You are here: HomeNews2014 08 03Article 319621

IMF bailout option takes Ghana to “economic ground zero”

Read Comments Comments (54)

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

I understand Nana jumped for joy when he heard this admission of failure by the government.

Prediction:
    If the president sacks the Finance Minister he will survive the disaster. But if he still keeps him after all the gla ...

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 9 years ago

Ghana's Economy is recovering after the arrest of Money 'Launderer' KESSBEN was arrested for stealing dollars out of Ghana causing the value of the cedi to drop. Other 'Launderers' who through their wicked and backward action ...

• 123 9 years ago

Do you understand the meaning of ardent or you saw this word and decided to use it?

"But ardent Ghanaian Economist (have) predicted a humongous increase"

Economist have? How many Economists are we talking about here? Y ...

You making a mountain out of a mole hill and it shows how delusional you are.

I saw my mistake but ignored it so you illiterate and a pretender, why don't you quickly beetle off my radar since you have a 'CHARLES KAYLEY' ...

• Ayitey 9 years ago

You making a mounting...

Don't worry about. It makes one a human.

• jon mahama 9 years ago

USELESS MAN.. U ALWAYS DEY SUPPORT SENSELESS THINGS.. WHY U DEY LICK UR MODA IN ANUS?? hahahaha jon

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

THAT BOY DONT KNOW ANYTHING YET HE WONT CLOSE HIS ROTTEN NDC MOUTH!

• ALHAJI MUSA 9 years ago

The Most Useless and incompetent PRESIDENT WITH CLUELESS TEAM IN GOVT

• 123 9 years ago

Illiterate kola, stop disturbing our ears with your illiteracy.

• Bony 9 years ago

You have got to be ashame of yourself Kola with this hateful comment against KESSBEN. If you think these few money launderers have caused the economy to collapsed then i am afraid and ashame as a ghanaian because it seems our ...

Bony, does it mean you should side those haters of the Government who promised the country ungovernable through siphoning millions of dollars deliberately out of the country and through other illicit means??

Do you actuall ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

If taking dollars out of Ghana is a crime, John Mahama must be arrested too. Do you, in your rotting mind think businessmen who have to do business outside Ghana must do their business in cedis? I don't think Togo will even a ...

Read about money laundering and it's implications on an economy before arguing over it.

• MAHAMA DA WORLD THIEF..... 9 years ago

SUCK UR MOTHER EWE FOOL..

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

The problem is you don't know what money laundering is because there is no money laundering here.

Go read about money laundering and it's economic implications and stop your herd mentality.

• Pacman 9 years ago

Only God can saved us from the mess created by the NDC government.

• JOE 9 years ago

597 MILLION DOLLARS MISSING FROM BANK OF GHANA. THIS AND THE NUMEROUS WOYOMEGATES ARE WHAT HAS CAUSED THE CEDI TO DEPRECIATE. MAHAMA/NDC HAVE CAUSED THIS DROWNING OF GHANA'S ECONOMY.

• kobby 9 years ago

I dont believe the option is bringing the economy to ground zero but rather will help to stabilizer the economy and bring growth.

• Kk 9 years ago

Na who cause am- MAHAMA AND NDC.IDIOTS.

• Kk 9 years ago

School Boy President.

• Andrew 9 years ago

Foolish President is more appropriate.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

The cluelessness of Mahama led to the appointment of babies and mediocre ministers and DCEs. He like Mills created the platform for thievery to thrive at the heart of government. He took pedestrian advise and invited greedy c ...

• Francis C. Quainoo 9 years ago

Oh NO Dr. Amoa, I simply disagree with some portions of your comments.
    You can essentially say that key movements may have been done in cases of KUFOUR and partly that of Dictator Kwame Nkrumah.

Given this scenario, Murde ...

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Lost country .
    It's all abt expenditure in Ghana.

• KWAME KWAME 9 years ago

Because of our impatient nature, we Ghanaians have always refused to sacrifice even for a few months when the going get tough. Perhaps due the socialistic tendencies in the country starting way back from Nkrumah's time, we ha ...

In effect, Ghana needs an INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION TO TRANSFORM THE ECONOMY. THAT SHOULD BE STARTED BY YOU AND I, WITH GOVERNMENT PROVIDING THE ENABLING ENVIRONMENT FOR THESE NEW PRIVATE BUSINESSES TO BECOME SUCCESSFUL.

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

You, what have done? The problem is leadership. GEEDA, SUBA etc. were good programmes to cater for the development of the north, but what did we see? Nkonfem flying to Burkina, embezzlement of funds etc. We a serious and com ...

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

You, what have you done? The problem is leadership. GEEDA, SUBA etc. were good programmes to cater for the development of the north, but what did we see? Nkonfem flying to Burkina, embezzlement of funds etc. We a serious and ...

In fact that is exactly my point. The Government's role is not to run private businesses. The Government is NOT GOOD at it. The GEEDA, SUBA should be run as commercial ventures instead of leaving them in the hands of Gover ...

By the way, through my little I am MAKING in Ghana, I have managed to remove a few from the unemployment list.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Nice piece, I agree with you totally.

• Osei 9 years ago

Bawumia w'aben papaapa. I can see Ghana crying for Nana and you to come and fix her problems. You gave them the antidote but they ignored. Long live!!.....!

• Kwasi Owusu 9 years ago

Where did she got that money from, then let her borrow us some of her money and stop worring IMF idiot Mahama and Co.

• Mawuli Semavor 9 years ago

What is the Kufour legacy Ghanaian and other Nationals always refer to?
    Is it adding four zeros to the cedi and made it looked stronger than the US Dollar that propelled Ghana into Lower Middle Income Country without necessa ...

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

Kufuor left a legacy:

1)THE FREEDOM OF SPEECH,RAWLINGS TOOK AWAY FROM YOU AND I.

2)STABILITY OF THE CEDI:1US$ -CEDI 1.2

3)THE ALMIGHTY OIL.

But MAHAMA has blown it all,now heading towards IMF BAILOUT.

• NBTT 9 years ago

Confessions of an Economic Hit Man is a book written by John Perkins and published in 2004. It provides Perkins' account of his career with consulting firm Chas. T. Main in Boston. Before employment with the firm, he intervie ...

• Babies with sharp teeth 9 years ago

Clueless Wampah and Paa kwesi..bawumia come.for ur stone..they didn't listen to u

• DONBOLI 9 years ago

Ghana under John Mahama and NDC government is running the countrys economy with hope and no planning.
    IMF and EU are the very people who is making ghana suffer. Until John Mahama sign ghana away to the European Union thinkin ...

• F.G. TOWORFE 9 years ago

Ghana needs to be purged of KESSBEN-like creatures and NPP owned banks. Heavenly Father will expose all the devilish plots of NPP that seek to grind Ghana to a halt.

• OKO VAN MILLS 9 years ago

BITTER GHANA FOR SALE !!! ANIMGUASE AKWAABA !!!!!!!

• KOO 9 years ago

According to Lloyd Amoah's assessmemt we have landed at where we were during Rawlings'time,when the economy was almost collapsing before asking for a bailout from IMF. Ironically this situation crops up under Jerry and his ND ...

• SIMPLE LOGIC 9 years ago

NDC's RAWLINGS TOOK GHANA TO THE IMF BEFORE LEAVING OFFICE IN 2000.

NPP's KUFUOR RESTORED THE ECONOMY AND GOT GHANA OUT OF THE CLAWS OF THE IMF.

NOW THE NDC's JOHN MAHAMA HAS DAMAGED THE ECONOMY AGAIN AND HAS SENT GHANA ...

• NOBLE 9 years ago

This so called Finance Ministry where did he go to school for his fianace degree? Wabon papaaa pa. May his soul rest in perfect pea, his Highness Honorable Kwadwo BaaH Wiredu and Hon. Osarfo Marfo did wow!!! job to recover an ...

• Hot headed insulting 9 years ago

This is a coup d'etat and a strategic takeover by the neocolonialist. Ghana. We played into the hands by election period over spend, prolonged election litigation, and they added the collapse of our ex[port commodities. Now ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Jon Mahama is a failure. The guy must be uprooted from the seat of presidency. He is a disgrace to the nation because he himself is riddled with bribery and corruption. The man is a thief. I see no reason why he continues to ...

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Where is your honour? A Jerry Rawlings hate ! A gothlic vagabond's name , abandon far beyound the years in the caves of the lands of the no-man's land ! The scream of anger that made him killed our good soldiers and préside ...

• Kodwo Gyandoh 9 years ago

Oooh, Ghanaian leaders, se asa!!!!

• Ns3m pii 9 years ago

WHY WOULD THOSE WHO ADMINSTER DEMOCRACY RUN FROM IT?

*http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-28627158

UK

3 August 2014 Last updated at 06:03 ET Share this pageEmail Print Share this page ShareFacebookTwitter. Royal Navy ship helpin ...

• Joseph 9 years ago

A "professor" with a PhD from China (China, oh, China!), or a seasoned economist from the opposition NPP

"Mark Asibey-Yeboah, economic spokesman for the main opposition New Patriotic Party, welcomed the move as a step in t ...

• Timur 9 years ago

THIS IS FOOLISH AND STUPID. THIS WILL ONLY STRANGLE AFRICA

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Our country is broke.Ghana is like a poor man who is daydreaming about living in a mansion one day,but does not have the wherewithal to bring his dream into reality.
    John Mahama and the NDC government are daydreaming about a ...

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

Y1Apfz Very informative article post.Much thanks again. Keep writing.