You are here: HomeNews2014 08 04Article 319788

Ghanaian asylum seekers granted a year stay in Brazil

Read Comments Comments (120)

• ANKOBEA-HENE 9 years ago

They will wind and filter into US of A. Kind of Osmosis. They have tried Ghana, now let them try Brazil.

• Koo 9 years ago

Haahahahahha.......the kitchen is too hot for the NDC footsoldiers. Why dont they stay and enjoy the better Ghana agenda. Mahama had failed and he must apologise to us all.

• MANTSE 9 years ago

These same goons were those saying "e dey be k3k3".

If they are fleeing Mahama's mess, what do you expect the rest of Ghanaians to do?

• MANTSE 9 years ago

You are NOT the Original MANTSE.

Stop hiding behind an IDENTITY carved for someone else.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

At least one year to look for a job, take frequent showers, enjoy electricity, and maybe find their way to the USA -- not bad at all

• KB,London. 9 years ago

Foot soldiers knew what was coming.

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

This is a win-win situation for our internal democracy. Atleast our local airwaves is gonna record some sort of sanity with these 200 NDC SERIAL CALLING buffoons out of the system. It is also an opportunity for the ndc to cre ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

GREEDY BASTARDS HAVE DESTROYED OUR LAND! THEIR OWN SERIAL CLLERS HAS RUN OUT SEEKING ASSYLUM! NOW ITS NOT "EDEY BE KEKE" GHANA IS HOT

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Way to go guys. God bless.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 9 years ago

Running away from the better Ghana....?

NDC foolsoldiers now running away from the better Ghana created for them by the clueless,inept and corrupt Mahama and his NDC stealers ?

How funny !

Never in Ghana's history ha ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Fool them once can’t fool them twice ….NDC foot soldiers turning themselves to asylum seeFool them once can’t fool them twice ….NDC foot soldiers turning themselves to asylum seekers in a third country...…..What hap ...

• DAN 9 years ago

like wild animal is what they will have to try..And they better wait till winter (nov/dec/jan/feb) to not roast like northern Ghana

• tunde 9 years ago

Do u think brasil is Europe?have u seen how many Brasilians pick from the gabage to survive?You are a disgrace.

• Shabi 9 years ago

The rest of us Ghanaians who are proud to be Ghanaians will stay here in Ghana and sort out the mess that the NDC has created. No problem. It is our country and we shall proudly make it what we want it to be.

Under every d ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Good job Brazil, let them stay there forever. Ghana now has 200 less foolish voters. Hurray! They have continually imposed an incompetent and clueless government on Ghanaians.

• jOEy lOndOn 9 years ago

This is not true at all.Tell this half baked story to your ill inform readers, get this Into your heads no nation on Earth Will grant a Ghanaian asylum, reason is your country is so peaceful that you are having over tens and ...

• Gabas 9 years ago

NO Visas again to Ghanaian supporters.No matter how tangible their case is.Its a big disgrace to the Nation and a modern day Human Trafficking.The GFA must be investigated

• Shabi 9 years ago

Did the GFA send the supporters to Brazil? I think it is your head that should be investigated.

• sammy 9 years ago

what about those of us who left in k4`s regime thru water to italy,was the kitchen too hot also?

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

President Kuffour did not send 200 NPP supporters on pretence of cheering up the Black Stars during a world cup so you see the difference, fool?

• king solomon 9 years ago

NDC DIDNT SEND THOSE IDIOT TO BRASIL THEY WENT THEM SELF

• Mahama 9 years ago

Mad President Mahama killing us all

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

There is news from the grapevine the Brigadier Nunoo-Mensah was among those whom the kitchen is too hot to stay in Ghana and therefore left with the foot soldiers to seek political asylum in Brazil undercover.

• Lisa 9 years ago

The American people are fed up with illegal immigration and the government is cracking down. US voters, politicians,government officials are focusing their attention on illegal immigration and the border. If Ghanaians are cau ...

• DAN 9 years ago

10 hours and they be back in accra

• DAN 9 years ago

unless the have fake visa in passports...They will have to sneak thru desert and cross the river during the night to enter usa..And can not work unless they steal id card..they have to work for cash money as house keepers and ...

• Tunkumaruu 9 years ago

Dignity in labour!If the jobs are here, some of them will stay and work.

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 9 years ago

Looking at how these shameless Ghanaians are disgracing the image of Africa. Even Nigerians with the problems of book haram are NOT running abroad to seek asylum. But look at these COWARDS Ghanaians using FALSE religious conf ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

Ojeme
    ABUJA: Four hundred Nigerians are serving jail term in various Chinese prisons, Treasurer of Nigerian Students Association, Alhaji Tukur Hassan Tingilin, has disclosed to Vanguard Learning.
    Tingilin, a student of Ti ...

4,000 Ghanaians addicted to illicit drugs - NACOB
    General News of Monday, 24 February 2014
    Source: radioxyzonline.com

Pure Cocaine

Almost four thousand Ghanaians are addicted to illicit drugs while several others are ...

Nigerians more successful than other nationals in US – Don
    Thursday, January 9, 2014
    by NAN

Nigerians and nationals from eight other countries have been rated among certain races who are bound to succeed over others in ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

LOL ....ARE TALKING ABOUT NIGERIANS WITH P.HD'S IN CYBER FRAUD OR WHAT?

• ROMANO 9 years ago

ARE U TALKING.

Nigeria overtake S.Africa as Africa's biggest economy
    Nigeria | 6 April 2014

Lagos (AFP) - Nigeria, Africa's most populous country and largest oil producer, is set to emerge as the continent's biggest economy on Sunday ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

Despite its vast oil wealth, the last available World Bank figures from 2010 indicated that a staggering 84.5 percent of Nigeria's 170 million people lived on less than $2 a day.

And a tiny country like Ghana with less than one tenth of great Nigeria population is borrowing money all over the place to feed the HUNGRY mouth of Ghanaians like you dirty ROMANO.
    Why did you go to IMF to borrow money, wh ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

LOL ....ARE U TALKING ABOUT NIGERIANS WITH P.HD'S IN CYBER FRAUD OR WHAT? PLEASE NO INSULTS JUST ASKING.THANK U VERY MUCH.ALSO HAVE U HEARD THAT OBAMA GANE YOUR PRESIDENT A SPECIAL ITERPERATOR TO HELP HYIM UNDERSTAND UR PRESI ...

I had sum pasta as in pastor for food and them I went to see a narse as in nurse for my Ebola. As in bola rubbish at agbogboloshie

• ROMANO 9 years ago

LOL .... U MIGHT HAVE LIVED IN NIGERIA FOR SOMETIME HUH?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

AMERICAN DONT UNDERSTAND NIGERIAN ENGLISH! NIGERIA SHOULD HAVE BEEN LIKE DUBAI, OR IRAN AND OTHERS , BUT WHAT DO WE SEE? CYBER FRAUD, DRUG TRAFFICKING, ARMED ROBBERY, ROAMING ABOUT ALL OVER THE WORLD INCLUDING MY TINY GHANA! ...

• ROMANO 9 years ago

LOL...I JUST CAN'T STOP LAUGHING AT WORK.

• DAN 9 years ago

my wife's sister don't understand everything and you know some words spelled different kerb/curb,tire/tyre...windshield/windsscreen,bonnet/hood,boot &trunk...Ghana and Nigeria and kenya are UK english!

• ROMANO 9 years ago

WHO THE HELL IS UR WIFE SISTER.JUST SHUT UP AND KEEP HAVING SEX WITH YOUR WIFE'S SISTER.... IDIOTA

• omo9ja 9 years ago

you call ghana english better.....bus to bas pastor to pastar...vendor to vendar... I worked in Ghana for years to train poor ghanaians in petroleum drilling skills but their brains are dead dead...i guess is because of banku

• Tonny 9 years ago

GHANA COULD HAVE BE LIKE AFGHANISTAN, SUDAN,NIGER, YEMEN. GHANAIAN ARE CURSED WITH POVERTY SINCE INDEPENDENT YEAR TILL THIS VERY MOMENT. FROM ONE HIPIC TO ANOTHER HIPICITY...

• SHAMO 9 years ago

If your nigeria is extra ordinary why then are you comparing it to Ghana which you clain is tiny? Are you not ashamed? comparing a country suppose to be rich like UAE or Saudi is here fighing for supremacy with a tiny country ...

• omo9ja 9 years ago

Your economy is dead now,I hope IMF bail you out,all you have is two cities Accra and Kumasi,Takoradi is a village,if 85% of Nigerian lived on $2 a day then 94% of Ghanaians will live on $2 a day.there are as much nigerian pr ...

• GHANAian 9 years ago

YOU SEE, GHANAIAN MENTALITY?? NOW THAT THEY USE THE WORLD CUP TO LEAVE THE COUNTRY AND SEEK ASYLUM OUTSIDE, HOW CAN GHANAIANS BE GIVEN VISAS THE NEXT TIME THEY WANT TO TRAVEL FOR WORLD CUPS OR ANY INTRNATIONAL EVENTS? I THIN ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What you are saying is the main reason why they got the the one year reprieve. I wrote an article saying the threats from the government to repatriate and prosecute them will be grounds for these people to get asylum and som ...

• OMANHENE 9 years ago

why are they running away,stop ndc people ,After imposing this criminals on us you are seeking asylum .idiots

• PREKESE 9 years ago

ARE THEY REAL GHANAINS?.THEY VOTED WITH THE HEALTH INSURANCE CARD.THEY ARE BURKIABEES AND TOGOLEES NKATIA ASIEDU'S COUSINS AND NEPHEWS.

• the truth 9 years ago

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha....
    I cannot stop laughing - - are you kidding me?

who will give them that fine?

there are people in very high places, religiously inclined, spiritually-loaded-tongue speaking and highly educ ...

• praying man 9 years ago

God bless our homeland Ghana.

• LALATA 9 years ago

i guess in USA they will definitely look for gay rights because they are not accepted in Ghana.

• Caligula, Italy 9 years ago

President Mahama should seek political asylum in the US immediately.

• 0243578657 9 years ago

ADMISSION INTO SHS 1, 2 AND
    REMEDIAL SCHOOL FOR 2014/2015
    ACADEMIC YEAR.

It is announced for the information
    of prospective applicants that
    Cambridge Senior High School is
    admitting students into SHS 1, 2 and
    the R ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

THESE ARE MORE REMINDERS OF JOHN MAHAMA AND NDC INCOMPETENCE AND BAD GOVERNANCE. THE HARM HAS BEEN DONE, JOHN MAHAHA MADE HIS OWN UNCOMFORTABLE BED AND HE IS GOING TO LIE IN IT, CERTAINLY THE REAL, TANGIBLE EVIDENCE OF A FAIL ...

• fred 9 years ago

Stomachs and their Dickheads Bloody dimwits. They do not care about ghana cause ghana ndc. does not care about them.

• PREKESE 9 years ago

HEY,THESE MAHAMAH BOYS ARE DISGRACED TO THE NATION.MAHAMAH BRING YOUR BOYS IN TIME BEFORE THEY INVOLVE THEMSELVES IN DRUG BUSINESS.HEI,THESE NDC VAGABONDS AND HOOLIGANS WILL BRING PROBLEMS TO GHANA IN FUTURE.MOST OF THEM WILL ...

• K. MANU 9 years ago

Do we need any soothsayer to forecast the end of NDC? What a shame in CAPITAL LETTERS! Which country would grant Ghanaians visas for any tournament?

• Martin 9 years ago

Some of the so-called asylum seekers, according to one of them, are headed to the US. Unless they are trying to sneak into the US, they are in for a big disappointment, because they will be turned away. I bet they aren't of s ...

• Logos man 9 years ago

You are jealous, Mr Jealous Martin

• Martin 9 years ago

Jealous of what? Me jealous of them seeking asylum in Brazil,you get a life. Perhaps I may have offended you because you are one those asylum seekers.

• Logos man 9 years ago

Na fool Martin I dde enjoy my dollars and a better life. Na U no sabi any connection man? U de lost and crazy. Make U na stay and suffer

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

TRAVELLING TO USA FROM BRAZIL BY ROAD IS NOT THAT EASY. YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH THE LATIN AMERICAN COUNTRIES TO USA-MEXICO BORDER. YOU CAN SNEAK INTO THE USA AS AN ILLEGAL OR SEEK FOR ANOTHER ASSLYUM AT THE BORDER. YOU CAN EI ...

• Logos man 9 years ago

I go stay in Brazil. U de craze. Who na told U that I go go to US. You be a big fool.

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Despite all the adverse comments about Brazil before the world cup. Brazil is far far better place than Ghana under Mahama NDC government.

• Dasoli Fuzzy 9 years ago

Waaaaa!!!!! Live them to enjoy their lives

• Kay-wuo 9 years ago

If those who voted for NDC are running away to seek greener pasture then its about time I looked for a connection man. Does anyone know one even Nigeria or Togo will do

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

YOU DONT NEED A CONNECTION MAN TO TRAVEL OUTSTIDE GHANA. WHAT IS YOUR LEVEL OF EDUCATION AND I CAN TELL YOU WHERE YOU CAN TRAVEL TO ON YOUR OWN AND YOU WILL DEFINATELY MAKE IT. I HOPE YOU ARE NOT AN NDC MEMBER, IF YOU ARE T ...

• Amponsem 9 years ago

Iam delighted to learn that they did not seek asylum because of religious reasons but personal reasons.Nkrumah did not obtain independent Ghana based on religions,tribes,ethnic,wealths or any other reason but for one Ghana an ...

• 2fle 9 years ago

REASON THAT SUBDUES EMOTIONS!!!

• Joe 9 years ago

Ghanians,are you still surprised why developed countries do not give you visas?

• 2fle 9 years ago

CANADA HAAAAAAAAAA

• Emmanuel Osei 9 years ago

Well done Brazil. I don't think any ssupporter is going to Canada. Bad governance

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Ha, ha, ha, don't be fooled. Some are coming. I have already heard how some rich people in Ghana are paying about Ghc100,000.00 for their kids to Ghanaian Football officials to include their family members as "supporters" to ...

• Martin 9 years ago

The story being told by one of the asylum seekers, Hamidu Ahmed, is far from the truth. They mis-represented themselves as religious refugees, while in fact they're economic refugees. The one year grant of asylum by Brazil gi ...

• Nii Akwei 9 years ago

Not true

• Nsemfo ahi 9 years ago

This what you get if vote shit. You either get a natural collar bone piece of decoration(Rawlings chain) or you run away in multitudes to seek asylum in another country.
    what a shame.

• Kwabena Apuntuah 9 years ago

The Chief Imam was right. If you are not blessed to be president and you use the people's money to steal the elections, you will not succeed. Oyiwa! Now even the foot soldiers they paid to take to Brazil have abandoned their ...

• nana 9 years ago

LoL
    Brazil Cocoa will be skyrocket next year.
    these guys will be shipped to the cocoa farms in a heartbeat.

• nana 9 years ago

Cocoa Farmers

• Annoited One!! USA 9 years ago

Very risky move for those travelling to the USA. The Drug cartels are going to recruit them by force or kill them!! They've been warned!!!!

• Jojo 9 years ago

WHY HAVE WE STILL FAILED TO REASON AND TO TRY TO INSULT THE INTELLIGENCE OF THE GHANAIAN PEOPLE WITH SUCH AN IRRATIONAL REPORT.

DO BRAZLIANS THEMSELVES HAVE JOBS TO DO IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WE KEEP ON DESTROYING OUR NATION WITH THESE KIND OF IRRATIONAL REPORTS.

DID THE SO CALLED '''SOCCERNET''' GET THIS INFORMATION FROM MINISTRY OF INTERIOR IN BRAZIL.

THE BRAZILIAN GOVERNMENT HAVE ASKED THE GHANAIANS TO LE ...

• DENTE 9 years ago

I WISH THESE GUYS GOODLUCK. THEY SHOULD BEHAVE THEMSELVES AND NOT SOIL THE GOOD NAME OF GHANA BY ENGAGING IN NEFARIOUS ACTIVITIES. ITS A GOOD WAY TO START. I DONT BLAME THEM. AFTER ALL I LIVED AND WORKED IN LAGOS FOR 5 YEARS ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Now it should be clear to everyone in Ghana why there is bound to be acts of violence anytime political parties send their goons called foot soldiers out on a rampage against opposition party members. They are nothing short o ...

• PREKESE 9 years ago

IT HAPPENED IN KUFFOUR AND RAWLINGS TIME BUT NOT IN THIS MANNER.ARE YOU FOOLISH TO MAKE SUCH COMPARISON?.PRE TO THEIR DEPARTURE BRAZIL DID YOU HEAR WHAT YEMIN SAID?.OR YOU ARE THE ONE TO TAKE THE BLAME?.MY FRIEND GIVE US A BR ...

• PREKESE 9 years ago

CORRECTION PRE TO THEIR DEPARTURE TO BRAZIL.

• Obuabasa 9 years ago

The elites and their friends who are in control of the affairs of the state?
    Take the case of Mahama Ayariga,the new Minister of Youth & Sports,who in the midst of this humongous national disgrace,believes his priority is to ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Relax man, Many of these asylum seekers had paid their own way to Brazil. They paid very high amounts to the FIFA Ghanaian officials to be included on the "supporters" list. Some of us knew this deals all along... Just relax. ...

• Joe 9 years ago

They can make a living out of the year stay in that country than be in Ghana.

• Assemblyman,ahafo ano south 9 years ago

mr.president,for your information from ghana bokoharam and ebora are here with us so try to seek for political asylum ln usa

• Mike Gizo 9 years ago

U guys have made a smart move. Look, is all about ya future n not what people will say. Ghana is in tatters n there's no scintilla of hope that is gonna do well in the next decade. Bravo guys.

• Mission impossible 9 years ago

Entry to these countries. If you guys are lazy you would eb sent back. Waht they have forgotten is the language barrier!Prove your worth!

• Mahama 9 years ago

Mad President Mahama killing us all. Very soon all of us will seek asylum in a foreign country.

• Animal Farm 9 years ago

It is now obvious that the Supporters'Unions have been been formed to enable unemployed people to seek asylum. Infact, they use the tax payer's money for their person gain. They have taken advantage of us.

• RAYMOND NASH 9 years ago

Yamin, the former deputy, knew about this, he should be investigated to find out how much he charged them.

• SHAK 9 years ago

Truly Politics is funny, if the people working hard to maintain parties are referred to as "foot soldiers" then what about then indeed politics is naughty. What about the leaders at the top?

• Kofi B 9 years ago

Getting out of Mahama's hell hole no matter what it takes. They are now employed and loving it!

• ASH 9 years ago

You will one day find your way back with difficulties and regrets.

• Logos man 9 years ago

make U go

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A DISGRACE TO GHANA. THIS IS HIS PEOPLE THE NORTHERNERS WHOM HAVE SEEK ASYLUM IN BRAZIL

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Why did the Ghana government waste tax payers's money to send a bunch of worthless idiots to Brazil when that money could have been used at home towards important projects?.Unless the people of Ghana demand that the governmen ...

• Logos man 9 years ago

Brazil people ide pay mw R$1200 this ibi $550 a month. Na this ibi better than Mahama's imPay. mahama ide beat me because na corruption de. when ide come to ghana ibi big oga na ide own car house women with inbig backside.

• DAN 9 years ago

unless you gonna live in shack like poor Brazil people nothing is different than Ghana

• ADAMU 9 years ago

THREE MILLION US DOLLARS WAS AIRLIFTED TO BRAZIL TO PAY THE BLACK STAR PLAYERS, AND GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE NOT ASHAMED OF THIS LACK OF CONFIDENCE IN THEM BY THEIR OWN CITIZENS?

IF YOU HAVE A DISGRACEFUL LEADERSHIP THAT GOE ...

• Osei Kofi 9 years ago

To those trying to go by road to the USA, the Mexican drug gangs are waiting to give you a wonderful welcome. A bunch of naive fools.

• Logos man 9 years ago

make U come ibi & stop these crazy comments

• OP 9 years ago

Lagos Man, I think you are equally naive

• Dr.med.Acquah 9 years ago

This shows how good our economy is.

• ADAMU 9 years ago

THAT'S WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU KEEP CORRUPT OFFICIAL ON YOUR PAYROLL BY BY RE-ASSIGNING THEM.

INDEED, ELVIS AFIRIYIE ANKRAH, YAMIN, NYANTEKYI, KWESI APPIAH AND OTHERS MUST BE JAILED AND SACKED FROM HOLDING ANY PUBLIC OFFICE.

• ALL NDC SUPPORTERS 9 years ago

IT SERVE THEM RIGHT FOR VOTING NDC

• NDC FOOT SOLDIERS ARE LEAVING 9 years ago

MAHAMA MUST JOIN THEM

END OF NDC

NDC HAVE WRECK THE COUNTRY

• Henry 9 years ago

Buddies, I shouldnt call you buddies,because NDC stole money and 'ferried' all of you to Brazil at the expense of the sick, the old and the little ones who go to school without chalk. NDC's, as well as those who support them ...

• Nii Aryee 9 years ago

Hannah Tetteh can you start a petition on twitter to #bringbackourfootsoldiers. You are very good at tweeting but apparently not your job

• YAA ANANE 9 years ago

These morons left everything to spend 365 days learning how to speak Portuguese, it wouldn't be easy.

Good luck to them they have no idea how racist Brazil is especially the south where they're based