You are here: HomeNews2014 08 02Article 319535

Economist questions need for 44,000 drivers at Education Service

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Kwesi, Cape Coast 9 years ago

You don't need even 1000 drivers.

• Asem Beba Dabi 9 years ago

As a member of the ndc govt Dr. Thompson is paid to deal with the problem rather than complain.
    By problem with this ndc govt is that they talk too much and do little.
    please sb shd remind Nii Moi that he Is no longer a soc ...

• JOHN 9 years ago

Laying people off should start from the top. Don't blame poor drivers for our problems. Reduce the number of ministers first. Reduce the number of ambassadors. Bring the ambassador to the Vatican home. Reduce the number of p ...

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

Everybody in Ghana wants a driver. Almost every household in Ghana has a driver, a maid servant and a gardener of some sort.

Please visit the ministries in Accra, and for every Minister or Director and Manager, there is as ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

I wonder why a Senior Econmic adviser to the President,will see such a big problem,which is draining the economy,not act,or atleast tell the President to act,but chose to sit on Radio and complain.
    I want to know what he wan ...

• Mussa wahab, UK 9 years ago

The salary one Minister in Mahama administration can pay the salary of 25 GES Drivers. You are not complaining.

Do you wan to employ the incompetent ministers who are not doing anything as Drivers at the GES?

What is E ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

waste of limited resources!!!!

• Mozato 9 years ago

This is highly incredible. Ghost names are too many in the GES. THIS MEANS FOR EVERY 8 GES employees 1 is a driver. Does it also means GES has 40,000 motor able trucks plying our roads? We need investigation into this.

• JJ RAWLINGS 9 years ago

GIVE JOBS TO NDC BOYS DON'T YOU AGREE

• GHANAian 9 years ago

I am surprised sometimes on where the country's department heads get their thinking from. Common sense and simple strategy are their problem.
    Please why don't those Teachers or Professors, or other staff, just go and learn d ...

• Tilapia 9 years ago

I will not be misled by (mis)educated illiterates such as Nii Moi Thompson. This man who refers to himself as a doctorate holder, says he "STUMBLED", upon some information that says that the GES hires 44,000 drivers.

With ...

what's your point? 40000 for what/

• Tilapia 9 years ago

Typical. If you know that this point had indeed been partly confirmed by Tsegah, why is it that you stubbornly claim ignorance of his (Tsegah's) further explanations?

Is it because you, like Nii Moi, just want to find jus ...

• Fairness 9 years ago

I wish you had put the figures here for us to compare.

• Fairness 9 years ago

I wish you had put the figures of the salaries here for us to compare. It would have helped us to do better analysis.

• Ekow 9 years ago

How many cars does the GES have?

• Nat 9 years ago

The economist should calculate the number of secondary schools, training colleges and higher institutions we have in Ghana. If assuming that we have 44,000 schools in Ghana and each school automatically has a school bus, does ...

• Akos 9 years ago

Nat, your point is very true. Has anybody tried to find out how many secondary schools, Teacher Training Colleges, etc that we have? There are some Senior High Schools that one driver is just not sufficient and such schools ...

no wonder Ghana is broke!!!!

waste of the tax payers' money

• Ac-Dc Truth 9 years ago

Does the ministry have 44000 vehicle to employ this number of drivers? Something is seriously wrong here. Is it 4400 per each region or what? No wonder the country is broke and everything is falling apart around us.

• Kululu 9 years ago

because of the likes of Ahetso Tsega in public service, holding the office of a director too, who sees nothing wrong with engaging excess labour in an economy that cannot manage itself for want of direction from government's ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

THE AUDIT SERVICE SHOULD DO A HEAD OF ALL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES AND WEED OUT ALL GHOST NAMES AND FORM NOW ON, THERE SHOULD BE RANDOM, UNANNOUNCED HEAD COUNT OF VARIOUS INSTITUTIONS FROM TIME TO TIME TO MAKE SURE THAT ALL EMPLO ...

• salamatu 9 years ago

told u guys that tsegah was an empty head. listen to his logic. he should answer the question about the number of cars owned by GES. these are the people in power...making foolish decisions on behalf of the country. sad.. ...

• Timothy 9 years ago

Empty-headed??? I dont think so...See how Aheto becomes AGGRESIVELY DEFENSIVE after such an innocuous comment from Dr. Thompson?There must be a very good reason for this. Dr. Thompson is trying to tread on in-built CHOP CHOP. ...

• JK 9 years ago

Somebody should ask Aheto Tsegah how many vehicles are owned by GES. I would bet the number will not exceed 20K.

So, GES employs some 300K people, and almost 15% are drivers?

• david 9 years ago

uncivilize.even top celebrities and powerful people in the developed countries,why cant the teachers and officials of ghana education service drive their own vehicles?mponkye

• ADWEN 9 years ago

Can someone tell us any state -own organisation in Ghana which is not over-staffed, mismanaged, bloated and full of incompetent so-called directors and what not?
    In Ghana nobody monitors, controls and manages anything. You j ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

We are putting impediments in our development. 44,000 drivers in one Ministry? What a bull crap is this? Parliament should set up an inquiry into this Ministry to learn all these drivers and their job specification. Mahama is ...

• Kweku Appiah 9 years ago

So do we want to say that Mahama employed all these people?
    I believe this set up was there before Mahama came into power.We are telling Mahama to sack the excess?

what is Mahamah doing about the 40000 drivers, 100 ministers, etc? Mahamah is part of the problem!!!

• ACKAH, AXIM 9 years ago

has mr economist found out whether their services are needed or just interested in depriving people of their daily bread. pls come again

• Philips 9 years ago

If the Director of the Ghana Education Service Mr Aheto Tsegah sees nothing wrong with the hiring 44,000 drivers in the service then he is sleeping on the job and not fit for purpose and must be sacked with immediate effect.I ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

How many vehicles do the 44,000 drivers operate and for what?

• Maartine Adorye 9 years ago

Nothing wrong with the querry on this large number. Verification whould be carried out, because the number is really large. E.g. Num of district education offices with running vehicles; num of regional educ offices with runni ...

• kon 9 years ago

This translates to a driver to 7 employees. NDC Ghana, indeed!!!!!

• jim 9 years ago

were all these drivers employed during mahamas tenure? or?

• KB 9 years ago

A Senior Economic Adviser to the President stumbles on a document which he believes should be rectified. He turns to complain to me. For what? Who should confront the issue. Get the problem resolved before you come to me.

• Kofi Atta Panyin 9 years ago

Is the number accurate? If accurate, what is the total wage bill as compared to the salary/allowances for all the staff at the Presidency and 275 Parliamentarians. Do not set up the stage to retrench these poor drivers.

• kofi 9 years ago

I have been rolling on the floor laughing. the point Atta Panyin is that these drivers may not exist in the first place, yet somebody they chop chop the salary.
    to be fair to GES, there are about a 1000 schools under them th ...

• Real Vandal 9 years ago

I was with the G.E.S and when I resigned from the service, the bursar and the headmistress quickly used my staff ID to employ the person. This the kind of things going on in the Ghana Education Service.

• Earl Jones 9 years ago

300,00 divided by 44,000 means 7 teachers to one driver. It's time for teachers to be demanding the services of their 'ghost' drivers. This is graceful.
    It is time for a rationalisation exercise for all ministries, departme ...

• WAITING 9 years ago

How many Economic Advisors in addition to the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, it's deputies, together with that ministry that Fifi Kwetey headed prior to being moved to the Agric ministry, as well as at the Bank of ...

• Amanor Isaac,USA. 9 years ago

The economist is not serious, You can set up a program for every GES driver to go to their district offices and do an on-line head count in just two days. They must create log in, password and provide:Name,date of birth,driv ...

• Amanor Isaac,USA. 9 years ago

Can we get any serious brain in Ghana?Do you do an academic research without a solution? Is the talking your solution?Let me stop so I don't insult him period.

• Caleb 9 years ago

what is wrong with these economic advisers at all? You are not creating any job in this country let alone creating a conducive environment for the private sector to create. ..and you are worried?

• Kojo 9 years ago

There are 689 presidential staffers in Mahama's government. There are 6 ministers without portfolio at the Castle. There are 3 ministers for special projects at the Office of the president. And there are 44 gardeners at the O ...

• nii atuguba 9 years ago

how many cars has GES ?I bet they have 10 tracks for each region and .......if a head count is done we will be told they on leave due to ebola ha ha

• Evans Tsalepor 9 years ago

Much as we expect some level of beaurecracy, Ghana seems trive on it. How do we eliminate assessive beaurecracy. The idea behind the introduction of decentralization was to transfer political, social and administrative author ...

• Kay-wuo 9 years ago

send proper auditors of world class in and dig

• F.G. TOWORFE 9 years ago

Our leaders must be problem solvers, and not throw their hands into the air in despair. NDC is turning into a 'TALK SHOP' government.

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

on pay days. 44,000 drivers? Does GES have 44,000 cars? Herein lies the problem. I doubt it that any of these people see anything wrong with collecting pay for doing nothing. Whom are they driving? They should called in and a ...

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

Can't wait to get the answer. This the problem. Ghanaman taking what doesnt belong to them. Be it time, money or space. That is the source of the unruliness in the country and the lack of advancement in the country. How does ...