You are here: HomeNews2014 07 28Article 318742

ECG staff panic over privatisation rumour

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

another low grade minister?

• Alhaji BB Atugubah 9 years ago

Why is mahama treating Ghana like a prostrate. Now the country has to sell a national asset before we can be given money by the US under the Millennium Challenge Account. This is a shame111111111Workers and soldiers of Ghana ...

• Alhaji BB Atugubah 9 years ago

Check my previous post for details.

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Either work hard and make profits or lose your jobs . You can even buy shares in the company yourselves . The ball is in your court

• Thief Mahama 9 years ago

Read this interview and ask yourself if our politicians have changed since 1966.

February 24, 2014 marked 48 years since Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was overthrown by the National Liberation Council (NLC) under the leadersh ...

• RIGTHMAN aka LOVEJOY-USA 9 years ago

This is gov't work, let's drag it, why then, must you cry ?

• Obiba Kwasi 9 years ago

This is a done deal. Whether we cry or laugh, the govt has taken a decision. We need to tighten our belts and naturally others will loosen theirs.

• SGT ANAI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Tighten your belts as corrupt, thief and brigand Dramani Mahama robbed the State
    of gargantuan money to purchase 350 bedroom Hotel at Dubai of million of
    dollars for his own selfish interest.

Why made Mahama to buy 30 V8 ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

For goodness sake, stop peddling untruths. Repeating them several times does not make them true.

• E.O 9 years ago

Y3 b3 dii kekeeeee,,,,,

• ASEM 9 years ago

ECG NEEDS TO PRUNED, CLEANED AND TRANSFORMED INTO A LEAN,EFFICIENT AND STRONG ORGANISATION.
    GHANA TELECOM WAS LOSING MONEY AND COSTING THE TAX PAYER MONEY AND NOT PROVIDING ANY GOOD SERVICE FOR ALL THAT GOV. INPUT, UNTIL SOL ...

• Sir Arnold 9 years ago

Weed out the dead wood and the ECG will live but who will bell the cat? An efficient private company may do the job

• nana yaw 9 years ago

why dont we privatize government! Since there is corruption mismanagement and gross inefficiency in government!!

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Nana Yaw, the state owned electricity company is a waste and a burden on the state. There is lack of investment to renew the infrastructure, most of the power produced (nearly 30%) is wasted through inefficient distribution a ...

• kalahariman 9 years ago

Privatization will lower corruption and increase efficiency - lower cost of electricity. Will also take the burden off the government in spending large sums in improving the infrastructure. They can still wholesale it to the ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

OH GOD SAVE GHANA FROM THIS GANGATUAN,EMPTY HEAD,CRIMINAL,CORRUPT MAHAMA HANDS,MAHAMA WONT TO CHOP EVERY MONEY COME FROM RIGHT,LEFT KWASEA JDM EVIL CHOP CHOP,FOOOOOLS

• Obournana 9 years ago

PRIVATIZATION IS THE BEST OPTION SO THAT NO USELESS PERSON WILL WAKE UP AND ASK SOME LAZY WORKERS TO DEMONSTRATE.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

Unfortunately, it might be the panacea to the canker of unproductive and inefficient workers in the public service.

• atia 9 years ago

i fully support privatization of bleeding and over staffed institutions like ECG, but it should not be done under these goons called NDC.
    whatever they touch is scandalized because they are not just corrupt but plain thieves ...

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

The best solution so far. It will stop the lazines, the corruption and install accountability into this sector. Good new!! Water should be the next.But these companies must be monnited and must be accountable.

• HANNAH TETTEH 9 years ago

Are we going to sell ECG because of America's money? Where are those who talk sovereignty? Beggars have no sovereignty ..... got it?

• karl 9 years ago

privatisation is the way forward,it brings about efficiency and will reduce corruption in some sectors,also the civil servant will stop being lazy and still expect to be paid,totally agreed with the ideas,
    my only worry is h ...

• kojo essoun 9 years ago

We will stop begging for customer service when privatised

• ManTaywee 9 years ago

truly, our gov't has lost sight. it's a shame on our politicians.

• Bernasko 9 years ago

Let every region runs its own electricity company

• kwekuUSA 9 years ago

ECG have been corrupt for too long!!
    let these workers work within a private corporation and maybe they will be productive for once. These workers need to learn how the real world functions. The Ghanaian government need not ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

This is long over-due. Nigeria has already done it. Break ECG up into regional components and sell them. Govt should keep 49% shares for each regional entity. Gridco can remain as one entity.
    This is really good news.

• kwekuUSA 9 years ago

It is about time Ghana did this. ECG lazy workers go smell pepper.

• K APPIAH 9 years ago

the ndc government also need privatization

• Poku 9 years ago

THANK GOD FOR THIS. IT WILL BRING BENEFITS TO GHANAIANS AND NOT INDIVIDUALS OR ECG STAFF DOING ILLEGAL CONNECTIONS AND RECONECTIONS. IT WILL HELP GHANA. THANKS TO PRESIDENT MAHAMA FOR TAKING THIS BOLD STEP.

• Gandalf 9 years ago

THIS IS NOT A RUMOUR. IT IS REALITY. THE PREZ HAS SIGNED IT ALREADY BCOS HE NEEDS THE CASH BADLY TO SHORE UP HIS PRESIDENCY. BUT WITHIN THAT AGREEMENT, IS A TROJAN HORSE WHICH IS THE SIGNING OF THE PLANT BREEDERS BILL AND INT ...

• marg 9 years ago

if the managers of ECG has been efficient, this would not have come up. wo di abr) a, ebi beka wo.

• Naija boy 9 years ago

Its the best way to go the companies will invest in the power sector and make it efficient

• kwadwo gyan chicago usa 9 years ago

I AM VERY SAD TO SEE GHANAIANS BLOGGING FOOLISHNESS WITHOUT CONSIDERING ECONOMIC THEORY. NPP CLAIMS TO ADVANCE FREE MARKET THEORY AND OPPOSING SOCIALISM AS THEIR FOUNDING FATHERS CLAIM. HERE I COULD OBSERVE THIER BLIND PARTY ...

• Dr Goodmann 9 years ago

GRIDco will have breathing space at last. Privatization will good for Ghana. The Germans are great at this.

• Paa 9 years ago

Yes, The end of the matter is privatising - GHANA. We have proved beyond reasonable doubt that we are really incapable of managing our own affairs. In all sectors of our economy, there isn't a single ministry which is doing g ...

• Stick house 9 years ago

Panic because they will have to work and they won't be able to steal, run scams and use ECG property for their own private purposes. GoG - PLEASE PRIVATIZE ECG - PLEASE!!!!!!

• Bummerfly 9 years ago

Agreed with you hundred per cent .I am not a plitician neither do I belong to any party, but as a citezen I take pains to study the trend of economic policy before comenting on issues and I expect every passive citizen to do ...

• Bummerfly 9 years ago

ECG s impunity of dubiousness in shambles should have been the headline. All journalists take note and don't cover them. MAHAMA! HURRY UP!! TO COVER THE SHAME AND DUST THEY ARE PUTTING INTO YOUR AYES COS WE ALL HOLD YOU RESPO ...

• Bummerfly 9 years ago

NO impact on Government policy. Knowledge of the economic policies achievements and failures would equip concern citizens to draw meaningful conclusions and even suggest solutions.

• Bummerfly 9 years ago

Shame to ECG staffs. They have all contributed to the woes of Ghanaian s. It is a fact that they are towing the lines of past Government machinery and officials who instaed of strengthening the revenue sources harmoniously re ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

All electricity consumers from household to industries should once again decide on a date to demonstrate against this evil privatisation of ECG to access $500 million second compact of MCC is a disgrace while this government ...

• Prof. Sergio Goodman 9 years ago

Work harder, be creative and earn yourself respect and keep your jobs even after privatization.

• GHANABA 9 years ago

What are they panicking about? They are corrupt inefficient badly managed and waste on our resources. When was the last time they made profit?

• Kofi Paul 9 years ago

The ECG have the moral duty to salvage their jobs. With all the sins that are associated with them, then it is better the ECG was sold than people 'deliberately' undermining the economy to the discredit of the ruling governme ...