sleep well at Night???? God will Not do any Thing to Save the Cedis alright, Thats why u gave us mind, and Brains to use. When an ass hole like mahama and his nigga Bitch Wife rule a Nation what do u Fool think wi ...

• Henry 11 years ago

No doubt, your name is an ASSHOLES.

• Agbovi 11 years ago

Any Pastor who speaks about the agony and plight of the poor is NPP.Cant those People who critize feel or see that things are getting worse?I see those who defend this corrupt govt as NPP.becareful of a friend who always prai ...

• kwame Atta 11 years ago

I wonder what purpose pastor Otabil was trying to achieve in this kind of speech . he does not know that this kind of speech does not grow a economy? I am surprised at somebody like Otabil called motivational speaker speakin ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

JM, all your enemies will taste bitter disgrace. One thousand of them will on your left side and ten thousand on your right. In fact, one of them will fall with a huge roll of marijuana still burning in his mouth.

And evil ...

• Bernard 11 years ago

And Otabil will like the cedi. SGT. Anani Fiadzoe, why do you always me laugh? Hahahaaaa.

• PREKESE 11 years ago

HAHAHA,FAKED SGT FIADZOEJE YOU ARE HERE AGAIN WITH YOUR NONSENSE,SO YOU REALLY LIKE HOW MAHAMAH IS DOING TO THE ECONOMY.LET ME TELL MAHAMA IS AN ENEMY TO HIMSELF BECAUSE WHAT HE IS DOING WILL AFFECT HIM AND AT THE END OF HIS ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 11 years ago

Kwame, the problem with all these clergies trooping in here daily by registering their concerns and "nichodemusly" chorusing about as if they have the pride of Ghana firmly resting on their shoulders may have well fooled or c ...

• Kwadwo Dwumor 11 years ago

Pastor Otabil, if you preach in prayer for your country Ghana,thank you BUT if if you do so to discredit the Prez.and the Govt.in favour of someone else to take over being your favourite,thank you also but " Onyame be hu wo" ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Otabil is a teacher. He dwells more on logic. Beyond logic is the saving arm of God. We need serious prayer that will show us hidden ways to do things differently. We should prayer until we get results. I will pray and all ...

• Ali, Toronto 11 years ago

You think you are opposing the NDC government, but it's your country you are destroying... with your MOUTHS. Go ahead... wish for 100 cedis to $1 just so you can say the government failed. If politics is done this way, then n ...

• Pastor Chris Mawuko 11 years ago

I am a young pastor and we all admire the grace of God upon Dr Otabil and we all wish to achieve the things God has achieved thru Otabil but i am increasingly getting worried to observe that since the NDC came to power Otabil ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 11 years ago

Call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send you latest pictures of yellow n white wedding n engagement gold rings to choose from.....can also search samo jewellery on facebook,instagram,twitter for more pictures to choose from. ...

• Tabia 11 years ago

Pastor, this is really true. You are very discerning. God bless you for that. Let us all prepare for the worse so that when we experience it it will not give us shocks. Trust I'm The Lord and not politicians.

• Mavis 11 years ago

Tabia, pastpr otabil is a nation wrecker. He knows that such speculations can further can further lead to the fall of the cedi but he is doing it because he wants his political party, the NPP, to come to power. This is a sham ...

• Wofa Yaw 11 years ago

Dear Mr or Pastor Otabil, I am not surprised at all to hear this from you.
    Your only wish is to see the npp in power but it won't happen. We know all your dirty tricks.

• Atia Zuarungu 11 years ago

Tithes and offertories will now be paid according to the % fall of the cedi.

• Bill 11 years ago

We as Ghanaians must watch our words when we are responding to men of God. Pastor Otabil in his presentation never predicted that the cedi will fall to $1/ghc10.
    He sighted one scene rio a participant in the program prese ...

• Tina 11 years ago

Reality is otabil doing politics from the pulpit, THAT is reality! Otabil shld give us a lil break, preach and motivate and not demotivate and preach doom when there's none.

His comments are uncalled for. If he's am econo ...

• Voice of Reason 11 years ago

ALL MAHAMA CARED ABOUT WAS HIS DUMB FIXATION TO BECOME PRESIDENT AT ALL COST......EVEN AT THE COST OF BANKRUPTING THE NATION

• Voice of Reason 11 years ago

SQUANDER $5 BILLION IN A PROFLIGATE PRE ELECTION GIVEAWAY SPREE JUST SO DUMB MAHAMA COULD BE PRESIDENT......AND THEN RUN TO IMF,CUP IN HAND,BEGGING FOR $500 MILLION BAILOT

• Bernard 11 years ago

You are not an economist so, stick to your gospel. God does not fix economies, people do. If that were the case, Nigeria and Ghana will be the most advanced countries in the world. And have you asked yourself why there so ...

• abu okyeman KIBI 11 years ago

YOU ARE AN IDIOT TO SAY SUCH WORDS AUTHOR BERNARD.GOD CONTROLS EVERYTHING AND CAN FIX ANY THING.ABOA
    FUNU.EAT YOUR CARCCASS AND DO NOT BRING EBOLA TO GHANA.

• Bernard 11 years ago

Hello, abu okyeman KIBI from the Headquarters of galasey. The IQ of the monkey in the Kyebi Forest is higher than yours if you think God will solve the environmental degradation caused by your greedy bastards in the galamsey ...

• Abraham 11 years ago

U have said it all but the ignorants will never understand your Point because they are blind and poor in brain.It is very shameful act for those so called Pastors combining Politics and Religion,as u said lazy Ghanaians they ...

• Baba Alhasa 11 years ago

You have no respect for the elderly ,no wonder your life is like that , shame on you Benard

• Bernard 11 years ago

Another idiot called Baba Alhasa or Alhasan. What has respect for the elderly got to do with the ailing economy? The elderly and Ghana, including you Baba has lost respect anyway.

Only in Ghana do we accept this nonsense ...

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 11 years ago

When babies are made ministers ,worse things should be expected. The cedi will fall more if matured people are not chosen as leaders to put their vast experience into good use.The babies with sharp teeth are useless and lack ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

JDM is babylet. JDM@59years is a youth leading the youthless NDC. Under JDM/NDC, Woyome was dashed GH51m, GYEDA Ghs50m, SADA Ghs50m and SUBA Ghs50m. The Ghs
    10m YES fund will go the same direction as GYEDA, SDA n SUBA. All ...

• abu okyeman KIBI 11 years ago

WHY DO YOU IDIOTS CALL THE MAHAMA A YOUNG LEADER ,A GRAND FATHER.THIS MOTHER FUCKER IS A GRAND PAA ,AT AGE 59 ?COMMON ,IDIOTS .

• akonoba 11 years ago

JDM defines youth as a person born after 1957. JDM@59years is a youth leading the youthless NDC. Under JDM/NDC, Woyome was dashed GH51m, GYEDA Ghs50m, SADA Ghs50m and SUBA Ghs50m. The Ghs
    10m YES fund will go the same direc ...

• WISE COUNSEL 11 years ago

CAPITAL FLIGHT,you opened foreign acconts and carried all the looted money for 8yrs kept else where . No money in the country what would be the results.PASTOR AND NPP .ndc might be a little asleep.come and invest your billion ...

• Tina 11 years ago

I respect otabil but in this case I bet to differ and I think he's being very negative here and becoming a prophet of doom.
    Irrespective of whatever, I think otabil is more of a politician as he has bn tagged and is using t ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

JDM is visionless and using the presidency to cover up. Otabil has been a teacher of the gospel all these years from Baden Powell Hall in the 90s. The pastor is just a title for the messengers of Word of God.JDM@59years is a ...

• HAMAHA 11 years ago

Bernard,so when will you and your stupid NDC learn to eschew your stupid pride.Why,don't you guys wanna face reality a bit?.You people hailed praises on Duncan when he commanded the cedi to rise.I believe in God so I know it' ...

• CEMETARY 11 years ago

THIS MAN IS AN OPTIMIST AT ALL. AS A CAPITALIST, HE GAINS FROM ALL THE MESS HE WISHED FOR IN GHANA. DOES HE PAY TAX?

• kwame Atta 11 years ago

this disqualified otabil as motivational speaker

• ad wa 11 years ago

we are all aware or suppose to be that our attitude n general behaviour as ghanaians is what has devalued the cedi from 1 dolar to 1 cedi to 1 dolar to abt 1 to 10,000 cedis in 2006,n we have to redenominate our cedi.our beha ...

• TKD 11 years ago

You dare not say a thing liked this if your party were in power.
    Inasmuch as you never saw prices go down as a Ghanaian in this country; so must you expect the cedi to equal to the dollar in the ratio of 1:10.
    Fault finding ...

• Ben Kakraba 11 years ago

Zimbabwes are living with almost thousand times of their money but with God they are still living, Pastor/Politician with God we shall live come what may.

• Koo Nimo 11 years ago

I invite the Honourable/Dr/Prof/Distinguished/ Prophet Otabil to read Dr Samuel Adjei Sarfo’s article on today’s Ghanaweb news. He writes…
    Unfortunately, the abandonment of scientific thinking appears to be the stock ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 11 years ago

Well said.

• GHANA FIRST 11 years ago

You 2 must leave ghanaians alone to believe in the God of creation and the fact that He (God) sent His only begotten Son Jesus Christ to shed His blood and die to save humanity. What is science and what is development you guy ...

• Bekoe 11 years ago

You sound like a prophet of doom. It is not good for your image as a motivational speaker.The Cedi will recover and you will be put to shame. Please read 2Kgs 7 1-20.

• Owuraku Tema 11 years ago

You have hit the nail right on the head. Ghana needs men of God like Otabil to move the country forward. I know the NDC apologists will take you on but always stand for the truth.

• Papa Yaw. 11 years ago

No

• hard one 11 years ago

this man dont even pay tax and he has the gut to rubbish the goverment?with all the collections he takes from the people,his university is one of the most expensive schools in the country.think of it cearfuly.

• RICE WATER 11 years ago

EVEN YOUR WIFE IS A POLITICIAN IF YOU DON'T KNOW, WHY E NO DEY BUY THINGS FROM TOWN? YOU SELF!! CALL A SPADE A SPADE, AND DON'T TWIST ISSUES FOR ALLAH WILL JUDGE YOU ONE DAY, UNLESS SATAN IS YOUR CREATOR AND MENTOR. ALLAH HAV ...

• kelly 11 years ago

is sometimes sad wen i heard people talk like dis,forgetting de problems were there before we were born n even Rome wasn't build in a day,Pres. Mahama is not a magician to to correct things within a twinkle of an eye,remember ...

• Ato Kwamena 11 years ago

Where are the preachers of hope who can inspire hopeful visions among Ghanaians. God rise up for the "shepherds" are leading your sheep astray.

• soldier 11 years ago

i hope when this tape is played back years later, otabil will not say he didn't say that. he's a man who hides behind the collar and the pulpit to campaign for npp.

• kofi 11 years ago

YOU AND YOUR NPP COHORTS CAN PRAY FOR THE CEDI TO FALL ,BUT GOD WILL JUDGE YOU ALL.WHY CANT YOU LET THING GO PAPA PASTOR ?WE KNOW A LOT OF THINGS ABOUT YOU .WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU ACCOUNT FOR THE CHURCH ?MMM. REST MY CASE ...

• Ns3m pii 11 years ago

Offering rise...,Gh cedis to dollar

• gyan 11 years ago

This man don't take cedis at his university.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Otabil, you are a TWERP! Instead of motivating the members of YOUR congregation to adhere to the wishes of God, ALL YOU DO is preaching DOOM DOOM DOOM.WHY ???
    Show that you are ABOVE AVERAGE and ABOVE GUTTER POLITICS in you ...

• richard asante 11 years ago

satans world....

• richard asante 11 years ago

why should otabil be a part of this... since followers of God are no part of this world... that is fake vision

• Dan,Tema 11 years ago

Some of this so called men of God should be ignored. They have ALL relegated to the background whilst they project themselves. Their signboards etc is clear for all to see. and have therefore merchandised the word of God for ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Preach on Dan. There are chaffs amoung the wheat. Goats among the sheep. Tares will be separated and burnt!

• PLUSTEN 11 years ago

I don't find anything wrong with wot Pastor Otabil said. I don't know if people really understood him. If they did and they are still insulting the man of God then God forgive us.

• Boateng 11 years ago

Man of God must be proposing solutions and stop the complaining. We all know what the problem is and we see it. What is his solution? Collecting tithes and donations and making himself rich at the expense of the poor?

• eddie 11 years ago

LISTEN TO OTABIL.

• TRUTH 11 years ago

YES....BUT YOU CAN,T JUST STAND THERE AND COMPLAIN. GHANAIANS MOVE ON!!!!!!!
    ALL WE DO IS COMPLAIN AND WISH ILL FOR OUR COUNTRY. GOD SAVE US.

• Peekay 11 years ago

I don't think Pastor Otabil is a Ghanaian and a true Christian.
    He is just against NDC government period.

• Boateng 11 years ago

I do not think he has any ideas to help the country. I do not think he really cares about the country. He just talk and is in to get free money from the people.

• Dee 11 years ago

This was a scenario painted by one of the speakers at the event and not Otabil per se. He re-echoed that and said the possibility exist. It does not mean it will happen at all cost. please get your facts right

• kofi mensah 11 years ago

The cedi depreciated under Rawlings, Kufuor and Mills, so Mr. Otabil, this is no news. If we sit in Ghana and import virtually everything into our country, why will the cedi not fall. Pastor, do you eat local rice at home? I ...

• Abraham 11 years ago

This soo called pastors are disgrace to christianity they took bunch of loans from bank and build big church claiming to be Prophets and Men of God is very unfortunate.So if things are not moving well as it suppose to be they ...

• LOUIS NELSON ACCRA 11 years ago

I want to assure God fearing ghanaians that the good Lord is always by our side and that our cedi, i mean the ghana cedi would never get to where evil wishers like pastor otabil and his npp wihes. Rather let's all come togeth ...

we ghanaians are waiting for his excellency dr pastor mensah otabil to come out with his campaign message as an npp presidential aspirant and we will give him our massive support. But eeeeeeeeeiii he would still loose 2016 el ...

• FAB 11 years ago

Exactly what NDC knows best is what they are doing.

may heavenly fire burn all those who wishes this country fall. God would punish you all. LONG LIVE GHANA, LONG LIVE JDM, LONG LIVE NDC

• shabako 11 years ago

oh pastor economics,Ghana will not fall,our cedi will not fall.All evil men thing doom for this country will not succeed.our cedi will never be equated to 10.00 to $1 even the people of zimbabwa are living on well.false prop ...

• Kwadwo Dwumor 11 years ago

The pulpit is not a political platform must be treated holy ,this must be known to all our clergy

• Son Of Man 11 years ago

TRUE TALK, GOD BLESS YOU MY BROTHER.

• Kk 11 years ago

It's not about JDM or ja Kuffour or j a mills or jj Rawlings . The problem about ghana today is we the citizens. We are indiscipline , careless ,selfish and unpatriotic. Otabil was not paying tax for a long time on offering ...

• Joe 11 years ago

..for their leading pastor Mensah Otabil to file his application to contest the presidential elections on their ticket. A man of God indeed.

• USMAN 11 years ago

This is how far our useless university graduates have brought us.

• Adjei 11 years ago

I am not sure why my pastor should talk that way however I would like to encourage him to have faith.
    There is a simple way to reverse the trend. Watch the simple exposition from Minister designate for Trade Ekow Spio Garbr ...

• Machiavellian Chap 11 years ago

Pastor Otabil, your math doesn't add up. Your math is weak because it will happen if we add another zero to the cedi like what Nigeria has done. The Niara is 125 Niara to one dollar. Based on the pastor's scenerio, then the C ...

• Be wise 11 years ago

To allow Pastor Otabli to join the race for their flagbearer. Sad that this man cannot diferentiate between party politicking and pastorial work. After they use the pulpit to enrich themselves, they now tend around to use the ...

• HIM 11 years ago

OTABIL - the Forex Expert and the Economist---

Please do not quit your day job

• Aka 11 years ago

Does Otabil realize that churches in Ghana do not pay taxes???

• Fokuo-Holland 11 years ago

You are all cheats and liars in Ghana that why your cedi is falling fast

• BABYLON PASTORRR 11 years ago

BLIND MAN LEADING BLIND MAN BOTH WILL END UP IN CENTRAL GOSPEL CHURCH PIT OR CENTRAL UNIVERSITY ASS HOLE.WHAT A RIDICULOUS BRAND OF PERSONALITY. KEEP POOR BRANDING UR SELF,FUCKIN VARS ,MATATA CHURCHY AND ALL GHANAIANSS WILL L ...

• Ama 11 years ago

Pastor, as a citizen of a good Nation,why not come together and help build these Nation than using your inner brain and wishes to destroy.

• Mr. Mister 11 years ago

Why not 10 cedis for one dollar? Or you think cedi will go up? It will only go down, as always. It has dropped from 1 cedi to a dollar to 4 cedis in 7 years. Another few years it will be 10. Guaranteed. Thanks to economic mis ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Everybody knows we could even jump beyond that if we continue the senseless importation of everything i.e dollars purchases... a trend which has existed since time immemorial. But should that be our focus? We should focus on ...

• nicholas tamale 11 years ago

what is your use as pastor in ghana? can,t you pray for the cedi to stabilise ? who are your followers?

• kojo 11 years ago

Pastor thanks for the true saying
    The Cedi have lost focus and who is to be blam.
    only God can save Ghana from this Ebola Economy

• hedrick sarpong 11 years ago

wow!!! God richly bless u man of God, these is e reality on e ground .